Skip to main content

Full text of "History of the town of Berlin : Worcester County, Mass. from 1784 to 1959"

See other formats
























'^ENEALOGY COLLECTION 









ALLEN COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARY 


3 1833 00084 1210 


Map of 

Center o / 7 Scrlir) 

!• Toiun House 

2. Public Library 

3. Memorial School 
‘f- Pi re Station 
5. Public WorKsDcph 
e>- First Parish Choi 
7 Youth Church ■ . 

&■ st.Josephs Missliorj 

9■ Community 3fo Ire . 
10■ Germain's WondeHand 
1 1 • B<zns service. Statli’on 
12- Wheelers Garade 
<=t-Sales Rooms • 
^.Potuder House 
IH- Old CemeTary 


13 GO A D- 
nP 


Sp 












































































HISTORY 


of the 

TOWN OF BERLIN 

Worcester County, Mass. 


Frcnn 1784 to 1959 


By FREDERICK A. KRACKHARDT 










MANUFACTURED IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA 


BY THE COLONIAL PRESS INC 


S~C? s ^ '2-^0 2L 


1420921 


TO 

THE SONS AND DAUGHTERS of the TOWN OF BERLIN 
Who have an interest in the Town, 

AND 


To the observation of the 175th anniversary of the 
incorporation of the DISTRICT of BERLIN 
and the NAMING thereof in 1784, 

This volume is respectfully dedicated. 


* 










CONTENTS 


PREFACE vii 

FOREWORD ix 

I. INTRODUCTORY FEATURES 1 

II. The CHURCH and RELIGION 15 

III. SCHOOLS and EDUCATION 37 

IV. MILITARY AFFAIRS 62 

V. CIVIC AFFAIRS 84 

VI. TRANSPORTATION and COMMUNICATION 113 

VII. AGRICULTURE and INDUSTRIES 144 

VIII. SOCIAL INTERESTS 172 

IX. GENEALOGY 211 


INDEX 


336 



PREFACE 


The project of a revised History of the Town of Berlin devel¬ 
oped from an assignment on the Writers’ Project of the W.P.A., 
dated February 17, 1936. Through the courtesy of Robert H. 
Bryan, Frederick A. Krackhardt was employed as agent for 
Berlin, to contribute material for the Massachusetts Guide to Its 
Places and People (1937). From the submission of a manuscript 
of sixty-eight typed pages (12,257 words), the Guide (p. 515) 
printed the following line: “BERLIN ... an agricultural com¬ 
munity, in spite of unfavorable soil conditions. There are a few 
profitable orchards and dairies.” No inference to these senti¬ 
ments was expressed in the manuscript submitted. 

The citizens of Berlin did not appreciate this insertion. To 
compensate for this “scar” the Worcester District Office of the 
Writers’ Project proposed to compile a History of Berlin. A 
committee, consisting of William S. Eager, Maude A. Sawyer, 
and Herbert L. Wheeler was appointed by the Selectmen to 
review the material of the manuscript and make arrangements 
for its publication. The committee was later enlarged to include 
Charles J. G. Hubbard, Mrs. Charles M. Field and Elmer C. 
Lewis. 

Application was made to the Federal Writers’ Project of the 
W.P.A. for a contract to publish a History of the Town of Berlin. 
Selectman Lemuel D. Carter signed the application papers on 
February 24, 1939. The contract forms were signed and presented 
to Miss Kathleen M. Burns, District Supervisor of the Writers’ 
Project in Worcester, on September 9, 1940. 

The material for the manuscript was completed, typed and 
submitted to Mrs. Muriel E. Hawks, State Supervisor of the 
Massachusetts Writers’ Project, in Boston. The State Supervisor 
requested the surrender of the carbon copy of the manuscript, 
also. Then, the Writers’ Project “folded up” in June of 1942. 
That was the decease of this “Project.” We do not know whether 

the corpse was submerged in the Atlantic or cremated. Only 

• • 

Vll 


Vlll 


PREFACE 


fragmentary notes and a memory remained of this Berlin History. 

At the Town Meeting of February 7, 1949, it was proposed 
by Mr. J. Adams Puffer that we resume compiling the History 
of Berlin. Thus under Article 37 of the Town Warrant of March 6, 
1950, it was “voted to appoint a committee of three, to bring 
the “History of Berlin” up to date; Mr. Frederick A. Krackhardt 
to be chairman and empowered to select the other two members; 
and to appropriate $500.00 from the excess and deficiency ac¬ 
count for this purpose.” Mrs. Flora E. Smith and Miss Frances 
E. Rice were chosen as the other two members of the Committee. 
Mrs. Priscilla F. Jewett replaced the late Frances E. Rice. 

The Committee wishes to make grateful acknowledgment to 
the many persons who contributed of their time, materials, and 
recollections to this “History of Berlin.” Some, however, because 
of their special interest and contribution, deserve our particular 
thanks. Among these are the names of William S. Eager, Charles 
J. G. Hubbard, Arthur Hastings, J. Adams Puffer, Sarah H. 
Dudley, Edward F. Greene, M. Reed Tyler, Forrest E. Day, 
Henry A. Wheeler, Herbert L. Wheeler, L. Ada Berry, Edith 
R. S. Sawyer, Edna Z. Guertin, and Ella Howe. 

Very special thanks is extended to Harris G. Field, who, while 
Town Clerk, gave of his time to permit access to the vault, safes, 
and records of the Town. Credit goes to Eleanor I. Campbell and 
Louise D. Kent for the endleaf maps. 

Not only residents of Berlin, but also residents of neighboring 
towns who had a keen interest and knowledge of Berlin, gave 
valuable information for the records. Among these were Francis 
A. Sawyer and Dr. Frederick L. Weis of Lancaster, George L. 
Wright, Town Clerk of Boylston, Hiram Harlow of Shrewsbury, 
and Christopher S. White, Walter Irving Dunn, and Eugene 
H. Jaquith of Clinton. 


Frederick A. Krackhardt, Chairman 
Flora E. Smith 
Priscilla F. Jewett 


A HISTORY OF BERLIN (1895-1959) 


Foreword 


Berlin Today 

Berlin (Mass.) of today is serenely nestled within the shadows 
of the encircling folds of the verdant rangy hills, to the south 
of the Wataquadock, whose valleys drain south-eastwardly into 
the Assabet. 

It is located in the extreme eastern border of Worcester County, 
touching Middlesex County with its eastern boundary. Situated 
near the middle of the north and south line of the county, at 
latitude 42°-22'-54.9", and longitude 71°-38'-12.7". The elevation 
at the foot of the steps leading into the Town Hall is 326.5 feet 
above mean sea level. The average elevation is 393.6 feet; the 
highest point is on Mt. Pisgah (at the Northboro line) 720 feet; 
and the lowest point is 210 feet at the Marlboro line on the 
Assabet River. The level of Gates Pond is 360 feet, approxi¬ 
mately a 35-foot water-head for Berlin Center. (Figures from 
Geographical Directory of Worcester County, 1949). 

Berlin is bounded on the east by Hudson and Marlboro of 
Middlesex County; on the south by Marlboro and Northboro; 
on the west by Boylston and Clinton; and on the north by 
Bolton and a section of Hudson. Thus a bound stone in the east¬ 
ern line has the distinction of being the point of convergence 
of two towns (Hudson and Marlboro) of Middlesex County 
and Berlin of Worcester County. A similar three-point bound 
stone is located in the north and south ends of the eastern line, 
but in each case only one town of Middlesex County is con¬ 
cerned. 

The Town is situated thirteen miles north-east of Worcester, 
the county seat, and thirty-two miles due west of Boston, the 
capital of the state. Its territorial limits of 13.18 square miles 


IX 




X 


FOREWORD 


have remained practically the same since its incorporation as a 
town in 1812. After almost three hundred years of settlement, 
the Town may still be classed as a rural residential community, 
with suburban conveniences. A splendid example of a colonial 
town, typical of eastern Massachusetts; to which many turn for 
their summer residence. 

Its 8,437.1 acres, of which 8,329.4 is land and 107.7 is water, 
checkered with wooded areas, pasture lands, fruitful fields and 
dotted by its 391 dwellings, makes an ideal, attractive abode 
for its 1,516 population (1955 census); an average of 115 per 
square mile of territory. 

While it is estimated that the principal business of the com¬ 
munity is farming, a large per cent of its inhabitants are em¬ 
ployed in the neighboring towns and cities. This practice is made 
possible by the fine network of forty miles of modem improved 
roads which connect with every home. These converge upon 
the main lines of travel, which consist of State No. 62, passing 
through the Town from east to west; and Pleasant Street leading 
south to connect with U.S. No. 20 and State No. 9. 

Commodity supplies for the community are obtainable from 
the General Stores of the New England Stores System at the 
Center. There are also well-equipped stores in the South and 
West sections of Berlin. Or, if one prefers to trade in the neigh¬ 
boring towns of Clinton, Hudson, or Northboro, or the cities of 
Marlboro, Worcester, or Boston, there are 778 registered motor 
vehicles in town that will swish one to his destination. 

Freight service is maintained over the B & M R.R. and the 
NY, NH & H R.R. The American Railway Express will deliver 
packages to West Berlin homes from the Clinton Express Office. 
The Clinton Auto Express, Inc. conducts a daily service between 
Clinton and Boston, by means of which articles may be trans¬ 
ported from the sales rooms to the home of the customer. So it is 
convenient and economical to live in Berlin. 

William A. Emerson, in his Fireside Legends , gives expression 
to these sentiments: “The world looks with wonder on the dikes 
of Holland, the wall of China, and the pyramids of Egypt, but 
I do not hesitate to say that the results produced by the small, 
scattered population of the American colonies,—in tearing up the 
wilderness by the roots, transferring the rocks, with which the 


FOREWORD 


xi 


surface was covered, into walls, good roads and bridges, and con¬ 
verting a sterile waste into fertile fields, blossoming with verdure, 
grain and fruitage; is a more wonderful monument of human 
industry and perseverance than them all.” 

These words are a true expression of the tenacity and faith of 
the early settlers of Berlin, in their adaptation to their environ¬ 
ment. The Berlin of Today is a typical modem rural suburban 
community. Some three hundred years of development has 
wrought a wonderful adjustment to the present regime. 

Evidence of the Colonial formative period exist, but these are 
shrouded in vestures of modern beauty and symmetry. The 
frames of the Old Town House, the First Center School, Evan¬ 
gelical Church (Berlin Academy), part of Ye Jones’ Inn, and 
Howe’s Tavern still abide, although these occupy new locations 
and have been transformed into modern dwellings and apart¬ 
ments. 

The population has increased from thirty-two families at the 
time of the establishment of the South Parish of Bolton (1778) by 
bounds, according to the following figures: 


Year 

Population 

Year 

Population 

Year 

Population 

1790 

512 

1860 

1106 

1920 

868 

1800 

590 

1870 

1016 

1925 

1071 

1810 

591 

1880 

987 

1930 

1075 

1820 

625 

1890 

884 

1940 

1057 

1830 

692 

1900 

895 

1945 

1119 

1840 

763 

1905 

906 

1950 

1348 

1850 

866 

1910 

904 

1955 

1514 


The original Yankee settlers (Sawyer, Jones, Houghton, Howe, 
Spofford, Rice, Taylor, Wheeler, etc.) have been supplemented 
by those of many other national origins. This cosmopolitan group 
are so mutually interwoven into the social fabric of the commu¬ 
nity that it makes a congenial unit. These citizens have learned 
the value of the motto—“In Union There Is Strength.” 

With the increase of population there would naturally be an 
increase in the number of dwellings to house these people. Ac¬ 
cording to the Assessors’ Report of 1875, there were 209 dwelling 
houses, 117 of which were connected with farms. By 1949 the 
number had increased to 327 and the next year (1950) 334 were 
reported, while in 1952 the number had risen to 355; the number 


Xll 


FOREWORD 


has been boosted to 391 in 1954, with many more houses under 
construction. These rural homes, provided with the modern con¬ 
veniences, operated by electricity, gas and oil, vie with many 
palatial residences of the metropolis. 

As the name (Berlin) implies—“a free and open space” and 
its nearness to nature appeals to many people. The joy of residing 
in modern Berlin is fittingly expressed by Mr. Henry H. Harper, 
who, for several years, had his summer home on Sawyer Hill. In 
his Letters from an Outsider to an Insider , he penned the follow¬ 
ing: “You don’t have to be a poet to like the freshness and 
fragrance of the country in springtime; and I look forward to 
apple-blossom time as a youngster looks forward to the Santa 
Claus season. ... I like the old-time simplicity and freedom of 
country life as contrasted with the bustle and worry of urban 
life; and especially in summer, I much prefer the rural quietude 
as against the rumble of the city streets. . . . Then, too, I enjoy 
having my city friends come out for weekend parties. I like to 
see them expand their chests with pure, fresh air; and I have a 
certain vainglory in hearing them expatiate on the view from the 
front lawn.” 

The hills and valleys of Berlin are shrouded with forests, or¬ 
chards, farms, and dwellings of its liberty-loving people. Stand on 
the ledgy platform of “Powder House” Hill, and view the spacious 
intervale of rich fertile fields, banked by Sawyer Hill on the east 
and Barnes Hill on the west. Then turn, facing northward, and 
“lift up your eyes to the (Wheeler) hills,” dotted with their 
majestic gardens of truck-crops, pasture lands and orchards. And 
surely, under these surroundings we may visualize Samuel F. 
Smith’s inspiration, and quote: 

My native country, thee, 

Land of the noble free, 

Thy name I love; 

I love thy rocks and rills, 

Thy woods and templed hills; 

My heart with rapture thrills 
Like that a-bove. 

Wallace Nutting writes in his Massachusetts Beautiful, these 
pleasing lines: “To the writer, the heart of Worcester County 


FOREWORD 


xrn 

has in its orchards and streams more beauty, perhaps, than the 
Berkshires themselves. . . . The gentle slopes of Berlin . . . are 
thoroughly satisfactory.” 

With these brief remarks, we venture to introduce you to our 
Beautiful Berlin. The Town stands ready for your inspection, 
adamant upon the foundation of its history and heritage. In this 
spirit we wish to continue the History of Berlin which was laid 
down in 1895, after the death of its author—the Rev. William A. 
Houghton. Since that period, life in Berlin has experienced many 
transitions. The way of life has been revolutionized. The following 
are some of the commodities which Berlin did not possess prior 
to 1895: 

The telephone and the telephone system, or the Rural Free 
Delivery. 

Electric light and power with all of its applications. 

Naming of the streets and roads and their modern construction 
and maintenance, also the Town Barn with its equipment. 

Automobiles, trolley lines and buses. 

Wachusett Aqueduct of the Metropolitan Water Supply tun¬ 
nelled through the town. Gates Pond was surrendered to 
Hudson for a water supply. 

Civic utilities—the Australian Ballot System and Woman Suf¬ 
frage. 

Welfare Department and Nashoba Health Association. 

Lyman School for Boys, Library Building, Memorial School 
Building and Worcester County Extension Service. 

The Fire Department and its equipment, remodeling and re¬ 
pairs on the Town House. 

Modern poultry farms, 1790 Turkey Farm and Sheep Ranch. 

Modern dairy farms and modern fruit orchards, the Chedco 
Farms, Inc. 

McCann’s and Lovely Farms Ice Cream Plant, Berlin Mush¬ 
room Plant, Potas Tape-Weaving Concern, Coldwell’s Inc. 
Building Supplies. 

Establishment of the First Parish Church (Federated) and St. 
Joseph’s Mission and their allied organizations. 

Various patriotic, civic and social organizations instituted to 
develop their specific interests. 


XIV 


FOREWORD 


All of these items will be treated in the chapters of this volume. 
We love our Berlin, and hope that you, too, one and all, may learn 
to love and admire her, as you peruse these pages, or perchance 
stroll, motor, or visit our community. It has learned from the past 
and looks eagerly toward the future, with a conscience void of 
offense. So with William Allen White, we say: “I am not afraid 
of tomorrow, for I have seen yesterday and I love to-day.” 

As a climax to the praise of Berlin, we present a poem, com¬ 
posed by a late loving citizen of Berlin, drawn from a heart of 


Beautiful Berlin 
Clara S. Eager 

The beautiful brooks of Berlin! 

How I have danced beside them, 

Down through the lush, green meadows 
Gathering spoil of their flow. 

The reverent woods of Berlin! 

How I have knelt within them, 

How they have whelmed me with kindness, 
Leading me onward and onward 
Thrilled with the ardor of worship. 

The aspiring hills of Berlin! 

My homing feet in the twilight 

Seek for the little paths 

That led me upward in sunshine. 

The meandering roads of Berlin! 

Far and afar they have lured me, 

Promising vistas of beauty, 

Soothing my soul into quiet. 

O dear and beloved Mother Berlin! 

Never again shall I follow 

All the sweet pathways of my fancy, 

By brookside and woodland and hill top! 

September 19, 1935 


CHAPTER I 


INTRODUCTORY FEATURES 


When the Committee from the South Parish of Bolton peti¬ 
tioned the General Court to grant them the status of a District, 
it became necessary to select a name for the same. After much 
deliberation and discussion, they chose the name of BERLIN, 
in honor of the capital of Germany, and pronounced it Bur'-lin, 
with the accent on the first syllable. 

The question is often asked, Why, in contrast to its English- 
labeled neighboring towns, did they choose this name? It set a 
precedent and became the first Berlin in the United States. At 
this period, in the wake of the Revolutionary War, the tempera¬ 
ment of the Colonial mind was not favorable to English 
memorials. The Committee preferred to honor the friend of 
George Washington. Frederick, the Great, had taken great in¬ 
terest in the American Revolution and its Commander-in-Chief 
and he became the first sovereign to conclude a commercial 
treaty with the United States and presented George Washington 
with a “sword” as a token of his friendship. 

Another possible influence directing the selection of the name 
of BERLIN was the gratitude for services rendered by Baron 
Friedrick Wilhelm Ludolf Gerhard Augustin von Steuben. He 
held the rank of Lieutenant-General under Frederick the Great 
of Prussia, came to Portsmouth, N. H., in December of 1777, 
and offered his services to the new nation. By means of his 
drilling and training 4 a new American army was born on the 
bleak plateau of Valley Forge during the winter of 1777-8”. 
(See “From Lexington to Liberty” by Bruce Lancaster, 1953). 
Many Veterans were founders of this new District of Berlin. 

The word, Berlin, is translated to mean, “free or open space”; 

1 




2 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


this, likewise, interests our interpretation. Some attempts have 
been made to change the name. As, for instance, in 1917, some 
lad petitioned the Governor to take action on the name. Where¬ 
upon, our honorable Selectmen replied: “We are satisfied and 
honored with the name and since our town has made an honorable 
response to all calls for national service, and, furthermore, since 
there is a Keizer (Roy L.) from Berlin (Mass.) on an American 
U-boat, hunting the other Kaizer’s sub-marines, we are con¬ 
tented to struggle along under the same name.” So, thus, the 
town is still listed in the Postal Guide, tourists guides, and 
time tables as Berlin, Massachusetts. 

The territory comprising the Town of Berlin, with the excep¬ 
tion of a strip of Marlboro, along the Assabet River, was 
originally of Lancaster. This section of wilderness, prior to 1643, 
was solely inhabited by a small tribe of Indians called the 
Nashaways or Nashawoys. They had their headquarters between 
the two Washacum Ponds. Probably at certain seasons of the 
year there were several outlying families. One of these, the 
Wataquadocks clan, was in the habit of camping east of Clam¬ 
shell Pond. Evidences of their sojourn are found in the ledges 
and lands of the Larkin estate, Boylston Road, and also about 
Dewey Park off West Street near the Clinton-Berlin line. 

The pestilence, which had proved so destructive to the Algon¬ 
quin Tribes as a whole, had reduced them to probably fifteen 
or sixteen families, and they had been forced to fight with the 
marauding Mohawks and had been defeated by them. Conse¬ 
quently, they calculated that if they could persuade some of the 
white men to come and live among them, they would receive 
protection in times of invasion. 

Accordingly, in good faith, Sholan, the chief of the tribe, 
made frequent visits to Watertown, and urged that a settlement 
should be made in this vicinity. Finally, eighty square miles of 
land (a rectangular section running ten miles N-S and eight 
miles E-W) was purchased of the Indians by a Company of some 
six men which had been formed. This purchase was sanctioned by 
the General Court and was known as the Nashaway Plantation. 

Forthwith a trading post or trucking house was established on 
George Hill (of Lancaster) in 1643, under the name of Symonds 
and King. This locality chanced to be a meeting place of several 


INTRODUCTORY FEATURES 


3 


Indian tribes where they could carry on their bartering trade 
with them. 

In 1645, John Prescott, another member of the Nashaway 
Plantation, sold his house and lands in Watertown, and moved his 
family and such possessions as he deemed necessary to the 
east side of George Hill, now known as Maplehurst. For thirty- 
one years this farmer, millwright, and blacksmith struggled to 
conceive and build a town. 

In the records of the General Court there is found the fol¬ 
lowing entry dated 1652: “Considering that there is already at 
Nashaway about 9 familyes, & that seueral, both freeman & others 
intend to goe & settle there, some whereof are named in theire 
petition, this Court doth hereby giue & graunt them libertyes 
of a townshipp.” The prayer of the petitioners was answered by 
an act of incorporation, dated May 18, 1653, and the town of 
Lancaster was rated with Middlesex County. The name of Lan¬ 
caster was given to the town, in remembrance, perhaps, of the 
English County in which John Prescott was born.* 

From this eighty square mile tract, twelve towns were even¬ 
tually formed, either entirely or in part. They were as follows, 
grouped in sequence of date of incorporation: 


Lancaster 

1653 

Boxboro 

1783 

Marlboro 

1660 

Boylston 

1786 

Harvard 

1732 

West Boylston 

1805 

Bolton 

1738 

Berlin 

1812 

Leominster 

1740 

Clinton 

1850 

Sterling 

1781 

Hudson 

1866 


Within twelve years after the incorporation of Lancaster, 
settlements began to be made on Berlin territory. John Moore of 
Sudbury was a land proprietor of Lancaster, and in 1665 he built 
a new house southeast of Wataquadock. The house was destroyed 
by fire in 1888. This stood on Kelley Hill, at the northwest 
comer of Carr and Randall roads. It was still standing in 1676 
when Mrs. Mary Rowlandson and her rescue party returned 
from their captivity following the Indian raid and slaughter of 
Febmary 1675-76 in Lancaster. 

* Worcester was “erected, granted, and made” a County Seat by the 
General Court, April 2, 1731, so that the records prior to 1731 will be 
found in Concord, of Middlesex County. 


4 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


In her Narrative she writes: “We went on to a farm house, that 
was yet standing, where we lay down all night; and a comfortable 
lodging we had, though nothing but straw to lie on.” For “not 
one house was left standing” in Lancaster, “not even the meeting 
house.” 

Although the Town of Lancaster had been incorporated, there 
were so few “freemen” that in 1657 the General Court appointed 
a commission of three men to order the affairs of the Town. 
Members of the church were the only ones allowed to vote and 
carry on the Town business. For nearly twenty years the building 
of the Town of Lancaster proceeded with comparative harmony. 
The white men and the red men jointly occupied the valley of 
the Nashua. Deeds reserved for them their “usual hunting, 
fishing, and planting places.” While Sholan lived, the two races 
were helpful to each other. 

It was during the rule of “King Philip” of the Wampanoags 
that the real trouble occurred between the colonists and the 
Indians. He perceived and published that the red man’s birth¬ 
right was being gradually taken from him, and that they must 
organize and rally to defend these rights. The assault, raid, and 
destruction of the Lancaster settlement on February 10, 1676, as 
referred to in Mrs. Rowlandson’s Narrative , was a climax of 
their planning. 

For a few years the town was without a white inhabitant. But 
in October of 1679 the Middlesex County Court appointed a 
committee to renew the settlement. Not until June of 1684 was 
any move made toward forming a new church. 

During this period no settlers ventured as far south as Berlin 
territory. But to the south of Berlin, which at that time was in 
the Town of Marlboro, there had been established at least four 
farms with dwellings (along River Road) bordering the Assabet 
River. These were known as the Nathaniel Wheeler place, The 
1790 Farm, the Danford Tyler place, and the Newsome place 
(or Risi Cement Block Factory). These farms were operated by 
Job and Henry Kerley, Samuel Jones, Sr., Solomon Keyes, and 
Joseph Rice, in the early 1700’s. 

On the western border of the town of Berlin Philip Larkin 
settled about 1710, building his house on the south side of 
“Snake Hill,” off the Boylston Road. 


INTRODUCTORY FEATURES 


To the north we are told that Jabez Fairbanks was, probably, 
the first settler on the Fairbanks place, at the comer of Highland 
Street and Randall Road. It is recorded that Jabez was bom in 
1694. If he settled here at his majority, that would make it the 
year 1715. Another early settler was John Houghton, 3rd, who / „ 

located on Pleasant Street where Mrs. Leslie M. Frye resides). o. i J * 
He sold the 120-acre farm, near the “Great Brook,” which is the 
“land on which said John Houghton, Jr., has built and now - / 

liveth,” to Benj. Bailey. (This transaction is dated July 1, 1715. 

By the year 1730, the growth of Lancaster had progressec 
far that several sections wished to break away and set up an 
independent town of their own. So, in 1733, the inhabitants of the 
southeasterly part of Lancaster sent in a petition to the town 
asking consent to set up a new township. Finally, an act to 
incorporate the town of Bolton was passed by the General 
Court of Massachusetts on June 24, 1738. 

By this act Berlin changed her allegiance from Lancaster to 
Bolton, and for the next forty years was an intricate part of 
Bolton, sharing many important offices and obligations. But some 
of the more progressive individuals, who were concerned in creat¬ 
ing a civic nucleus in Berlin, lived in that section along the Assa- 
bet River, which was a possession of Marlboro. There was 
Samuel Jones, Sr., living on the “Danford Tyler” place. His son, 

Samuel, was born there in 1726. He married Mehitable Brigham 
of Marlboro in 1748, and in the same year purchased of Benj. 

Bailey 137 acres, which included within its limits a large portion 
of the present central village of Berlin. 

It was through the initiatory steps of Samuel Jones that the 
General Court was persuaded to set off the prescribed southerly 
part of the town of Bolton “as a separate Parish” and whereby 
the South Parish of Bolton was created on April 13, 1778. 

There is no doubt but that Samuel Jones and his colleagues 
had in mind the establishment of a local independent government; 
but they also knew that this must be accomplished through the 
name of the Church. So they petitioned the General Court “to 
be set off as a separate Parish, in order that it might be more 
convenient for them to attend the Public Worship of God.” Now 
this “inconvenience” is supposed to be interpreted as a matter of 
distance and road conditions between the southern part of the 




6 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


town and the Meetinghouse at Bolton Center, but to Mr. Jones 
and his associates, there was a far deeper “inconvenience” 
which they did not care or dare to pen into their prayer to the 
General Court. This was the Goss-Walley controversy which had 
been fermenting since 1770. While this appeared to be an ec¬ 
clesiastical conflict, it had a political core—this Jones knew. 

As the late Rev. Joseph N. Pardee says in his article, Thomas 
Goss vs. the Inhabitants of Bolton , “The invisible root of the 
trouble, the root that patriots did not care to expose to the King’s 
spies, was that Mr. Goss was a staunch Royalist in politics, as 
well as an autocrat in the church.” The sentiment of the early 
Berlin community was expressed by Capt. Samuel Jones as he 
participated in his family devotions, by praying “That the Lord 
would overturn and overturn, till Goss should lose his case and 
Walley have his place.” 

For the next six years the inhabitants of the south half of 
Bolton enjoyed their Parish government, but they still were a 
part of the Town of Bolton, and all town affairs had to be con¬ 
ducted from this center. In the meantime the population had in¬ 
creased to eighty families or about 500 souls, so that they deemed 
it fitting to make the next move towards an independent govern¬ 
ment. 

So again under the leadership of Samuel Jones and several 
other citizens experienced in public affairs (among whom were 
Ephraim Fairbanks, Esq., Hon. Samuel Baker, and Joshua 
Johnson), they petitioned the General Court to incorporate the 
South Parish of Bolton and a section of Marlboro into a District 
of Berlin. This act was completed on March 16, 1784. They 
were still required to be represented in the General Court 
jointly with Bolton, and for their failure to send a Representa¬ 
tive in 1790 the Town of Bolton and the District of Berlin were 
fined. The District of Berlin’s proportionate share of this fine 
was 44 pounds and 14 shillings, ordered to be collected by 
Constable James Goddard, Jr. 

To this District territory there was added the estate of Peter 
Larkin, consisting of approximately 144 acres, from Lancaster, 
dated Feb. 3, 1790. This tract was never a part of the Town of 
Bolton, lying west of the Bolton-Lancaster fine, and accounts for 


INTRODUCTORY FEATURES 


7 


that rectangular protrusion in the western boundary through 
which the Boylston road runs. 

Another addition was made in 1806 (Feb. 15) when the bounds 
between the District of Berlin and the Town of Northboro were 
established, whereby part of each was annexed to the other. This 
transfer gave Berlin the James R. Parks estate in South Berlin, 
which included the mills and the (Wheeler) Mill Pond, lo¬ 
cated on the North Brook. 

With this territory, consisting of thirteen square miles, or 
approximately 8,138 acres, and a population of 591 souls, they 
looked forward to the time when they should become a real, inde¬ 
pendent town. The realization of their ambition was accomplished 
in February of 1812 when the Commonwealth of Massachusetts 
passed upon the following bill: 

An Act to Incorporate the District of Berlin into 
a Town by the Name of Berlin 

Article I. Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Represen¬ 
tatives, in General Court Assembled, and by authority of the 
same; that the District of Berlin, in the County of Worcester, be 
and hereby is, incorporated a town by the name of Berlin, subject 
to the like duties and requirements, and vested with all the pow¬ 
ers, privileges and immunities which other towns do or may en¬ 
joy, agreeably to the Constitution and Laws of this Common¬ 
wealth. 

The wording of this act was recorded in the Town Records 
of Berlin on March 11, 1812, by Dexter Fay, Town Clerk. 


Topography 

Berlin has been referred to as the “Hill Town,” but it is not 
solely a rugged terrain any more than the neighboring towns 
of this section. These hills are interspersed with many valleys, 
large tracts of cultivated highlands, and rolling, fertile intervales. 

To the north of Berlin, in Bolton, there is the ridge of the 
Wataquadock; from this elevation three spurs project southward 
into Berlin like the toes of a huge bird. These are, reading from 
the west to the east, Barnes, Wheeler, and Sawyer Hills. The 
Barnes Hill spur leads off from Wataquadock (660 feet) at 


8 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Peach Hill at an elevation of 600 feet, and gradually descends 
southwesterly into Baker’s Hill at the Stone House (580 feet). 
This spur is broken at the foot of Potas Hill (near the Berlin 
Mushroom Plant and Harrimans Spa) by the waters of the 
North Brook. Just beyond the New Haven Railroad crossing on 
Route 62 (290 feet) Barnes Hill proper gradually rises to a 
height of 540 feet and then continues to rise in Ball Hill to 605 
feet at the Northboro-Berlin line. Then bearing somewhat 
southeast we ascend the slopes of Mt. Pisgah whose pinnacle 
is 720 feet above sea level, but at the Berlin line it is about 700 
feet. 

The Wheeler Hill spur bears off from Wataquadock at the 
Bolton-Berlin line and Carr Road at a point known as Rubber 
Station (480 feet), and continues to rise, bearing southwardly, 
to a height of 526 feet; then it declines to the level of the B & M 
Railroad (approximately 330 feet) and then, as a final punch, 
there stands Powder House Hill towering to 390 feet and, at its 
base, the Town House registers 326.5 feet above sea level. From 
this point southward to the Assabet River lies the great intervale 
tracts bordered on the west and east, respectively, by the Barnes 
and Sawyer Hill ranges. 

The eastern spur, or Sawyer Hill, branches off from Wheeler 
Hill near William Wheelers farm and then seems to emerge from 
Hog Swamp (340 feet), and as it stretches southeastward it gains 
a height of 489 feet. This range comes to an abrupt terminus 
at River Road, a few yards east of Danford Tylers residence, 
where the waters of the Assabet have built their lowlands. 

One stream, the North Brook, with its tributaries, drains the 
territory of Berlin. The main stream has its source in the Wata¬ 
quadock Hill and flows through the lowlands west of the Barnes 
range until it reaches the cut in West Berlin where it crosses 
over to the east side of the range. From here it follows a south¬ 
easterly course, through the broad intervale lands, and finally 
empties into the Assabet River in South Berlin near the farm 
of Danford B. Tyler. 

This drainage of Berlin finds its way to the Atlantic Ocean by 
way of the following system of rivers. The Assabet and Sudbury 
Rivers join the Concord River at Concord, which empties into 
the Merrimack at Lowell and finds its way to the Atlantic Ocean 


INTRODUCTORY FEATURES 


9 


near Newburyport, Mass. The Nashua River empties into the 
Merrimack at Nashua, N. H. Chace Street in Clinton forms a 
watershed, so that all water to its north flows into the Nashua, and 
the water to its south drains into the North Brook system. The 
west fork to the North Brook is an outlet from Clamshell Pond 
which circumscribes Snake Hill and empties into the North 
Brook at the north end of McCann’s Pond on West Street. 

A second feeder to the North Brook is the Cobum Brook. 
This originates in the springy land near the Stone House of Peach 
Hill Road and flows southward, east of Cobum Road, to Hale’s 
Pond, where it crosses West Street at Cobum Road and joins 
the North Brook on land of Hermon L. Sawyer. 

A third tributary of the North Brook, formerly known as 
“Wimpee’s Brook,” should be called “Wheeler’s Brook” for it 
rises on Wheeler land, off Highland Street, opposite the “Berry” 
homestead and flows southward crossing Walnut and Central 
Streets. It is joined by Brewer’s Brook on land of Bryant Zwicker, 
thence it continues southward crossing Pleasant Street near the 
Leslie Frye homestead, and soon joins the North Brook south of 
the A. Eason Coulson house. 

Along the course of the North Brook several ponds have been 
created by the building of dams for commercial purposes. Of 
these there are McCann’s Pond in West Berlin and Wheeler’s 
pond in South Berlin. There is one large natural pond within 
the limits of Berlin. This is Gates Pond, called “Kequasagansett” 
by the Indians. This beautiful lake, one mile long by one-half 
mile wide, lies at the eastern base of Sawyer Hill and is ap¬ 
proximately 360 feet above sea level. It was once a favorite resort 
for pleasure seekers and picnic parties in the summer season but 
in 1883 it was taken over by the Town of Hudson as their source 
of a water system. At that time the area of the pond was ninety 
acres with a watershed of 141 acres. In 1898 a new dam was 
constructed which gave it an additional depth of two feet and 
increased its watershed by twenty acres. The pond is fed by 
springs and it drains at the south end through a brook into the 
Assabet River near the “1790 Farm.” 

A romantic work of nature is revealed in the “Forty Caves” 
which lie about midway between the New Haven tracks and 
Allen Road, about one mile from West Street. Here is a ravine 


10 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


cut through solid rock which exposes cliffs and precipices some 
fifty feet in height, rent by numerous crevices and perforated by 
many caverns—the work of ages. Upon these walls of native 
granite, with its component elements, the geologist may find 
glacier scratches six inches deep. These scenic quarters furnish 
splendid picnic grounds as well as a gallery for scientific study. 
It is a miniature Purgatory. 

The Indian Story 

Probably there were no established settlements or villages of 
the Indians in the territory of Berlin, such as the one at the east¬ 
ern base of Mt. Wachusett, or that on the little plateau between 
the two Washacum Lakes, or the nearer settlement at “Five 
Corners” at the angle near the meeting of the two branches of 
the Nashua River, but there is an abundance of evidence of their 
sojourn in seasonable campings and their roaming in their hunt¬ 
ing and fishing projects. 

For untold centuries they enjoyed the natural resources of 
Berlin territory prior to the settlement of the white man. Even 
when their chief, Sholan, contracted with a Company of specu¬ 
lators from Watertown to sell them an eighty square mile tract he 
reserved the rights to their hunting, fishing, and planting grounds, 
and they continued to occupy our territory until they were driven 
out after the conclusion of the King Philip War by the increase 
of white setdements. 

The evidences of their sojourn are both physical and traditional. 
The members of Nashaway tribe of Lancaster to the north and 
the Ockoocangansett tribe of Marlboro to the south used Berlin 
territory as a happy meeting grounds. As W. E. Parkhurst says 
in his Indian Paths and Trails , “They had their hunting grounds 
and they had well-trodden roads from one mounded village to its 
neighbor.” Thus we could reconstruct this well-trodden trail be¬ 
tween the Nashaways and the Ockoocangansetts by following the 
course of the North Brook through Berlin and fording the Assabet 
near the 1790 Farm. 

When reminded that there were no railroads in those days an 
old settler replied: “Law no! There want no railroads in those 
days, but when they came to building them, they followed the 


INTRODUCTORY FEATURES 


11 


trail the hull way.” Here we observe that not only did the Old 
Colony (NY, NH & H R.R.) take advantage of this trail through 
Berlin, but also the aqueduct of the Metropolitan Water System 
and the high tension lines of the New England Power follow the 
same course. 

Furthermore, a trail connecting the Wataquadock settlement 
near Clamshell Pond with Gates Pond may be traced eastward 
over Boylston Road and connecting ways to the foot of Brewer 
Road and on over Sawyer Hill to Gates Pond. From thence, by 
following the course of the outlet to Gates Pond southward to 
the Assabet, we meet again then neighbors, the Ockoocangan- 
setts. They also would meet their neighbors at Gates Pond. 

Another trail, along whose route many evidences of the former 
presence of Indians have been found, is from the Wataquadock 
Hills to Kequasagansett (Gates Pond). This trail may be well 
traced from the hills over the approximate roads of Carr and 
Randall, then crossing Highland Street and continuing overland 
by Hog Swamp, connecting with Gates and Fosgate Roads to 
Gates Pond. 

Of course an interlacing of paths were scattered over the en¬ 
tire Berlin territory, so that Indian relics have been found in 
various parts. On the Larkin estate near the homes of the late 
Ella Howe and Warren Larkin of Boylston Road, at the base of 
cliffs and ledges, are the (reputed) Indian ovens on the tradi¬ 
tional camping grounds of the Wataquadock Tribe. Many relics 
of arrowheads, skinning flints, bludgeons, stone hammer heads, 
and scalping knives have been found on Snake Hill. Many of 
these specimens have been placed in the Worcester Historical 
Society. 

Another section which is rich in Indian lore is Hog Swamp. It 
was here that the Indians had a splendid hunting territory. It 
was through the courtesy of J. Adams Puffer and Danford B. 
Tyler that we learned of the discovery of such as skinning stones, 
flints, bludgeons, and other hunting implements in this locality. 

On Wheeler Hill the late F. Sherman Wheeler found a rare 
and remarkable arrowhead. This was not a native flint but an 
obsidian, hard and brittle, with vitreous luster, similar to stone 
found in Colorado. This relic is now in the possession of the 
Berlin Art and Historical Society. 


12 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Throughout the territory south of Gates Pond, on the lands of 
the late Waldo L. Wheeler and Myron S. Wheeler, many Indian 
relics have been found. The late Arthur Hastings had reported 
many findings on his farm in South Berlin. These included flint 
arrowheads, mortars, Indian corn bowls and pestle. On the stone 
wall in front of his residence there was an Indian head cut from 
a stone found on his farm. 

Near the confluence of the North Brook with the Assabet River, 
upon land of Danford B. Tyler, there is a mound reputed to have 
been a burying place of the Indians. On a plot of land off River 
Road bordering on the Assabet River there is evidence of an 
Indian camp where many stone chips have been found such as 
would have been thrown off in the making of arrowheads and 
other stone implements. 

When the English colony from Sudbury took possession of 
their grant (of Marlboro) in 1656 they found not only Indian 
corn fields but Indian apple orchards in a bearing state. 

Following the subjugation of the Indians by the conclusion 
of the King Philip and French and Indian Wars a few members 
of Indian groups continued to visit and wander over Berlin terri¬ 
tory. Several current stories are told relative to this period which 
give us a more personal view of the Indian story. It is said to 
have been a common practice at the home of Peter Larkin of 
Boylston Road to leave the door unlatched; and ofttimes an 
Indian or more would drop in after nightfall, he down before the 
fireplace, sleep and rest; then at the break of day continue on 
his journey. The family of Reuben Hastings, who lived on West 
Street near the Clinton line, in Dewey Park, tells a similar story. 

It was through these visitations that the inhabitants of Berlin 
learned of many habits in the life of these Indians. For instance, 
the late Mr. Clarence Carville told this story, learned through 
previous generations: One day one of these wandering Indians 
informed them that the campsite of the Wataquadock Tribe was 
near Clamshell Pond and that they brought their deceased chief 
here, and he was buried west of Carville switch on Route 70, 
which is now covered by the dike of the Wachusett Reservoir. 
Likewise, the late Arthur Hastings told that through earlier 
settlers he learned that upon his farm land near the Assabet 
River there was a settlement of Indians. 


INTRODUCTORY FEATURES 


13 


It is related that as late as 1735 Josiah Sawyer, as he passed 
by on his homeward journey from his clearing on Sawyer Hill, 
was frightened by an Indian who was resting at the Sleeping 
Rock. 

In his book, Indian Names and Places in Worcester County 
(1905), Mr. Lincoln N. Kinnicutt preserves for us the meaning 
of several of the Indian terms of our locale. Wataquadock, 
“Branches of trees or wood for fuel” and “Field or land which is 
cultivated,” thus signifying a tract of open land over which fallen 
trees were scattered—or “a wood-land.” Kequasagansett (Gates 
Pond), “Earth quake” or “It (earth) trembles.” Assabet (River), 
“The stream we drink from.” Probably the only attempt to pre¬ 
serve Indian names was in the Triangular Tennis Clubs which 
flourished between the years of 1900 and 1917. They were the 
Kequasagansett of the Center, Minne-wa-wa of the west part, 
and the Shanondasee of the South Berlin section. 

There are different viewpoints of the attitude of the white 
man toward the Indian. In Clara Endicott Sears’ book, The Great 
Powwow, she expresses the humanitarian view which grants the 
Indian his native rights. Likewise, Mrs. Marion Fuller Safford 
in her work, A Story of Colonial Lancaster, pictures the back¬ 
ground or cause of the conflict between the white settlers and 
the Indians; on the other hand Miss Harriet W. Forbush, poetess 
of Lancaster, expresses the view that the Indian was basically 
barbarous and retaliative beyond reason. 

In conclusion, may we contribute Berlin’s aftermath in the lines 
of: 


The Indian’s Home-land 

Have you ever seen our country town 
With its fertile vales and wooded hills? 
Spurs of grand old Wataquadock, 

Once the home of Indian thrills. 

Here they roamed, o’er crest and gulley 
Seeking food, raiment and glee. 

But their kin have long been silent, 
Since our kin have gained the lea. 

Have you ever traced our streamlets, 
From their source, in yonder hills? 


14 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Or the West Fork from the Clamshell 
To its junction at the mills? 

And then follow it down the valley 
’Til it joins the Assabet. 

And search its shoals for remnants, from 
The dwellers of Ockoocangansett. 

Have you e’er sensed our crystal lake? 

Called by the Indians—“Kequasagansett.” 

Fishing and canoeing o’er its vast expanse; 
Following its outlet to the Assabet. 

When at sundown, all the hylas 
Throb their weird and rhythmic lay, 

Like the guttural, far-off chantings 
Of the Nipmunks, o’er the way. 

Have you ever viewed Mount Wachusett, 

Once a stronghold of Indian braves? 

Like a guardian, at the gate it stands, 

Silent watcher o’er their graves. 

Or have you climbed fair Mount Pisgah 
And scanned the “Promised Lands”? 

Vouched to the Indians as “unmolested 
Hunting, fishing and planting” stands. 

*“Have you noticed—they have left us? 

They will never more be found— 

They have crossed the purple hilltops 
To their Happy Hunting-Ground. 

Yet, when twilight shrouds the lowlands. 

And the frogs their banjos play, 

I seem still to hear the singing 
Of the braves of Nashaway.” 

* (“) From The Valley of the Nashaway Indians by Clara E. Sears. 


CHAPTER II 


THE CHURCH AND RELIGION 


Theoretically the Church and Religion predominate over the 
Political and Civic affairs of the community. Whenever the 
people desired to make a division or change in their political 
unit, they made their appeal in the name of religious worship. 
Thus, when the inhabitants of the southern half of the town of 
Bolton desired to form a new town, they worded their petition in 
these words: “Whereas, for the greater convenience for attend¬ 
ing the Public Worship of God it is found necessary to set off a 
part of the town of Bolton ... as a separate Parish.” 

The Parish was a political unit, but its chief concern was for 
the establishment of a place of worship and the selection of a 
minister. Thus after choosing “all the necessary Parish Officers,” 
their next article was, “to agree upon a Meeting-house spot for 
said Parish,” and thirdly, “to see what the Parish will do about 
having preaching amongst ourselves.” 

In the Parish meeting of September 29, 1778, it was voted “to 
have preaching among ourselves” and they granted one hundred 
pounds to support preaching and thirteen pounds, nine shillings, 
“to pay the incorporation expenses.” At a subsequent meeting of 
December 24, 1778, they voted “to choose a committee to take a 
deed of the Meeting-house spot, on the little hill north of the road 
leading from Samuel Jones’ house to the Samuel Rice shop, at the 
crotch of the roads.” 

This Deed was made by Samuel Jones who specified that “for 
and in consideration of the love and good which I have for the 
inhabitants of the South Parish in s d Bolton, and for ye speedy 
settlement of the Gospel in s d Parish, have given . . . one acre 
and twenty rods of land . . . for a Meeting-house place and ac¬ 
commodation.” 


15 




16 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


In the meantime, on April 7, 1779, the South Parish Church 
of Bolton was organized through an ecclesiastical council con¬ 
sisting of delegates from the Churches of Westboro, Shrewsbury, 
Northboro, and Stow. Twenty-five men signed the covenant and 
were considered the original members. Probably the wives of the 
married members also belonged. These were as follows: 


Josiah Sawyer, Dea. 
Alexander McBride 
Daniel Bruce 
Benjamin Bailey 
Jotham Maynard 
John Hudson 
Barnabas Bailey 
Amos Meriam 


Abijah Pratt 
Edward Johnson 
Joshua Johnson 
Eleazer Johnson 
Joshua Johnson, Jr. 
Silas Bailey 
Phineas Howe 
Samuel Jones 
James Goddard 


Fortunatus Barnes 
James McBride 
Jotham Maynard, Jr. 
William Babcock 
Jacob Moore 
Jonathan Meriam, Dea. 
Barnabas Maynard 
Levi Meriam 


From this date (April 7, 1779) until 1836, there were two 
organizations that administered the affairs of the Church. The 
Parish, District, or Town meeting, on the one hand, concurred 
with the actions of the Church meeting by granting their finan¬ 
cial support. The Church budget was raised by taxation—appro¬ 
priated at the annual (Town) meeting, as prescribed under Art. 
Ill of the Constitution of Massachusetts, which required that the 
several towns or parishes should be taxed for “the support and 
maintenance of the public worship of God.” 

At the Parish meeting of May 31, 1779, it was voted to grant 
800 pounds, in addition to the 200 pounds previously voted for 
preaching, “to enable the committee to carry on building the 
Meetinghouse, and also instructed this committee to provide 
Rum, Cider, Spike Poles and other necessaries for raising the 
Meetinghouse.” 

The Meetinghouse was raised on June 16, 1779 with the cus¬ 
tomary ceremonies. The meetings for worship and for Parish 
business were held within the house afterwards, for some time 
in an unfinished state, and remained the same for several years 
owing to the depreciation of paper money. One dollar of silver 
was worth forty dollars of paper or continental money. This 
humble meetinghouse became the rendezous for groups of 
worshipers, Parish, District, and Town Meetings, until the year 
1826 when it was taken down by vote of the Town and a new 
building erected. 


THE CHURCH AND RELIGION 


17 


Having erected a “Meetinghouse,” the next consideration was 
to “have preaching among us.” After hearing several candidates, 
they voted in Parish meeting assembled, “to invite the Rev. 
Reuben Puffer to become their Pastor.” The ordination took place 
on November 26, 1781, under a white oak tree on the knoll east 
of the Unitarian Church building. 

For his services as a “settled” Pastor of the South Parish of 
Bolton he was to receive 160 pounds in silver money or in paper 
money at the common exchange, for settlement, and sixty-six 
pounds, thirteen shillings, and four pence as a yearly salary in 
silver money or paper money at the common exchange. They also 
voted him twenty cords of wood at his dwelling house, so long 
as he remained Minister of the Parish. 

For the next half century the Church in Berlin prospered under 
the effective leadership of its pastor-minister. The Rev. Puffer 
administered to the Parish throughout its political changes from 
South Parish of Bolton to the District of Berlin, and to the Town 
of Berlin. When the territory became the District of Berlin in 
1784, the Church organization became the First Parish Church 
of Berlin. It was during his ministry that the new Church Build¬ 
ing was dedicated on November 15, 1826. This new building is 
a true Colonial type of structure, with a copied Bulfinch style of 
architecture. Its gilded dome has been (and is) used as one of 
the geographical positions of triangulation stations. The other 
two points are Tyler’s Cupola (of Harper’s red bam) and the 
peak of Mt. Pisgah. 

Changing views in theology were taking place in New Eng¬ 
land. While Rev. Puffer, an advocate of the orthodox school of 
theology, was administering to the spiritual needs of his parish, 
the clouds of controversy between the orthodox and liberalist 
views were gathering over the settlements of Lancaster, so that 
when Rev. Reuben Puffer was laid to rest on April 9, 1829, and 
the Church began to look for another minister, they discovered 
the infiltration of this controversy. 

As a result of this situation, when the Town chose the Rev. 
Robert F. Walcott (liberalist) as pastor of the First Parish 
Church of Berlin in January of 1830, a large number of the ortho¬ 
dox faith withdrew and formed the Evangelical Congregational 
Society of Berlin. Those of the liberalist (or Unitarian) view 


18 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


continued to worship in the First Parish Church building. They 
had the following ministers: 

Robert F. Walcott 1830-1833 

David R. Lampson 1833-1840 

The Evangelical Congregational Society of Berlin built for 
themselves a church building on Linden Street (under Powder 
House Hill) in 1830. This was later used by the Berlin Academy. 
They continued to worship here under the ministry of: 

Rev. Abraham C. Baldwin 1830-1832 

Michael Burdett 1833-1834 

Eber S. Clarke 1835-1837 

Robert Carver 1838-1842 

During this venture of the two societies, the Commonwealth 
had been revising its statutes so that an Amendment (Art. XI) to 
the Constitution of Massachusetts had made the several religious 
societies of the Commonwealth responsible for the financing of 
their own organizations. This article was adopted by the General 
Court and approved and ratified by the people as of November 
11, 1833. At the Town Meeting of April 18, 1836, it was voted 
“that the town relinquish all right, title and interest in and to the 
meetinghouse and all right to the bell and other appurtenances 
connected with said house.” (Records, Town of Berlin, Bk. II, 
p. 88.) But they voted to “pass over” the article relating to the 
disposition of the Meetinghouse Common. The contention over 
the ownership of the Common, between the Town and Parish, 
continued until the year 1868, when a decision was handed down 
by Judge Mellen substantially in favor of the Parish. 

Therefore, it is evident why the two societies decided to con¬ 
sider overtures for a union of the two factions and return to wor¬ 
ship together in the First Parish Church building. This was con¬ 
summated on October 25, 1843 by the settlement of Rev. Henry 
Adams (orthodox) a former pastor of the Hillside Church of 
Bolton. 

This arrangement continued until November 27, 1871, when 
the Unitarian Society of Berlin was organized and they withdrew 
from the First Parish and Congregational Society. During this 
period, two pastors served the united church: 


THE CHURCH AND RELIGION 


19 


Rev. Henry Adams, Oct. 1843-1853 
Rev. William A. Houghton, Oct. 1853 to Dec. 1878 
(a ministry of 25 years in one parish) 

Alfred S. Durston supplied the pulpit during 1877-1878 


The Church on the Common has been designated by several 
names, such as Orthodox, “Congo” and, after receiving a fresh 
coat of paint (1895), “The White Church,” and finally, “The 
Church.” In March, 1901, the church was incorporated under the 
name of “The First Congregational Church of Berlin.” Many 
changes have been made on the structure of the building since 
its dedication of November 15, 1826. The bell was purchased in 
1827 and placed in the belfry. The following inscription was 
placed on the new bell in 1899: 

First Congregational Church, Berlin, Mass. 

First Bell, 1827 Recast, 1836 Present Bell, 1899 
“Ring out the old, ring in the new. 

Ring out the false, ring in the true.” 

The clock, the gift of Mrs. Lydia Peters to the Town, was 
placed in the Church tower in the spring of 1882. In 1952 the 
Town voted $800.00 to modernize—the Town Clock; that is, to 
install electric control instead of weight operation. 

The horse sheds in the rear of the Church were torn down in 
the fall of 1899 and replaced by a commodious barn, accessible 
to the public. This bam was removed to Carter Street in 1930 
and became the Town Barn. In its place a three-story addition 
was built onto the Church building, housing the modem heat¬ 
ing plant in the basement, modem toilets, and rear staircase on 
the first floor, and on the second floor, Felton Hall, which is used 
as a choir room. 

The First Congregational Parish and Society had the following 
pastors between the years 1878 and 1901: 


Albert B. Cristy 
Henry Hyde 
Charles H. Washburn 
William A. Houghton 
H. H. Osgood 
Judson G. Spencer 
H. F. Markham 
Arthur Peabody Pratt 


1879-1881 

1881-1885 

1885-1888 

1888-1890 (pastor emeritus) 

1890-1892 

1892-1893 

1894-1897 

1898-1903 


20 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


The First Congregational Church (since incorporation—1901) 
has had the following pastors: 

Charles E. White 1903-1905 

Charles O. Parker 1905-1910 

Frederick T. Mayer-Oakes 1910-1913 
John P. Marvin 1913-1914 

Charles A. S. Dwight 1915-1918 

Alfred S. Durston 1918-1921 

Louis G. Hudson 1922-1947 


Rev. C. H. Washburn was the founder and first president of 
the Washburn Christian Endeavor Union formed in Berlin in 
October, 1887. 

The First Congregational Church continues to function under 
the First Parish Church of Berlin, a Federation of the Congrega¬ 
tional and Unitarian Societies, since September of 1947. 


First Unitarian Society 

The First Unitarian Society of Berlin was organized on No¬ 
vember 27, 1871, and their church building, located on the south¬ 
east corner of Carter and Central Streets, was dedicated on 
March 1, 1882. During the interim services were conducted in 
the Town Hall. 

Herewith we submit the history of the Society as contributed 
by Rev. Frederick L. Weis, Th.D. (Minister of the First Church 
in Lancaster) in his The History of the First Church of Christ in 
Lancaster , Mass. ( 1653 - 1940 ), p. 126: 

The First Congregational Church of Berlin (Formerly Unitarian; 
now Orthodox Congregational) Founded: April 9, 1779. Rev. Reuben 
Puffer, D.D. (H.C., 1778); Ordained Nov. 26, 1781. 

“Soon after the First Church in Berlin (or South Parish of Bolton) 
was organized, Mr. Puffer was ordained over it. He was a man of 
liberal mind, and received from Harvard College the degree of Doctor 
of Divinity in 1810. At the time of his death, the Unitarians were in 
the majority and the Rev. Mr. Wallcut, an avowed Unitarian, was 
called in 1830. The orthodox minority seceded at that time to form 
a Trinitarian Congregational Church. Mr. Wallcut was succeeded as 
minister of the First Church by Rev. Mr. Lamson, also a Unitarian, 
who remained until 1840. Later, the members of the First Church 
(Unitarian), with more generosity than wisdom, invited the orthodox 


THE CHURCH AND RELIGION 


21 


element, which had seceded, to re-unite with them. This they did, 
and soon after a meeting was called, at which, by dubious means an 
unrepresentative group within the parish called an orthodox minister. 
The Unitarians were then in the position of the parents of an adopted 
child, who, having gotten technical, though unjust, possession, puts 
his parents out of their own home. As a consequence, the Unitarians, 
being uncomfortable in their own church, left. 

“Eventually the Unitarians joined forces again and built a new 
church, over which, in 1872, the Rev. George W. Green was ordained.” 

Their Ministers have been: 


William S. Hayward of Hudson 
I. F. Waterhouse of Clinton 



25, 1871-October 10, 1872 


George W. Green Nov. 1872-July 1873 

Grandville Pierce Nov. 1873-Oct. 1876 

Francis S. Thatcher Dec. 1876-1878 

Sheldon C. Clark Apr.-Sept. 1879 

Cyrus A. Roys, for a few months 

William C. Litchfield 1880-1882 


E. P. Gibbs 

H. H. Lincoln 
Obed Eldridge 
William C. Litchfield 

I. F. Porter 
Herbert Whitney 
Walter Pierce 
Mary Whitney 
George F. Pratt 
Arthur E. Wilson 
Frank R. Gale 
Herman F. Lion 
Daniel M. Welch 
Charles F. Roberts 
Ivan A. Klein 
Silas Bacon 

Glen O. Canfield 

Daniel M. Welch of Clinton 

Frank S. Gredler 


Supplies 

June 1882-Apr. 1884 

1884-1886 

1887-1888 

Supplies 

Jan. 1889-Apr. 1889 

1890-1898 
1898-1902 
1903-1912 
1914-1916 
1917-1921 
1922-1924 
1925-1940 
1940-1943 
-Aug. 1946 

Sept. 1946-June 1947 


} 


Some three unique personalities figured in the life and dignity 
of the Unitarian Society and the community. On Sunday of No¬ 
vember 13, 1842, Mr. Edward Everett Hale, the noted American 
clergyman and author, while yet a youth of twenty years came to 
Berlin and here preached his first sermon since his ordination, so 
he regarded it as an important date in his calendar. 




22 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Fifty years later, on November 10, 1892, Dr. Hale came here 
again to preach in commemoration of the anniversary. He took 
for his text: Eccles. 7:10 “Say not thou, What is the cause that 
the former days were better than these?” and in his usual optimis¬ 
tic manner he marshaled the signs of moral and spiritual, as well 
as material progress, preparing the way for the coming of the 
Son of Man. 

The Unitarian Church building was dedicated on March 1, 
1882, and on this occasion Dr. Minot Savage delivered the dedi¬ 
cation sermon. Fifty years later, on April 10, 1932, the Society 
observed their Fiftieth Anniversary and, at this time, Dr. Max¬ 
well Savage of Worcester (a son of the former), preached the 
anniversary sermon. 

The Unitarian Society maintained a Sunday School, Young 
Peoples’ Fellowship and the Women’s Alliance. The Laymen’s 
League (Men’s Club) was organized under the pastorate of Rev. 
Herman F. Lion in 1915, with M. Reed Tyler as its President. 

The members of this society were always noted for their in¬ 
terest in social and civic affairs; so that it was natural for them 
to submit their Men’s Club to the Town and, in 1916, it was or¬ 
ganized into the Berlin Board of Trade, with Mr. M. R. Tyler as 
its first President. They were deeply interested in the Village Im¬ 
provement Society which offered some social life as well as doing 
much to brighten the Center Village. They held their first meeting 
in September of 1900 and were disbanded in April of 1917. 

The horse-sheds were built in 1896 and the floors cemented in 
1905. When the need of a Community Recreation Room was 
urged, they converted their barn into a beautiful, commodious 
Parish Hall, which was dedeicated on May 14, 1926. 

The Unitarian Society of Berlin federated with the First Con¬ 
gregational Church of Berlin to form the First Parish Church of 
Berlin on September 5, 1947; but the Unitarian Society con¬ 
tinues to function under its original organization. 


The Methodist Church 

The Methodist Episcopal Church of Berlin was first organized . 
in April of 1856. This was accomplished under the direction of 
Rev. Gardner Rice, then principal of the Berlin Academy. Prayer 


THE CHURCH AND RELIGION 


23 


and Class Meetings, as well as preaching services, were held in 
the Academy Building. Services were continued under the fol¬ 
lowing pastorates: 


Gardner Rice 
John Goodwin 
W. W. Colburn 
Nathaniel Stevens 
B. F. Whittemore 


1855- 1856 

1856- 1858 
1858-1860 
1860-1862 
1862-(6 months) 


The Rev. Mr. Whittemore was appointed Chaplain in the Army 
and almost all of the male members of the society went into serv¬ 
ice of the Civil War. Thus the Methodist Church was dormant 
for a period of eight years. The organization was resumed under 
the administration of the Presiding Elder, Rev. Chas. S. Rogers, 
on September 15, 1880; and Rev. Charles H. Hanaford was 
appointed Pastor in charge. Rev. William W. Colburn of Clinton 
had conducted preaching services in the Town Hall since April 
18, 1880 until the re-organization. Then the following ministers 
served the Church: 


William W. Colburn 
Charles H. Hanaford 
Charles W. Wilder 
Erastus Burlingham 
Luther Freeman 
Paul Desjardins 


Apr. 18, 1880 
Sept. 15, 1880-1882 

1882- 1883 

1883- 1885 

1885- 1886 

1886- 1888 


During the pastorate of Rev. Desjardins the new church build¬ 
ing was erected and dedicated on December 20, 1887. The next 
pastor, Rev. James W. Barter, devoted much of his time traveling 
over the Worcester District, soliciting funds, with which he 
cleared the mortgage on the church building, and herewith we 
continue the Directory of Pastors: 


James W. Barter 
A. J. Hall 
F. E. Heigh way 
Sydney K. Smith 
J. Adams Puffer 
William R. Ashley 
Penny H. Murdick 
Benjamin H. Rust 


1888-1890 

1890- 1891 

1891- 1892 

1892- 1897 
1898-1900 
1900-1901 
Apr.-Sept. 1901 
Oct. 1901-1903 


24 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


William A. Wood 
John E. Beard 
C. B. Croxall 
Mark E. Penney 
William E. Speaker 
Philip A. Goold 
Frederick A. Krackhardt 
Harry A. Rothrock 
C. W. Campbell 
J. D. Van Horn 
Homer E. Moore 
Arthur O. Dewey 


Apr. 1903-1904 
Apr.-Sept. 1904 

1904- 1905 

1905- 1907 
1907-1909 
1909-1911 
1911-1913 

1913- 1914 

1914- 1915 

1915- 1916 

1916- 1917 

1917- 1918 


Once again the Church was obliged to recess, this time on 
account of a World War. Twelve of the young men, the flower of 
the congregation, were in the service. For three years the local 
members worshiped in neighboring churches. Early in the year of 
1921 some of the “faithful” members expressed a desire to resume 
services at the Church. So at an official Quarterly Conference of 
January 7, 1921, it was voted “to resume services in this church” 
and Rev. Charles E. Spaulding, the District Superintendent, was 
instructed to engage Rev. Olin J. Gary as pastor for an indefinite 
time. Whereupon the church resumed the roll of ministers: 


Olin J. Gary 
Edson G. Waterhouse 
Frederick Isackson 
Arthur S. Wright 
Malcolm W. Garland 
Thurman Robinson 
Pulpit supplied by Barter, 
Gary and Krackhardt 
Chester R. Duncan 
Supplied from Clinton: 
Leroy A. Lyon 
Benjamin Rust 


1921- 1922 

1922- 1925 
1925-1927 
1927-1929 
1929-1930 
Apr.-Sept. 1930 
Sept. 1930-Apr. 1931 

1931-1933 

1933-1935 

1935-1939 


Under the leadership of Rev. Edson G. Waterhouse, new life 
came into the Church and the community. A great remodeling 
program was conducted, both among their constituency and in 
their church building. It was during this transformation that the 
Woodward Memorial Window was installed. The same was dedi¬ 
cated on April 13, 1924; which bears the following inscription: 


THE CHURCH AND RELIGION 


25 


The above Window was given in loving memory of 

H. Wallace Woodward 
and 

C. Simmer Woodward 

Who made the supreme sacrifice in the World War 

This Memorial Window has been installed in the face of the 
Echo Organ at the rear of the auditorium of the First Parish 
Church. 

Since wars seem to have throttled the workings of the M. E. 
Church of Berlin in the past, they must have anticipated another 
war, for their congregation dwindled to an attendance of ten 
(seven on the average) after 1935. So that at an official meeting 
of the Church on May 4, 1940 it was voted “To discontinue the 
services in the Church” and “That the sale of the Church prop¬ 
erty be left in the hands of the Trustees.” 

The building was sold to E. Guy Sawyer on April 7, 1941. The 
pews and altar furnishings were donated to the Methodist 
Church of Clinton, and the invested funds (amounting to 
$2,481.69) were given to The Preacher’s Aid Society of the New 
England Conference as a memorial in the name of the men and 
women who served in the ministry of the Berlin Methodist 
Church. 

On May 10, 1939, the Methodist Episcopal Church, The Meth¬ 
odist Episcopal Church, South, and The Methodist Protestant 
Church were united and adopted the name “The Methodist 
Church,” so that hereafter the entire body is designated by this 
name. 

Most of the former members of the Methodist Church of Berlin 
have united with the First Parish Church of Berlin, and are ac¬ 
tively engaged in sponsoring its operation. 


The Society of Friends 

Although the Friends’ Meetinghouse is located in the Town of 
Bolton, it stands in the Fry settlement (Fryville) which is near 
the Berlin boundary, and a large number of the Friends reside in 
Berlin. The house was located off the east side of the Berlin- 
Bolton Road about one-half mile from the town line. 

Prior to 1779 the Friends of this territory were required to 


26 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


attend meetings of their faith in Salem; but in 1779 they acquired 
the privilege of holding Preparative Meetings in Bolton; and in 
1795 the Bolton Preparative Meeting requested to have a new 
Meetinghouse. 

The land for the Meetinghouse was given by John Fry from 
his farm, and in January of 1797 the house was reported 
“finished” 

The custom of holding separate men's and women's meetings 
brought about a change in the construction of the Meetinghouse. 
In 1818, a twenty-foot addition was built onto it and provision 
was made by a partition to accommodate both departments of 
the Quarterly Meeting. Shutters, forming this movable partition, 
were lowered after the meeting of worship, dividing the house 
into two rooms of nearly equal size. The men occupied the east 
side of the building and the women the west side, for the busi¬ 
ness session. 

In 1857, by the will of Martha Aldrich, $50.00 was contributed 
to provide cushions for the meetinghouse. The inconvenience ex¬ 
perienced in holding the Annual Public Dinner at the house of 
Arthur V. Wheeler—while the nearest house, yet it was too far 
for the comfortable moving of the group from the “Meeting”— 
aroused the interest of Francis T. Holder. In March of 1900, he 
presented a sum of money to the meeting for the building of a 
barn for the accommodation of the horses at the meetinghouse. 
Then, again, in May of the same year, he made a gift to the meet¬ 
ing for the purpose of building a social hall, which we know as 
the Holder Hall. 

In August of 1930 the meetings were merged with the Feder¬ 
ated Church of Bolton, but the Society continued to function and 
hold its Annual Meetings. For the past thirty years services in 
the Berlin Church were suspended, to allow those who wished 
to attend the Annual Meeting of the Friends in their Meeting- 
house in Bolton, held on a Sunday in August. This opportunity 
will not be granted again, for, in the summer of 1953, the Friends' 
Meetinghouse of Bolton was dismantled and moved to Old Stur- 
bridge Village where it stands among the many other preserved 
historical structures. 

The religious life of the Friends is guided by “The Inner 
Light.” The injunction of their founder, George Fox, was: 


THE CHURCH AND RELIGION 


27 


“Spread among your brothers, everywhere, the religion of life. . . . 
There is but a single temple, the heart of man. God dwells in 
the human heart.” 

Many of the original customs of the Friends were abolished in 
a changing world. The Bible was never read in Friends meetings 
—although the “frequent reading of the Holy Scriptures” in the 
families was enjoined. Nor was singing or instrumental music 
practised in meeting—it was even disapproved of in the family. 

Funerals were always held in the Meetinghouse. Coffins were 
made of white pine without handles. There were no lots in the 
burying ground, the dead were buried side by side. No markers 
or inscription on later stones. 

Weddings, too, were required to be held in the Meetinghouse, 
and the bride and groom were required to sit on the “facing 
seats” and “marry themselves” by speaking the prescribed 
formula which, ofttimes, consumed an hour. Then, “marrying out 
of society” was forbidden and punishable by being “read out 
of the meeting.” 

All this has changed. Flowers adorn the Meetinghouse and the 
austere simplicity has given place to the more cheerful and home¬ 
like aspect. Mixed marriages freely mingle in our churches and 
society. 

Members of the local meeting, whose gifts in the ministry were 
recognized and approved by their fellow members, were: 


Thomas Watson, May 5, 1801 

Sarah Holder 

Lydia Fry 

Abel Houghton 

Thomas Holder 

Lucy F. Collins, 1852 


Lydia B. Dow 
Alice M. Dow 
Albert Syze 
Alfred T. Ware, 1913 
Walter J. Homan, 1922 


The Clerks of the Bolton Monthly Meeting of Friends were: 


Abraham Wheeler 
Abel Houghton 
Daniel Wheeler 
John Fry 
David Smith 
Thomas Fry 
David Babcock 
Daniel Osgood 
John E. Fry 


May 29, 1799 

3 years 

4 
3 
7 

20 
6 
3 
15 


u 




28 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Nathan Babcock 
Bertha M. Cole 
Marjorie J. Babcock 
Flora E. Smith 
Marjorie J. Babcock 


52 “ 

26 “ d. 1938 

-1949 
-1950 
1950- 


The First Parish Church 

Rev. Glenn O. Canfield’s resignation, effective in August 1946, 
started the members of the First Unitarian Society of Berlin 
thinking about a Federated Church. The first meeting was held 
June 23, 1946, at which time a committee of five was appointed 
to confer with a similar committee of five from the Congrega¬ 
tional Church of Berlin on the proposition of forming a Feder¬ 
ated Church in the Town of Berlin. 

At a special meeting of February 23, 1947, both churches 
voted favorably upon a set of Articles of Agreement. Thereby, the 
First Congregational Church and the First Unitarian Society, 
Churches of Berlin, Mass., agreed to form and act as one con¬ 
gregation for religious work and worship under the name of the 
First Parish Church of Berlin, which was established on Septem¬ 
ber 1, 1947. 

The membership of the First Parish Church is open to all, re¬ 
gardless of denomination, who accept as a bond of union the 
religion of Jesus Christ, in accordance with His teachings that 
religion is love to God and love to man. But, membership in the 
First Parish Church does not deprive the individual from re¬ 
taining his own denominational affiliations. 

The First Parish Church of Berlin held their first service of 
worship on Sunday, September 7, 1947. 

The remodeling and re-decorating program of the First Parish 
Church building has given it a unique standing among the 
churches of the Central Worcester Area. The gilt pineapple 
which was above the pulpit in the first meetinghouse has been 
reclaimed and mounted above the altar in the auditorium. The 
building of the Unitarian Society has been remodeled into a 
Church for Youth. Dedicated June 3, 1956 as “Children’s Church.” 

The Pastors who have served The First Parish Church since 
its institution are: 


THE CHURCH AND RELIGION 


29 


John W. Linzee 
Leonard B. Gray 


Guy E. Mossman 
Robert W. MacNeill 


1948-1951 

1951-1954 

1954-1957 

1957-date 


The (Little) Union Church 


This little Union Church of all faiths is not incorporated and 
is the personal property of Rev. Louis W. West, on which an 
annual tax is paid to the Town of Berlin. It was the former wait¬ 
ing station, at Stone’s Corner, of the Clinton-Hudson branch of 
the Worcester Consolidated Street Railway Company. 

While young Mr. West was a divinity student, between the 
years of 1907 and 1909, he worked during the summer vaca¬ 
tions for Mr. Henry Stone in the Stone Carriage Factory, then 
located at Stone’s Corner on the west side of Central Street. He 
conceived the idea of holding religious services in the commu¬ 
nity and preached his first sermon in the little waiting station. 
The neighbors and friends “fell in” with the idea and Homer L. 
Stone built a pulpit, on which his father’s (Henry Stone) family 
Bible was placed. An organ was supplied by a neighbor and an 
orchestra was formed, and many remember the faithful times 
they had with Mrs. Clara E. Stone, Mrs. Hattie F. Stone, Forrest 
E. Day, William E. Jacobs. The room was fittingly furnished and 
Sunday preaching services and Sunday School classes were held, 
with Friday evening services. 

After Mr. West graduated from school, and became ordained 
in the ministry, The Little Church was abandoned. It being the 
property of Homer Stone, he turned it into a dwelling. Rev. West 
served Baptist churches in Vermont and Maine, and, in 1925, be¬ 
came pastor of the South Boston Baptist Church which he served 
for twenty-five years, retiring in 1950. Having married a Hudson 
girl, whose home is on Central Street (Hudson), he spent many 
of his summer vacations in this vicinity. It was in the summer of 
1943 that Rev. West learned that the “Little Church” dwelling 
was for sale, so he purchased it, placed a steeple on the building, 
and resumed holding services here on Sunday afternoons during 
his vacation period. 

The health of the Rev. Louis W. West, D.D. becoming im- 


30 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


paired at the age of sixty-seven, he sold the “Little Church.” It 
was moved a little westward on Central Street and converted 
into a dwelling. Rev. West reclaimed its steeple and has placed 
it on his new church, erected beside his residence at 301 Central 
Street, Hudson. This 5 x 8 x 10 Roadside Chapel bears the fol¬ 
lowing inscription: 

UNION CHURCH of All Faiths 
Rev. L. W. West, Pastor 
“Smallest Church in the World” 

- Always Open for Prayer - 


St. Joseph's Church 

The first Mass of the Roman Catholic Church to be celebrated 
in Berlin was on Sunday, September 10, 1950 at 9:30 a.m. The 
service was conducted by Rev. James B. Kennedy, pastor of Our 
Lady of the Rosary, of Clinton, in the Town Hall of Berlin. 
Previous to this time the Catholic population in Berlin attended 
services at the Holy Rosary Church in Clinton. 

The Most Reverend John J. Wright, D.D., Bishop of Worcester, 
broke ground for the construction of a new church at the site on 
West Street opposite Carter Street on Sunday afternoon of May 
4, 1952. The ground-breaking and blessing followed a dinner 
served by parishioners in the Town Hall at 1:00 p.m., attended 
by more than 500. At 2:45 a procession was formed at the Town 
Hall. The marchers proceeded down West Street to the building 
site reciting the Rosary on the way. The Berlin chapel choir sang 
hymns and the large gathering was addressed by Bishop Wright 
and Fathers Carroll and Kennedy. Father Carroll became pastor 
of Our Lady of the Rosary (Clinton) and St. Joseph’s Chapel 
(Berlin) when Father Kennedy was transferred to St. Leo’s 
Church in Leominster. 

The dedication of the new Chapel of St. Joseph, the Good Pro¬ 
vider, took place on Saturday, March 21, 1953. Most Reverend 
John J. Wright, D.D., Bishop of Worcester, officiated at the 
dedication exercises and also at the Pontifical High Mass, assisted 
by Rev. James B. Kennedy, Rev. Francis J. Carroll, and many 
other deacons of honor from the neighboring parishes. St. Joseph, 
the Good Provider, is a Mission of the Holy Rosary Parish of 


THE CHURCH AND RELIGION 


31 


Clinton, and Rev. Pasquale Bis car di is pastor in charge. This 
Mission accommodates some seventy Catholic families in Berlin. 

“The Upper Room,” a drama of the Passion of Christ, was 
presented in the Berlin Town Hall on Saturday and Sunday 
evenings, March 21 and 22, 1953, to a capacity house as a part 
of the dedication of the Chapel. “The Dark Days” was staged in 
1954 and “The Trial” was given in 1955. 


* * # 


Several native citizens of Berlin have entered professions asso¬ 
ciated with Christian Service of the Church. Bernice Abbie 
Wheeler, daughter of Samuel and Emily (Bruce) Wheeler, and 
graduate of Smith College, served as a missionary in China under 
the Board of Missions of the Methodist Church. She instructed 
in Oliver Memorial Girls H. S. (1921-24) in Chinkiang Ku, 
China. 

Chester Edward Falby, son of Verne F. and Blanche (Wheel¬ 
er) Falby, is a minister in the Episcopal Church. 

Albert Schartner, son of Albert C. Schartner (lived in Berlin 
with his aunt, Mrs. Elizabeth [Schartner] Wright), has become 
a minister in the Presbyterian Church. 

Rev. Louis W. West, while not a native of Berlin, became 
attached to the community when a student (1907-09), and 
founded The Little Union Church. He became a prominent pas¬ 
tor of the Baptist Church of South Boston. He retired in 1950, 
but still offers his service in the “Little Church.” 

A number of the girls of Berlin have entered the ministry 
through marriage. Rev. William Addison Houghton (pastor of 
Berlin Congregational Church from 1853 to 1878) married Mary 
Grace Howe, daughter of Solomon and Sarah (Stow) Howe, on 
May 22, 1844. 

J. Adams Puffer, pastor of Berlin Methodist Church (1898- 
1900), married E. Hope Rice, daughter of Willis and Harriet 
(Fay) Rice, on October 1, 1903. * 

Rev. Frank R. Gale, pastor of the Unitarian Church (1903- 
1912), married Efffe A. Merrill, daughter of John A. and Lorinda 
E. (Mansfield) Merrill, on August 3, 1904. 

Rev. William E. Speaker, pastor of Berlin Methodist Church 


32 HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 

(1907-09), married Ruth E. Brewer, daughter of Leonard W. and 
Harriet J. Brewer, on December 25, 1909. 

Rev. Frederick A. Krackhardt, pastor of Berlin Methodist 
Church (1911-13), married Eula L. Howard, daughter of 
Marshall E. and Etta M. (Perkins) Howard, on November 16, 
1916. 

Rev. Charles William Stewart married Alma Elizabeth Rowe, 
daughter of Louis V. and Louise C. Rowe, on August 21, 1948. 

Rev. John W. Linzee, pastor of the First Parish Church of 
Berlin (1954-57), married Faith Andrews, daughter of Kendall E. 
and Jeanette C. (Brewer) Andrews, on July 30, 1955. 


Cemeteries 

It may seem strange to associate cemeteries with the Church 
and religion. But since the burial of the dead was associated with 
the religious tenets of the Church, and funeral services were gen¬ 
erally conducted in the Meetinghouse, this may be admissible. 
It was also customary to have the burying ground adjacent to the 
Meetinghouse lot. 

Therefore, in anticipation of a settlement at Berlin Center, 
Samuel Jones and David Rice, jointly, deeded a piece of land 
for a “Burying field,” dated May 9, 1768. The purpose of said 
deed was expressed as follows: “For the love and good will of the 
inhabitants of the southerly part of the town of Bolton, living 
within the limits, which hath been mentioned for a precinct or 
district.” This was ten years prior to the setting off of the South 
Parish of Bolton and the building of the first Meetinghouse. 

The proximity of this “Burying field” to the “Meetinghouse” 
spot is made evident in the description of the bounds, namely, 
“Beginning at a red oak on the South side of ye County road, 
and runs westerly nineteen rods with ye said Joneses land to a 
heap of stones by the Burying field.” Thus, in fair weather, the 
Burying Grounds were used as a park by those who recessed be¬ 
tween the lengthy forenoon and afternoon sessions at the Sunday 
Meetinghouse. 

This Burying Ground is what is known as the “Old Cemetery” 
on the south side of Linden Street near the junction with Central 
Street. The first interment was that of Samuel Jones (father of 


THE CHURCH AND RELIGION 


33 


the donor), who died April 3, 1769. Here rests the remains of 
most of the early inhabitants of the town. Thirty-two soldiers of 
the Revolutionary War, and four of the veterans of the Civil 
War are buried here. 

Two monuments grace the grounds to express the convictions 
of the citizens for their honored dead. One is the Statue of Hope 
—"A centennial memorial by Artemas Barnes, 1876. Commemora¬ 
tive of the name and Patriotism of Lieut. Timothy Bailey who 
alone of the Soldiers of Berlin died in gaining our Independence, 
1777. He was buried in R. I.” The other is The Statue of Faith 
to Rev. Reuben Puffer, D.D., “Erected in affectionate regard for 
his virtues by Artemas Barnes, 1876.” It bears the following 
record: “The first minister of the Church in Berlin died April 9, 
1829 in the 74th year of his age and the 48th of his ministry. A 
man of great modesty, humility and goodness; of superior min¬ 
isterial gifts; beloved of his flock and revered in the Church.” 

Many unique epitaphs preserve the expression of the faith 
of a former generation. A few samples may suffice. In memory of 
a Captain, age seventy, who died October 29, 1784— 

I hope to sing, without a sob 
The anthem, ever new 
I gladly bid ye dusty globe 
And vain delights,—adieu. 

One aged forty-three, who died November 3, 1815- 

Long with distress, I bore thy hand, 

Till death did set me free. 

Lord, may I rise at thy command 
And dwell on high with thee. 

A mother of twenty-one years, whose child had died three 
months previous, March 21, 1819— 

Beneath this stone my body hes, 

Here mouldering in the dust 
Till God in heaven, shall bid it rise 
And reign among the just. 

By reason of my sad estate, 

I spent my days in tears: 

My reason left me, now of late, 

Though in my early years. 


34 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


One, aged twenty-nine, died December 26, 1851— 

My Saviour calls and I must go 
And leave you here, my friends below 
But soon my God, will call for thee. 

Prepare for death and follow me. 

A Mason, aged seventy-four, died July 12, 1825— 

He from earth, did sudd’nly retreat. 

To the grand lodge above; 

We trust he’s gone to take his seat 
Where masons dwell in love. 

A young man of twenty-seven, died June 12, 1813— 

Come here my friends and read a word, 

You all must shortly die; 

Prepare to meet your Saviour, God, 

And reign with Him on high. 

A man, aged eighty-one, died Fruary 28, 1822- 

Friends nor physicians could not save 
My mortal body from the grave, 

Nor can the grave confine me here 
When Christ doth call me to appear. 

A four year old daughter, died May 24, 1831— 

And art thou gone, thou lovely one 
And left us here to mourn; 

Yes, thou art gone, thou lovely one 
To rest in Jesus arms. 

In memory of a son, age ten years, died November 2, 1825- 

Sleep on dear youth and take thy rest 
God who form’d you, thought it best. 

At the Town Meeting of March 4, 1805, it was voted to pur¬ 
chase a hearse and build a hearse house. This house was located 
in the northwest corner of the Old Cemetery grounds. It was 
moved out of the Center Cemetery in 1926. The Old Burying 
grounds became known as the Center Cemetery to distinguish it 
from the new cemetery, located in the south part of the Town. 


THE CHURCH AND RELIGION 


35 


New Cemetery 



The first move made by the Town in relation to establishing a 
new cemetery was on June 11, 1849. At this time a committee was 
chosen "to ascertain if some suitable place for a new burial 
ground can be obtained.” The Committee chose a well-shaped 
piece of land at the corner of Sawyer Road and Pleasant Street. 
The grounds were laid out in 1857, and the work completed the 
following year. The first interment was that of Joel L. Wheeler, 
who died August 9, 1857. The tomb was erected in its present 
location in 1877. Sixteen beautiful spruce trees were set out along 
the southern border of the grounds by Arthur Hastings. All of 
these trees were laid down in a uniform row during the hurri¬ 
cane of September 21, 1938. Only one monument, that of Andrew 
Johnson, was broken in this catastrophe. 

These grounds were known as the South Cemetery until 1927, 
when the Cemetery Commissioners' report named it the Pleasant 
Street Cemetery. In March of 1908 the Town appointed a com¬ 
mittee to consider an enlargement of the South Cemetery. In 
1909 they purchased three lots, respectively, of Arthur Hastings, 
Samuel Wheeler, and Henry Wheeler, for an addition to the 
cemetery. Then they proceeded to enclose this new addition with 
a stone wall. The contract was let to Marshall E. Howard, and the 
Commissioners reported the completion of the same in 1910, at a 
cost of $668.75. 

In 1901 the Town created a Board of Cemetery Commissioners, 
consisting of three members, each of whom to be elected for a 
term of three years. They have the responsibility for the care and 
maintenance of all cemeteries. The expenses of the care of the 
grounds is met by the income from trust funds, perpetual care 
lots, and the sale of lots. The balance is secured by the annual 
Town appropriation. 

From year to year improvements are made and new equip¬ 
ment provided to secure better care of the grounds. In 1951 a 
small building was purchased and placed at the rear of the 
South Cemetery to house the equipment. In 1952 a new power 
mower was purchased and the watering system was remodeled, 
securing a good water supply with electric pump and tank, and 


36 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


renewed pipe line with faucets conveniently located throughout 
the cemetery. 

The Town purchased the burial records of a former sexton in 
1926. Thus a convenient system of records is maintained, which 
shows that there are at present (1953) 435 full lots and twenty- 
four half lots in Pleasant Street Cemetery. Of these, 179 full 
lots and twelve half lots are perpetual care. 

A fitting conclusion on the religious life of Berlin may be ex¬ 
pressed by a contribution from the pen of one of its faithful 
members. 


The Solitary Way 

Each of us treads it, from birth to the bier; 
Each of us dwells in his separate sphere; 

There is a sanctum, where none may come in. 
Comrade or lover, acquaintance or kin. 

But One is before us therein. 

Bread of our bitterness, eat we alone, 

Nor to a stranger our joy can make known. 
Lone in the hurrying throng on the street; 

Lone in the furnace, at sevenfold heat. 

But One is before us therein. 

When for us, flesh in its vigor shall fail, 

When we must pass through the shadowy vale, 
None may accompany—singly we go, 

Where the last path meets the river’s dim flow. 
But One there awaits us—dear Christ! 

Berlin, Mass., June 1935 Clara S. Eager 


CHAPTER m 


SCHOOLS AND EDUCATION 


Buildings 

When the District of Berlin became incorporated in 1784, they 
found themselves in a precarious condition as to their schooling 
facilities. They had inherited from Bolton some old isolated 
schoolhouses which were “illy located, of cheap construction, 
and in a dilapidated condition.” In 1785 the District was divided 
into four squadrons, for school purposes. Each squadron was 
made responsible for schooling arrangements. In 1792 the District 
built four new schoolhouses, one in each school squadron, cen¬ 
trally located. 

They were modeled after the typical old red schoolhouse of 
New England (dimensions 18 x 22 feet), at a total cost of 170 
pounds or about $850.00. As the population about the Center in¬ 
creased, they felt the need for a fifth schoolhouse. So, after a 
great deal of wrangling in the town meetings, another school- 
house was built at the Center in 1836. This was a 32 x 24 foot 
building, for which the Town voted $500.00. Now there were five 
school districts in the Town. These various schoolhouses served 
until the school district system was abolished by a vote of the 
Town in 1856. 

Up to this time each district or squadron had one man whose 
duty it was to have charge of the school in his district. He hired 
the teacher and supervised all school matters in his district only. 
It is easy to see how much difference there might be in methods 
and accomplishments in the various schools. In 1856 a system 
similar to our present one was introduced. This was about the 
time that Horace Mann attempted to have uniform educational 
facilities throughout the State. Now, the entire school system of 
the Town is under the control of the voters in the Town Meetings. 

In 1857 new schoolhouses were built in the five different sec- 

37 




38 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


tions of the town. These were of the most improved models, and 
were considered the best patterns of excellence and convenience 
then known. The cost of these buildings was reported as follows: 

North and South $2,785.00 

East 1,360.00 

Center 1,500.00 

West 1,358.00 

About 1875 the increase in the number of scholars in the center 

district justified a demand for additional school accommoda¬ 
tions, so that “Barnes Hall” of the Town Hall was utilized as a 
schoolroom, where the more advanced pupils from all of the dis¬ 
tricts were instructed. This was known as the Berlin High School, 
which continued to function until 1879. 

These school buildings of 1857 continued to be used to ac¬ 
commodate the scholars of Berlin, with various remodelings and 
readjustments toward a centralized school. In 1906 extensive re¬ 
pairs and remodeling was done on the five schoolhouses. They 
were shingled, painted, and a new heating and ventilating system 
was installed with the construction of new chimneys. A cistern 
was built at the East School, and a well dug at the Center, with 
pumps supplied for each. New desks and chairs were furnished 
at the Center. The total cost of these repairs was $3,404.17. 

In the year 1911 the facilities of the Center School House were 
enlarged by building a second story to the house, thus furnishing 
another classroom. This provided for the collecting of all seventh, 
eighth, and ninth grade pupils into a Grammar grade, and having 
a teacher for this grade, who should also be Principal of the 
Berlin Schools. This allowed for grades one through six at each 
of the five schools under one teacher, instead of nine grades, as 
previously. 

By vote of the Town in 1916, $1,000 was paid for the H. F. 
Hartwell property, east of the Center School, to provide more 
adequate playgrounds for the scholars. Considerable work was 
needed for grading and removal of rocks to put it in condition 
for a playground, so that it lay undeveloped over a period of 
years, until taken over by the new Central Building of 1951. 
Now the Superintendent of Schools reminds us that the school 
grounds should be beautified. “A little shrubbery here and there. 


SCHOOLS AND EDUCATION 


39 


flower beds fittingly placed, and shade trees carefully trimmed 
would go far toward building up the pupils’ ideals.” 

By the shuffling of the five school units, the School Committee 
and Superintendent of Schools attempted to solve the problem of 
a shifting school population and a proper grouping of the grades. 
As a consequence, the North School was closed in 1937, and the 
East School in 1943. The grades were distributed among the re¬ 
maining three schools as follows: All first- and second-grade 
pupils attended the Center School; grades three to six were en¬ 
rolled in the South School; and grades four to six in the West 
School; grades seven and eight were at the Center School. 

In 1949 (the last full year in the several school buildings) the 
following adjustment was made: 


Grade 1 

Center 

27 

pupils 

a 

one 

teacher 

a 

2 

Center 

21 

one 

teacher 

tt 

3 

South 

21 

a 

one 

teacher 

a 

4 

South 

19 

it 

one 

teacher 

a 

a 

5 

6 

West 

West 

16 

20 

it 

it 

► one 

teacher 

a 

a 

7 

8 

Center 

Center 

13 

9 

it 

it 

- one 

teacher 


Total enrollment— 

•146 

pupils 




On March 9, 1951, the school of 166 pupils was housed in the 
new Central School Building on Linden Street, with a faculty of 
ten instructors. The building was formally dedicated as the Berlin 
Memorial School on August 18, 1951, at which time the Building 
Committee released to the town the plans, specifications, con¬ 
tracts, and keys. The total cost for this building, including equip¬ 
ment and grading, was $146,136.51. 

Due to the increase of new families in the Town, the school 
enrollment mounted to 193, and it became necessary to continue 
to use the old Center building until a four-classroom addition 
could be built onto the Memorial School building. The Town ap¬ 
propriated $69,000.00 for this purpose and it was completed in 
1953. The total cost of the four completely-furnished classrooms, 
and including the additional driven well and pumping equip¬ 
ment, was $79,878.84. (Report of Building Committee for De¬ 
cember, 1954: Norman S. Coldwell, Carl A. Barter, Cecil 
Wheeler, Sr., John Campbell, and Mrs. Jeannette Andrews.) 
The old wooden building was sold and removed. 



40 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


A view of a shifting school population. 

Fall Term—1909 


Grades 

1 

2 

3 

4 

5 

6 

7 

8 

9 

Total 

Center 

6 

2 

5 

2 

7 

9 

2 

6 

6 

45 

North 

1 

3 

1 

4 

5 

5 

1 

2 

5 

27 

East 

0 

4 

0 

5 

6 

2 

5 

3 

0 

25 

South 

3 

5 

6 

8 

5 

3 

4 

4 

0 

38 

West 

3 

6 

4 

2 

2 

3 

4 

0 

0 

24 











159 


October 1, 194-2 


Grades 

1 

2 

3 

4 

5 

6 

7 

8 

9 

Total 

Center 

4 

5 

11 

0 

0 

0 

12 

19 

0 

51 

East 

0 

4 

4 

1 

1 

2 

0 

0 

0 

12 

South 

1 

7 

1 

4 

7 

3 

0 

0 

0 

23 

West 

0 

0 

0 

12 

10 

9 

0 

0 

0 

31 











117 


October 1 , 1949 



Grades 

1 

2 

3 

4 

5 

6 

7 

8 

9 

Total 

Center 

Memorial 

30 

32 

24 

25 

24 

20 

18 

18 


38 

153 

191 


October 1, 1953 


Grades 

1 

2 

3 

4 

5 

6 

7 

8 

9 

Total 

Memorial 

43 

33 

30 

23 

26 

24 

19 

19 


217 


October 1 , 1954 


Grades 

1 

2 

3 

4 

5 

6 

7 

8 

9 

Total 

Memorial 

20 

40 

31 

21 

18 

28 

25 

21 


204 










































































































































SCHOOLS AND EDUCATION 


41 


Transportation 

The original schoolhouses were located in the four quarters 
of the town so that they were accessible to the pupils of each 
district, and all nine grades were taught in each school; but when 
the attempt was made to accommodate certain grades in one 
building and others in another building, the problem of trans¬ 
portation arose. The first transportation problem occurred when 
it was decided to have the seventh, eighth, and ninth grade pupils 
come to the Center School. The trolley cars could accommodate 
those from the east and west, but a horse-drawn school barge 
had to be installed to carry those from the north and south. This 
was following the year 1911, after the addition of a second story 
at the Center. From then on the situation became more compli¬ 
cated as each adjustment was made toward consolidation of the 
schools. The total cost of transportation in 1911, including high 
school pupils, was $399.73, and for the year ending December 
31, 1954, the cost was $8,612.25. Since the abandonment of the 
Lovell Bus Service the transportation of school children is con¬ 
ducted by licensed school busses. During the school term of 
1952-53 there was daily transportation of 150 elementary pupils 
to the Memorial School. 

The School Committee made the ruling that no school children 
should be carried who lived within a mile of the schoolhouse. 
Therefore, if the front door of the home was within a mile of 
the school, and the rear door was 5,300 feet from the school, the 
children of that home could be carried by entering the bus from 
the rear door. 

During World War II, when the government wished to con¬ 
serve on the use of gasoline, the Massachusetts Department of 
Education insisted that Berlin should live up to the letter of the 
ruling—“no transportation within a mile of a schoolhouse.” Ber¬ 
lin’s arrangement was for the pupils of the fourth, fifth, and 
sixth grades to attend the West School, and the seventh and 
eighth grades to attend at the Center. Although there was a 
school building at the South and the East, these did not accom¬ 
modate grades four through eight. The Superintendent of Schools 
and the Department of Education did not analyze the situation 


42 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


and therefore, were disappointed with Berlin's “unpatriotic at¬ 
titude,” as Berlin continued to carry her scholars to their respec¬ 
tive classes. 

The question of transportation of school children was always 
a conundrum to the Conservative. Typical of this is the account 
in “Life in These United States”: “I was driving through the 
country with an old gentleman to inspect a farm and we were 
discussing that inevitable topic, TAXES. As we passed a school 
bus, he exclaimed, ‘See! That’s what I mean. When I was a boy, 
we walked three miles to school. Now we spend $8,612.25 for a 
bus to pick up the children so they don’t have to walk. Then we 
spend $20,171.12 for a gymnasium so they can get proper ex- 
erases! 


Supervision of Schools 

Under the original District School System each school district 
had an agent whose duty it was to see that school was “kept” 
with the funds allotted to him. This method was changed in 
1882 when a School Committee, consisting of three men, was 
“chosen,” who should administer the affairs for the five schools. 
R. F. Walcott, A. C. Baldwin, and Asa Sawyer were the members 
of this first School Committee. Rev. Wm. A. Houghton came on 
the Committee in 1858 and served intermittently until 1886. He 
teamed up with Elijah C. Shattuck in 1856 and Wm. Bassett in 
1858. 

This combination made a great outfit for the Berlin schools; 
they were capable of handling the situation. It was customary 
for the Committee to hold examinations at the schools to judge 
of the teachers’ good efforts, and if a teacher failed a member of 
this Committee could, and did, step in and conduct the school. 
Henry A. Wheeler was elected to the Committee in 1890 and was 
re-elected until 1900; then he served from 1907 to 1920. Charles 
A. Nutting served from 1920 to 1938, and John L. Nutting from 
1933 to 1951. A host of other citizens have served on the School 
Committee for shorter periods. The first woman to be elected on 
the School Committee was Mrs. Addison Keyes in 1885. The next 
was Mrs. Adelaide R. C. Parmenter, chosen in 1893. 

The Town abolished the District School System in 1856 and 


SCHOOLS AND EDUCATION 


43 


began its operation under the Town system, whereby the fi¬ 
nancing of the schools was accountable to the vote of the people 
at their annual Town Meeting. 

Following the provisions of Chapter 431 of Acts of 1888, a 
School Union No. 6, consisting of the towns of Berlin, Northboro, 
Southboro and Shrewsbury, was formed. This joint committee 
chose a Superintendent of Schools (John G. Thompson) who 
entered upon his duties on May 1, 1890. In 1921 Shrewsbury 
dropped from the Union to join Boylston and West Boylston, 
forming Union No. 70, thus leaving three towns in Union No. 6. 
The following persons have been Superintendents of the Union: 


John G. Thompson 
Henry S. Bullen 
George A. Mirick 
Nelson G. Howard 
Corwin F. Palmer 
William F. Sims 
Frederick B. Van Omum 
Charles A. Harris 
Henry G. Blount 
Roger K. Poole 


1890- 1891 

1891- 1892 

1892- 1897 
1897-1899 
1899-1902 
1902-1910 
1910-1921 
1921-1926 
1926-1948 
1948-date 


Faculty and School Term 

During the early period of the Berlin School District System 
there were two terms of school—the summer and winter. Each 
term had a different teacher. A woman generally taught the 
summer term, and a man conducted the winter term. The winter 
school was mostly attended by the boys and young men who 
could not be spared from the farm work during the summer 
term. It was unusual for the same person to teach more than one 
consecutive term. In fact, it had happened that during one term 
there were three changes of teachers. 

This gave Berlin a teaching force of five teachers, one for each 
of the five schools, and an agent to supervise each school. School 
kept for twelve weeks during the summer term, and thirteen 
weeks for the winter term. But, during and following the Civil 
War, each term had ten weeks. These were very irregularly at¬ 
tended—some pupils being present only twenty, thirteen, or 
eleven days during a sixty-five-day winter term. 


44 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


It was the ambition of the Superintendent of Schools, in 
compliance with the ruling of the State Dept, of Education, 
to gradually increase the number of weeks of schooling. Thus, by 
1894 they had increased to thirty-two weeks, and in 1898 they 
were keeping school for thirty-four weeks. The school year has 
only increased to thirty-six weeks, or 180 days, but they sure do 
cram a whole lot of learning into the children during these days. 
See the curriculum. 

There have also been drastic changes in the faculty, shifting 
from one teacher in each of the five schools (covering classes for 
grades from one to nine) to a teacher for each of the eight grades. 
From time to time special teachers have been added to the 
faculty. In 1897 a special teacher of drawing (or Supervisor of 
Art) was engaged. The following year, a special teacher of 
music (or Supervisor of Music) was added to the staff. In Sep¬ 
tember of 1901 a Principal of Schools was employed, who also 
taught at the Center School, thus adding another teacher to the 
force. With the diversity of teachers it seemed expedient that 
there should be some uniformity in the art of writing, so in 1934 
a Supervisor of Penmanship was engaged, which practice has 
been continued under the name of Supervisor of Handwriting. 
Since 1950 two more instructors have been added to the faculty 
—a Supervisor of Physical Education and an Assistant Supervisor 
of Physical Education, the latter being a woman who will take 
over the instruction of the girls. 


Curriculum 

The proverbial system of three R’s (Reading, wRiting and 
aRithmetic) was soon supplemented in the Berlin schools by 
more advanced studies. In the Abstract of School Returns for 
the Commonwealth in 1836, Berlin reports the following text¬ 
books being used in her schools: National Spelling Book, Inger- 
sol’s Grammar, Adam’s & Colburn’s Arithmetic, Olney’s Geogra¬ 
phy, American & First Class Book, Introduction to National 
Reader. These books were paid for out of the local fund. 

It was the problem of the Superintendent of Schools to in¬ 
troduce the proper courses of study, to see that these subjects 
were uniform for the several grades of the five schools, and also 


SCHOOLS AND EDUCATION 


45 


to schedule the time to be devoted to each subject. In the report 
for 1897, the following list of subjects was given: Language, 
Reading and Spelling, Arithmetic, Geography, History, Writing, 
Drawing, Physical Exercises, Physiology and Nature Study, 
Morals and Manners, and Music. All of these subjects were 
taught in all nine grades except Geography, which was omitted 
from the first and second, and History began with the fifth grade. 

Since the modern view of an education is to prepare the pupil 
for his life’s vocation—through the High School, College, or 
University—the curriculum has been greatly broadened to fur¬ 
nish an adequate basis for such ambition. Thus, in the report of 
the Superintendent of Schools for the year 1952 he states that 
“The educational program has been deepened, broadened, and 
improved. In common with all good schools we are now offering 
formal instruction in science and physical education at all grade 
levels. The textbook equipment of the schools has been com¬ 
pletely replaced with the best modem text materials.” 


Enrollment 

The enrollment of the elementary schools of Berlin varied 
considerably from year to year. This change is due to several 
factors. The ratio of the number of school children to the popula¬ 
tion of the Town was much larger in the early 1800’s than in the 
1900’s due to the difference in the size of the family. Thirteen 
children to the family had ceased to be popular. For instance, 
the population of 1820 was 625, and of 1840 it was 763, and the 
enrollment in the schools for the year 1836 was 193. But in 1950 
with a population of 1,348, the school enrollment was only 166, 
and in 1952 the enrollment was 191 (not quite up to the 1836 
figure). 

Few records are available for the early years of the schools, 
but in 1875 enrollment was reported to be 199. Then in 1891 it 
reached a low of 117 and remained low until 1898, when it began 
to increase. In the year 1920 it reached 195. Then it began to 
recede, so that in 1923 it was 158, in 1927, 151 and in 1928, 141. 
It rose to 175 in 1934, then gradually receded to 117 in 1942. 
Since then it has been on a gradual increase (people are again 


46 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


having families) and the enrollment is comparable to the increase 
in population. 


Educational Funds 

Certain trust funds have been willed to the Town of Berlin, 
the income of which may be used for literary or school purposes. 
The Joseph Priest Fund of $520.00 was given in 1817. The Nancy 
Young Fund of $1,500.00 was made available in 1859. By the will 
of Moses Reed Tyler, dated March 18, 1937, a fund was created 
to furnish financial assistance to worthy scholars of the Berlin 
Public Schools who desired to continue their studies in some 
higher institution of learning. The applicant was to be approved 
by the School Committee. The Fund, which amounted to $20,- 
106.76, became available for use in 1943. 


Support of Schools 

There has been a continual rise in the cost of schooling. This 
expense increase is due to an increase in the number of days 
that school kept, an increase in the number of teachers, and the 
general rise in wages, annuities, and the cost of materials. Fur¬ 
thermore, there are additional facilities such as transportation, 
health program, and libraries. Herewith is an account of the 
general rise in the cost of the support of public schools in the 
Town of Berlin. 


Support of Public Schools 


Year 

Account 

1836 

$ 400.00 

1850 

377.58 

1855 

576.86 

1860 

839.78 

1870 

1,189.00 

1880 

1,416.80 


Year 

Account 

1920 

$ 6,526.73 

1930 

17,602.02 

1940 

18,360.00 

1945 

20,600.00 

1950 

36,260.00 

1951 

42,020.33 


1890 

1900 

1910 


SCHOOLS AND EDUCATION 


47 


1,547.27 1952 47,542.00 

1,984.10 1953 53,226.81 

3,751.36 1954 61,400.00 


Auxiliary Agencies to Education 

The School Physician and School Nurse have become necessary 
units of the school system. The problem of health, both preventa¬ 
tive service and diagnostic cases, is supervised by the Nashoba 
Associated Board of Health, through which the Town has the 
services of a Community Nurse. 

The Parent-Teachers Association furnishes both equipment 
and aid in the cafeteria for school lunches, and administers to 
various problems of the successful school. 

The goblin-like figure of the Truant Officer has been eliminated 
since the fingers of transportation have been extended to the 
extreme sections of the Town. In case a pupil pleads absence on 
account of illness, a nurse is dispatched to investigate. 

The problem of discipline taxed the patience of the school 
teacher of former days. A sample appears in the Berlin News of 
December 11, 1889: “When Tommy arrived home, after his first 
day at school, his mother asked him, ‘Have you been a good boy 
today? Did you break any of the rules?’ Whereupon Tommy re¬ 
plied, ‘No’m, I was a good boy. But the teacher broke a rule on 
little Harry Fletcher and another on me/ ” 

Nine ladies voted for members of the School Committee at the 
Town Election of March, 1890, for the first time. The Berlin 
News carried the following dialogue: 


Johnnie “Look Papa! at the ladies coming in. What do they want in 
here?” 

Papa “They are coming to vote for the School Committee.” 

Johnnie “Why do they want to vote for School Committee?” 

Papa “Well, my son, since it is assumed that they have children 
in school, they should have a voice in who is placed in 
authority over them.” 

Johnnie “But papa!—Not one of those seven ladies have children. 
Why should they vote?” 

Papa “I can’t say. That is one of those unexplainable mysteries.” 


48 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


List of Teachers since 1895 

NORTH SCHOOL Grades 1-6 


Helen M. Otterson 
Florence E. Pratt 
Miss Etta Mann 

L. Ada Berry 

M. Jennie Mason 


1894-Jan. 1895 
Jan. 1895 
1896 

1897-1899 

1899-1900 


North School closed June 1900 to Jan. 4, 1904. 
Mabel G. Fillmore 1904-1905 

Maude A. Barter 1905-1913 

Marion Barter 1913-1917 

Flora E. Small 1917-1918 

North School closed June 1918 to Sept. 1923 

Grades 4-6 

Hattie B. Woodward 1923-1937 

North School closed June 1937 (Teacher and Pupils 
transferred to West School). 


EAST SCHOOL 


Grades 1-6 


M. Etta Otis 
Marion L. Mann 
Alice J. Kennedy 
Edna Z. Guertin 


1894 

1895-1897 

1897- 1898 

1898- 1901 


East School closed June 1901-Sept. 1902. (Teacher 
transferred to Center School). 

Edna Z. Guertin 1902-1936 (Retired—38 

years Berlin Teacher) 


Ruth Douglas 1936-1941 

Dorothy A. Henderson 1941-1942 

Josephine Loughrey 1942-1943 

East School was closed June of 1943 and pupils were 
distributed, by grades, to the South, West and Center 
Buildings. 


WEST SCHOOL 


Grades 1-6 


E. Hope Rice 
Lilia B. Newsome 
Nellie M. Fewkes 
M. McKie 
Emma A. Flagg 
Edith A. Walker 
Marion Newell 
Lila B. McPherson 


1893 

1894- 1895 

1895- Nov. 1895 
Nov. 1895-1896 

1896- Jan. 1897 

1897- 1898 

1898 

1899 


SCHOOLS AND EDUCATION 


49 


Alice B. Humphrey 

1899-1901 

Emma A. Hartwell 

1901-1911 

Mary R. Gallagher 

1911-1912 

Nellie R. Kelleher 

1912-1916 

Mary McDermott 

1916-1918 

Flora E. Small 

1918-1919 

Grace Ward 

1919-1921 

Pearl Booth 

1921-1922 

Mabel F. Marble 

1922-1923 

Louise Busby 

1923-1926 

Gladys Campbell 

1926-Nov. 1929 

Vera Hooper 

Nov. 1929-1932 

Doris Campbell 

1932-1933 

Marie Maddocks 

1933-1937 

Hattie B. Woodward 

1937-1951 

Teacher and pupils were transferred to the new 

“Memorial School’’ on March 9, 

1951. 

SOUTH SCHOOL 

Grades 1-9 

Etta M. Livingston 

1893, 1894 

Jennie E. Morse 

1894-1897 

E. Hope Rice 

1897, 1898 

Emily G. McDougall 

1898-1900 

Frances E. Rice 

1899-1900 

Clara D. Rollins 

1901 

Leonora F. Howe 

Nov. 1901 

Edith O. Edmonds 

1902 

Gertrude M. Hart 

1903 (2 mos.) 

Edith M. Daniels 

1903 (4 mos.) 

Eunice Caldwell 

1903-1904 


Principal Assistant 


Florence E. Corey 1904 

Hattie F. Haskell 

1904 

Marry E. Richardson 1905 

Hazel I. Sawyer 

1905 

Ethel M. Jones * 1906-1909 

Hattie B. Jones 

1907-1909 

Elizabeth B. McLean 1909-1910 

Inez M. Bailey 

Grades 1-6 

1910 

Hattie B. Jones 

1911-1915 


Hope B. Jones 

1915-1926 


Dorothy Littlefield 

1926-1927 


Marjorie I. Smith 

1930, 1931 


Marion (Warwick) Bufkin 1931-1936 


Helen Chamberlain 

1936-1938 


Hazel R. Heath 

1938-1939 


Florence A. Wheeler 

1940-1942 


Anastasia Stathos 

1942-1943 



50 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Josephine Loughrey 1943-1945—Grades 3-6 

Flora E. Smith 1945-1951—Grades 3 & 4 

Norma Plummer 1948-1951—Grade 4 

Teachers and pupils were transferred to the new “Me¬ 
morial School” on March 9, 1951. 


Center School 


Abbie L. Ring 1893 

Adelaide C. Parmenter 1894 
M. Etta Otis 1895 

Etta M. Livingston 1895 

Lilia B. McPherson 1896-1898 

E. Hope Rice 1898-1900 


Grades 7-9 (Principal) 

E. Hope Rice 1900 

Adelaide C. Parmenter 1901-1904 
Lucy E. Allen 1904-1905 

Eula P. Goodale 1905 

Ivy E. Towne 1906 

Mary A. McIntyre 1907 

Cherrie R. Anthony 1908-1913 

Marguerite Davis 1913 


(Marion C. Copeland 1913-1921) 33 
(Marion C. Fromant 1921-1946) yrs. 
Grade 7 in Partition Room 


Mary E. Morse 1924-1925 
Bessie Berry 1925-1926 
Grades 7 6- 8 by Principal 
Raymond A. Plotczyk 1946-1950 
Grades 1-6 (Assistant) 


Edna Z. Guertin 1900-1901 

Eva L. Simmons 1901 

Josephine C. Stebbins 1901 

Mary W. Emmons 1902 

Mabel G. Fillmore 1903 

Harriet W. Sawyer 1904-1907 

Gertrude Felton 1907 

Marjorie L. Sawyer 1907-1913 

Sophia Gelinas 1913-1918 

Alma Carbrey 1918 

Flora S. Smith 1919 

Josephine Cramer 1920 

Blanche Merchant 1921 

Grades 1-3 


Rose Caton 1922-1924 



SCHOOLS AND EDUCATION 51 


Gladys Forbush 

1924-1926 


Mary E. Brady 

1926-1932 


Margaret Moir 

1932-1944 


Ethel Henaire 

1945-1949 


Wilma W. Skinner 

1947-1949-Grade 2 


Berlin Memorial 

School 

Grade 1 

Barbara H. Krackhardt 

1950 


Anne G. Welch 

1951 


Ruth M. Bouchard 

1952 


Barbara H. Krackhardt 

1953)2 classes 


Dorice M. (Somerville) 

Bowman 1953 J to 1956 


Mary E. Conway 

1956 to date 

Grade II 

Wilma W. Skinner 

1950 to 1956 


Eloise P. Seifert 

1954 (2 classes this yr.) 


Edythe Arthur 

1957 

Grade III 

Flora E. Smith 

1950 to date 


Corinne Sullivan 

1955 (2 classes this yr.) 

Grade IV 

Norma Plummer (Grs. 4 & 5) 1950-1951 


Mary F. Casey 

1952-1953 


Janet Field 

1954-1955 


Mary J. McCarthy 

1956 


Judith Page 

1957 

Grade V 

Hattie B. Woodward 

1950 to date 

Grade VI 

C. L. John Legere 

1951-1952 


Salvatore Lipomi 

1953 


John N. Gibbons 

1954 to date 

Grade VII 

Raymond A. Plotczyk 

1950-1958 


Mary P. Mitchell 

1951-1952 


Raymond DiMuzio 

1953 to date 

Grade VIII 

Raymond A. Plotczyk 

1950-1958 


Warren W. Hayden 

1959 


School Physicians 


F. R. Glazier 
H. R. C. Cobleigh 
Everett H. Tomb 
M. P. Stanley 
Harry Poras 


1913-1914; 1918-1920 

1915-1917 

1926 

1927-1943 
1944 to date 


52 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Special Supervisors 


Art: 


Music: 


Instrumental Music: 

Handwriting: 
Physical Education: 


Marguerite E. Peaslee 
Jean A. MacKinnon 
Mrs. Alexandria Bowen 
Carrie Hoxie 
Florence Strickland 
Barbara Goward 
Esther Seavems 
Elvira (Forti) Sammis 
Elsbeth Ohlson 
Barbara Bennett 
Mary E. Keenan 
Mary M. Avedikian 
Hubert H. Bower 
Warren S. Freeman 
James G. Scott, Jr. 

William L. Rinehart 

John P. Clark 

Edith S. Lawson (Asst.) 

Florence R. Kinerson (Asst.) 

Grace Marchant 

Richard J. Walsh 

Lois Johnson 


1923 to 1956 
1956 to 1958 
1958 to date 
1927 to 1934 

1935 

1936 to 1940 
1940 to 1941 
1942 to 1944 
1945 to 1947 

1948 

1949 to 1952 

1953 to 1955 
1956 to 1959 

1954 to 1958 
1958 to date 
1934 to date 
1949 to 1954 

1951 

1952 

1955 

1955 to date 

1956 to 1959 


Other Educational Ventures 

In 1804 the town of Berlin voted and granted the sum of $30.00 
for a singing school, the classes to be held in the Town Hall 
under the auspices of a (paid) Music Teacher. This appropria¬ 
tion was repeated in 1809, and in 1819 it was raised to $40.00. 
Then in 1823 the amount was $50.00, with the proviso that a 
committee of three be appointed “to lay out the money.” 

Valuable talent was developed through these classes for the 
Church choir and social gatherings. In his reminiscent remarks 
before the 150th Anniversary of the First Church in Berlin 
(1929), the Rev. A. S. Durston said: “You had such remarkable 
musical talent as Charles M. Sawyer, Warren I. Stetson, and that 
prima donna Lucy Howe, to charm the people with their wonder¬ 
ful melodies. We raised funds and built a bandstand on the 
Church common. We had a band of twelve pieces, each one an 


SCHOOLS AND EDUCATION 


53 


artist on his instrument, like Charles Cartwright, master of the 
violin. 

From the Berlin News —“The Berlin Brass Band met for the 
first time on Friday evening, June 11, 1890, with Fred H. Cart¬ 
wright as director. This band filled many engagements in other 
towns. On one occasion, in the stormy month of February, the 
group of musicians had been gathered up by a pung and were 
enroute for Hudson, when it was discovered that one of them 
had forgotten his instrument. So, what could they do about it? 
They un-hitched one of the horses, and the oblivious one rode 
back home and secured his instrument while the others waited 
in a huddle.” 

In addition to the singing school, the sum of $50.00 was granted 
for a reading and writing school in 1889. This was probably the 
first select school in the town. It was personally conducted by 
Rev. H. H. Osgood in the “Bullard House.” The Berlin News 
relates that the “class gave an entertainment (last Tuesday 
evening) which was very interesting and highly enjoyed by a 
good audience.” 


Berlin Acadamy 

A history of the educational institutions of Berlin would not 
be adequate without the mentioning of that notable Berlin 
Academy. In 1832-33 Mr. Josiah Bride was requested by parents 
whose children had been under him in the South District to open 
a private school. This he did in one room of Madame Puffer’s 
house, on the condition that each pupil bring a chair and table 
for his use. The school grew so that in 1835 the town voted “to 
let Josiah Bride have the Town House to keep school in.” The 
number of pupils continued to increase so that, in 1843, Mr. 
Bride bought the Evangelical Church building, on Linden Street, 
and refitted it for school purposes. This became the “Berlin 
Academy.” In connection with this, he remodeled a house on 
Central Street (opposite the Common) for the Academical 
Boarding School. This building was later used for a hotel, and 
burned in 1888. The Unitarian Parsonage was built upon the 
site. 

The Academy continued successfully until 1857. It was the 


54 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


pride of the townspeople, and attracted students from cultured 
families of the neighboring towns, and the cities of Boston and 
Worcester. Students from nearly every state in the Union and 
Cuba were listed on their roll, and it ranked high with the many 
co-educational schools of New England. 

Both the academy and the boarding school were conducted on 
a puritanical basis. “It is expected that all members of the School 
will conduct themselves to promote the general happiness of the 
School. Profane language is strictly prohibited. Smoking is not 
allowed. No person who is addicted to the use of intoxicating 
drinks, can remain in this school. Boisterous conversation, whis¬ 
tling, etc., are not allowed in boardinghouse or academy. Playing 
of ball is encouraged, but cards . . . are strictly prohibited. 
Students are not permitted to go abroad on the Sabbath, but are 
expected to attend church. No student is expected to leave town, 
or go abroad to make calls or visits, without leave of absence.” 

“No student is expected to visit the room of another during 
study hours, nor is the visitation of a boy and girl in the same 
room permitted at any time.” Here is where mother nature tried 
to put one over on Prof. Bride, but did not succeed. It seems that 
there was a lad and lass who were very fond of each other’s 
company, so that they would arrange to meet in his room to help 
each other in their “home work.” It was the custom of Mr. Bride 
to make the rounds of the rooms each evening to see that the 
students were accomplishing their work “OK” or to give as¬ 
sistance where needed. So when they heard him approaching 
this particular room, the lady concealed herself in a near closet. 
The professor spent an hour or so in assisting the lad with his 
problems—then looking at his watch he said, “My! It’s getting 
late, I must go.” And, stepping to the closet, he said, “Miss— 
it is time for you to go to your room.” 


The Berlin Lyceum 

The Berlin Lyceum may well be counted among the former 
educational institutions of the Town. On Tuesday of November 
22, 1831, the following notice was posted (probably at Howe’s 
Tavern) in Berlin, which read: 


SCHOOLS AND EDUCATION 


55 


Persons desirous of forming a Lyceum are requested to 
meet at the Town House in Berlin, on Monday the 28th 
instant at 6 o’clock P.M. for the purpose of organizing 
and making the necessary choice of officers. 

The Berlin Lyceum was organized on the appointed date; of¬ 
ficers were chosen and a constitution drawn up. Thirty-seven 
men signed this Constitution within the first year and paid their 
fee of twenty-five cents. The Constitution states that the ‘'objects 
of the Lyceum are the improvement of its members in useful 
knowledge, the advancement of education in the Community,” 
and that “they will hold meetings for readings, discussions, dis¬ 
sertations, and other exercises which shall be thought expedient.” 

They planned to have a lecture or address by some capable 
speaker, a reading or paper, and a debate at each of the meet¬ 
ings. It is very interesting to note the subjects of their lectures 
and debates. Many social and civic questions were debated relat¬ 
ing to the Indians, Slavery, Temperance, and questions of both 
national and international interest. One question that evoked a 
great deal of interest was that of “Women’s Rights.” They de¬ 
bated the proposition “Are females capable of as high a degree 
of mental improvement as males?” and “Is a polite education 
conducive to Female Happiness?” These debates were always 
decided in the negative until Josiah Bride, the principal of the 
Berlin (co-ed) Academy, became a member. 

Men only were eligible to membership. But at their meeting 
of December 15, 1837, they voted to invite the Ladies to send in 
written communications, at the future meetings of the Lyceum, 
on the questions under discussion. It was not strange that the 
debate at the next meeting was on “Ought females to be admitted 
to citizenship?” But annually the question was decided in the 
negative. 

In order to assist the members in securing data for their 
debates, discussions, and lectures, they established a library, with 
a librarian, and set of by-laws. The records show that this Ly¬ 
ceum closed on December 28, 1841. Some of the prominent 
members of this group were the ministers of this period, Josiah 
Bride, Dr. J. L. G. Thompson, Amory Carter, Dexter Fay, Daniel 
Holder, O. B. Sawyer, W. B. Sawyer, Phiny B. Southwick, William 


56 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


A. Howe, and Oliver Fosgate. So, we see where some of these 
men got their “fire” for oratory. 

The above-named Lyceum was succeeded by The South Berlin 
Lyceum. This group carried on between the years of 1853 and 
1878, and filled a gap in the social and literary institutions of this 
period. Their meetings were held in the South School, and their 
program was similar to that of the Berlin Lyceum. But by this 
time the men had been convinced that the women had some in¬ 
telligence, and a male member states that “The part taken by the 
ladies of the town is worthy of special mention. The teachers of 
the several schools frequently took an important part in the 
exercises.” 

Some of the prominent members of this group were Rev. W. A. 
Houghton, E. C. Shattuck, Solomon Jones, Nathaniel Wheeler, 
Lyman Morse, Amasa A. Whitcomb, and William Bassett. 

A third Lyceum was instituted at the North Schoolhouse, after 
the Center Lyceum had abandoned. It is reported to have been 
profitable and instructive to the north enders, and was aided by 
talent from Fryville and elsewhere. 


The Shakespeare Club 

On December 27, 1877, the teachers and School Committee 
with several others, by invitation of Miss Fiske (then teacher in 
the High School), met and organized the Shakespeare Club. The 
meetings for the first year were held in the old Town House. 
After that they assembled at the homes of the various members. 
During the seventeen years of the Club’s existence, it held the 
interest in the popular classics. For the first two years the time 
was devoted to the immortal Shakespeare. Much time was given 
to the study of the life and writings of the trio—Longfellow, 
Whittier, and Holmes; and to the Concord celebrities—Emerson, 
Hawthorne, and Thoreau; and many more of the standard 
American and English authors were analyzed and criticized. 

They broadened their field of research to include not only 
literature, but art, history, and science. Associated with their 
activities were the annual trips to points of interest, and their 
social gatherings. Prominent members of the club were E. C. 


SCHOOLS AND EDUCATION 


57 


Shattuck, Miss Mary Bassett, Mr. and Mrs. Addison Keyes, P. B. 
South wick. Miss Jennie Morse, and Miss Mary Holder. 

A similar type of research and enlightenment is conducted to¬ 
day (probably not so persistent and periodic, but just as practi¬ 
cal) by the Berlin Tuesday Club and the Berlin Art and His¬ 
torical Society. 

An eight-week course in a School of Arts and Crafts was in¬ 
troduced on March 1, 1954 by the Youth Council. The meetings 
were held in the Memorial School. The course was open to 
youths of high school age and over. Instruction was given in the 
following skills: Plane and Ship Model Building, Archery and 
Rifle Range Practice, Marionettes and Dramatics, Art, Leather- 
craft, and Photography. 


Lyman School for Boys 

In 1895 the Commonwealth of Massachusetts purchased of 
Edward Flagg a farm of 100.5 acres, with buildings thereon, on 
which the Berlin Branch of the Lyman School for Boys was 
established. This property is bounded by Lyman Road and 
Linden Street. The large two-and-a-half story frame building 
facing on Lyman Road was used for the school and dormitories. 
The building was built by George Abraham Babcock about 1859. 
A large, commodious bam, garage, and woodsheds were located 
in close proximity to the dormitory. According to the Assessors’ 
report of 1942, the farm contained 114 acres. 

This institution is under the supervision of the Massachusetts 
Department of Public Welfare for delinquent boys between the 
ages of seven and fifteen. The Lyman School for Boys is located 
in Westboro, but the branch in Berlin was established to take 
care of the boys from seven to twelve years of age, in order to 
segregate them from the older delinquents. The number of boys 
varied from seventeen to thirty-six. The State plan was that they 
should be instructed in piety and morality and in the branches of 
useful knowledge; but much was added to their instruction by 
the personality of a teacher like Mrs. Sarah IT. Dudley, who added 
nature study, and an alert personal interest. 

Mr. Ira G. Dudley was assigned as Master of the School when 
it was opened in November of 1895, and Mrs. Sarah H. Dudley 


58 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


as Teacher. They remained here for forty-two years, retiring in 
1937. During these years more than 1800 boys passed through 
Mrs. Dudley’s classes. Many of them, years after leaving the 
school, returned to make a friendly call, and thus acknowledge 
the loving care they had received. 

The Berlin Branch of the Lyman School for Boys closed on 
May first of 1942, and Mr. and Mrs. Fred Staples, with the 
twenty boys of their charge, were transferred to the Westboro 
Lyman School. The property remained idle, in possession of the 
State, until sold to John P. McGrail in 1950. 


Library 

When Berlin was set off as a District in 1784, her interest in a 
library remained attached to the mother-town of Bolton. On 
March 9, 1791, the proprietors belonging to Bolton, Stow 
and Berlin, subscribers for a proposed library, met at the house 
of Mr. Silas Holman, innholder in Bolton, and voted to “Choose 
a person in each town to receive the Subscription for Sd Library 
and pay in the same to the Treasurer.” The Committee consisted 
of Silas Holman for Bolton, Samuel Gates for Stow, and Dr. 
Benjamin Nourse (our “Old Family Doctor” 1784-1804) for 
Berlin. Through their efforts, the Social Library in the Town of 
Bolton was organized, and in January of 1801 they drew up a 
code of by-laws to regulate the transaction of the Library. 

The Berlin proprietors asked leave to withdraw in March of 
1801. Apparently there was considerable hard feeling over the 
division of books, but the claims were finally settled the follow¬ 
ing summer. Berlin’s share, “with additions, was kept alive dur¬ 
ing the pastorate of Rev. Reuben Puffer” (1781-1829). 

Prior to 1891 there was no central library collection in Berlin. 
The few books turned over from Bolton had been distributed to 
different sections of the town. South Berlin, especially, enlarged 
their collection and established the Union Library Association. 

By the acts of the General Court in 1890, a Free Public Library 
Commission was appointed with authority to aid towns of low 
assessment valuation to establish free public libraries. Taking 
advantage of this opportunity, Berlin, by an article in the war¬ 
rant of March 2, 1891, elected a Board of three Library Trustees. 


SCHOOLS AND EDUCATION 


59 


These succeeded in organizing a Free Public Library, which was 
ready for public distribution on July 11, 1891. In 1895 the Library 
contained 858 volumes. 

The nucleus of 190 books has increased, by public and private 
contributions, to a capacity of 10,593 volumes, with a circulation 
of 4,585 in the year 1952. The circulation has decreased some¬ 
what since the Memorial School has established a school library. 

The original appropriation of $50.00 in 1891 has been increased 
from time to time until the report of 1952 showed the sum of 
$1,746.59 in available funds for library purposes. This includes 
the Town appropriation of $850.00, dog tax of $422.38, and the 
income from nine trust funds of $474.21. 

The housing of the Library was a problem which gave the 
committee a great deal of concern. At first, a location was secured 
in a private home at the Center, then in one corner of the 
Selectmen’s Room in the Town Hall, and later to enlarged 
quarters in the room across from the Selectmen’s Room. Rut as 
the number of books gradually increased, and the shelves were 
loaded, a plea was made for some “noble benefactor” to make 
possible a “memorial temple” for the Library. Bolton has her 
“Whitney Memorial Library,” and Boylston the “Sawyer Memorial 
Library,” but Berlin must be content to be more democratic and 
allow the “people” the privilege of building a suitable public 
library. 

Seeing this ultimatum, certain public spirited citizens be¬ 
came enthusiastic and busied themselves in creating a suitable 
public sentiment towards erecting such a building. It was at a 
meeting of the Tuesday Club on October 28, 1902, that Mrs. 
Catherine L. Lasselle gave the first silver dollar to start a build¬ 
ing fund for a public library. This was supported by pledges 
from several other members of the Club. Through this move 
public interest was aroused to such an extent that at the March 
Town Meeting of 1906 $1,000 was appropriated from the treasury 
to be set aside for library purposes. 

An opportunity was given during the Centennial Celebration 
of August in 1912 to bring this before the public by having in 
the parade a float bearing a replica of the proposed building. 
Over nineteen thousand dollars, accumulated during a period of 


60 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


more than twenty years, was secured from gifts, plays, and en¬ 
tertainments presented by various persons and groups. 

The first public action was taken in the Town Meeting of 
February 1926 when, under Article 19, a committee was ap¬ 
pointed to see about a library building. From then until 1929 the 
committee was busy laying plans for the building and collecting 
funds for the payment of the same. On December 6, 1928, the 
books were moved into the new Library and on Saturday, De¬ 
cember 8th, the new Library was opened to the public. 

The Library is open to the public every Wednesday afternoon 
from 2:00 to 5:00 p.m. and on Friday from 2:00 to 5:00 p.m. and 
7:00 to 9:00 p.m. 

The following rules have been adopted to aid in the care and 
preservation of the books: 

(1) Books may be kept for two weeks and may be renewed 
once for the same period, except seven day books and magazines. 

(2) A fine of two cents a week will be charged on each book 
which is not returned according to the above rule. No book will 
be issued to any person incurring such a fine, until it has been 
paid. 

(3) All injuries to books, beyond reasonable wear, and all 
losses shall be made good to the satisfaction of the Librarian. 

(4) Each borrower is held responsible for all books drawn on 
his card, and for all fines occurring on the same. 

This new brick Colonial-type library building was erected upon 
the lot of land, at the comer of Walnut and Carter Streets, which 
was given by James D. Tyler to the Town for “Library purposes” 
in 1915. In addition to the building, the grounds were beautified 
by the setting out of trees and shrubbery on a well-seeded lawn. 
Cement walks lead to Walnut and Carter Streets and a protective 
curbing encloses the grounds. 

The Town has been fortunate in having a group of faithful 
and interested Librarians since its organization on July 11, 1891. 
The following persons have served in this capacity: 

Miss Sarah I. Hastings July 11, 1891 to 1893 

Miss Mary M. Babcock (Wheeler) 1893 - 1903 (1921-1925) 

Miss Alice E. Babcock 1903 - 1920 

Mrs. Helen M. Sawyer 1925 - 1927 

Miss Ethel M. G. Sawyer 1927 - 1946 


SCHOOLS AND EDUCATION 


61 


Mrs. Hazel L. Sawyer 1946 - 1959 

Mrs. Helen L. Pierce 1959 - Date 

The transactions of the Berlin Public Library were placed 
under the management of a Board of three Trustees in 1891 and 
this arrangement continued until 1902. At the Town Meeting of 
1902 it was voted to add three more members to the Board of 
Library Trustees, making six members, two to be elected each 
year for a term of three years.* Among these there have been 
some long periods of service. Mary A. Bassett (1900-1917), Nellie 
C. Carter (1903-1931), Ida J. Sawyer (1905-1929), Sarah H. 
Dudley (1917-1938), Frances E. Rice (1918-1934), Edith R. S. 
Sawyer (1919-1945), Marion C. Fromant (1931-1954). 

*See list of Library Trustees under Chapter V on Civic Affairs. 


CHAPTER IV 


MILITARY AFFAIRS 


Indian Raids (1675-1676) 

Before the settlement of Berlin territory proper, its potential 
inhabitants were engaged in defending their home country. It 
is true that the Indians, through their Chief Sholan, sold to a 
company of white men a tract of eighty square miles, including 
the Berlin territory, in 1643, with the retaining privileges of their 
hunting, fishing, and planting grounds. As the settlements in¬ 
creased and the lands were being occupied by the white man, the 
Indians became suspicious of losing these privileges. 

So, under the leadership of King Philip, several raids were 
made upon the inhabitants of Lancaster, with the idea of driving 
the white settlers out and regaining their former territory. The 
first of these attacks was on a Sunday afternoon, August 22, 1675, 
when eight persons were scalped and killed, among whom was a 
Joseph Wheeler. 

The most tragic event occurred on February 10, 1676 (known 
as the Rowlandson Massacre) when fifty-five persons were af¬ 
flicted. Fourteen were killed and the remainder were carried 
away into captivity, and some of these died on the way. Among 
those killed were Mrs. Elizabeth Kerley and two sons; John Ball, 
wife and child; Ephraim Sawyer; Richard Wheeler; Jonas and 
Joshua Fairbanks. Four children of Lieut. Henry Kerley, and 
two children of John Ball were carried into captivity. 

Descendants of all of these families have settled in Berlin, and 
it was the concern of these to avenge the injury inflicted upon 
them during this period. It was thus that Jabez Fairbanks be¬ 
came known as “an Indian fighter and a terror to their tribe.” 

62 




MILITARY AFFAIRS 


63 


French and Indian War (1689-1763) 

(king william’s war) 

Starting in 1689, England and France were engaged in a 
series of wars for mastery in Europe and for commercial and 
colonial supremacy throughout the world. This series of intermit¬ 
tent wars was concluded in the Treaty of Paris in 1763. During 
this period many attacks were made upon this vicinity by the 
Indians, spurred on by the French. 

The Town of Lancaster had become well fortified, having 
eight garrisons scattered about the Town. But surprise attacks 
were made upon them. In July of 1692 a surprise attack was 
made upon the family of Peter Joslin, when Mrs. Joslin and 
three young children were killed and, also, Mrs. Hannah Whit¬ 
comb. Elizabeth Howe of Marlboro (visiting her sister) was 
taken captive. She was ransomed after four years and married 
Thomas Keyes. 

On a Sunday, in the autumn of 1695, Abraham Wheeler was 
mortally wounded while on his way to his home from the Sawyer 
garrison. About five years later, in September of 1697, the Town 
was again attacked. The result of this bloody raid and massacre 
was that nineteen were killed and eight carried into captivity. 
Among these were ancestors of Berlin families of Hudsons and 
Fairbanks. 


(queen anne’s war) 

This conflict continued during the Queen Anne’s War. A force 
of French and Indians made an onslaught on the George Hill gar¬ 
rison of Lancaster on the early morn of July 31, 1704, but were 
repulsed. Yet Lieut. Nathaniel Wilder was mortally wounded 
and the dwellings of Ephraim Wilder, Samuel Carter, Thomas 
Ross, and Philip Goss were burned. 

The next visit of the Indians, with hostile intent, was on 
October 15, 1705, when Thomas Sawyer, Jr., his son Elias, and 
John Bigelow were captured at their Deershorn sawmill and 
carried into Canada. After a miraculous experience, and the 
building of Canada’s first sawmill, they were permitted to return 
home. 


64 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


(king George's war) 

The French and Indian War proper started in 1754 with the 
English and French contending for control of the Ohio Valley. 
During the early years of the war, the French won many victories, 
the most important being the defeat of General Braddock, in the 
attack on Fort Duquesne (Pittsburgh). Braddock's forces would 
have been completely destroyed were it not for the skill of one of 
his Colonial officers, George Washington. Consequently, the 
English redoubled their efforts in North America. Additional 
troups were sent to the Colonies, which, together with the 
Colonial militia, began to turn the tide of battle. The Treaty of 
Paris (1763) eliminated France as a colonial power in North 
America. 

When the Colonial regiments were released, the men from 
Lancaster marched through the woods of Vermont, arriving 
home on December 1, 1759, amid great rejoicing. Among the 
Bolton soldiers in the French and Indian War, there were sixteen 
who lived on Berlin territory. They were: 


Nathaniel Hastings Peter Larkin 
Nathaniel Hastings, Jr. Edmund Larkin 


Benjamin Houghton 
Joseph Priest 
John Pollard 
William Pollard 
Jabez Beers 
John McBride 


William Larkin 
Mathias Larkin 
Abraham Bruce 
Jabez Fairbanks 
Robert Fosgate 
Joshua Johnson 


The next few years were peaceful. The only warlike activity 
was the drilling of the militia on the village Common. Each town 
in Worcester Countv had a company of militia, and Bolton's 
captain was Samuel Baker (of Berlin). In 1767, a second militia 
company was organized; but all militia training was abandoned, 
on order of the County Convention, in 1774. 


The American Revolution 

Following the Treaty of Paris, the English Government 
adopted a new policy toward the Colonies. This had three basic 
objectives: 


MILITARY AFFAIRS 


65 


(1) Reassert English political and economic control over the 
Colonies; 

(2) Restore Colonial respect for English laws; 

(3) Compel the Colonies to bear part of the cost of the French 
and Indian War. 

What did the inhabitants of Berlin do about these infringe¬ 
ments upon their colonial “freedoms”? Although Berlin was an 
integral part of Bolton during this period, many of the inhabi¬ 
tants living in the southern part of the town did their share in 
the preparations and defense of their homeland. They were alert; 
their experience in the French-Indian War qualified them for 
self-defense. 

On July 15, 1773, Samuel Baker and Joshua Johnson were 
members of a five-man committee which was assigned to meet 
jointly in Boston with the Committee of Correspondence. The 
Hon. Samuel Baker was a faithful delegate to the several conven¬ 
tions of the Committee of Correspondence held in Worcester 
during the summer and autumn of 1774, and always registered 
his vote for the interest of the Colonies. He was also a delegate 
to the First Provincial Congress, which met in Salem in the 
autumn of 1774. 

Tradition has it “that Land’ord Jones” had a gun in readiness at 
“Ye Jones’ Inn” to give warning of any approaching crisis demand¬ 
ing immediate attention. So when, on the morning of April 19, 
1775, a courier announced the approach of the British troops on 
Concord, boom went Jones’ gun, and the warning was picked up 
by William Babcock of Turner Road, who left his plow stand¬ 
ing, and hastened with gun and knapsack toward Concord and 
Lexington. Very soon Samuel Baker, Silas Carley, Joseph Rice, 
Samuel Spafford and others followed his trail. 

On March 2, 1896, it was voted “To see if the town will ap¬ 
propriate a sum sufficient to place a marker of the Society of the 
Sons of the American Revolution at the grave of each Revolu¬ 
tionary Soldier or Sailor buried in this town.” The provisions of 
this article were realized when, on May 30, 1957, markers and 
flags were placed at the graves of the Revolutionary War soldiers. 
(See under acts of E. H. Hartshorn Camp No. 43, for fuller 
description.) 


66 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


On the records of the “Old Cemetery” there are the names of 
thirty-two men of Berlin who served in the Revolutionary War. 
The list is as follows: 



Name 

Died 

Age 

1 . 

Adam Bartlett 

July 22, 

1828 

74 

2. 

Robert Fife 

Apr. 22, 

1787 

40 

3. 

James Fife 

Nov. 21, 

1790 

31 

4. 

Nathan Johnson 

Dec. 23, 

1832 

84 

5. 

Capt. Edward Johnson 

Oct. 29, 

1784 

70 

6. 

Joshua Johnson 

Jan. 25, 

1832 

86 

7. 

Amos Johnson 

July 12, 

1825 

74 

8. 

James Ball 

Sept. 15, 

1784 

58 

9. 

Nathaniel Hastings 


1820 

82 

10 . 

Eleazer Johnson 

July 3, 

1791 

74 

11. 

John Larkin 

Apr. 12, 

1841 

80 

12. 

Peter Larkin 

Apr. 13, 

1815 

88 

13. 

Col. Silas Bailey 

Oct. 30, 

1793 

71 

14. 

Stephen Bailey 

Feb. 12, 

1815 

61 

15. 

Benjamine Nurse 

Apr. 23, 

1804 

49 

16. 

Samuel Baker 

May 4, 

1795 

73 

17. 

David Taylor 

Aug. 30, 

1795 

72 

18. 

Joseph Priest 

July 31, 

1817 

85 

19. 

Ichabod Jones 

May 14, 

1778 

43 

20. 

Lieut. Timothy Jones 

July 7, 

1822 

82 

21. 

Jesse Jewett 

Feb. 5, 

1829 

76 

22. 

Samuel Jones 

Jan. 23, 

1797 

76 

23. 

Holman Priest 

Jan. 22, 

1831 

85 

24. 

Jonathan Merriam 

Jan. 5, 

1823 

81 

25. 

Levi Merriam 

Mar. 19, 

1812 

56 

26. 

Capt. Samuel Spafford 

Nov. 6, 

1809 

47 

27. 

James Goddard 

Jan. 13, 

1815 

84 

28. 

Joel Fosgate 

Mar. 24, 

1824 

73 

29. 

Thomas Pollard 

Oct. 2, 

1827 

84 

30. 

Job Spofford 

Apr. 5, 

1840 

87 

31. 

Capt. Samuel Jones, Jr. 

Sept. 22, 

1811 

55 

32. 

Fortunatus Barnes 

Nov. 9, 

1807 

69 


Shays Rebellion 

The cost of a war must be borne by the victor as well as by 
those defeated. The War of the Revolution was over; the Colo¬ 
nists had gained their independence, but its wounds had not been 


MILITARY AFFAIRS 


67 


healed. Grievances developed into the “Shay’s Rebellion.” Bodies 
of armed men interrupted sessions of courts in Worcester and 
Springfield. In January of 1787 Shay led 2,000 men to capture the 
arsenal at Springfield, but was opposed by the militia under 
General Shepherd. The prompt action of the State authorities 
put a speedy check on the insurrection. 

It was evidently a precautionary measure that prompted the 
District of Berlin to vote on March 8, 1786, “that the town stock 
of arms and ammunition be divided between the Town of 
Bolton and the District of Berlin, according to the incorporation 
act.” 

The records of Berlin are very shady as to what attitude the 
citizens took toward this insurrection. It is apparent that the 
District was well divided on the subject. At a special District 
Meeting of September 18, 1786, they voted to send William Saw¬ 
yer to the County Convention to be held in the house of Mr. 
Snow (Innholder) in Paxton. Mr. Sawyer had previously at¬ 
tended a convention in Worcester on August 15th, to formulate a 
statement of grievances. No report of the action of these con¬ 
ventions is recorded, but, according to the vote of the March 
meeting of 1787, Mr. Sawyer was allowed one pound, ten shillings 
and six pence for seven days of service at conventions. 

At the same March meeting it was voted “To see if the District 
will make any allowance to the soldiers that went into the service 
in support of the Government or aided others to find equipment.” 
The trend of public opinion was expressed in the election of 
April 2, 1787, when James Bowdoin received twelve votes for 
Governor, while John Hancock (who was supposed to be more 
in sympathy with the rebellious element) received thirty-three 
votes. 

Judge Samuel Baker was a staunch advocate for the mainte¬ 
nance of law and order, and no doubt his influence kept the 
District from getting into an unpleasant entanglement. Neverthe¬ 
less, some of the naughty rebels assaulted Judge Baker at the 
foot of Randall Road, as he was returning from his duties at the 
Court in Worcester. 

Once again a milestone in the civic life of Berlin coincides with 
a belligerent period of the nation’s history. The Town of Berlin 
was incorporated on February 6, 1812, and on the following 


68 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


eighteenth of June the United States declared war on Great 
Britain. 

The general sentiment of the Town of Berlin in relation to this 
War was evidently in unison with that of most of the towns of 
the Commonwealth. That is, while they opposed the policy of 
the administration, they were ready to support the government 
by personal service whenever called upon to defend the State 
from foreign invasion. 

In the election for Governor in 1812 Berlin cast ninety-five 
votes for Caleb Strong and only two for Elbridge Gerry. Gerry 
was known to be in favor of prosecuting the war, while Strong 
resolutely refused to comply with the orders of the Secretary of 
War, which was for Massachusetts to furnish 10,000 men. He 
proposed, instead, to organize the militia and have them ready 
on call for the defense of the State, if invaded by the enemy. 

The District of Berlin was prompt in taking action against the 
enforcement of the embargo. At the meeting of February 6th, 
1809, it was “voted to petition the Legislature to interpose for 
our constitutional relief against the late arbitrary and unjust 
violations of the rights of the people.” And a much stronger 
protest was drafted as of July 4, 1812, and sent to the Legislature 
with this note: “voted unanimously that the foregoing be adapted 
as being the sense of the inhabitants of the Town of Berlin.” 

The records are silent as to who served in this war, but, at the 
Town Meeting of November 2, 1812, it was voted “To pay the 
soldiers one dollar and thirty-three cents for mustering at Lan¬ 
caster last August”; and, at the meeting of March 1, 1813, it was 
voted to “add one quarter of a pound of powder to each soldier, 
in addition to what the law allows.” 

The Powder-House, built in 1814, was virtually a memorial to 
the War of 1812. At a Town Meeting held on March 7, 1814, it 
was “voted to build a powder house for the safe storage of am¬ 
munition.” Then they voted to choose a Committee, consisting of 
Captain Henry Powers, Deacon Stephen Bailey, and Captain 
Solomon Howe, to build the same. They must have felt the 
serious need of such a storage building, for it set a precedent in 
speedy construction. 

When a group of the Youth Fellowship made a historic visita¬ 
tion to the old “Powder-House” in 1950, one of the modern ladies 


MILITARY AFFAIRS 


69 


asked: “What brand of face power did they store up here, and 
why, in this out-of-the-way place?” “Well,” replied one of the 
young men, “A soldier faces powder, but a lady powders her 
face.” “Ha! Ha!” 

The treaty of Ghent, which terminated the War, was signed on 
December 24, 1814, but the battle of New Orleans was fought 
fifteen days later, for the news had not reached Washington in 
time to prevent it. The last survivor of the 1812 War (for Berlin) 
was John D. Merrill, who died in 1886 at the age of eighty-eight 
years. 


The Militia 

Berlin had formed the “Old Militia,” which was known as the 
9th Co., of the 1st Regiment of Worcester County Division and 
attached to the 2nd Brigade of the 6th and 7th Divisions of the 
Infantry arm of the service. Barnabas Maynard was their first 
Captain, commissioned in 1787. Thirty-three men are listed as 
members of this militia, with varying ranks—captains, lieutenants 
and ensigns. John D. Merrill was a Sea Captain; Joseph Parks 
and Timothy Bailey were attached to the Cavalry, during the 
War of 1812. 


List of the Militia 


Captains 

Barnabas Maynard 
Josiah Sawyer 
Samuel Jones, Jr. 

Job Spofford 
Manasseh Fairbanks 
Ephraim Howe 
Amos Sawyer 
Oliver Sawyer 
William Newton 
Solomon Howe 
William Barnes 
Curtis Howe 
Theophilus Nourse 
Benjamin F. Spofford 
Paul Brigham 


Lieutenants 
Samuel Baker, Jr. 
Augustus Bigelow 
Ira Sawyer 
John Powers 
Albert Babcock 
William Babcock 

Ensigns 
Henry Powers 
Aaron Barnes 
Joseph Wilder 

Sea Captain (1812) 
John D. Merrill 


70 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


John Bartlett 
Silas B. Fairbank 
Franklin Sawyer 
Silas Sawyer 


Cavalry 
Joseph Parks 
Timothy Bailey 


Civil War 

Following the agitation and turmoil of the War of 1812, the 
community of Berlin enjoyed a period of rest and prosperity for 
almost a half century. The population of the Town had increased 
from 600 to 1106 in 1860. Industry, as well as agriculture, had 
developed to a high level. 

The nation, as a whole, had enlarged itself in territory, as well 
as in population. By 1853 the United States of America possessed 
all the territory which comprises our forty-eight states; and the 
population in 1860 was 31,443,321. 

Prior to 1854 the two major political parties in the United 
States were the Whigs and the Democrats. In 1854 some Northern 
Whigs and Democrats, who opposed the Kansas-Nebraska Bill 
and were determined to continue the fight against the extension of 
slavery, formed the Republican Party. Its antislavery platform 
proved popular, and the new party gained many adherents. 

At the Democratic Convention in the Spring of 1860, they were 
divided into two groups over the slavery question. Abraham 
Lincoln of Illionis, the Republican candidate, was elected on a 
platform “opposed to the extension of slavery and favoring 
internal improvements, a protective tariff, and a homestead act” 
—all of which appealed to the Northern and Western voters. At 
the start of the Civil War (1861) there were twenty Union 
States, eleven Confederate States, and two Border States, making 
a total of thirty-three states. 

The people of Berlin were not totally ignorant of what was 
transpiring in the nation. The first notice that hostilities had 
commenced was announced by Amos Sawyer (the veteran ex¬ 
pressman and stage-driver) from his coach to the multitude that 
had assembled at the Post Office. This was on the eve of April 12, 
1861, as he read in clear tones from the Boston Liberator the ac¬ 
count of the attack on Fort Sumter. 

Immediately, Berlin sprang into action; the Selectmen called a 


MILITARY AFFAIRS 


71 


meeting at the Town House on May 6 (1861), and proposed to 
raise a whole company. Projects for drilling were perfected. The 
Company assembled and paraded on the Common and then 
marched to Northboro, under command of Captain C. S. Hast¬ 
ings, to show the Northboroans that the Berlineans were alive 
and ready for action and eager to obtain recruits for the new 
Company. 

The first official action took place on May sixth, when the town 
appropriated $2,000 for fitting out volunteers for the defense of 
the government. This action was in response to the President’s 
call for 75,000 men to serve for three months. On July 25, 1862, 
it was voted to pay $100 to each volunteer who might enlist in 
the service of the country to constitute the quota for the Town of 
Berlin for three years’ service. 

We have the following statement from the Adj. Gen. Schouler’s 
History of Massachusetts in the Rebellion: “Berlin furnished 130 
men for the war—a surplus of nine over demands. The whole 
amount of money appropriated by the town, on account of the 
war, was $14,013.22.” 

These Berlin Civil War Service Men were listed as follows: 


23 died in service 
4 died soon after dischargi 
22 in Co. I, 5th Reg. 

13 in Co. F, 13th Reg. 

4 in Co. D, 22nd Reg. 

5 in Co. I, 25th Reg. 

2 in Co. H, 29th Reg. 


14 in Co. I, 36th Reg. 

3 in Co. K, 53rd Reg. 

2 Naval Service 

4 Mass. 3rd Cavalry 

6 Mass. Hvy. Artillery 

7 Various other reg. 

27 in other branches 


The ladies of Berlin formed a soldiers’ aid society and did 
soldiers’ work for the Sanitary Commission. They also collected 
over $7,000 to purchase material to be made into clothing for the 
soldiers. 

The graves of four of these veterans of the Civil War are in 
the Old Cemetery, and seventy-five others rest in the Pleasant 
Street Cemetery. Captain C. S. Hastings headed the death roll of 
soldiers, having died on September 8, 1863, at Mound City, Ill., 
while on his homeward journey. The last of these Berlin Civil 
War Veterans to answer the summons to abide with the im¬ 
mortals was John L. Day, who died on July 20, 1928. 

List of Civil War Veterans whose graves are in the 


72 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Ezra K. Bartlett, 
Hollis Johnson 


Old Cemetery 

John N. P. Johnson 
John A. Merrill 


South Cemetery 


Allen, Nathan M. 
Andrews, George H. 
Andrews, Samuel E. 
Ball, Thomas B. 
Babcock, Francis 
Babcock, Harrison T. 
Babcock, William T. 
Barnard, Edward 
Bickford, Charles J. 
Bigelow, Edwin J. 
Bigelow, George E. 
Bliss, Charles H. 
Bruce, John L. 

Bruce, Willard G. 
Bryant, Edward S. 
Bullard, James M. 
Burgess, Wood J. 
Carter, Calvin 
Carter, Isreal F. 
Chamberlain, 
Spencer C. 
Cobum, William H. 
Dailey, Ebenezer W. 
Day, John L. 

Fry, Samson W. 


Fuller, Samuel 
Goddard, Silas 
Gott, Lemuel 
Hadlock, Everett 
Hale, Charles F. 
Hartshorn, Augustus 
Hartshorn, Edward H. 
Harper, Augustus A. 
Hastings, Augustus 
Hastings, Capt. C. S. 
Hebard, Everett A. 
Holder, Henry R. 
Howe, Alanson S. 
Howe, George L. 
Hunting, Joseph W. 
Jones, John A. 

Keyes, John F. 

Knight, George W. 
Lewis, Marshall J. 
Miller, Frederick 
Maynard, Charles H. 
Merrill, Sewall H. 
Moore, John A. 

Morse, Charles 
Osgood, William 


Rathbum, James F. 
Rathbum, Thomas F. 
Rice, Thomas 
Rich, Charles S. 

Rich, Henry P. 

Robbins, John 
Rose, John F. 

Sawyer, David Sumner 
Sawyer, Eli 
Sawyer, Oliver 
Sawyer, Rufus C. 

Snow, Charles H. 
Staples, Joseph 
Starkey, Charles D. 
Stetson, Warren I. 
Snow, Ansel L. 

Stone, Homer E. 
Upham, Otis K. 

Walker, Benjamin S. 
Webber, Andrew P. 
Wheeler, George C. 
Wheeler, Oliver P. 
White, Daniel A. 
Woodbury, Zoheth B. 
Wright, Charles C. 


In order to preserve and strengthen those kind and fraternal 
feelings which bind together the soldiers, sailors, and marines 
who united to suppress the late Rebellion, and to perpetuate the 
memory and history of the dead, the Grand Army of the Republic 
was organized. Post 54, G.A.R., was organized in Berlin, on 
June 23, 1868, with ten charter members. On September 25, they 
adopted the name of the John B. Gough, Post 54, which they 
retained until February 1, 1881, when they chose and adopted 
the name of the Captain C. S. Hastings, Post 54. Their enrollment 
increased to sixty-nine members. Charles H. Staples, a former 


MILITARY AFFAIRS 73 

member of Post 54, removed to Leominster Post 53 in 1896. He 
died on June 11, 1944; his portrait is in Memorial Hall. 

Associated with the G.A.R., as an auxiliary, was the Women’s 
Relief Corps. Later their place was filled by the Daughters of 
Veterans, whose membership consisted of female descendents 
of soldiers, sailors, or Marines of the War of the Rebellion. 

The new Town Hall was dedicated with appropriate exercises 
on March 2, 1870. In connection with this, Memorial Hall, a room 
on the first floor of said Town Hall, was dedicated as the Town’s 
memorial to “those of Berlin who had served in the late Civil 
War.” The marble tablets were located in the walls, and, further¬ 
more, the walls are bedecked with the portraits of seventy-eight 
(78) late Civil War Veterans. With the many war relics, this 
makes a museum of worthy public notice. 

In 1870 Memorial Day was established by the National En¬ 
campment of the G.A.R. for the purpose of commemorating the 
deeds and memory of the fallen comrades. Each year thereafter, 
on May thirtieth, Berlin has observed this order with appropriate 
exercises in the Town Hall, at the graves, and at memorials. 
Flags and flowers are placed upon the graves of all servicemen, 
and each year there is an article in the Town Warrant—“to raise 
and appropriate a sum of money for Memorial Day.” This sum 
has increased from $50.00 in 1894 to $400 in the year 1955. 

The E. H. Hartshorn Camp No. 43, Sons of Union Veterans 
of the Civil War, was organized on March 26, 1888, with twelve 
(12) charter members. The prime object of the organization 
was “to keep green the memories of our fathers and their 
sacrifice for the maintenance of the Union.” 

Under date of March 13, 1922, the C. H. Hastings Post No. 
54, G.A.R., made an affidavit to surrender all rights and title of 
the furnishings of Memorial Hall to E. H. Hartshorn Camp No. 
43, S.U.V. of C.W. These furnishings included the chairs, tables, 
desks, altar with Bible, tablets and framed portraits on the walls, 
and all relics stored therein. 

Camp No. 43 assumed full charge of the services and program 
for Memorial Day. Around the year 1938 it became the practice 
for the American Legion (H. Wallace Woodward Post No. 162) 
to co-operate and share with Camp No. 43 in the proper observ¬ 
ance of Memorial Day. Finally, after the passing of Walter J. 


74 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Allen (December 20, 1945), the Camp surrendered the Memorial 
Day Program to the American Legion. 

Appropriate recognition of the fiftieth anniversary of the 
organization of E. H. Hartshorn Camp No. 43 was observed in 
the Town Hall on the evening of April 18, 1938. Members of all 
of the local patriotic orders and visiting patriots participated in 
the exercises. 

A pitch party was held on February 12, 1942, to raise funds to 
procure grave-markers for the soldiers of the Revolutionary War 
who rest in the Old Cemetery. In co-operation with the Art & 
Historical Society these markers were procured, and on Me¬ 
morial Day (May 30, 1957) the markers with flags were placed 
at the graves during the impressive exercises conducted by the 
H. Wallace Woodward Post No. 162 of the American Legion. 

Camp No. 43 is credited (October 8, 1955) with the contribu¬ 
tion of $100.00 toward the “Building for Youth Campaign” of the 
First Parish Church of Berlin. 

The “high day” of the Camp No. 43 was around their an¬ 
niversary date (1938) when their roster showed a membership 
of seventy-four (74). Their membership has been gradually re¬ 
duced by death and withdrawal of members of the American 
Legion who felt that they did not care to belong to two patriotic 
orders, and chose the “modern” Veterans’ organization. Thus, the 
ranks of the Camp No. 43 has been reduced to ten (10) non¬ 
service men. 

James E. Andrews, who died on May 17, 1954, was the last one 
of the Charter Members. At the conclusive meeting of Camp No. 
43, held on January 12, 1958, it was voted “to disband as per 
date of April 23, 1958 (this being their seventieth birthday), 
that the rights and title of their furnishings and property in 

Memorial Hall be bequeathed to the Berlin Art & Historical 

Society for their preservation, that the residue of their funds 
($162.65) be bequeathed to the Town of Berlin to establish a 
Trust Fund to provide for the maintenance of grave-markers of 
G.A.R. and S.U.V. members.” 

List of Charter Members E. H. Hartshorn Camp No. 43 

Member Son of Born Died 

Elmer E. Allen Nathan M. Allen 2-6-1862 9-27-1937 

James E. Andrews George H. Andrews 9-12-1865 5-17-1954 


MILITARY AFFAIRS 


75 


Arthur K. Andrews 
George E. Andrews 
Spencer C. 

Chamberlin, Jr. 
Forrest E. Day 
Lewis E. Day 
Frank E. Knight 
Charles L. Knight 
Walter E. Merrill 
Robert M. Pratt 
Fred R. H. Stetson 


Samuel E. Andrews 
Samuel E. Andrews 
S. C. Chamberlin 

John L. Day 
John L. Day 
George W. Knight 
George W. Knight 
John A. Merrill 
Wheelock Pratt 
Warren I. Stetson 


5- 19-1867 8-19-1916 

2-14-1870 7-16-1929 

6- 21-1862 6-7-1917 

12-23-1866 12-2-1945 

7-3-1869 5-12-1933 

1867 Transf. 1902 

1870 11-2-1942 

12-24-1870 2-15-1932 

1863 Transf. 1912 

1-20-1871 6-23-1914 


The Auxiliary to E. H. Hartshorn Camp No. 43 was organized 
on March 3, 1934, with twenty-four charter members, their 
object being to assist the Sons in “keeping green the memories of 
the Soldiers of the Civil War.” Membership includes wives and 
daughters of “Sons of Union Veterans” as well as daughters of 
Veterans. The order surrendered their charter on December 17, 
1957. 


Spanish-American War 

Some of the basic causes of the Spanish-American War were: 

(a) Humanitarianism. America’s interest in Cuba’s desire for 
independence. 

(b) Economic interests. America’s trade with Cuba amounted to 
about one hundred million dollars per year. 

(c) Yellow journalism. The press published sensational news 
about Cuba’s ill-treatment by the Spaniards. 

(d) Sinking of the Maine on February 15, 1898. Hostilities lasted 
only 113 days, ending with the treaty of peace signed in 
Paris on December 10, 1898. 

This war marked the emergence of the United States as a 
world power with colonial possessions in the Caribbean and the 
Pacific. Spain ceded the Philippines to the United States for 
$20,000,000. The Filipinos were dissatisfied with the form of 
self-government offered them, so they carried on an insurrection 
warfare against the American Government from February 22, 
1899, to July 4, 1901. The cost to the United States for this sup- 


76 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


pressionary revolt was almost as great as that of the Spanish- 
American War proper. 

There is no reference to the Spanish-American War in the 
town records; neither was there any native of Berlin known to 
have enlisted in the service from Berlin. There were, however, 
three persons who saw service in this war who came to Berlin 
later and while here participated in the exercises and programs 
of the military orders. These were William W. Jacobs, Robert E. 
Bryan, and Robert F. Keith. 


World War I 

In the years prior to 1914, the nations of Europe were divided 
into two hostile alliances, nearly equal in strength. These were 
the Central Powers and the Allies. These alliances provoked each 
other into a series of international incidents or crises. 

When the war started in August of 1914, President Wilson is¬ 
sued a Proclamation of Neutrality urging the American people to 
be “neutral in fact as well as in name.” Then, on April 6, 1917, 
he went before Congress to ask for a declaration of war against 
Germany. From thence the War covered a period of approxi¬ 
mately seventeen months. By the summer of 1918 the German 
High Command knew that it had lost the war. Germany sued for 
peace, and an armistice was signed on November 11, 1918. 

On May 17 (1917) the Army Draft was passed and signed by 
the President on the next day; but already a large per cent of 
Berlin’s eligibles had volunteered and enlisted in Company M, 
5th Regiment, at Hudson. This body was later merged into the 
101st Infantry. 

Seventy-two citizens of Berlin volunteered their services for 
their country in World War I. Of this number, two brothers, H. 
Wallace and C. Sumner Woodward made the supreme sacrifice. 
Wallace was killed in action in France on October 23, 1918, and 
Sumner died of pneumonia at Camp Devens. 

Early in 1919 the town began to give cognizance of this 
service, for it was voted in the Town Meeting of March (1919) 
to erect a Roll of Honor for the men and women who had served 
in World War I. Furthermore, in the March Meeting of 1920, 
they raised the question of naming some street Woodward Ave. 


MILITARY AFFAIRS 


77 


in honor of the Woodward boys. They chose for this purpose that 
portion of Walnut Street which extends from the Woodward 
home northward, passing before the Town Hall, to the junction 
with Carter Street. 

Less than a year after the signing of the Armistice, thirty-five 
of the World War Veterans became charter members of the H. 
Wallace Woodward Post No. 162 of the American Legion. This 
group organized on August 19, 1919, in Memorial Hall of the 
Berlin Town Hall. Benjamin Marble was elected Commander and 
Leland C. Maynard as Adjutant. 

The body of H. Wallace Woodward was brought home and 
buried with military honors on October 23, 1921, just three years 
from the time of his death. The funeral service was held in the 
Town Hall, in charge of the H. Wallace Woodward Post No. 162, 
and interment was in the family lot at Pleasant Street Cemetery. 

The action on the article of March 3, 1919, “to erect a Roll of 
Honor” was delayed for several years, due to the difficulty en¬ 
countered in finding a suitable marker and location. But, in the 
meeting of February 3, 1930, the town voted $1,000 and named 
a committee of three (Henry A. Wheeler, Walter Cole and 
Robert E. Taylor), with power to act. Consequently, on Armi¬ 
stice Day, November 11, 1930, a beautiful and fitting memorial 
monument of Milford granite, supporting a bronze tablet bear¬ 
ing the seventy-two names, was dedicated with appropriate ex¬ 
ercises. This was located in a conspicuous position on the Com¬ 
mon, facing Central Street. 

This bronze tablet was relocated in the new Memorial School 
building, so that on May 30, 1951, the American Legion held 
their memorial exercises there. 


BERLIN HONOR ROLL 
1917 WORLD WAR 1918 

“Dedicated to those who answered their country’s call” 


Ralph Bailey 
Alfred J. Boyd 
Ralph S. Boyd 
Harry F. Bradley 
Leon A. Brewer 
Harry W. Butler 
Henry W. Calkins 
George L. Carter 


Roy L. Keizer 
George L. Kriss 
Wilbur E. Larkin 
Winfield O. Larkin 
John R. Lasselle 
Halsey B. Lewis 
Benjamin Marble 
Carl Marble 


Edward J. Seymour 
Orison B. Sloat 
C. Gardner Small 
George E. Stone 
Robert E. Taylor 
Arthur E. Turnbull 
Robert W. Turnbull 
Fred W. Ulrich 


78 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Chester E. Cole 
Benjamin H. Coolidge 
A. Eason Coulson 
Cyril E. Coulson 
Ernest B. Coulson 
Kenneth W. Crossman 
W. Stanley Crossman 
A. Gorham Davis 
George E. Duggan 
Raymond M. Duggan 
Walter T. End 
Howard H. Evers 
Fred H. Fosgate 
Harrv E. Hadlock 
Ralph E. Hartshorn 
Everett W. Howe 
Franklin O. Jacobs 


Ralph P. Marble 
Elmer C. Matthews 
Leland C. Maynard 
Harold D. Middleton 
John T. Nolan 
Arthur F. O’Keefe 
William O’Keefe 
J. William Parmenter 
Chester P. Randall 
Donald E. Ross 
Leroy E. Sargent 
Walter L. Sargent 
Frank Sargent 
Walter S. Sawtelle 
Wesley S. Sawyer 
William G. Sawyer 
Arthur J. Seymour 


William C. Ulrich 
Cecil B. Wheeler 
Lloyd L. Wheeler 
Raymond H. Wheeler 
Sidney W. Wheeler 
A. Eugene Wilder 
C. Sumner Woodward 
H. Wallace Woodward 

Y.M.C.A. 

J. Adams Puffer 
Raymond Ware 
Alfred Ware 
Willard Ware 

RED CROSS 
Mary W. Dewson 
Mary G. Porter 


World War 11 

The Second World War (1939-1945) lasted for a period of six 
years and ultimately involved most of the nations of the world. 
In the initial phase of the war, startling German victories seemed 
to doom the Allied cause. However, England grimly held on 
alone, and the Axis made two costly errors. Their first mistake 
was the attack upon Russia in June of 1941. The second mistake 
was the attack upon the United States. 

The Japanese attack upon Pearl Harbor, Hawaii, occurred on 
December 7, 1941. The next day Congress voted for war and the 
President declared a state of war with Japan and the vote of 
Congress was 470 to 1 for the war. On the 11th of December, 
the German and Italian declarations of war on the United States 
brought quick response from Congress. 

The anticipation of the possibility of the United States being 
drawn into this conflict caused the nation to launch a program 
of massive preparations for national defense. So, on January 3, 
1940, President Franklin D. Roosevelt asked for wartime powers 
and urged higher taxes for defense. On the 11th, he called for a 
five-year program for the Navy to build 150 ships; and on 
October 16 17,000,000 between the ages of 21 and 35 were regis¬ 
tered for selective service. On this date 94 Berlin men registered. 
Berlin fell into the Clinton Area No. 53. 


MILITARY AFFAIRS 


79 


Early in the year of 1941 machinery was oiled and greased 
for Civilian Defense Organizations. Berlin, as has been her cus¬ 
tom, fell in line with the program, and when the clarion call 
went forth she was found among the ranks of willing workers. 
Due to his military training, Edward Crowley was chosen Direc¬ 
tor of Civilian Defense for the Town. 

In July of 1940 he gave notice of his purpose to form a group 
of civilian defense workers. In response to this call, some 150 
persons registered and were assigned to various positions. In 
order to qualify for efficient service, the chairmen of the various 
divisions attended schools of instruction in Boston and Worcester. 
In addition to these preparations, several defense meetings were 
held in the Town Hall, which were well attended. Instructions 
were received demonstrating the proper conduct in case of a 
“black-out” and the handling of the situation in case of a fire¬ 
bomb attack. 

First aid classes were organized under efficient instructors and 
knitting was also done for the Red Cross. A drive for funds for 
the Red Cross in February 1942 resulted in raising $544.19. 

When the second registration was held on February 15-16 of 
1942 (which included all men between the ages of twenty and 
forty-four that had not entered the armed service or previously 
registered), Berlin added seventy-five men to the list. At the 
registration of April 26-27 (1942), including all men between 
forty-five and sixty-five, one hundred and twelve (112) men of 
Berlin filled out the cards. 

In order to carry out the program of Civil Defense, it was 
voted in the Town Meeting of February 1942 “to appropriate 
$1,000 to be used to cover expenses for purchasing three air raid 
sirens and materials for blacking out the Town Hall or any other 
emergencies.” 

Then, in order to get a line on what the Country could pro¬ 
duce for the cause of defense and victory, the government caused 
to be taken a survey among farmers, to determine what amount 
of foodstuff had been produced in 1941, and to get an estimate 
for 1942. Returns on this survey, held in December of 1941, 
showed that the farmers of Berlin had 308 cows that produced 
2,070,747 lbs. of milk; 5,560 hens that laid 83,600 dozen eggs; and 
2,685 turkeys. It was estimated that this production could be in- 


80 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


creased by seven per cent during the subsequent year—pro¬ 
vided the farms could be supplied with the necessary equipment, 
supplies, and fuel. 

President Truman officially declared May 8, 1945 as V-E Day 
(day of thanksgiving for victory in Europe), but the United 
States still had much more cleaning up to do, until Japan sur¬ 
rendered unconditionally on August 14, 1945. Then President 
Truman officially declared September 2, 1945, as V-J Day since 
on that day the Japanese formally surrendered on board the 
United States Battleship Missouri in Tokyo Bay. 

When the roll was called for Berlin, of those who had served 
their country’s cause in World War II, the response was one 
hundred and fifty-five (155) men and women, whose names are 
inscribed on the Memorial Plaque placed in the hallway of the 
Berlin Memorial School building in 1951. Eleven of these have 
been awarded the Gold Star (*). 


HONOR ROLL 
WORLD WAR II 


Allen, John C. 

Allen, Ronald A. 
Allsobrooks, Arthur H. 
Allsobrooks, Walter K. 
Andrews, Kendall E. 
Ash, Charles E. 

Bacon, Silas H. 

* Barter, Alfred W. 
Barter, Bruce M. 
Barter, Carl A. 

Barter, Paul G. 

Bartlett, Everett E. Jr. 

* Bartlett, Thomas R. 
Bellarosa, James 
Bellarosa, Markey 
Betts, Eloi D. 
Blenkhom, Glendon H. 

*Bosselman, Harry M. 
Bostwick, Emerson A. 
Bradley, John 
Braman, Merle V. 
Braman, Roger E. 
Brandt, Eric A. 


Brown, Prescott E. 

* Bryan, Robert T. K. 
Burke, Francis C. 
Carter, Jonas E. 
Ciesluk, Adolph 
Ciesluk, John E. 
Clark, Richard B. 
Clark, Wesley E. 
Coldwell, Robert B. 
Collins, John E. 
^Collins, Joseph L. 
Cooley, George L. 
Coulson, Ann M. 
Coulson, Henry E. 
Crossman, William J. 
Cummings, Herbert 
Dilling, Perley 
Diniz, Joseph F. 
Dupont, Raymond E. 
Estey, Vera E. 

Evans, Richard R. 
Falby, Chester E. 
Forhan, John H. 


MILITARY AFFAIRS 


81 


Foster, Lawrence R. 
Grala, Frank S. 

Guild, Robert H. 
Haase, Roland A. 
•Hallett, Albion W. 

* Harper, Lawrence R. 
Harry, Angelo G. 
Harry, Nicholas G. 
Hill, Kenneth B. 
Hobbs, Carlton R. 
Holder, David F. 
Homan, Charles W. J. 
Hopfmann, Ralph M. 
Hudson, Everett F. 
Jackson, Rachel M. 
Jacobs, Donald A. 
Jacobs, Richard E. 
Jewett, Frederick W. 
Jillson, Jenness A. 
Johnson, David A. 
Johnson, Phillip A. 
Jones, Lawrence A. 
Jones, Waldo B. 

Joyce, Paul F. 
Kavanaugh, John F. 
Kavanaugh, Lee F. 
Kingsbury, R. Sidney 
Kent, Ruby E. 

Knorr, Gordon C. 
Krackhardt, Russell H. 
Kreuzer, Frederick A. 
Lackey, John 
Liberty, Hector A. Jr. 
Liberty, Joseph A. 
MacLean, Earle 
Manter, Myrtle F. 
Martineit, Edward E. 
Matteus, Fleszberto 
Matteus, Romeo 
Mears, Gerome L. Jr. 
Morse, Donald H. 
Murphy, Augustine D. 
Murphy, Daniel J. 
Nelson, Ralph W. 
Nutting, Henry A. 
O’Connor, Cornelius J. 
Parmenter, E. Carl 


Patterson, Charles R. 
Patterson, James H. 

Peirce, Arthur W. Jr. 
Peirce, Kenneth L. 
Plamondon, Norbert W. 
Potas, Julian A. 

Preston, Joseph A. 

Rand, James E. Jr. 
Reynolds, John W. 
Rochon, Lucian W. 

Rosen, Barney 
Rosen, Samuel 
Ross, Edward L. 

Ross, Everett G. 

Ross, Robert T. 

^Sanborn, Charles G. 
Sanborn, Lloyd D. 
Sanborn, Walter H. 
Sargent, A. Roger 
Sargent, Edwin W. L. 
Sargent, Henry W. 
Sargent, Walter L. Jr. 
Sarty, Lester F. 

*Sawtelle, Harold A. 
Sawyer, Ellsworth G. 
Sawyer, I. Sidney 
Schwartz, Earl J. B. 
Sherman, Nelson T. 
Sherman, William H. 
Sidelinger, Clyde R. 

Smith, Charles O. 

Smith, Dorothy F. 

Smith, Franklin H. Jr. 
Smith, Nelson C. 
Spaulding, Benjamin H. Jr. 
Spaulding, Nathan I. 
Spofford, George R. Jr. 
Stone, Hayward M. 

Stone, Milton D. 

Szewczyk, John F. 
Szewczyk, Joseph E. 

* Szewczyk, Stanley A. 
Tenney, Carl S. 

Tervo, Waino H. Jr. 

Ulrich, H. Nelson 
Ulrich, Kenneth W. 
Underwood, Francis E. 


82 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Wheeler, Albert W. 
Wheeler, Burton K. 
Wheeler, Cecil B. 


Wheeler, Cecil B. Jr. 
Wheeler, Clifford H. Jr. 


Walker, Austin 


Wheeler, Roger E. 
Wheeler, Roger M. 
Wheeler, Russell B. 
Wheeler, Willard H. 
Wilson, Earl S. 


Wheeler, Donald H. 
Wheeler, Harold A. 


Ziegler, Carl G. 

*Zwicker, Maurice R. 


Postwar Procedure 


The Charter of the United Nations was completed, presented, 
and signed at their Conference in San Francisco on June 26, 1945. 
Its purpose was: 

(1) To maintain international peace and security. 

(2) To develop friendly relations among nations. 

(3) To achieve international co-operation in solving interna¬ 
tional problems. 

(4) To be a center for harmonizing the actions of nations 
in the attainment of these common ends. 

The United States was the first to ratify this Charter, and the 
United Nations started to function early in 1946. 

But, in 1948, Congress passed the Selective Service Act pro¬ 
viding for a peacetime draft of men for military service. Under 
its terms, men between the ages of nineteen and twenty-five 
might be drafted for a period of twenty-one months; eighteen- 
year-olds might volunteer for one year. Volunteer enlistments 
were so numerous that relatively few men were drafted. In July 
of 1950 Congress extended and strengthened this law in view 
of the threatening nature of international relations caused by the 
Communist invasion of South Korea. 

At the present time there are thirty-four (34) names on 
BERLIN’S ROLL of HONOR of men who have and are serving 
their country in various capacities. 


Korean Incident 
1950-1955 


Bacon, Orin G. 
Bartlett, Phillip W. 


Bosselman, John 
Bradley, Roger L. 


MILITARY AFFAIRS 


83 


Clemmer, Robert E. 
Clemmer, Harry 
Collins, James H. 
Crossman, Francis 
Dinsmore, Charles E. 
Fox, Lowell 
Fromm, George A. 
Guerard, Richard W. 
Hatstat, Willis C. 

Jillson, Harold K. 
Johnson, Norman R. 
Kent, Arthur A. 
Laporte, Bristol P. 
Marble, Betty L. 
Matthew, Andrew B. Jr. 


Maxwell, Bruce A. 
Mossman, Henry L. 
Mungean, Alan L. 
Perkins, Robert 
Rebstadt, Emry O. 
Sherman, Nelson J. 
Taylor, Raymond E. 
Taylor, Robert H. 

Taylor, Stewart A. 

Terrio, Frederick J. Jr. 
Terrio, Robert F. 
Wheeler, Emerson W. Jr. 
Wheeler, Joseph L. 
Wheeler, Norman J. 
Zwicker, Raymond O. 


Likewise, the Town of Berlin instituted a Civil Defense 
Agency, which organized and classified the workers under a 
Civil Defense Director. Many meetings were held for the pur¬ 
pose of instructing the citizens in the proper method of pro¬ 
cedure in case of a “bombing.” Under articles of the Town War¬ 
rant, $2,000 was appropriated in 1951 and $600 in 1952 for the 
use of the Civil Defense Agency. 


CHAPTER V 


CIVIC AFFAIRS 


Organization 

The civic life of Berlin really began with the organization of 
the South Parish of Bolton. This was a political unit, with speci¬ 
fied territory and boundaries as prescribed in the Act of Incor¬ 
poration passed by the General Court of the State of Massachu¬ 
setts Bay on April 13, 1778. 

The warrant for the first Parish Meeting was issued by Samuel 
Baker, Esq., to Samuel Jones, Innholder, to meet at his house 
on Tuesday, May 19 (1778), at “two of the clock in the after¬ 
noon” to choose Parish officers. The following officers were 
chosen at this meeting: 

1st. Samuel Baker, Moderator to govern said meeting. 

2nd. Jonathan Merriam, Parish Clerk. 

3rd. Three persons for Parish Committee—James Goddard, 
Abijah Pratt, and Joshua Johnson. 

4th. Parish Assessors—Jonathan Merriam, Timothy Jones, and 
William Sawyer, Jr. 

5th. Chose Samuel Jones, Parish Treasurer. 

6th. Chose Fortunatus Barnes, Collector. 

With this simple organization the South Parish of Bolton began 
to function. A second meeting was held on July 6, 1778, to agree 
upon a Meetinghouse spot for said Parish; and second, to see 
“what the Parish will do about having preaching amongst our¬ 
selves.” 

The South Parish Church was organized within the Parish on 
April 7, 1779. And the Meetinghouse (for public assemblies) was 
raised on June 16 of the same year, on the plot of land deeded to 
the inhabitants of the South Parish of Bolton by Samuel Jones. 

84 




CIVIC AFFAIRS 


85 


This form of Parish government, within the Town of Bolton, 
was maintained until March 16, 1784. On this date the territory 
of the South Parish, with additional territory from Marlboro 
(now in South Berlin) was incorporated as the District of Ber¬ 
lin. Here again, it was Samuel Baker, Justice of the Peace, who 
issued the warrant to Fortunatus Barnes, principal inhabitant, to 
call the first meeting for the organization of the District of Berlin. 

This meeting was called to assemble at the Meetinghouse on 
Monday, April 12, 1784, at “one of the clock in the afternoon.” 
The proceedings of the meeting were as follows: 

1st. Chose the Hon. Samuel Baker, Esq., Moderator, for this 

meeting. 

2nd. Chose Jonathan Meriam, District Clerk. 

3rd. Chose five Selectmen: Lieut. James Goddard, Mr. John 

Temple, Jona. Merriam, Mr. William Sawyer, and Capt. 

Barnabas Maynard. 

4th. For Assessors they chose: Mr. David Taylor, Mr. Jona. 

Merriam, and Lieut. Henry Powers. 

5th. For Constable, Joel Fosgate. 

6th. For Treasurer, Lieut. Timothy Jones. 

7th. The following were chosen by a hand vote: 

Highway Surveyors: Mr. Nathan Jones, Eph’m Fairbanks, 
Esq., Levi Merriam, and Capt. Barnabas Maynard. 

Tithing-men: Mr. Robert Fife and Ebenezer Worcester. 

Hog Reaves: Mr. Abel Baker and Jona. Baker. 

Culler of Hoops and Staves: Mr. Thomas McBride. 

Surveyor of Boards and Shingles: Mr. Jonathan Jones. 

Sealer of Leather: Mr. John Temple. 

Wardens: Messrs. Samuel Jones and Fortunatus Barnes. 

Fence Viewer: Mr. Jesse Jewett. 

Fire Ward: Mr. John Bruce. 

Constable: Mr. Nathan Jones. 

There evidently were more offices than principal men, for some 
men held several positions. After passing upon several matters 
relating to repair of the highways, minister’s salary, sums for 
schooling, and support of the poor, the first District Meeting 
adjourned on June 7, 1784, having proceeded through a series 
of adjourned sessions since April 12. Under this District corpora- 


86 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


tion, Berlin had the full rights of a Town, except that they must 
share a Representative with Bolton. For the failure to send a 
Representative to the General Court of the Commonwealth of 
Massachusetts in 1790, they were penalized by a fine of forty-four 
pounds, fourteen shillings and ten pence; submitted to Constable 
James Goddard, Jr., for collection. But the General Court re¬ 
pented of this chastisement, by refunding twenty-two pounds to 
the Treasurer of Berlin in 1791. 

The civic affairs of Berlin continued to be conducted under 
this District government until February 6, 1812, when it was 
incorporated into the Town of Berlin. This act did not change 
the status of Berlin’s government, except that it gave her a rep¬ 
resentative to the General Court. Each corporate town containing 
150 ratable polls was entitled to one representative, elected 
annually. Berlin’s first representative was Capt. Henry Powers, 
chosen on May 4, 1812; and he was chosen seven other times 
until 1830. Under Article XXI of Amendments to the Constitu¬ 
tion of Massachusetts (1857) “the House of Representatives shall 
consist of 240 members.” Representation is based upon the census 
of the previous decade. Berlin shares a Representative with 
eleven neighboring towns of District No. 11 of Worcester County. 


Place of Assembly 

The following is a copy of the Act of Incorporation of Berlin: 
“Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in 
General Court assembled , and by the authority of the same: That 
the district of Berlin, in the county of Worcester, be and hereby 
is incorporated into a town by the name of Berlin, subject to the 
like duties and requirements, vested with all the powers, priv¬ 
ileges and immunities which other towns do or may enjoy, agree¬ 
ably to the Constitution and laws of the Commonwealth.” 

The first Parish Meeting was held in “Ye Jones’ Inn” on May 
19, 1778, and they continued to hold their parish meetings here 
until the Meetinghouse was suitably constructed. The ordination 
service for the minister was conducted on a knoll, east of the 
meetinghouse, on November 26, 1781, because the Meetinghouse 
was not finished or in suitable condition for this occasion. There¬ 
fore, it is reasonable that the Parish Meetings were not held in 


CIVIC AFFAIRS 


87 


the Meetinghouse until March of 1782. It was voted “to pay 
Samuel Jones 25 pounds for the use of his house in time past.” 

All public assemblies were held in the Meetinghouse until 
1822, when it was taken down by the vote of the Town. A new 
church building was dedicated in 1826, but evidently the citizens 
did not wish to profane this sacred temple with the worldly con¬ 
duct of civil assemblies. For they held their Town Meetings in 
the Solomon “Howe’s Tavern” until 1827, and in 1828 at Samuel 
Spofford’s hall. Then, thereafter, it was voted to hold the Town 
Meetings at the schoolhouses in rotation, beginning at the South. 
This method was the procedure until 1831, when the first town 
house was built upon the Common. The first Town Meeting to 
be held in this building was on October 24, 1831. 

This diminutive town house served the simple needs of the 
people for a place in which to transact the Town’s business for 
a period of almost forty years. This “old town house” is preserved 
in the dwelling located west of the “old cemetery” on Linden 
Street. The first move to have a new Town house, more suitable 
to the spirit of progress of their age, was taken in the March 
Meeting of 1868, when a committee was chosen to investigate. 
Their report at the 1869 meeting brought forth a vote “to build” 
and the new Town Hall, located on land deeded for that pur¬ 
pose by Artemas Barnes, on Woodward Avenue, facing the 
Common, was dedicated with impressive exercises on March 2, 
1870. 

This commodious town building consists of two stories, with the 
auditorium on the second floor and with town office rooms, kit¬ 
chen and Barnes Hall on the first floor. In addition to these rooms, 
there is Memorial Hall, dedicated to the memory of the soldiers 
of the Civil War at the same date and in conjunction with the 
dedication of the Town Hall. From time to time alterations, addi¬ 
tional construction, remodeling and repairs have preserved the 
building in tone with the present day. 

In 1904 the Town voted to build an addition onto the Town 
Hall. This was the section which provided for the stage and ac¬ 
commodations. This was done at a cost of $2,229.39. A cistern 
was constructed at the rear of the Town Hall in 1906, and piped 
to supply water for the house, at a cost of $467.70. Modern 
toilet facilities were installed in 1933. Since 1945 appropriations 


88 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


have been directed to the installation of a modern heating 
system. Preparations began by excavating the basement and 
building a bulkhead entrance. The Selectmen reported, in 1952, 
that the system had been completely installed, with three sep¬ 
arate zones, so that various areas of the Town Hall can be heated 
without the necessity of heating other unused areas. Modern 
lighting fixtures have been installed in the Town Hall office, 
Barnes and Memorial Halls. New hardwood floors have been 
laid, sanded, and oiled; and painting and decorations have been 
kept up-to-date. 


The Town Meeting 

Election Day and Town Meeting proved to be a real holiday 
in the Town Hall at Berlin Center, during the late ’90’s. The 
annual meeting was called to order around nine o’clock in the 
forenoon and the routine matters of choosing a Moderator and 
the necessary Town officers were conducted. If time permitted, 
the report of various Town officers was heard. 

At twelve o’clock, the meeting recessed for dinner. Here is 
where the womenfolk took part in the Town Meeting. They 
brought the abundance of food, generally prepared at home, and 
served it in Barnes Hall. While they were busy “cleaning up,” 
the men resumed their “town meeting” at one o’clock. 

This was the most interesting part of the meeting, when the 
various appropriations were made for Town charges, schools, 
roads and bridges, and library, etc. As a rule there were four or 
six of the men who participated in these discussions. Appropria¬ 
tions must be held at a minimum, so that taxes would be low, 
but appropriations which promised personal financial reward 
must be supported and raised. Some of these defenders and pro¬ 
moters of “justice” were endowed with vociferous oratory, so 
that it was not necessary to be within the Town Hall to hear 
them. 

Around four-thirty, it became necessary for several of the 
farmers to leave to do their chores. Others became tired of the 
“harangue” and so they retired. Thus the meeting gradually 
came to a close. 

Compared to those former days, we find that the present sys- 


CIVIC AFFAIRS 


89 


tem of Town affairs are conducted under the provisions of By- 
Laws as adopted under Article 22 of the warrant of the Annual 
Town Meeting of March 5, 1951. Article II, which deals with 
Town Meetings, Warrants, and Town Reports, is as follows: 

Section 1. The annual town meeting for the election of town officers 
shall be held on the first Monday of March of each year. 

Section 2. All business of the annual town meeting, except the election 
of such officers and the determination of such matters as are required 
by law to be elected or determined by ballot, shall be considered 
at an adjournment of such meeting to be held on the second Mon¬ 
day of March at 7:30 p.m. 

Section 3. Notice of every town meeting shall be given by posting 
attested copies of the warrant therefor at the Town Hall, at the 
Post Office in Berlin Center, at the Post Office in South Berlin, and 
at the Post Office in West Berlin not less than seven days before the 
day fixed for such meeting. The Selectmen shall cause the warrant 
for the annual town meeting to be printed in the annual report of 
the town officers of Berlin. At least five days before the day fixed 
in the warrant for annual town meeting, the Selectmen shall cause 
to be left at each voting household in the town a copy of the annual 
town report. At least five days before the day fixed in the warrant 
for each special town meeting, the Selectmen shall cause a notice 
of the subject matter of the warrant to be mailed to each household 
in the town. 

The Selectmen shall, not less than ten days before the date on 
which the warrant for the annual town meeting shall be closed for 
the insertion of any additional articles, post a notice of said closing 
date at the Town Hall and at the Post Offices in Berlin Center, 
South Berlin, and West Berlin. 

Section 4. At any town meeting held for the transaction of town busi¬ 
ness, no person whose name is not on the list of voters shall be 
admitted to the floor of tire hall, except press reporters and invited 
guests within the discretion of the Moderator. It shall be the special 
duty of the police and the town tellers to enforce this By-law by use 
of the check list; but the same shall not apply to the State election, 
primaries or meetings for the election of town officers. The Mod¬ 
erator shall determine the bounds of the floor of the hall. 

Section 5. Articles for the warrant shall be acted upon in the order in 
which they stand, except that the Moderator may upon request and 
for reasons stated, entertain the motion to take up an article out of 
this regular order. 

Section 6. No motion, the effect of which would be to dissolve a town 
meeting, shall be in order until every article in the warrant has 
been acted upon, but this shall not preclude the postponement of 


90 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


action on, or consideration of, any article to an adjournment of the 
meeting to a stated time. 

When a question is before the meeting, the following motions, 
namely: to adjourn; to lay on the table; for the previous question; 
to postpone to a time certain; to commit, recommit or refer; to 
amend; to postpone indefinitely; shall be received and shall have 
precedence in the foregoing order; and the first three shall be de¬ 
cided without debate. 

Section 7. All votes on motions shall be taken in the first instance by 
a voice vote; if the Moderator be in doubt he may call for a standing 
vote; if the Moderator be still in doubt or if the vote as declared by 
the Moderator be still in doubt or if the vote as declared by the 
Moderator be immediately questioned by seven of the voters present, 
the vote shall be taken by a “yes” and “no” ballot. Nothing in this 
section shall be construed to prevent the taking of a vote by ballot 
in the first instance if a motion to that effect shall be duly made and 
carried by a majority of the voters present and voting thereon. 

All votes on the appropriation of money in excess of one thou¬ 
sand dollars shall be taken in the first instance by ballot, as above 
provided, unless said appropriation shall be recommended or ap¬ 
proved by the Finance Committee. 

Section 8. The Moderator may decline to put motions obviously friv¬ 
olous or tending to disorder. A motion shall be presented in writing 
if the Moderator requests. The Moderator shall be governed in his 
rulings by the provisions of these articles. 

Section 9. No person shall speak more than twice upon any question, 
except to answer in inquiry or to give information requested, without 
first obtaining leave of the meeting and then not until others who 
have not spoken upon the question shall have spoken if they desire. 

Section 10. All committees shall be appointed by the Moderator, un¬ 
less otherwise specially directed by the meeting, and all committees 
so appointed shall be directed to report within a definite time. If a 
committee does not report within the time stated, or at the first 
annual town meeting held thereafter, it shall be considered dis¬ 
charged. The Moderator shall not be a member of any committee 
appointed by him. 

Section 11. The annual town report shall contain, in addition to the 
reports of officers, boards and committees, a detailed report of all 
monies received into and paid out of the town treasury in the finan¬ 
cial year next preceding, showing separately payments made from 
the proceeds of loans as capital outlays for pennanent improvements; 
the report of the collector of taxes, of receipts, payments and abate¬ 
ments; statements of all funds belonging to the town or held for the 
benefit of its inhabitants; a statement of the liabilities of the town 
on bonds, notes, certificates of indebtedness or otherwise, and of 
indebtedness authorized but not incurred, and the purposes thereof; 
a statement of the transfers made to or from any appropriations; 


CIVIC AFFAIRS 


91 


abstracts of the records of the town meetings held since publication 
of the last annual report; and such other matters as the report is 
required by law to contain or as may be inserted by the Selectmen 
under the discretion granted them by law. The Selectmen in then- 
annual reports shall state what actions have been brought against 
and on behalf of the town, what cases have been compromised or 
settled and the terms thereof, and the current standing of all suits 
of law involving the town or any of its interests; and they shall give 
a summary of their activities and decisions during the past year. 


The Franchise 

When Samuel Baker, by order of the General Court, issued the 
warrant to some principal inhabitant (Samuel Jones) of the 
South Parish of Bolton, on May 5, 1778, he worded it as follows: 
“to give notice to the inhabitants of the said South Parish, 
qualified to vote in town affairs .” While the notice of the first 
Parish Meeting was directed to the inhabitants of the South 
Parish of Bolton, the vote was limited to a prescribed number. 
Under the provisions of the Constitution of Massachusetts (Part 
II, Chap. I, Sec. Ill, Art. IV), the qualifications to voters were 
expressed thus: “every male person, being twenty-one years of 
age, and resident in any particular town in the Commonwealth 
for the space of one year next proceeding, having a freehold 
estate within the said town of an annual income of three pounds, 
or any estate of the value of sixty pounds.” 

So we observe that suffrage was limited by material posses¬ 
sions, as well as to sex and age. These qualifications for voters 
held true during the civic life of the Parish, District, and Town 
affairs until 1857. The only change in the wording being that of 
the monetary system, so that in the Town Warrant of 1821 the 
notice read: “warn freeholders and other inhabitants having a 
freehold estate of the annual income of $10.00, or any estate of 
the value of $200.00 ... to bring in their votes.” 

The right to vote was augmented by the Amendment (Art. 
XX) to the Constitution which required that the voter must be 
able to read the Constitution in the English language and write 
his name. This article was ratified by the people on May 1, 1857. 
Article XV of Amendments of the Constitution of the United 
States provides that the vote shall not be denied or abridged . . . 


92 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


on account of race, color, or previous condition of servitude. This 
article was declared ratified on March 30 of 1870. So, one by one, 
the property, tax, and servitude restrictions have been removed 
by amendments to the Constitution. On November 4, 1884, a new 
Standard Ballot Box was installed. And, on March 2, 1914, the 
Australian ballot system was adopted by a vote of the town. 

Finally, the limitation by reason of sex was removed by Article 
XIX which states that “the right of citizens ... to vote shall not 
be denied or abridged ... on account of sex.” This article was 
proclaimed ratified on August 26, 1920. The question of the civic 
and political rights of women had been a problem for discussion 
and legislation in the Town of Berlin for a half century. As early 
as 1837, the subject of woman suffrage was debated in the Berlin 
Lyceum at the Town Hall. The question of “Ought females to be 
admitted to citizenship” was debated and decided in the nega¬ 
tive. The curtain ran down on the Berlin Lyceum in 1841 with 
the question undecided by the most intellectual men of their 
time. 

When women took advantage of the law permitting them to 
vote for members of the local School Committee, in 1890, it at¬ 
tracted considerable public comment. The Berlin News of March 
12, 1890 broadcasted the fact that on the previous Monday, seven 
(7) women voted for members of the School Committee; but 
sarcastically pointed out that none of these had children to send 
to school, so why should they be interested in who was on the 
School Committee? On November 2, 1915, the Town of Berlin 
cast their votes on the proposed amendment “Shall . . . enabling 
women to vote be approved and ratified?” The men voters put 
themselves on record by a vote of fifty-eight YES and ninety-six 
NO. 

The women had their first opportunity to exercise their new 
privilege of citizenship in the Primary Election of September 7, 
1920. Whereupon the Town Clerk (Frank Crossman) was so 
profoundly impressed with their response that he entered upon 
the Records: “The women having received the right to vote—the 
polls having closed at 8 o'clock—the check revealed that fifty-one 
women and seventy-six men had voted. Mrs. George H. Sawyer 
cast the first vote.” A similar gleeful entry was made in the 
Records following the State Election of November 2, 1920: “The 


CIVIC AFFAIRS 


93 


women were out in force. The register showed that 356 votes 
had been cast. On consulting the check list, it revealed that 167 
women had voted out of a registration of 171.” In 1953 the 
women of Berlin voted one hundred per cent. 

The rights of franchise have been extended by the permission 
of absentee voting which was legalized by Article LXXVI which 
was ratified by the people on November 7, 1944. This provision 
has aided to swell the Berlin vote of her 731 registered citizens. 


Departments of Government 

The government of the Town of Berlin emerged with a group 
of principal men chosen to fill the six important offices of the 
Town. These were: Moderator, Clerk, Selectmen (5), Assessors 
(3), Constable, and Treasurer. To these a number of minor posi¬ 
tions were filled by a show of hand vote, many of which were 
later appointed by the Selectmen. These positions included (7) 
Highway Surveyors, (2) Tithing-men, (3) Hog Reaves, Culler 
of Hoops and Staves, Surveyor of Boards and Shingles, Sealer of 
Leather, (2) Wardens, Fence Viewer, Fire Warden, and Assist¬ 
ant Constable. Several of these positions were dropped when 
their function became obsolete and new ones have been added 
as circumstances required. 

Some of the new positions were: Sealer of Weights and Meas¬ 
ures (1787), Grave Diggers (1790 only), Field Drivers (1801), 
Measurers of Wood and Bark (1801), Thief Detectors (1841 
only), Commissioner of Public Buildings (1866-1904), Public 
Weighers (1875), Trustees of Trust Funds (1890), Inspector of 
Animals (1892), Tree Warden (1900), Moth Superintendent 
(1909), Collector of Taxes (1910), Inspector of Slaughter 
(1915), Inspector of Meat (1916-1922), Burial Agent (1931 to 
date), Dog Officer (1933), and Milk and Sanitary Inspector 
(1936). (The date in parentheses marks the time of the origin 
of the position). 

As time progressed, the operation of town affairs became more 
and more complicated, so in order to facilitate the functions of 
government, departments were formed and placed in charge 
of committees. Many of these have been designated as Boards. 
The fact is that the Annual Town Report of Treasurer, Selectmen 


94 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


and Overseers of Poor, and School Committee—as of the year 
1895 consisting of twenty-nine pages—has grown to a booklet of 
136 pages and is labeled: 


Annual Report of the SEVERAL OFFICIAL BOARDS 
of the Town of Berlin, Massachusetts 

One of the most essential of these is that of the Board of Select¬ 
men. At the first District meeting of 1784, five Selectmen were 
elected and this number continued to be elected annually until 
1835, when the number was reduced to three. In 1900, the system 
was changed to elect one member each year to serve a term of 
three years, so that at no time would there be a board of three 
entirely new members. 

The duties and responsibilities of the Selectmen have con¬ 
tinued to increase over the course of years and the multiplication 
of civic affairs. In the early years, the Selectmen had charge of 
the support of the poor, but in 1932 a three-man Board of Public 
Welfare was established. Yet the Selectmen are also the Board of 
Health; they appoint several specific inspectors and lay plans to 
affiliate with such units as the Nashoba Associated Boards of 
Health, and the Worcester County Tuberculosis Hospital. 

It is the prerogative of the Board of Selectmen to make some 
twenty-two appointments, including: Agent of Board of Health, 
Milk and Sanitary Inspector, Assistant Milk and Sanitary In¬ 
spector, Forest Fire Warden, Inspectors of Slaughter (3), In¬ 
spector of Animals, Moth Superintendent, Chief of Police, Police 
Sergeant, Regular Police (17), Special Police (9), Dog Officer, 
Field Drivers (3), Agents to Issue Burial Permits (2), Registrar 
of Voters, Burial Agent and Agent for Care of Veterans’ Graves, 
Surveyors of Wood and Lumber (3), Sealer of Weights and 
Measures, Fire Engineers (3), Playground Commission, and 
Superintendent of Streets. 

The Superintendent of Streets is accountable to the Selectmen 
for the maintenance of highways, road machinery, bridges, and 
drains. He also supervises road construction work, which, in 
turn, is under the approval and vigilance of the State and County 
Engineers and County Commissioners. The cost to the Town of 
Berlin for roads and bridges in 1855 was $859.42; in 1895 it was 


CIVIC AFFAIRS 


95 


$1,026.27; and for 1953 expenditures amounted to $40,609.87. 
Several reasons may be sighted for this marked increase in the 
cost of road construction and maintenance. By the year 1895 most 
all of the forty miles of roadway had been laid out, but they 
were not surfaced as of today. Had our roads been of the con¬ 
struction, say even of 1925, they would have been demolished 
by the hurricane Edna’s flood storms in 1954. In the early 1900’s 
the farmers of Berlin worked out their road-tax at their con¬ 
venience, but the price of modern road construction zooms on 
account of the higher cost of materials, equipment, and labor. 


Protection of Persons and Property 

Under the caption of Protection of Persons and Property, there 
is grouped the Police Department, Fire Department, Moth Work, 
Elm Beetle Control, Tree Warden, Sealer of Weights and Meas¬ 
ures, and Dog Officer. These various positions are correlated to 
accomplish the desired goal. Both the Police and Fire Depart¬ 
ments are called into action in case of a fire. 

The Police Department in Berlin is a modern development. 
Two Constables were elected at the District Meeting of 1784; 
and, with the exception of the period of 1789-92, one Constable 
has been elected annually from 1785 to the present time. From 
1789-92 there were two Constables, one designated to collect the 
ministerial taxes only. The Constable was also a tax collector 
until 1821, when the collection of taxes was vested in the office 
of Treasurer. 

A Police officer, as distinct from the Constable, originated in 
1880 when the Selectmen appointed one policeman “with all the 
powers of a Constable, except serving civil processes.” The Se¬ 
lectmen have continued to appoint special police, annually, since 
1880. Prior to 1922 the Chairman of the Board of Selectmen, 
served as Chief of Police, but in the aforesaid year the Selectmen, 
following the requirement of the law, appointed a Chief of Police. 
Since that time the annually-elected Constable has been ap¬ 
pointed Chief of Police, with a number of special police to 
assist him. 

The organization of a Police Department of Berlin occurred 
in 1935 under the direction of the newly-appointed Chief. The 


96 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


officers of the department are entitled to join the Central Massa¬ 
chusetts Police Association, which gives them an opportunity to 
take the twelve weeks schooling on police efficiency and inter¬ 
pretation of the law. There is also a special course offered to the 
chiefs in the analysis of the new laws enacted by the General 
Court. Thereby the policemen become qualified to perform more 
efficient service. 

In 1948 a two-way radio was installed in the police car for 
the convenience of the Chief. In 1950 the Chief of Police 
possessed a new, fully equipped service car suitable for patrol 
and ambulance accommodations. 

There are certain positions and offices of the Town govern¬ 
ment which, although not directly under the supervision of the 
Police Department, are generally manned by a police officer. 
That of Pound Keeper was one of these positions. Although it 
was voted in the meeting of May 26, 1785, “to build a Pound 
and provide Stocks” a Pound Keeper was not elected until the 
District Meeting of 1797. The pound was built of stone, located 
on Woodward Avenue, opposite the Meetinghouse and the stocks 
were set up near the Meetinghouse with the accompanying whip¬ 
ping post. A new pound was built in 1833 on Carter Street, across 
from the Library in the niche under the shelter of “Pulpit Rocks” 
to the north of the Waino Tervo home. Stocks and Whipping 
Post were demolished long before the erection of the new meet¬ 
inghouse of 1826. A small brick building was built in the Town 
Pound in 1877, used especially for the accommodation of tramps. 
By vote of the town, on March 6, 1911, the Selectmen were em¬ 
powered to remove the trees and the tramp house from the 
Pound. Hereafter, visitors and victims were placed in the “cooler” 
in Clinton. 

A Pound Keeper was elected annually from 1787 to 1915. In 
that year the office became appointive, and appointments were 
made annually until 1918. Isaac Holbrook was one of the last 
Pound Keepers and he submitted a bill in 1900 of $69.00 for car¬ 
ing for 460 tramps. After a lapse of several years, David Minor 
was appointed Pound Keeper and sworn in on May 20, 1924, by 
Lemuel D. Carter, Justice of Peace. 

Another related position is that of Dog Officer. As a humani¬ 
tarian and safety measure, the Selectmen appointed a Dog Officer 


CIVIC AFFAIRS 


97 


in 1933. This office is generally filled by one of the police officers. 
The practice has continued annually since its origin. 

After the adoption of a Truancy Law in 1880, one Truant 
Officer was appointed by the Selectmen. From 1881 to 1890 two 
Truant Officers were appointed, as provided in the Truancy Law. 
In 1890 the Town voted ‘not to appoint a Truant Officer,” since 
it was in the province of the School Committee to do so. There¬ 
fore, since then the School Committee has made this appoint¬ 
ment; however, in 1928 the designation was changed to that of 
Attendance Officer. The services of an Attendance Officer have 
not been required since 1948, due to the extended transportation 
accommodations. 


Board of Public Welfare 

The question concerning the support of the poor was of minor 
importance to the Town of Berlin during its primitive years. Most 
of the needy persons were supported by their relatives and 
friends. But there were some friendless cases, so, at the first Town 
Meeting of 1784, they began the practice, then common in most 
towns, of putting up to vendue the keeping of the poor to the 
lowest bidder. This became a convenient source of income to 
those who had an ample supply of home food products and 
spare room, and there is no doubt that some of the poor fared 
“poorly.” The sum of twenty-four pounds was appropriated in 
1784 for the support of the poor. The tax on dogs went for sup¬ 
port of poor in 1799. 

The Town figured that they could save money by having a 
house where a family could care for the poor. So in 1802, they 
bought of Samuel Spofford a small house (the only house then 
standing in Carterville) for the accommodation of the poor. After 
a trial of some twenty years, they decided that there were not 
enough needy persons in Berlin to warrant the maintenance of 
such a house. Therefore, in 1825, the property was sold to Joel 
Gage. 

Then, the Town paid certain applicants a reasonable amount 
for the “keeping of a pauper.” In 1845 the town voted to allow 
the account of Joseph Howe “for bringing Polly K . . . from 
Bolton to his house” for four shillings, and for cleaning said 


98 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Polly, four shillings and ninepence. Polly’s board was also 
allowed at four shillings per week. 

Gradually the cost of living increased and the number of 
paupers also mounted, so that in the year of 1855 the town layed 
out $454.80 for the keeping of eight paupers. The designation of 
“pauper” was eliminated from the records and the term “support 
of poor” was used. In 1865 the Town paid $501.62 for the support 
of poor. This covered seven cases, of which one family (whose 
husband was in the Army) received $12.00. By the next ten years 
the amount for the support of the poor increased to $592.43. In 
1886 it was $1,093.79, and in 1895 the sum of $1,432.76 was paid 
toward the support of the poor and $89.66 for feeding and 
housing tramps. 

Formerly the Selectmen had charge of public welfare, and in 
their report for the year 1930 the sum of $2,633.85 was paid on 
ten welfare cases. In 1933 the town established a Board of Public 
Welfare and elected three members to the same, one of which is 
elected annually to serve for three years. Beginning with the 
year 1934, the Town bore the extra expense of the Federal Proj¬ 
ects of the C.W.A., E.R.A., and W.P.A. During the period of 
the functioning of these Federal Projects (1934-1941) the Town 
of Berlin appropriated a total of $3,879.60 toward them. 

After the organization of the Board of Public Welfare, their 
responsibilities were distributed among several dependent causes. 
There was the pure Public Welfare (needy cases), Old Age 
Assistance, Soldiers Benefits, Aid to Dependent Children, Dis¬ 
ability Assistance, Temporay Aid, and Veteran Benefits. So that 
the Report of the Welfare Board for the year 1954 reads some¬ 
thing as follows: 


Appropriation $24,000.00 

Expended on Old Age Assistance $30,102.60 

Expended on Aid to Dependent Children 3,080.35 
Expended on Disability Assistance 1,507.90 

Expended on Temporary Aid 2,532.95 

Administrative Expenses 1,591.28 


Total 

Received from other sources 


$38,815.08 

$14,815.08 


$38,815.08 




CIVIC AFFAIRS 


99 


Fire Department 

A Fire Warden was elected at the first District Meeting in 
1784, and from that date until 1882 one was elected annually. 
Since 1882 the office has been appointive and the Town voted 
that provisions for the extinguishing of fires be left in the hands 
of the Selectmen. In 1887 the number appointed annually was 
increased to three and the title was changed to that of Forest 
Fire Warden. Thus, provision was made for the care of forest as 
well as house fires. 

This number prevailed until 1916, when one person was ap¬ 
pointed annually as Forest Warden. A Fire Chief was first 
appointed in 1921, in conjunction with the Forest Warden, which 
was filled by the same person. This procedure continued annually 
until 1928. During this period, Earle A. Wheeler, Chester 
Randall, Hermon L. Sawyer, and Clifford H. Wheeler served as 
joint Forest Warden and Fire Chief. 

From 1929 to 1951 five Engineers were appointed by the Board 
of Selectmen to run the Fire Department. Said Engineers selected 
one of their number to act as Chief. They supervised the equip¬ 
ment and members of the Fire Company. The Fire Company are 
a body of volunteers who are bonded together to learn firefight¬ 
ing and to be on call to extinguish any fires that occur in town, 
and are on call to go out of town at request of the Engineers. In 
1951, the number of Engineers was reduced to three. 

The Forest Warden from 1929 to 1953 was nominated by the 
Selectmen and appointed by the State Department of Conserva¬ 
tion. He is now appointed in the month of June by the Board of 
Selectmen, and while he has been a member of the Fire Depart¬ 
ment in the past, and usually one of the engineers, he now may 
be any one separate. However, to date he has been one of the 
engineers, but not the Chief. 

In 1953, by act of State Government, the word fireman was 
dropped and these men are now called “firefighters ” 

The Fire Department was organized on January 11, 1928, and 
forthwith faced the task of developing a more efficient and 
modern fire fighting equipment. They also availed themselves of 
the opportunity of training themselves for more effective methods 


100 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


of handling a fire situation. The Berlin Fire Company has joined 
with five other towns to form the Wachusett Firemen’s Muster 
Association. This includes the towns of Princeton, Sterling, West 
Boylston, Lancaster, and Bolton. They vie in their Muster and 
Field Days. In September of 1950 the Association held a well- 
attended Field Day in Berlin in which the Berlin Fire Depart¬ 
ment made a creditable showing in the various contests. 

In addition to this district organization, there is the Minute- 
men’s Forest Warden’s Protective Association to which many of 
the Firemen belong and receive practical training and instruc¬ 
tions, as well as of the State Department. A radio fire signal and 
communication system has been established whereby contact can 
be carried on between the fire trucks, central station, and towers. 

The present firefighting equipment has evolved from very 
elementary arrangements. From the time of the early settlement 
of the territory of Berlin until about the year 1883, the inhabi¬ 
tants depended upon the prompt and efficient response of the 
neighbors for the defense of their homes from conflagration. It 
was wise to keep a ladder standing against the house with a 
quantity of pails handy, and carpets or blankets ready to smother 
and drown the blaze. 

There exists among our relics the “Tub” used to agitate the 
blaze at the Capt. C. S. Hastings two-tenement house fire of 
South Berlin in September of 1860. They saved the ashes—to 
make potash. The “Tub” consisted of a wooden cask mounted on 
a wheeled platform to which a hand pump was attached. By 
dumping water into this tub, from the bucket brigade, and oper¬ 
ating the hand pump, you could squirt a jet of water at the fire. 

The first firefighting apparatus was ordered by the Town in 
1883, when in Town Meeting assembled, the Selectmen were 
“instructed to purchase hooks, ladders, and buckets and a car¬ 
riage for the transportation of the same.” No doubt the citizens 
were induced to order this flimsy outfit due to the horror pro¬ 
duced by the several destructive fires which raged about this 
period. There was the Rudersdoff house, on the Harper place 
of Sawyer Road, which burned on January 31, 1881. The Parker 
Shoe Factory, which stood at the corner of Walnut and Carter 
Streets, was completely destroyed by the fire of February 18, 
1882, and on the following May 6th, the Stone’s Carriage Factory, 


CIVIC AFFAIRS 


101 


at East Berlin, was burned. Then, on the night of September 26, 
1883, the Belmont House which stood on Central Street, at the 
Center where Ellsworth G. Sawyer now resides (the former 
Unitarian parsonage), was destroyed. 

In 1901 the town took out insurance on the Hook and Ladder 
House and its contents. At the Town Meeting of 1909, the matter 
of purchasing a Chemical Engine for fire purposes was left in the 
hands of the Selectmen. Then in April of 1911 this fine new red 
wagon was drawn around Carter Street by that fine span of black 
horses of A. D. Brewer. For several years thereafter the anxious 
householder depended upon teams at the Center (C. F. Hale 
or A. D. Brewer) to draw this large fire extinguisher to the scene 
of the fire. 

In 1917 it was voted to purchase a Motor Chemical Fire Appa¬ 
ratus, and $1,250 was appropriated for the same. This outfit 
sufficed for a time, but it became necessary to provide a suitable 
storage place, especially in cold weather. Since it is not required 
that you have a muffler on a piece of fire apparatus, the neigh¬ 
bors always knew when the truck rolled out. This undependable 
outfit was supplemented by seventeen hand extinguishers geo¬ 
graphically distributed among the homes of the town. 

In 1928 the town purchased a new American LaFrance Fire 
Truck, with pump and equipment, for $5,500, and also spent 
$910.80 on enlargement and repairs on the engine house. Then 
the following year another Fire Truck was secured for $1,000 to 
replace the Chemical outfit. So, then, the department had two 
pumpers, which made it convenient for conveying a stream of 
water for a great distance, by hitching them in tandem. 

The subject of a sufficient water supply has been a constant 
problem; so that during the years of 1934-36 the Town, with the 
aid of C.W.A. labor, constructed several water holes at con¬ 
venient locations about the Town. This act was followed by 
securing a large motorized tank, with pump, to carry a supply of 
water to the scene of the fire. 

By the year 1950 it was decided that the twenty-four-year-old 
Knott Pumper and the twenty-seven-year-old Ford Tank Truck 
were due for retirement, and that they should be replaced by 
new, modern equipment. So, by the close of 1952, the Berlin 
Fire Department had three trucks in operation. 


102 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


(1) There was the new International truck which carries 1,000 
gallons of water, 1,450 ft. of 2/ 2 ,r hose, 300 ft. of V/ 2 " 
hose, and 60 ft. of ladders and is supplied with a 600-gal. 
per min. pump. 

(2) A Ford truck which carries 300 gals, of water, 1,200 ft. of 
2/2" hose, 200 ft. of 1 / 2 " hose, 1,000 ft. of forest fire hose, 
and 36 ft. of ladders and is equipped with a 500 gal. per 
min. pump. 

(3) A Stewart truck which carries 80 gals, of water, 400 ft. of 
2/2" hose, 800 ft. of forest fire hose, 32 ft. of ladders and a 
300 gal. per min. pump. 

To this there was added a 660 gal. tank truck in 1953. In order 
to house all of this equipment it became necessary to remodel 
and enlarge the firehouse. This was accomplished by the Yankee 
spirit of the Firemen, both in their ability to secure the finances 
and by their contribution of construction services. This 38 x 24 
foot new Fire Station, located on West Street opposite Powder 
House Hill, gives Berlin top ranking with other towns of its size. 

Moderators 

Henry A. Wheeler 1891-1927 

James W. Barter 1928-1929 

Clifford H. Wheeler 1929-to date 


Town Clerks 

Frank H. Crossman 1883-1929 

Harris G. Field 1930-1956 

Priscilla F. Jewett 1956-to date 


Town 

Willis Rice 
Truman P. Felton 
Frank F. Dunfield 
Annella M. Dunfield 
Robert E. Taylor 
Louis G. Hudson 


Treasurers 

1896-1911 
1911-1921 
1922-1925 
1926-1934 
1934-1945 
1945-to date 


Tax Collectors 


Willis Rice 
Lemuel D. Carter 
Robert E. Taylor 
Brittan A. Jackson 
N. Harriman Fay 
Wilmer G. Tenney 
Louis V. Rowe 


1896-1911 

1911-1921 

1921-1928 

1929-1937 

1938-dec. May 3, 1956 
May 1956-1958 
1958-to date 


CIVIC AFFAIRS 


103 


Constables 


Henry A. Wheeler 
Frank E. Knight 
John O. Osgood 
W. A. Hartshorn 
I. F. Parmenter 
Walter Cole 

Clyde E. Rogers 
Benjamin H. Spaulding 

Clifford H. Wheeler 

Justices of the 
Harris G. Field 
Silas H. Bacon 


1895, 1897-1899 

1896 

1896 

1900-1902 

1902-1908 

1908-1933 

(dec. July 18, 1933) 

1933-1948 

1949-1950 

(dec. Dec. 13, 1950) 
1951-to date 

Peace 


Representatives to the General Court 
Arthur Hastings 1893-1894 

Frank H. Crossman, elected Nov. 1904 to serve 1905-06 

James D. Tyler elected 1911 to serve 1911-12 

Lemuel D. Carter elected 1924 to serve 1925-26 

E. Guy Sawyer elected 1944 to serve 1945-46 

The following persons have served on the Cemetery Commit¬ 
tee (1895 to 1902), Cemetery Commissioners (1902 to date) 


A. A. Bartlett 

1895-1896 

Silas Sawyer 

1895-1896 

Chester A. Sawyer 

1895-1901 

S. C. Chamberlin 

1897 

Willis Rice 

1897 

Charles M. Sawyer 

1898-1921 

William S. Eager 

1898-1899 

Waldo L. Wheeler 

1899, 1902-1938 

Arthur Hastings 

1900-1908 

Edmond Wheeler 

1901 

George F. Mathews 

1909-1913 

George H. Carpenter 

1914-1922 

Chester A. Howe 

1922-1939 

A. E. Bissell 

1922-1923 

Robert B. Churchill 

1924, 1932-1934 

Charles J. G. Hubbard 

1934-1946 

Herbert L. Wheeler 

1939-1941 

Raymond W. Cole 

1941-1954 

Bernard O. Wheeler 

1942-1945 

Hermon L. Sawyer 

1945-1954 


104 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Clifton W. Brewer 
Haydn A. Hunt 
Burton K. Wheeler 
Robert H. Guild 
Henry A. Wheeler 
Vincent S. Eager 


1946-to date 

1953- 1956 

1954- 1955 

1955- to date 

1956- to date 

1957- to date 


The following persons have served as Road Commissioners 
(board of three until 1902). From 1902 one person serving as 
Highway Commissioner, then as Highway Surveyor, again as 
Commissioner, and since 1922 to date as Superintendent of 
Streets. 


George H. Bruce 

1894 

J. J. Randall 

1894-1897 

John H. Barnes 

1894-1902 

John O. Osgood 

1895-1897 

S. C. Chamberlin 

1897-1901 

L. E. Fosgate 

1897-1899 

W. A. Wheeler 

1900-1904 

A. L. Brewer 

1901-1902 

Chester A. Howe 

1904-1941 

Bernard O. Wheeler 

1941-1942 

Hermon L. Sawyer 

1942-to date 


The following have served on the Board of Public Welfare 
since its inception February 6, 1933. This period in history is 
sometimes called the period of the great depression. Previous to 
this date, the Board of Selectmen were also called the Overseers 
of the Poor. No doubt there was so much widespread relief 
needed that a new department was necessary. The Federal Gov¬ 
ernment became the benefactor, taking the relief duties from 
charitable organizations. At this date welfare has become a joint 
obligation Federal, State, and Town. 


Marion C. Fromant 
Robert E. Taylor 
Herbert L. Wheeler 
John W. McCarty 
Lemuel D. Carter 
Cecil B. Wheeler 
Everett E. Bartlett 
E. Guy Sawyer 
William E. McNamara 
Andrew Drysdale 


1933 

1933-1935 

1933-1935 

1933- 1936 

1934- 1937 

1935- 1944 

1936- 1942 

1937- 1943 

1942- 1943 

1943- 1945 


CIVIC AFFAIRS 


105 


Clifford H. Wheeler 

1943-1948 

William J. McCullough 

1944-1947 

Joe W. Davis 

1945-1948 

Blanche W. Nutting 

1947-1951 

Harry W. Featherstone 

1948-1949 

Louis V. Rowe 

1948-1950 

John G. Farrow 

1951-1953 

Eldon C. Wheeler 

1949-to date 

W. Lyle Woodward 

1950 dec. Oct. 21, 1955 

Florence L. Hawkins 

1953-to date 

Hattie B. Woodward 

1955-to date 

Auditors 

W. E. Merrill 

1897 

James W. Barter 

1900-1906-07 

John E. Walter 

1901-1905 

J. D. Tyler 

1907-1912 

George H. Carpenter 

1912-1913 

Perley B. Sawyer 

1913-1914 

Arthur Hastings 

1914-1915 

Zoheth H. Woodbury 

1914-1915, 1934-1936 

Charles F. Harris 

1915-1917 

Clara W. Harris 

1915-1921 

E. Montrose Evans 

1921-1927 

George R. Spofford 

1927-1930 

Howard H. Pratt 

1931-1932 

James E. Andrews 

1933- 

Annella M. Dunfield 

1934- 

William J. McCullough 

1936-1937 

Fay L. Bridges 

1938 

Ellsworth G. Sawyer 

1939-1941 

Waino H. Tervo 

1941-1945 

Blanche W. Nutting 

1946 

E. Guy Sawyer 

1947 

Helen L. Tansey 

1948-1955 

Priscilla F. Jewett 

1955-1957 

Barbara E. Lapan 

1957-to date 

Tree Wardens 

H. C. Hubbard 

1908-1909 

Myron S. Wheeler 

1911 

E. C. Ross 

1912-1920 

C. A. Howe 

1920 

A. R. Jones 

1921-1922 

Walter J. Allen 

1923-1945 

Hermon L. Sawyer 

1946-to date 


106 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Dog Officers 
I. F. Parmenter 
L. D. Carter 


Roland E. Wheeler 
Myron R. Small 
Clifford H. Wheeler 
Ernest L. Wheeler 
John L. Nutting 
Walter J. Allen 
Clyde E. Rogers 
Benjamin H. Spaulding 


1909-1911 

1926-1927 

1930-1935 

1935-1937 

1938-1939, 1951-to date 

1940-1941 

1942-1943 

1944- 1945 

1945- 1948 
1949-1950 


Sealer of Weights and Measures 


Isaac Holbrook 
Forrest Day 
George N. Davenport 
L. D. Carter 
Hermon L. Sawyer 
Fay L. Bridges 
Nathan I. Spaulding 


1901-1917 

1918 

1919-1923 

1924-1929 

1930-1944 

1945-1952 

1953- 


Animal Inspectors 


Robert B. Wheeler 
Leonard W. Brewer 
Ralph B. Small 
Marshall E. Chaplin 
Benjamin Marble 
John L. Nutting 
Walter J. Allen 
Warren W. Tansey 
Alice L. Cole 


1896-1900 

1900-1916 

1916-1920, 1931-1937 

1920-1930 

1937-1940 

1940-1944 

1944-1946 

1946-1954 

1954- 


Inspectors of Slaughter 
Leonard W. Brewer 1914-1916 
Marshall E. Chapin 
William E. Wheeler 
John L. Nutting 
Amos G. Wheeler 


1916-1931 
1931-to date 
1946-to date 
1952-to date 


Moth Superintendent 
Willis Rice 1906-1911 

Ernest C. Ross 
C. A. Howe 
Fred L. Fairbanks 
A. R. Jones 
Walter J. Allen 
Warren W. Tansey 
Hermon L. Sawyer 


1911-1920 

1920 

1920 

1921-1923 
1923-1945 
1946-1951 
1951-to date 


CIVIC AFFAIRS 


107 


County Aid to Agriculture , Directors 
Marion C. Fromant 1931-1945 

Ruth I. Allen 1945 

Louise F. Lockhart 1946-to date 


Chief of Police 
(Instituted 1922) 


Walter Cole 

1922-1933 

Roland E. Wheeler 

1933 

Clyde E. Rogers 

1934-1948 

Benjamin H. Spaulding 

1949-1950 

Clifford H. Wheeler 

1950-to date 

Members of Finance 

Committee 

(Established Annual Meeting Feb. 4, 1924) 

Truman P. Felton 

1924-1927 

Clara M. Hubbard 

1924 

Marion C. Fromant 

1924-1929 

E. Guy Sawyer 

1924-1929 

Ira G. Dudley 

1924 

Edna Z. Guertin 

1924 

E. Hope Puffer 

1925-1929 

Clifford H. Wheeler 

1925-1927 

Ruea E. Small 

1925-1930 

Charles M. Field 

1928-1933 

Ernest C. Ross 

1928-1931 

James E. Andrews 

1930-1932 

Edith R. Sawyer 

1930-1932 

Mildred P. Spofford 

1930-1933 

Flora E. Smith 

1931-1936 

Walter D. Stratton 

1932 

Fay L. Bridges 

1933 

Leon H. Cummings 

1933-1935 

Roy P. Marble 

1933-1935 

Helen L. Brewer 

1934-1940 

Lester G. Ross 

1934-1936 

Earle A. Wheeler 

1934-1942 

Louis C. Rowe 

1936-1940, 1946-1947 

Vincent S. Eager 

1936-1950 

Harold C. Wheeler 

1936-1938 

Myron S. Wheeler 

1937-1945 

Danford B. Tyler 

1939-1941, 1943-1950 

Robert H. Bryan 

1941-1943 

Brittan A. Jackson 

1941-1943 

Everett E. Bartlett 

1942-1945 

Leon A. Brewer 

1944-1949 

Richard Mungeam 

1944-1949 


108 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Raymond F. Stone 
Carl A. Barter 
Louis A. Emmonds 
Ernest O. Wheeler 
Robert B. Coldwell 
Clyde E. Rogers 
Warren G. Field 
Nelson C. Smith 
Adelbert E. Coulson 
Benjamin H. 

Spaulding, Jr. 
John R. Bergen 
John E. Collins 
John Coolidge, Jr. 
Willard H. Wheeler 


1946-1955 

1948-1950 

1950- 1951 
1950 

1951- to date 

1951-1958 
1951-1952 

1951- 1955 

1952- 1955 

1955- to date 

1953- to date 

1956- to date 
1956-to date 
1958-to date 


Selectmen 

(Board of Health) (Overseers of the Poor until 1933) 


James E. Andrews 
Arthur Hastings 

D. C. Hastings 
Robert B. Wheeler 
Daniel P. Hartwell 
Sidney B. Carter 
Henry A. Wheeler 
Charles J. G. Hubbard 
James D. Tyler 
Waldo L. Wheeler 
Walter A. Wheeler 
Arthur L. Brewer 
Walter Cole 
Lemuel D. Carter 
Hermon L. Sawyer 
Herbert L. Wheeler 
Robert E. Taylor 
Chester E. Cole 

Roy P. Marble 

E. Guy Sawyer 
Everett E. Bartlett 
Clifford H. Wheeler 
George R. Spofford 
Brittan A. Jackson 
Herbert H. Guild 
Carl A. Barter 
Warren G. Field 
Roger E. Wheeler 
Nathan I. Spaulding 


1900-1903 

1904-1911 


1918-1920 


1934-1939 


1896-1897, 

1896 
1896 

1898-1899 
1898-1899 
1898-1907 
1900-1904 
1905-1916, 
1912-1914 
1915-1917 
1917-1922 
1919-1923 

1921- 1928 

1922- 1927, 
1924-1930 

1928- 1934 

1929- 1933 
1934-1946 
1936-1948 
1939 1947 
1946 

1947-1953 

1947- 1952 

1948- 1950 
1950-Jan. 20, 1956 

1952- to date 

1953- 1957 

1956- to date 

1957- to date 


CIVIC AFFAIRS 


109 


Registrars of 
(Selectmen and Town 
Harris G. Field 
Charles A. Fromant 
Ralph M. Hopfmann 
Edward L. Collins 
Waino H. Tervo 
Dona E. Bellarosa 
Cecil B. Wheeler 
Priscilla F. Jewett 


Voters 

Clerk to 1945) 
1945-1956 
1945-to date 

1945- 1954 
1945 

1946- 1954 
1954-to date 
1954-to date 
1956-to date 


Civic Board 

(Established 1951) (Changed to Planning Board 1953) 


Roy P. Marble 
Marion C. Fromant 
Frances E. Rice 
Carl D. Phipps 
Lester G. Ross 
Everett E. Bartlett, Jr. 
John W. Corman, Jr. 
Ellsworth G. Sawyer 
Leonard R. Mungeam 
Donald H. Wheeler 
John R. Cadogan 
John J. Sallinger 
Eric A. Brandt 
Warren G. Field 
Charles E. Nutting 


1951 
1951-1952 
1951-1953 
1951-1953 

1951- 1953 
1954-1955 
1954-1957 

1954- to date 

1952- 1959 

1953- 1954 

1955- 1958 
1955-to date 

1957- to date 

1958- to date 

1959- to date 


Assessors 

Willis Rice 
J. B. Allen 
J. E. Moran 
Walter A. Wheeler 
Sidney B. Carter 
Charles J. G. Hubbard 
George H. Barnes 
Samuel Wheeler 
William S. Eager 
Lewis E. Fosgate 
John Q. Maynard 
Lemuel D. Carter 
Frank D. Buxton 
James W. Barter 
Everett L. Paine 
Herbert L. Wheeler 
Hermon L. Sawyer 


1895 

1895 

1895 

1896-1897 

1896- 1897 

1897- 1903 

1898- 

1898- 1899 

1899- 1906, 1933-1945 
1901 

1902-1904 

1904- 1917 

1905- 1916 

1907-1909, 1924-1926 
1910-1918 

1917- 1926 

1918- 1923 


110 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


John W. McCarty 
N. Harriman Fay 
Benjamin Marble 
Albert A. Jacobs 
Robert H. Bryan 
Ralph B. Small 
James E. Andrews 
Ruea E. Small 
Ernest B. Coulson 
Edward L. Collins 
Kenneth M. Pierce 
Vincent S. Eager 

Trustees of 
Willis Rice 
S. Rolla Carter 
Arthur Hastings 
William Bassett 
Arthur E. Wilson 
Edwin E. Wheeler 
Waldo L. Wheeler 
Myron S. Wheeler 
Henry A. Wheeler 
Harold C. Hubbard 
Everett L. Paine 
Brittan A. Jackson 
Robert E. Taylor 
Ralph P. Marble 
Carl B. Devine 
Carl A. Barter 
Robert H. Guild 
Harris G. Field 
Norman S. Coldwell 

Library 

G. F. Pratt 
William Bassett 
F. H. Crossman 
William S. Eager 
Willis Rice 
Arthur E. Wilson 
Mary A. Bassett 
Nellie C. Carter 
M. R. Tyler 
M. Grace Hartshorn 
Ida J. Sawyer 
Nellie F. Wheeler 
Frank R. Gale 


1919-1924 

1925-1930 

1927-1931 

1927-1932 

1931- 1933 

1932- 1937 

1934- 1945 
1938-1943 

1944- to date 
1946-to date 
1946-1951 
1952-to date 

Trust Funds 
1892-1906 
1897-1903 
1891-1898 
1891-1895 
1900-1901 

1902- 1913 
1904-1947 
1907-1920 
1907-1934 
1921-1944 

1935- 1956 

1945- 1950 

1948- 1954 

1949- 1950 
1951-1953 
1951-to date 
1954-to date 
1956-to date 
1959-to date 

Trustees 

1894-1898 

1894-1895 

1894-1896 

1897-1898 

1899-1907 

1899-1903 

1899-1917 

1903- 1931 
1903-1914 

1903- 1904 

1904- 1931 
1904-1913 
1907-1913 


CIVIC AFFAIRS 


111 


Lucy J. Small 1913-1915 

Hermon F. Lion 1914-1917 

Sarah H. Dudley 1915-1939 

Frances E. Rice 1917-1935 

Edith R. S. Sawyer 1919-1945 

Lucinda H. Hartshorn 1920-1933 

Marion C. Fromant 1931-1954 

Hazel I. Wheeler 1932-1942 

Iva M. Popp 1933-1949 

Mildred A. Bartlett 1935-1953 

Eleanor P. Wheeler 1939-1958 

Florence A. Ross 1942-1944 

Carrie S. Hudson 1944-1958 

Marjorie L. Coldwell 1946-1957 

Mabel F. Marble 1949-1954 

Loraine R. Sawyer 1953-to date 

Louise C. Rowe 1954-to date 

Helen L. Pierce 1955-1959 

Ruth B. Mungeam 1957-to date 

Stephanie D. Hopfmann 1958-to date 
Doris C. Andrews 1959-to date 

Ruea N. Baum 1959-to date 


Librarians 


Mary M. Babcock 

1894-1901 


Alice E. Babcock 

1902-1920 


Mary Babcock Wheeler 

1921-1924 


Helen M. Sawyer 

1925-1927 


Ethel M. G. Sawyer 

1928-1945 


Hazel L. Sawyer 

1945-1959 


Helen L. Pierce 

1959-to date 

Fire Engineers 


(Established 1930) 


Clifford H. Wheeler 

1930-1935, 

1944-1946 

Charles M. Field 

1930-1935, 

1944-1946 

Myron R. Small 

1930-1932 


Earle A. Wheeler 

1930-1935, 

1944, 1947-1951 

Clifton W. Brewer 

1939-1944, 

1949-1950 

Andrew Drysdale 

1939-1948 


Alfred D. Brewer 

1943-1944 


Kenneth M. Pierce 

1945-to date 

Harold M. Warbin 

1945-1948 


Clyde E. Rogers 

1949 


Everett E. Bartlett, Sr. 

1950 


Charles E. Nutting 

1945-to date 

Roger E. Wheeler 

1952-to date 


112 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Forest Fire Wardens 


Forrest Day 
Earle A. Wheeler 
Chester Randall 
Hermon L. Sawyer 
Clifford H. Wheeler 
Andrew Drysdale 
Kenneth M. Pierce 
Roger E. Wheeler 


1920-1921 

1922-1923, 1949-1952 
1924 

1925-1927 
1928-1946 
1946-1948 
1952-1954 
1954-to date 


School Committee Members 


Henry A. Wheeler 

George F. Pratt 
Adelaide Parmenter 
Mary E. Chamberlain 
Truman P. Felton 
Perry H. White 
M. L. Williams 
Mary A. Bassett 
Edwin E. Wheeler 
Frank R. Gale 
Ida J. Sawyer 
George F. Matthews 
Charles E. Small 
Charles A. Nutting 
Frances E. Rice 
Frederick A. Krackhardt 
Maude A. Sawyer 
John L. Nutting 
Edith A. Paine 
Eugene Popp 
Evelyn Wheeler 
Jeanette C. Andrews 
John A. Campbell 
Norman S. Coldwell 
Helen L. Brewer 
Russell K. Hawkins 
Andrew B. Matthew 
Russell H. Krackhardt 
Catherine W. Davis 


1890- 1899, 1906-1911, 
1915-1920 

1891- 1896 

1892- 1896 
1898-1900 
1898-1907 

1900- 1902 

1903 

1901- 1906 

1904 

1904-1905, 1908-1910 
1907-1927 

1911- 1916 

1912- 1914, 1917-1919 

1920- 1933 

1921- 1927 

1926-1935, 1941-1944 
1928-1940 

1933-1935, 1939-1951 

1935- 1941 

1936- 1939, 1940-1943 

1943- 1952 

1944- 1953 

1951- 1954 

1952- 1955 

1953- 1959 

1954- to date 

1955- 1958 

1958- to date 

1959- to date 


CHAPTER VI 


TRANSPORTATION AND 
COMMUNICATION 


The primitive method of getting in touch with the neighbors 
was to follow the Indian trails. Thus, when John Moore, who 
settled on “Kelley” Hill of Berlin in 1665, wished to make a trip 
to the settlement of Lancaster, it became necessary for him to 
retrace his steps or ride his horse along the trail over Wataqua- 
dock Hill. Philip Larkin, who settled in “Larkindale” off Boylston 
Road around 1720, was compelled to wend his way over the im¬ 
provised road to Lancaster. 

Likewise, when the Johnsons and the Baileys of South Berlin 
desired to attend worship in the meetinghouse at Lancaster, they 
were obliged to journey the weary miles over tedious ways. 
These “ways” were cart paths or merely bridle paths. It is not 
strange that these inhabitants expressed themselves in their peti¬ 
tion for a new town (Bolton) in these terms: “Setting forth the 
many hardships and difficulties which we for these many years 
have undergone in getting to the public worship of God and in 
a peculiar manner in the winter season . . . therefore we request 
. . . to be a separate town or precinct/” 

This petition was granted and the Town of Bolton was in¬ 
corporated in 1738. This brought the “meetinghouse” nearer to 
Berlin, but there was not much improvement in the condition of 
the roads. It was still with difficulty that the members of the 
Jonathan Wheeler family traveled over the way (Sawyer Hill 
and Frye Roads) to the Friends’ Meetinghouse; and, likwise, the 
Bailey, Barnes, Goddard, Johnson, Jones, and Maynard families 
found it just as irksome to make the trip to the meetinghouse in 
Bolton by way of the Northboro Road and Wheeler Hill. 

As more people settled and built dwellings on Berlin territory, 
it became necessary to find a better way to get to the meeting- 

113 




114 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


house, the mill and store, the Court in Worcester, and the General 
Court and market in Boston. The first roads to be laid out were 
the County roads. In 1798, the road from “Beaman’s Bridge” (a 
bridge over the Nashua River at the west end of the Boylston 
Road) to the Berlin Meetinghouse was laid out. Within the next 
three years (1801) another County road was laid out, extending 
from Berlin Center to the Boylston line, over what is now Linden 
Street. This gave a more direct route to Worcester, the County 
Seat. 

The following is a description of the estimate of land laid out 
for roads as presented in 1811 by the Committee comprised of: 
Ensine Solomon Howe, Caleb Houghton, Abraham Sawyer, 
David Brigham, Rufus Sawyer, Otis Howe, William Barnes, 
Warren Moore, and Harris Bailey. 

It will be noticed that the two County roads were laid out 
three rods wide, while all the other roads were two rods. There 
was a total of thirty and one-half miles of road and 134 acres 
of land was taken. 

(1) County road, 3 rods, 5 miles, from “Beaman’s Bridge” to 
Berlin Meetinghouse. The same was extended eastward to 
“Stone’s Corner.” The “Beaman’s Bridge” referred to was 
evidently the bridge across the Nashua River, en route to 
Beaman’s Mill in Sawyer’s Mill of Boylston. This disap¬ 
peared with the construction of the Wachusett Reservoir. 
The road was laid out in 1798 and thus there was a road 
from the Boylston line to Stone’s Corner, over what is now • 
Boylston Road, West and Central Streets, connecting Wor¬ 
cester and Feltonsville (Hudson). It was over this road that 
the Boston-Barre Stage Coach operated later. 

(2) County road, 3 rods, 2/ 2 miles was laid out in 1801. This 
was our present Linden Street, extending from the Center 
to David Barnes, head of Barnes Road (later known as 
John H. Barnes Place, where Raymond Rainville now 
lives). This was the reputed route of the courier of April 
19, 1775. 

(3) Road from Nathan Barber to Lancaster (Clinton, 1850) 

2 rods, 2 miles. The Barber house stood opposite the Levi 
Babcock (Walter Kivier) place on West Street. The street 


TRANSPORTATION AND COMMUNICATION 


115 


extended from the North Brook (at the crossing) on West 
Street, past the little brick schoolhouse to Allen Road, 
thence to the Nathan Allen place, from whence it reduced 
to a bridle way leading into Chace Street of Clinton. 

(4) Road to the Nathaniel Hastings place, 2 rods, 1 mile. This 
road extended from the Allen Road, through Dewey Park, 
by Joseph Schartner’s to Hastings at the Clinton line. “Na¬ 
thaniel Hastings settled in the west part of Berlin, next to 
the Clinton line, in 1765”; a cellar hole marks the spot. 

(5) Barnes Road, 2 rods, 1 mile, described as from F. Babcock 
to David Barnes. This road was not originally identical 
with the present Barnes Road. “William Babcock, son of 
Ephraim, built a house in West Berlin near the Old Colony 
R.R. water tank, opposite L. L. Carter’s (C. A. Bowen) 
place.” So that the road began at this point and followed 
Lincoln Road, crossing Boylston Road near the Niedzial 
place, on past the William Ulrich place, on to David Barnes 
(Rainville) at its junction with Linden Street. 

(6) Road by Amory Carter to Bolton line, 2 rods, 2 miles. 
Amory Carter lived on West Street, opposite Walter Kivior; 
so the road evidently started at the foot of Randall (near 
Ralph Harriman’s) and continued to the Lancaster Road, 
following the same to Bolton line, near the Roy Mills place. 

(7) Road from Capt. Henry Powers to T. Pollard, 2 rods, 
% mile. This was a section of the Randall Road from Capt. 
Henry Powers (George W. Sargent) to Thomas Pollard 
(Peter Potas), or junction with Lancaster Road. 

(8) Road from Meetinghouse to Isaac Moore, 2 rods, 2*4 miles. 
This road extended from the Meetinghouse at Central over 
Carter to R.R. crossing, then up Highland to Isaac Moore 
(Chester Cole); here it passed in front of Cole’s house to 
top of hill, thence along ridge to Bolton line (near present 
town line on Sawyer Road). 

(9) Road from Henry Power’s, Jr., by Deacon Amos Meriam, 
2 rods, 1/2 miles. This road ran from the corner of Randall 
and Highland along Randall to Carr Road, thence to Amos 
Meriam (Edw. Martineit) and beyond to Bolton line. 

(10) Road from Reuben Gates to Jonathan D. Meriam, 2 rods, 
Z 2 mile. This was a section of Carter Street from the corner 


116 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


by Hal Rayner and Franklin Forbes to the Berlin House 
(where J. D. Meriam lived at this time). Reuben Gates lived 
in the Fuller House, where Silas Bacon now lives. 

(11) Road from the schoolhouse to Dea. James Goddard, 2 rods, 
% mile. This is our Derby Road. Since the roads had not 
been named yet, it was difficult to describe the exact lay¬ 
out. It ofttimes happened, to follow the limits given, you 
would retrace a former layout. As in this case: Derby road 
extends from the R.R. bridge at West Street, by Alfred C. 
Derby’s house, to its junction with Linden Street. Both 
limits given are several rods from the road. The schoolhouse 
stood “near William Pollard’s house” (i.e. George Felton’s, 
now Jesse N. Babcock), and Dea. James Goddard lived in 
the Roy P. Marble house on Linden Street (now Walter D. 
Ford). 

(12) Road from Barnes to Greene, 2 rods, 1 mile. Ball Hill Road; 
Capt. William Barnes lived on the William F. Marble 
place, cor. Linden and Ball Hill (now occupied by Safford 
and Boyden). Nathan Ball was a resident of Northboro, but 
owned extensive land acreage in Berlin. “Ball Hill” got its 
name from James and Nathan Ball. 

(13) Road by A. Bailey and Timothy Bailey, 2 rods, V /2 miles. 
This is Lyman Road. Amherst Bailey lived on the Edward 
Flagg place, which was sold to the Lyman School in 1895, 
now owned by John P. McGrail. Dea. Timothy Bailey lived 
on the Rufus R. Wheeler place (now Leota H. Fish). 

(14) Road from Bowman’s to Capt. Maynard’s and to A. John¬ 
son’s, 2 rods, I /2 mi. Crosby Road—that is, from the junc¬ 
tion with Lyman Road, “on which liveth Simon Bowman,” 
to the junction with Pleasant Street, passing by the prop¬ 
erty of Amos Johnson, “west of the North Brook” (where 
Dustin S. Lucier now lives). 

Belleview Road extends from Crosby Road, at the Capt. 
Paul Brigham-Winslow B. Morse place (now John R. Cado- 
gan) to the Northboro line at the Capt. Barnabas Maynard 
place (now Roger W. Mills). 

(15) Road from the Meetinghouse to the Marlboro line, 2 rods, 
3 miles. This was formerly known as the Northboro Road, 
which is now Pleasant Street. It extends to South Street at 


TRANSPORTATION AND COMMUNICATION 


117 


South Berlin Post Office, thence following South to River 
Road, then over the bridge into Marlboro. This way is 
known as the Solomon Pond Road, for after passing 
through a corner of Marlboro the road continues into 
Northboro. Another way into Northboro is to take Whitney 
Road at Risi’s Corner and come out on Pleasant Street at 
the top of the hill. 

(16) Road by Levi Wheeler’s to Bolton line and to Lucy Bride’s, 
2 rods, 3 miles. This was Sawyer Hill Road complete, from 
Pleasant Street to the Bolton line. The northern end, be¬ 
yond the R.R. crossing, was formerly known as the Frye 
Road, which is still the name of the Bolton section, to the 
Friends’ Meetinghouse. Levi Wheeler lived on the home¬ 
stead where Clifford H. Wheeler now lives. Also, we have 
the extension of Walnut Street from Lucy Bride’s place 
(Harris G. Field) to its junction with Sawyer Hill Road. 

(17) Road by Holder’s, 2 rods, 1 mile. This was that section of 
Gates Pond Road from Central Street at Stone’s Corner to 
Holder settlement, beyond the East Schoolhouse. 

Many more roads were laid out in the course of time, bringing 
the total number up to thirty-five. The latest was “the road from 
L. W. Brewer’s to M. R. Tyler’s, built in 1885.” This was the 
Brewer Road extending from Central Street, by the Cotting Cold 
Storage Plant to Sawyer Hill Road, at the “Harper” place. Most 
all of these roads have been changed, straightened and re¬ 
located, so that it would require the services of an archeologist 
to tell where the original roads ran. If you think some of our 
roads are wabbly now, you should have seen the original! The old 
County Road entwined around the present West Street three 
times between the R.R. crossing and the Berlin House. 

The following is a list of the roads which were laid out and 
opened during the years between 1811 and 1885. 

1837—Randall Road, section between “Kelley Hill” (Carr Rd.) 

and George Sargent place (at the head of Coburn Rd.). 
1853—Walnut Street, section between Center and Asa Bride 
(Harris G. Field). 

1841—River Road, section between 1790 Farm and Hudson Line. 


118 HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 

1843—South Street, section between Newsome Corner (Risi’s) 
and Northboro. 

1851— West Street, section from Randall Road to Clinton line. 

1852— South Street, section from A. D. Brewer house to “New 
Worcester” (settlement north of North Brook). 

1868— South Street extended to the R.R. Depot (at Jones Rd.). 

1869— Barnes Hill Road, section from R.R. bridge to near Lorenzo 
Bruce’s (William Ulrich house). 

1853— Pleasant Street extended from South Berlin to Northboro 
line, by Wheeler’s mills. 

1871—Carter Street, section from Berlin House to Corner (H. 
Rayner’s). 

1871—West Street, section from Berlin House to Rand place 
(Harold Warbin). This section was on the north side of 
railroad. 

1881—West Street, section on south side of R.R. (present road) 
from Berlin House to top of hill at H. Warbin place. 
1885—Brewer Road was opened. 

1888—Marlboro Bridge (over Assabet River), near 1790 Farm, 
was built. 

This bridge sufficed the needs of the traveling public until 
wrecked by the flood of March 1936. In late November of 1937 a 
new steel and concrete bridge was completed and opened to the 
public. It has a length of seventy-five feet and is twenty-four feet 
wide, having been erected five feet higher than its predecessor at 
a cost of $23,000. 

In 1906 a committee consisting of James D. Tyler, Walter 
Cole, and Fred A. Fosgate was appointed to name the roads and 
furnish a map or blueprint (by James F. Bigelow), and also to 
place suitable signposts at the intersections. By their arrangement 
the lanes radiating out from the Center were designated as 
streets. All other ways were called roads. The committee made 
their report at a special Town Meeting on June 28, 1907, and 
the following is their list of streets and roads. 

Names of Streets 

(All of which lead to center of Berlin) 

(1) Central Street—from west corner of triangle around Con¬ 
gregational Church easterly to Hudson line. 


TRANSPORTATION AND COMMUNICATION 


119 


(2) Pleasant Street—from Central Street at Hartshorn’s Corner 
to Northboro line, through south part and by Wheeler s Mill. 

(3) South Street—from Linden Street near triangle at center, to 
Leach Corner on River Road, past the N.Y. N.H. & H. R.R. 
depot, through the south part of Berlin. 

(4) Linden Street—from west corner of triangle at center to 
Boylston line by C. M. Sawyer’s and George A. Barnes’ 
houses. 

(5) West Street—from Linden Street, at Hale’s Corner, through 
west part of Berlin to Clinton line. 

(6) Carter Street—from south comer of triangle at center 
through Carterville to West Street. 

(7) Walnut Street—from west corner of triangle at Berlin 
Center, past Town House and Congregational and Method¬ 
ist Churches, to Sawyer Hill Road, past house of A. L. 
Brewer. 

(8) Highland Street—from Carter Street in Carterville, to 
Bolton line over Wheeler Hill. 

Names of Roads 

(1) Brewer Road—from Central Street near L. W. Brewer’s 
house to Sawyer Hill Road, near Levi Cooley’s place. 

(2) Gates Pond Road—from Central Street near H. A. Stone’s 
house to Hudson line past Matthew’s place. 

(3) Fosgate Road—from Gates Pond Road to house of F. A. 
Fosgate. 

(4) Marlboro Road—from Gates Pond Road to Hudson line 
near Benway’s house on River Road. 

(5) Dudley Road—from Marlboro Road, past old Dudley place 
to Hudson line near Johnson house. 

(6) River Road—from River Street at Hudson line near Foley’s 
house, to Marlboro line near Leach place at south part of 
Berlin. 

(7) Bridge Road—from River Road near C. H. Allen’s house 
over bridge to Marlboro line. 

(8) Whitney Road—from River Road at Leach Corner to 
Northboro line. 

(9) Sawyer Hill Road—from Pleasant Street near cemetery, 
over Sawyer Hill and across Central Street to Bolton line. 


120 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


(10) Summer Road—from Sawyer Hill Road to Sarah A. Wheel¬ 
er s house. 

(11) Jones Road—from Pleasant Street at Jones’ house to Crosby 
Road by N.Y. N.H. & H. R.R. Depot. 

(12) Crosby Road—from Pleasant Street by the schoolhouse at 
south part of Berlin, over bridge at north end of mill pond, 
by old Crosby house to Lyman Road. 

(13) Belleview Road—from Crosby Road to Northboro line near 
F. C. Lasselle place. 

(14) Lyman Road—from Linden Street near Lyman School to 
Northboro line near house of W. A. Wheeler. 

(15) Ball Hill Road—from Linden Street near house of W. F. 
Marble to Northboro line. 

(16) Derby Road—from West Street at B. & M. overhead bridge 
at West Berlin to Linden Street past A. C. Derby’s house. 

(17) Barnes Road—from West Street at B. & M. overhead bridge 
at West Berlin to Linden Street near George H. Barnes’ 
house. 

(18) Boylston Road—from West Street at B. & M. overhead 
bridge at West Berlin to Clinton line past the Dana Larkin 
house. 

(19) Larkin Road—from Boylston Road to the Boylston line near 
the Alfred Larkin place. 

(20) Lincoln Road—from West Street near L. L. Carter’s place 
by schoolhouse. West Berlin to Boylston Road. 

(21) Coburn Road—from West Street at railroad bridge past the 
old Coburn place to Randall Road, near F. H. Turnbull 
place. 

(22) Randall Road—from West Street near Electric Ry. power¬ 
house, West part, past Paul Randall place to Highland 
Street. 

(23) Allen Road—from West Street near Silas Mills place to end 
of road at Elmer E. Allen place near Clinton line. 

(24) Lancaster Road—from Randall Road near old Francis 
Babcock place to Bolton line, near Bolton Station on N.Y., 
N.H. & H. R.R. 

(25) Peach Hill Road—from Randall Road near Lyman Sargent 
place to Bolton line, past house of A. L. Jacobs. 


TRANSPORTATION AND COMMUNICATION 


121 


(26) Carr Road—from Randall Road near Paul A. Randall place 
to Bolton line, past C. L. Carr place. 

(27) Turner Road—from Derby Road near Spolford place to 
Joseph Turner’s house. 

This completed the layout and naming of the roads of Berlin, 
which became and remained the basis of the system for thirteen 
years. After the conclusion of World War I, the citizens of Berlin, 
by the suggestion of the American Legion, expressed a desire to 
show some recognition of the sacrifice of the sons of Mr. and 
Mrs. Charles N. Woodward. So, action was taken under Article 
14 of the Town Warrant of March 1, 1920, by which it was voted 
“to change that part of Walnut Street between Linden and 
Carter to Woodward Avenue to perpetuate the names of two 
young men who gave their lives in the great European war.” 
Thus that section of Walnut Street, from the C. N. Woodward 
home (passing in front of the Town Hall) to Carter Street at 
the Public Library, was renamed. 

As a result of a land development on the Hartshorn property, 
purchased by Charles M. Field and processed by the construction 
of dwellings thereon by Louis G. Hudson, a new street was added 
to the list. Under Article 33 of the Town Warrant for the Annual 
Town Meeting of February 5, 1940, the “Town accepted land for 
a public road as proposed in plan by Charles M. Field . . . said 
road shall be 40 feet wide.” This was named Oak Street, which 
bears off of Central Street, at the house of Louis G. Hudson, and 
runs northward toward Walnut Street. Eventually, probably, it 
will connect with Walnut Street. This addition brings the road 
mileage up to 40.1 miles. 

A new housing development has been constructed on the land 
of John Bowser on the northerly side of River Road, situated 
about one-half mile from Marlboro Road. There is a private way 
extending into this settlement, but as to date (1954) the Town 
has refused to accept it as a public street because it does not 
meet the requirements of the By-laws for the Town of Berlin. 

Under Article VII, Section 2, of the By-laws of the Town of 
Berlin, the following provision is made for the acceptance of a 
public way. Namely, “No private way shall be accepted by the 
Town as a public way unless . . . the street right of way shall be 


122 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


at least forty feet, the street lines and intersections shall be cut 
back to provide a curb radius of not less than twenty feet, . . . 
a dead end street shall have a substantially circular turn-around 
at the end having a curb radius of not less than forty-five feet, 
. . . and there shall be adequate provision for the disposal of the 
surface drainage water.” 

There has been a great advance in the cost of the construction, 
development, and maintenance of highways and bridges since 
1895. In that year John O. Osgood, the Road Commissioner, re¬ 
ported an expenditure of $1,745.76 for the “support of highways 
and bridges and street lights.” This appeared extravagant when 
compared to the grant of forty-five pounds (150 dollars) in 1784 
for the repairs of highways, to be worked out at diree shillings a 
day for a man, and one shilling six pence for a yoke of oxen and 
nine pence for a cart; eight hours being a day's work. 

Due to the evolution of construction materials, road machinery 
and the price of labor, we observe a marked change in the cost 
of the highways as presented in ten-year periods. 


1900 Road Commissioners Report (3 members) $1,953.64 

1910 Highway Commissioner (C. A. Howe) 2,839.18 

1920 Highway Commissioner (C. A. Howe) 6,884.21 

1930 Superintendent of Streets (C. A. Howe) 33,536.53 

Also Gasoline Roller $5,500 
and Barn $1,367.60 

1940 Superintendent of Streets (C. A. Howe) 25,091.91 

(Saving on W. P. A. labor) 


1950 Superintendent of Streets (Hermon L. Sawyer) 30,846.19 

1954 Superintendent of Streets (Hermon L. Sawyer) 36,270.76 

The variance in the total cost of the Street Department since 
the year 1940 is due to the transition from the use of privately 
owned trucks to those owned by the Town. Also, other equip¬ 
ment, such as sanding machines and spreaders, have reduced the 
cost of service. It was cheaper to secure sand and gravel where 
there were loading devices than to load by hand labor. 

A striking increase in the cost of the Street Department is 
shown in the 1954 report, but when the cost of two hurricanes 
(Carol and Edna), and the loss of a bridge on Jones Road, are 
deducted, the figure is similar to that of 1950. 

In order to meet the modern requirements for road construc¬ 
tion and maintenance, the Town of Berlin has consistently de- 


TRANSPORTATION AND COMMUNICATION 


123 


veloped a machinery and maintenance fund. One of the first 
investments in road machinery was a road scraper, purchased in 
1914, for which the Town paid $241.31. In 1916 a committee con¬ 
sisting of C. A. Howe, W. A. Wheeler, and I. G. Dudley was 
appointed to investigate the matter of oiling the roads and 
streets. The State agreed to furnish the oil if the Town would 
pay for applying it. Since this experiment practically all of the 
roads of Berlin have become surfaced and oiled. 

In 1930 the Town purchased a gasoline roller of the Buffalo- 
Springfield Company for $5,500. In order to house this fine piece 
of road machinery, and other prospective equipment, the Town 
erected a Town Barn on land bought of W. A. Wheeler on 
Carter Street in the same year. In order to condition the roads 
to a better working surface a road hone, costing $105, was 
purchased in 1934. The Town now owns two trucks, one pur¬ 
chased in 1937 and the other in 1940. 

Prior to 1926 there were no motorized snowplows operated by 
the Town. Since then one was bought in 1927, another in 1931, 
a third in 1934, and in 1938 two new plows were purchased. An¬ 
other building was constructed on the grounds for the storage of 
sand, salt, and other materials used by the road department. To 
this equipment a sand-spreading unit was added. 

The construction and maintenance of highways had been very 
well accomplished, and those living in the outskirts of the Town 
could ride or motor right up to the Church or Center Store and 
Post Office. But, as the population and dwellings increased 
around Carterville and central Berlin, the problem for pedes¬ 
trians became acute. Highways had become the avenues for 
motor vehicles, and they were not safe for pedestrians. So, early 
in the year 1915, the Village Improvement Society took under 
advisement the construction of concrete sidewalks. As a result, 
the Town voted in the March meeting of 1917 to appropriate a 
sum of money in conjunction with the Village Improvement 
Society to build a sidewalk extending from the Center towards 
Carterville. 

This construction was supplemented in 1921, by the aid of the 
Berlin Board of Trade, when a cement sidewalk was built be¬ 
ginning at the end near the Bullard place and continued along 
the south side of the Common to Carter Street. 


124 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


These early roadways are landmarks of primitive history. For 
instance, Linden Street (County Road) reminds us of the fiery 
steed that raced through Berlin on April 19, 1775, bearing the 
ardent news of Lexington. We are told that en route he passed 
the newly-rooted young elm tree which James Goddard had set 
out the previous month. This elm stood opposite the Roy P. 
Marble house (now Walter D. Ford). For one hundred and 
seventy-five years this giant elm stood as a reminder of that 
famous ride. Within its life it had gained a girth of thirty-three 
feet and developed a spread of 165 feet, covering 8660 square 
feet, and towered to a height of 130 feet; but, as with the 
Indians of yore, disease has “entered in” and the elm is no more. 
There remains only the record; some future archaeologist may 
reveal its location and age. 


The Market-Man 

It was during Napoleon’s days and the War of 1812 that Mr. 
Hugh Bruce began making his weekly trips to Boston with the 
products of the farms of Berlin, and on his return, brought sup¬ 
plies in that “well covered wagon” drawn by two horses. After 
his marriage to Sally Moore in 1796, Mr. Bruce established him¬ 
self on the old Chandler Carter place (where Lester F. Sarty now 
lives) on Pleasant Street. His trips to Boston were not like visiting 
in a strange country, for already two of the native-born citizens 
of Berlin had located in a prosperous business in the metropolis. 

One of these was Abraham Babcock, son of William, who was 
a tobacconist in Boston. Berlin not only received his products in 
the early 1800’s, but he also gave his daughter, Nancy, in mar¬ 
riage to Chandler Carter in 1839, who moved into the house 
formerly occupied by Mr. Bruce. By the year 1887, some of his 
profits found their way into the Town’s treasury, as well as funds 
to the Unitarian Society. 

Another successful businessman from Berlin who removed to 
Boston was Levi Meriam, who began his wholesale wine trade in 
1812. It is recorded that the marketman brought all of the store 
groceries, which included “New rum,” that is, New England 
rum, later called Medford rum. In the year 1825 it was reported 


TRANSPORTATION AND COMMUNICATION 


125 


that sixty hogsheads of mm were consumed by some of the seven 
hundred inhabitants of Berlin. 

Among other things which the marketman brought from Bos¬ 
ton was the Boston Palladium. A weekly concourse awaited his 
arrival at Howe’s Tavern, where he ofttimes read aloud to them 
from the seat of his wagon. Mr. Bruce retired from the market- 
man business in 1820 and died on September 14 of the following 
year, in Boston. Merrick Houghton bought the business and the 
Chandler Carter house from the widow Bruce in 1821. Thus the 
business continued until taken over by Amos Sawyer, Jr., who 
later became operator of the Stage Coach. 

The Berlin Stage Coach 

It was a gala day in Berlin when “Squire Meriam” (J. D. 
Meriam) started the Berlin Stage Coach in 1826. Mr. Meriam 
was associated with Colonel Pope and George E. Manson of 
Feltonville (Hudson) in this enterprise. This stage line made 
three trips a week between Berlin and Boston. Since it was about 
this time (late 1827) that Col. Amory Holman of Bolton pur¬ 
chased and organized the Boston and Fitchburg Accommodation 
Stage Company, with headquarters in Bolton, a section of the 
Boston, Barre, and Greenfield Lines, the Berlin Stage Coach 
Line was considered a link in this system. The nearest connect¬ 
ing point was at Stow for points north and west. The trip from 
Boston to Greenfield, a distance of ninety-six miles, took eighteen 
hours and twenty-nine minutes by schedule. 

Mr. Meriam was succeeded, in 1837, by Amos Sawyer, Jr., who 
added to his passenger and mail service an express service from 
the Fitchburg Railroad Station at South Acton in 1849. This re¬ 
quired a six-day service. Mr. Sawyer continued the operation of 
the stage until 1865, a year before his death. During this period he 
had some rare experiences. One in point was the visitation of the 
Rev. Edward Everett Hale to Berlin. It happened that on Sunday 
of November the 13th, 1842, when a youth of twenty years, he 
came to Berlin to preach his first sermon since his ordination in 
Worcester. Since Monday, the next day, was state election, Mr. 
Sawyer delayed his trip to Boston in order to vote at home. So, 
Rev. Hale accompanied him to the Town House to await his start- 


126 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


ing. While there, he was invited to open the meeting with prayer, 
which he did. That night he accompanied Mr. Sawyer to Boston, 
taking with him not only the election returns from Berlin, but also 
those of Sudbury, Weston, Waltham, and Watertown. These Rev. 
Hale conveyed to his father’s newspaper, The Boston Advertiser , 
on which he had been previously a reporter. 

John G. Peters followed Mr. Sawyer in the express business 
and Warren Howe continued to run the “old Berlin coach” until 
February 3rd of 1894 when the stage was discontinued. Miss 
Phebe A. Holder produced a fitting poem of farewell for the 
occasion, which appears in Houghton’s History of Berlin , pp. 86- 
87. One stanza reveals the style: 

Its course is run, its errand done. 

No more we hear at set of sun 

The rattling wheels, through life we’ve heard, 

That have with joy my child heart stirred, 

The old Stage Coach. 


The Bean Express Company 

There was evidently another express company which delivered 
mail and express to Berlin, from the south, prior to the extension 
of the Agricultural Branch Rail Road from Northboro to Pratt’s 
Junction in 1866. This was the Bean and Company’s Express, 
with headquarters at 84 Court Square, Boston. They were sched¬ 
uled to leave the office daily at 12:30. En route they made de¬ 
liveries at Framingham, Fayville, Southboro, Marlboro, North¬ 
boro, Berlin, and Clinton. As evidence of such an express, there 
was in the possession of Mr. Arthur Hastings a letter addressed 
to his mother, Mrs. C. S. Hastings, South Berlin, Mass., post¬ 
marked 1863, on which the above information was printed. 


Post Offices in Berlin 

Equally as interesting and as indigenous to the times as the 
marketman was the development of the Post system. Prior to 
1826 mail for any destination was hung on the walls of Jones’ Inn 
and later, Howe’s Tavern, to be picked up by any traveler who 
was going in that direction. By a repetition of this process in sue- 


TRANSPORTATION AND COMMUNICATION 


127 


cessive towns, mail finally, yes, probably, reached its destination. 

The Postal System has made remarkable strides since those 
primitive days. Yet, in these modern days, some strange bungling 
of the mail occurs under die supervision of our “trained” mail 
clerks. In February of 1954 Edward F. Greene of 44 Pleasant 
Street, Marlboro, Mass., addressed a letter to Frederick A. Krack- 
hardt, West Berlin, Mass. This letter was delivered to Heinrich 
Krackhardt in West Berlin, Germany. But he pointed out to the 
postman that this letter was intended for West Berlin, U.S.A.; so 
it was returned to the sender and he delivered the letter in person 
over a month afterwards. 

In order to keep Berlin posted on the news, a post rider came 
from Worcester regularly, once a week, with copies of the 
Massachusetts Spy. Although this paper had its origin in Boston 
on July 17, 1770, by Isaiah Thomas, it was transferred to Worces¬ 
ter on the day following the Battle of Lexington, and the first 
copy appeared on May 3, 1775. It continued under this name 
until July 22, 1845, when it appeared as the Worcester Daily Spy. 

Another publication which was circulated among the Berlin 
yeomen was The Old Farmer s Almanac. This booklet was estab¬ 
lished by Robert B. Thomas in 1792. He lived for the most of his 
life in Oakdale, of the Town of West Boylston. It is still published 
annually and is considered a document of importance in provid¬ 
ing a picture of New England life that is long past. 

In passing, we should not overlook the Berlin News. A small 
sheet (7/2 x 5 inches) composed and published by Perry H. 
White, at the home of Mrs. C. S. Hastings in South Berlin. Perry 
had just turned his thirteenth birthday when the first issue ap¬ 
peared on July 25, 1888. The publication continued for five years, 
closing with the issue of July 19, 1893. These sheets are a rare 
repository of the current “news, whips, and cracks” of that period, 
and it is worth our perusal. Copies of the Berlin News may be 
found in the Public Library and a description of the paper may 
be viewed in Houghton’s History of Berlin , pp. 531-533. 

The first Post Office was established in Berlin on May 2, 1828, 
in the old Howe’s Tavern, at the corner of Pleasant and Central 
Streets. Here William A. Howe conducted the General Store. 
Jonathan D. Meriam, operator of the Berlin Stage Coach, became 
the first Postmaster. He was followed by William A. Howe in 


128 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


1831; James E. Woods took over on February 27, 1839; and 
Haman Hunt on June 4, 1839. Dexter B. Saunders became Post¬ 
master on October 24, 1844. Then followed Joel Bullard, the 
blacksmith, who shuffled the mail in the “old Bullard House” 
between November 4, 1846 and November 22, 1848. At the latter 
date, Rufus E. Hastings took over the general store business, at 
the “Howe Tavern,” became Postmaster, and the office was re¬ 
located there. 

The tavern and store business was moved to its present loca¬ 
tion, on Central Street—facing Carter Street and the Common—in 
1852. Here the General Store and Post Office were operated 
under the following persons: 


Rufus S. Hastings until 
Amory A. Bartlett 
Ezra S. Moore 
Christopher S. White 
Elijah C. Shattuck 
William H. Lasselle 
Perley B. Sawyer 
William A. Hartshorn 
Zoheth H. Woodbury 
E. Guy Sawyer 
James E. Andrews 
Kendall E. Andrews 
Robert E. Taylor 
Burton K. Wheeler 
Cecil B. Wheeler, Jr. 


May 25, 1874 

June 6, 1881 

March 6, 1891 

December 1, 1895 

1895-1897 

1897-1907 

1907-1912 

1912-1915 

1915-1918 

1918-1925 

1925-1928 

April 6, 1928-Nov. 12, 1948 
-Nov. 9, 1954 
(temporary postmaster) 
August 31, 1956 


The second post office to be established in the Town was at 
West Berlin when, on May 13, 1868, Silas R. Carter, proprietor 
of Carter’s Stores, became Postmaster. He continued in this 
service until August 15, 1917—the date of his death. After which 
the post office business was moved to the home and printing 
quarters of Charles F. Harris, at the corner of Lincoln Road and 
West Street. The Office was continued at this same location when 
Cyrus A. Bowen purchased the property in 1924, and Mrs. May 
H. Bowen became Postmaster. After the fire of October, 1925, 
which destroyed the property, the Bowens built a new store 
building at the street corner, and the Post Office was housed 
there. 

In January of 1951 Mrs. Seaward S. Spinney became Post- 


TRANSPORTATION AND COMMUNICATION 


129 


master, which position she held until March of 1953, when John 
O’Connell became the Postmaster. On January 15, 1955, the Post 
Office was moved to the Harriman Spa, at the corner of West 
Street and Randall Road, and Ralph L. Harriman became (act¬ 
ing) Postmaster. The West Berlin Post Office was closed by 
Federal Order on April 20, 1956. 

South Berlin secured her Post Office on March 3, 1891, and 
Charles B. Maynard was appointed Postmaster. In the year 1907 
the office was transferred to the store of Arthur B. Wheeler. After 
his death, November 24, 1925, Mrs. Jane W. Wheeler became the 
Postmaster. Then in 1927 the Post Office was moved across the 
street (South Street) to the home of John Bernardson, and Mrs. 
Jessie A. Bernardson became the Postmaster. 

Mr. N. Harriman Fay built a new store building on the site of 
the original store of Hastings Bros., at the junction of Pleasant 
and South Streets. This store was taken over by Willard H. 
Wheeler, a grandson of Arthur Hastings (of Hastings Bros.), 
and in December of 1946 the Post Office was moved to this 
building and Willard H. Wheeler became the new Postmaster. 

With three Post Offices in the Town, there arose the problem 
of how they should receive and send out the mail. When the 
Agricultural Branch Railroad began operations through here in 
1866, they were given the job of carrying the mail. There was a 
station at West Berlin on this line, across the street from the Post 
Office, but the Berlin station was two miles from both the Center 
and the South Berlin Post Office. Therefore, what was known as 
a Star Route was established to carry the mail between the rail¬ 
road station and the two Post Offices. Forrest E. Day was the last 
person to operate this Star Route. This particular branch of the 
New Haven Railroad discontinued their passenger and express 
service in 1933, and the mail service was taken over by privately- 
owned Star Route trucks, under contract. This had the advantage, 
in that the mail truck made direct delivery to each Post Office 
en route. Now there are daily trips between Boston and Clinton, 
giving Berlin two mails from Boston and two from Clinton. 

Rural Free Delivery 

On September 17, 1906, William S. Eager began his service 
as Rural Free Delivery carrier for the outlying homes of Berlin 


130 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


—over a mile from a Post Office. He covered the route of fourteen 
and eight tenths miles with horse and carriage, which took 
ordinarily three hours. In 1928 the business was motorized and 
the route extended to twenty miles, which required a little over 
two hours. Mr. Eager was retired on January 30, 1933, and the 
R.F.D. service of Berlin was added to that of Bolton. Edwin M. 
Popp of Bolton was awarded the contract and with the many 
additional patrons, it guarantees a profitable position. 


Railroads 

There are two railroads which pass through the Town of Ber¬ 
lin. Both are lines of the two main systems of New England, the 
Boston & Maine, and the New York, New Haven and Hartford 
Railroads. The Boston & Maine traverses the Town from the east 
to west, and the New Haven from the north to the south, crossing 
at West Berlin. The B & M crosses over the North Brook, New 
Haven tracks, and West Street on a high bridge, while the New 
Haven tracks follow the course of the North Brook valley, parallel 
with West Street and Derby Road. 

Until about 1895, around the time of the construction of the 
Wachusett Reservoir, when the course of the tracks was changed, 
there was a by-pass switch between the two lines at West Berlin, 
and there had been much comment on building a union station 
at this point. 

The first railroad to lay its tracks in Berlin was the Agricultural 
Branch Railroad (chartered on April 26, 1847) which extended 
its line from Northboro to Pratt’s Junction on July 2, 1866. The 
Berlin Station was located in the south part of town at the junc¬ 
tion of South Street with Jones Road. A second station was West 
Berlin, located conveniently opposite the village store on West 
Street. Owing to the confusion in enunciation of West Berlin and 
Westboro, the name of the station was changed to Carters in 
1922. While not on Berlin territory, yet convenient to those living 
on Lancaster Road in the north part of Berlin, there was another 
station by the name of Bolton. 

One year after this line came into Berlin (1867) the name was 
changed to the Boston, Clinton and Fitchburg Railroad Company. 
As such, it consolidated with the Fitchburg and Worcester in 


TRANSPORTATION AND COMMUNICATION 


131 


1869, then leased the New Bedford Railroad Company in 1874. 
As the Boston, Clinton, Fitchburg and New Bedford, it united 
with the Old Colony Road in 1882—the resulting corporation 
being known as the Old Colony. 

Thus Berlin became a cog in a big-time network when the New 
York, New Haven and Hartford Railroad Company took a ninety- 
nine year lease on the Old Colony in 1893. With this setup, Ber¬ 
lin, for the next forty years, had direct connection with Boston, 
Fall River, and New Bedford on the sea, and Fitchburg (the 
other terminus) at the north. 

With the advent of the trolley cars and especially that of the 
automobile, passenger service on the railroads gradually de¬ 
creased, so that in 1933 passenger service on the N.Y., N.H. & H. 
line between Fitchburg and Framingham, was discontinued, and 
one by one the station houses between these points were sold 
and removed. Two of the houses on Oak Street, built by Louis 
G. Hudson, contain materials from some of these stations. The 
tracks are still in use for heavy freight service operated by 
modern diesel engines. 

Boston & Maine Railroad 

Another railroad, which tied Berlin in the extensive steel 
tentacles, is the Boston & Maine. This line developed from the 
fact that the Massachusetts Central Railroad Company was 
chartered on May 10, 1869, and the road was to go through Ber¬ 
lin, with the provision that said town would “subscribe for and 
hold shares in the capital stock ... to an amount not exceeding 
five percent of the assessed valuation of the town.” At the Annual 
Town Meeting of November 2, 1869, it was voted to subscribe 
for 200 shares at $100 each. Then it was voted that the money 
be raised by issuing bonds of the town at six percent, payable in 
twenty years. 

The first passenger train service over this line for Berlin began 
on December 19, 1881, after Charles S. Mellen, head of the 
Lowell Railroad Company, had bought and completed the con¬ 
struction of the Central Massachusetts branch from Boston to 
Northampton. Then, on April 1, 1887, control went to the Boston 
& Maine Railroad. 

Following this move, the Town of Berlin voted in their meet- 


132 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


mg of April 9, 1887, to authorize the Selectmen with two others 
to sell the stock of the Central Massachusetts Railroad Company 
on such terms as they thought best for the interest of the Town. 
It was then that a public-spirited citizen, Chandler Carter, came 
forward and made the donation of $20,000, wishing that the 
Town would never get in debt again. The Town accepted his 
donation, paid the debt, and placed Mr. Carters oil portrait 
upon the wall of the Town Hall assembly room in gratitude. 

Passenger service on the B & M line, between Hudson and 
Clinton, was discontinued on May 17, 1958. On this date, a 
large group of Berlin citizens assembled at the station to witness 
the “last train” at 7:08 p.m., and to take pictures of another 
antique. Several children boarded the train in order to have a 
farewell ride (through the tunnel and over the bridge) into 
Clinton. They returned to Berlin by autos. The tracks, between 
Berlin Center and Clinton, have been removed (as per date 
November 1, 1959). Passenger train service on the B & M con¬ 
tinues to operate between Hudson and Boston; but freight service 
is maintained to Berlin Center. 

The wrecking of the steel bridge at the West Berlin crossing 
was completed on January 11, 1960. For many years the sub¬ 
stantial abutments for the bridge lifted their heads skyward 
without any structure to carry the railroad, until the completion 
of the trestle bridge in 1880. Then the “Big Blow” of November 
25, 1888 hurled the wooden structure of the bridge to the 
ground. Afterward the steel bridge was constructed over North 
Brook, New Haven R.R. tracks and West Street. Now the ghastly 
abutments of 1869 remain as a reminder of Berlin’s twenty shares 
of stock. 

In the early days of this road, there were three stations ac¬ 
cessible to the people of Berlin. Besides the Berlin station at 
Carterville, there was a South Clinton station for the convenience 
of the people living near the juncture of the towns of Boylston, 
Clinton, and Berlin. This station was eliminated in 1895 during 
the construction of the Wachusett Reservoir. The tracks were 
relocated to avoid the reservoir. Another station, accessible for 
the people of the eastern section of Berlin, was that of South 
Bolton near the juncture of the towns of Bolton, Hudson, and 
Berlin. This station house was closed, sold, and removed in 1937. 


TRANSPORTATION AND COMMUNICATION 


133 


The Berlin station house in Carterville was removed around 
1942. In its stead a small section house has been erected to 
shelter some half-dozen passengers from the elements. Passenger 
service on this line between Clinton and Boston was reduced to 
six trains daily. Three trains in the morning to Boston, and three 
on the return in the afternoon. Freight service has been continued 
to Berlin Center. Railway Express pickup and delivery service 
exists between Clinton and Berlin. 


Clinton Auto Express 

Since the discontinuance of the passenger and express service 
on the New Haven line, and the closing of the express office of 
the B & M (1934) station at Berlin, this branch of transportation 
has been serviced by the Clinton Auto Express, Inc. This com¬ 
pany began operating in 1921 with headquarters at 506 High 
Street in Clinton. Their Worcester office is at Rear Mulberry 
Street, and the Boston Office at 140 Leverett Street. Seven three- 
to four-ton trucks make daily trips between Clinton, Worcester, 
and Boston. True to their moto: “You Specify, We Satisfy,” they 
pick up packages and deliver parcels to local addresses in Berlin. 


The Trolley Lines 

A new mode of travel was introduced in Berlin in 1900 when 
the Clinton and Hudson Street Railway began to run its trolley 
cars through the Town. On October 17, 1900, the Fitchburg 
Suburban Street Railway Company, the Clinton and Hudson 
Railway Company, and the Worcester & Clinton Street Railway 
Company were consolidated, and on March 1, 1901, it became 
known as the Worcester Consolidated Street Railway Company. 

For a quarter of a century this method of transportation was 
prevalent. Not only did they patronize the trolley for the regular 
business and commercial trips, but many were the “joy-rides” 
taken to Boone Pond, Leominster, and Whalom Park. Cars were 
chartered and hundreds of picnickers crowded on them to the 
running board. 

After automobiles came into common usage, the trolley busi¬ 
ness began to decline. The seven sidings between Hudson and 


134 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Clinton were reduced to one at Berlin Center. This was because 
they didn’t need them; fewer cars were running. The light 
patronage did not warrant the service, and the prolonged waits 
for a trolley discouraged the public. Finally, on September 7, 
1924, the time of the expiration of its contract, Berlin witnessed 
the last trip of a trolley car on the Clinton-Hudson branch of the 
Worcester Consolidated Street Railway. 

The franchise to run trolley cars between Hudson and Clinton, 
through Berlin, was let in February 1899 when Robert B. Wheel¬ 
er, Daniel P. Hartwell, and Sidney B. Carter were Selectmen. 
The car barn and power plant (now the Berlin Mushroom Com¬ 
pany) were located in West Berlin and supplied current for 
both the Clinton-Hudson and the Worcester-Clinton branch of 
the W. & C. St. Ry. From the Berlin News we learn that “Ed¬ 
mund Perrin, conductor on C. & H. electric cars and Edward 
Bates, supt. of car barn at West Berlin, lived in Sid Carter’s 
tenement of West Street in 1900.” 

In the Town records under date of September 12, 1898, it is 
noted that the W. & C. St. Ry. Co. petitioned the Selectmen for 
the right to run a spur line to the Old Colony R.R. tracks, for the 
purpose of conveying coal and supplies to their power plant. 


Lovell Bus Lines, Inc . 

About two weeks elapsed after the cessation of trolley service 
before any public means of transportation was established 
through Berlin. John Pescorino had been operating a jitney 
between Lancaster Center and the Berlin-Clinton line at Dewey 
Park, but he could not secure a permit to operate through Berlin. 

It was on September 19, 1924, that John F. Lovell of Maynard 
began running his buses through Berlin to Clinton. By the first 
of the following year (1925) he had extended his run to Leomins¬ 
ter. He soon became incorporated as the Lovell Bus Lines, Inc., 
with the home office and car barn at Maynard. The line was 
extended to Arlington Heights where you connected with the 
Boston Elevated, thus assuring a continuous passage to Boston. 

By the year 1950 the Lovell Bus Lines had developed a net¬ 
work of routes with branches from the Actons, Bedford Airport, 
and to Waltham and Watertown. Thus Berlin felt that they were 


TRANSPORTATION AND COMMUNICATION 


135 


on a system that would last indefinitely. There was an hourly 
service for Berlin, in either direction, from 6:20 a.m. to 11:20 p.m. 
daily. This service was more dependable than the former trolley 
service, especially during the snowstormy weather, when the trol¬ 
ley generally waited for nature to clear the tracks. With modern 
snow removal equipment, both the bus lines and the Town kept 
the highways cleared and traffic proceeded in a uniform manner. 

However, the inhabitants of Berlin were soon to be disap¬ 
pointed in their expectations. The bus company claimed that 
they were not receiving enough patronage to pay the expenses 
of operation, and the citizens of Berlin learned that they could 
not depend upon the bus line for schedule. Thus people invested 
more and more in private cars. 

On January 25, 1953, Lovell Bus Lines service between Clinton 
and Leominster, and between Clinton and Maynard was sharply 
curtailed. All Sunday and holiday service was discontinued. Early 
morning and evening service between Clinton and Maynard was 
curtailed, so that there was no bus before 8:15 a.m. or after 
8:15 p.m. The Company filed a voluntary petition in bankruptcy 
in the Federal Court, and on Tuesday, February 24, 1953, the 
Lovell Bus Lines, Inc. went out of business. Since then, Berlin 
has not had any bus service. 


The Automobile 

During the early years of the twentieth century, the most 
common means of travel was with horse and carriage; but for 
many, who could not afford or find it convenient to keep a horse, 
there was the bicycle. The bicycle was the most convenient 
means of travel for the young ministers of the community in 
making their weekly calls among their parishioners. Rev. Alfred 
S. Durston, during his pastorate from 1918 to 1921, used his 
bicycle to contact the members of his parish in the outlying 
districts. Even today many of the young folks, under sixteen 
years of age, ride bicycles—but not much after sixteen, for then 
they can secure a license to drive an automobile. 

The first automobile owned in Berlin was a Stanley Steamer 
which Forrest E. Day bought of Charlie Boyce of Hudson in 
1907. About the year 1910 the same was sold to David S. Tyler, 


136 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


who tried his patience with the “pesky thing.” Another Stanley 
Steamer was introduced to Berlin about this time by M. Reed 
Tyler, which stood in his barn-garage on Pleasant Street since 
1909. 

These cars were used only as pleasure vehicles, but some of 
Mr. Day's experiences with boiler and engine troubles were far 
from being a pleasure. Nevertheless, his interest and repairs on 
these models developed into the opening of a garage, in a barn 
at the rear of the residence of the late Ethel M. G. Sawyer, comer 
of Central and Linden Streets. It was here that he took in Earle 
A. Wheeler as an assistant, and from this beginning there 
developed the Wheeler Garage of West Street, which moved to 
its new quarters in the old Stone Craft Building of Carter Street 
in 1951. 

There was very little trouble about speeding with these early 
models, but their unusual appearance and noises frightened the 
cattle and horses as they puffed and barked along the highway. 
It was a customary experience to call upon the aid of horses to 
drag the car up the hill or out of a mudhole in the road. 

It was so unusual for a person to own an automobile that, even 
as late as the 1920's, the fact was published in the local news. 
Here are two items that appeared in the Clinton Courant (Berlin 
News): 

April 18, 1924, “E. Montrose Evans has purchased a new auto¬ 
mobile.” 

May 2, 1924, “Selectman L. D. Carter has purchased a fine seven- 
passenger Marmon Limousine.” 

In the year 1918 the Selectmen ordered signs placed along the 
highways warning the motorists of a speed limit of fifteen miles 
per hour. This limit was increased to twenty-five miles per hour 
in 1940, and to thirty-five miles per hour in 1950. We judge that 
if the super-highway passes through Berlin by 1960 a speed of 
forty-five miles per hour will be permitted. 

There has been a gradual increase in the number of cars and 
trucks owned by the inhabitants of Berlin. Not only has the 
number increased, but also the valuation of cars. By looking at 
the report on excise tax, we may observe the increase—which, 
in late years, is due largely to the absence of public commutation. 


TRANSPORTATION AND COMMUNICATION 


137 



Cars and 



Year 

Trucks 

Excise Tax 

Valuation 

1930 


$ 2,043.60 


1935 


2,138.96 


1936 

470 

2,419.26 


1940 

507 

3,239.96 


1950 

728 

9,564.42 

$255,200.00 

1954 

778 

14,356.76 

324,440.00 


The heavy motor traffic with automobiles and massive trucks 
taxes the durability of the highway and accounts for the increased 
cost of construction and maintenance. An average of 100 cars per 
hour pass a given point on Route 62 during a fair weekend. 
There was a count made at the West Berlin R.R. Bridge and 
crossing on September 11, 1936 that reported 2,440 cars passed 
this point in eight hours. 


Telephone Service 

It is said that Alexander Graham Bell, a professor in Boston 
University of 688 Boylston Street, invented the telephone in 1876, 
but it took over twenty-five years for it to move the thirty-one 
miles westward to Berlin. 

The first public phones in Berlin were located in the three 
general stores of the Town. One at the Center, one at South 
Berlin, and one at West Berlin. These were connected to the 
Clinton exchange, and the wires were carried on the poles of the 
toll line extending from Hudson to Clinton along the B & M right- 
of-way. This system consisted of one wire and a ground, run on 
ground batteries. Every electric storm put it out of commission. 
It was operated by the Bell Telephone Company between the 
years 1882 and 1903. 

The first private telephone used in Berlin was manufactured 
by Forrest E. Day, about 1900. It was a one-piece affair; that is, 
you spoke into and listened in the same receivo-transmitter. 
Within the year he and his brother, Lewis, had constructed a 
six-party fine. By this means six families on Wheeler Hill were 
placed in direct communication. Through this medium great 
comfort was administered to the elderly women of the com¬ 
munity who could sit at home and converse with their friends 
two or three miles away. 


138 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


When Mr. Day desired to extend his lines to the homes in 
Carterville, he met with an obstacle at the B & M Railroad 
crossing, and a more acute one at the trolley line, for they would 
not permit him to place his wires over or under their tracks; but 
through sheer stealth and ingenuity, he connected with the 
phones in residences of Carterville. 

With this introduction, the New England Telephone & Tele¬ 
graph Company felt that here was an opening for them, but Mr. 
Day would not sell out to them at this time. Nevertheless, the 
company arranged to locate a telephone exchange in Berlin. 
After securing fifteen subscribers, an exchange was set up in the 
residence of James W. Barter, on Carter Street (where Clifford 
Kent lives). This was in 1903, and Mrs. J. W. Barter became the 
first operator. 

The exchange remained in the Barter family until April 1, 
1919, when it was moved across the street to the residence of 
Mrs. Ella Jones. At that time there were ninety subscribers. 
Ralph L. Jones had charge of the exchange until December of 
1939, when Mrs. Marion A. McCullough took it over and became 
the operator. Mrs. Blanche Bayer took over the operation of the 
exchange in December of 1944. After one year of service Mrs. 
Phyllis S. Warbin became the operator in November of 1945, and 
continued in this position until October 28, 1951. On the aforesaid 
date Mrs. Nettie A. Taylor took charge of the exchange and 
continued until replaced by the dial system. 

The system expanded to a list of 340 subscribers, with a force 
of nine operators, which gave a continuous twenty-four hour 
daily service. Some thirty-three resident subscribers are con¬ 
nected on the Hudson exchange. In 1942 the open-line wires 
were replaced by a 350-pair wire cable, thus giving the chance 
for additional phone connections. This is also a central for time 
signals, fire alarms, and air raid warnings. Within the past two 
years (1954-55) a new, larger cable, and other equipment have 
been installed preparatory to shifting over to the dial system, 
which took place on April 25, 1956. Direct Distance Dialing, a 
new fast method for dialing station-to-station, long distance calls, 
became effective on Sunday, November 15, 1959. 

Almost simultaneous with the introduction of the telephone 
into the homes of Berlin was the advent of the phonograph— 


TRANSPORTATION AND COMMUNICATION 


139 


the type that held the record on a cylinder sleeve. Forrest E. 
Day tells of a jovial prank that was played upon Paul A. Randall 
by the use of a combination of the telephone and the phono¬ 
graph back in the early 1900’s. A record of a military band was 
slipped onto the phonograph at the home of John L. Day. Then 
he called Mr. Randall on the phone, and when he answered, the 
music began, whereupon Mr. Randall dropped the receiver and 
rushed to the window to see the parade coming down the road. 
After much anticipation, he was informed that the music was 
coming over the telephone wire. He declared that this was in¬ 
credible, and refused to be convinced. 

Yet, within less than a quarter of a century, sound came into 
the homes in Berlin, not only over the wires, but by “wireless” 
—the radio. Soon this was followed with the television. Many 
homes in Berlin, on the hills, have good reception without an 
outside antenna. They tell us that the day is near when you may 
see the person with whom you are conversing over the telephone. 
Practical commercial color television has also been developed. 

Electric Light and Power 

Soon after the establishment of the telephone service in the 
Town, the people became interested in securing a better method 
of illumination and power service. The first move to install 
electric lights, as a means of illumination, was presented in an 
article of the Warrant for the March Town Meeting of 1908, 
which was “to see if the Town will vote to install electric lights 
in the streets and Town House.” 

The action under this article resulted in the appointing of a 
committee, who reported at the meeting called for August the 
14th. There, it was voted, on motion of Charles H. Allen, “that 
the Selectmen, with the addition of Ira G. Dudley and James D. 
Tyler, be authorized to contract with the Marlboro Electric 
Company for the lighting of the streets in Berlin for a period of 
five years.” At the same time it was voted to leave the matter of 
lighting the Town House in the hands of the committee, with 
power to act. Evidently the committee did act favorably, for a 
bill of $193.40 appeared in the report for the year ending Febru¬ 
ary 1, 1910, for wiring the Town Hall, and $58.80 for lights in the 


r 


140 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Town Hall, in addition to $568.38 for street lights which was 
paid to the Marlboro Electric Company. 

The electric street lights were turned on in January of 1909, 
and it was voted at the Town Meeting of 1910 “that the old (oil) 
street lamps be given, by the Selectmen, to those who will erect 
and maintain them by the road-side, near their home.” 

Very few houses were wired for electricity during the first five 
years for the current was not practical for general use. There 
was only one circuit. Street lights and dwellings were on the same 
line, and the current was on only between dusk and midnight, 
so if one wished to go into the cellar or some dark place during 
the daytime, it would be necessary to resort to the old lighting 
method, a candle, lantern, or oil lamp; or, if one wished to use 
any electrical appliance, such as an iron or washing machine, it 
became necessary to perform this task at night when the current 
was on. 

In 1914 the townsmen sought a new contract with the 
Marlboro Electric Company for reduced rates, and an all-day 
service. The new contract was signed in 1916. Since then more 
and more homes have been wired, until all of the residences 
have electricity and have installed electrical appliances. In fact, 
one of the first moves toward the construction of a new house is 
to have electricity installed, which is essential for the operation 
of power tools and lighting. 

Under date of April 20, 1938, the Public Utilities Commission 
granted a permit to the Worcester Suburban Electric Company 
to absorb the Marlboro Electric Company, which was serving 
customers of Berlin, Bolton, Marlboro, Northboro, Southboro, 
and Westboro. To date (1955), service bills are paid to the 
Worcester County Electric Company, through their office in 
Marlboro, for this territory. The bulk of the power is bought of 
the New England Power Company, but in an emergency they 
have the option of connecting with other systems. The facilities 
have been modernized so that Berlin receives constant and 
dependable service. 

Water Supply System 

There is no municipal water supply system in the Town of 
Berlin. Yet, the Wachusett Aqueduct of the Metropolitan District 


TRANSPORTATION AND COMMUNICATION 


141 


Water Division passes through the Town from the western- 
center of Boylston line, southeasterly to a south-center point in 
the Northboro line. This aqueduct consists of 1.16 miles of 
tunnel and 2.20 miles of covered construction, making a total of 
3.36 miles, which occupies a section of 49.82 acres. Work on this 
conduit began in 1895 and was completed in 1898. It is fed by 
two reservoirs. 

The Wachusett Reservoir, completed in 1906, impounds 63 
billion gallons of water and the Quabbin Reservoir, situated 
twenty-five miles to the northwest, has a capacity of 415 billion 
gallons. The gates to this connecting tunnel were opened on 
September 17, 1941. So, there is a head of 478 billion gallons to 
supply a daily flow of approximately 155 million gallons, passing 
through Berlin, to supply the thirsty of metropolitan Boston. It 
does seem that they could supply Berlin with a few gallons for 
fire protection. 

A pumping station located near the North Brook at Linden 
Street, opposite the Worcester Suburban Electric Company’s 
transformer station, could be connected to the aqueduct, which 
is within 450 yards. The advice from the Worcester County Ex¬ 
tension Service to the Committee on “Community Life in Ber¬ 
lin” was to look into the possibility of connecting with the 
aqueduct. 

When the aqueduct was constructed, they destroyed some 
springs of the Barnes Hill section which supplied water for the 
houses of the West Village. S. Rolla Carter was a member of the 
Board of Selectmen and his property would become a heavy 
loser in this event. At any rate, these homes became connected 
to the aqueduct, which service was continued until around 1944 
when the pipes had become so badly clogged that the system 
was abandoned. Artesian wells were driven, which has become 
the customary and necessary method of securing a water supply. 

Some data on this system of the Water Division of the Metro¬ 
politan Reservoir may be opportune. Preliminary work for 
determining the site of the Wachusett Reservoir began in August 
of 1895. This involved the evacuation of over 2,000 persons from 
their 510 homes scattered through the towns of Clinton, Boylston, 
West Boylston, and Sterling. When cleared for a sanitary basin, 
there was an area of 6.44 square miles, or 4,125 acres. The shore 


142 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


line is 38.66 miles in length, the extreme width is 2.05 miles, the 
length is 8.25 miles and the greatest depth is 129 feet. The area 
of the watershed is 118.25 square miles. 

Construction on the Wachusett Dam began in June of 1897 
and was completed on February 27, 1906. It is built of stone 
laid in 1,322 carloads of cement, with an elevation of 207 feet. 
It tapers from a 185 foot base to a 22/2 foot top, mounted by a 
promenade of 964 feet in length. The main dam is 911 feet long, 
with a waste weir of 452 feet which takes a 107 foot spill, and 
extends east as a core wall 53 feet long. 

The Wachusett Aqueduct conveys water from the Wachusett 
Reservoir to the Sudbury Reservoir (in Southboro), a distance of 
twelve miles. This consists of two miles through rock, seven miles 
of masonry and three of open channel. In December of 1939 the 
three miles of open channel was confined into a fourteen foot 
diameter pipeline. In September of 1940 fifteen more miles of 
tunnel was completed, thus bringing the waters from Southboro 
to Chestnut Hill, where it connects with several supply junctions 
for the Boston Metropolitan District. In 1948 the tunnel over the 
Assabet River at Northboro was transferred to a sub-river tube, 
but the seven 29.5 foot span bridge was retained. 

In the making of the Quabbin Reservoir the Metropolitan 
District Commission took 80,000 acres and gulped down ten 
villages and towns, two lakes, one hundred miles of highway, 
fifteen miles of railroad, hundreds of camps and summer homes 
and scores of cemeteries. This body of water covers 39 square 
miles, is dotted by 106 islands and has 118 miles of shoreline. 
Quabbin is estimated to be the “world’s largest man-made 
domestic water supply reservoir” (Donald F. Williams, Gazette 
Sunday Magazine). 

Several natives of Berlin were associated with the construction 
and maintenance of these engineering projects. Arthur Hastings 
served on the Board of Selectmen during the period of the con¬ 
struction of the tunnel of the aqueduct and a force of special 
police (including George W. Barnes, George H. Carpenter, 
Lemuel D. Carter, Henry A. Wheeler, Theodore Guertin, Isaac 
Holbrook, and Arthur L. Brewer) were busy keeping order and 
tranquility among the Italian and Negro laborers at the shafts 
in Larkindale. 


TRANSPORTATION AND COMMUNICATION 


143 


Even more prominent was the position of Christopher S. White, 
son of Daniel A. White and Ellen, daughter of Christopher S. 
Hastings, of Pleasant Street, who surrendered his office as Post¬ 
master and General Manager of the General Store (at the Cen¬ 
ter) in December of 1895 to become Assistant Superintendent 
of the Wachusett Division of the Metropolitan Water System, 
which position he held until retiring in 1933. 

Another former native of Berlin associated with this Com¬ 
mission was William N. Davenport, son of William J. Davenport 
and Elmira G., daughter of Rufus Howard of Pleasant Street, 
who became Secretary of the Metropolitan Water and Sewerage 
Board, which position he held for twenty-five years, including 
the entire period of the construction of the Wachusett Reservoir. 

Furthermore, Charles S. Knight, son of George W. and Lettie 
A. (Whitney) Knight (formerly of Carter Street, Alvin Walker 
house) started on his career with the Metropolitan Water Works 
Commission as a special police at the construction of camps of 
the Aqueduct in Berlin in 1895. On April 9, 1938, he was the 
representative for the Metropolitan Commission in charge of 
the evacuation of the inhabitants of the Town of Enfield, pre¬ 
paratory to the construction of the Quabbin Reservoir. 

Another feature of interest was the relocation of the tracks of 
the Massachusetts Central Railroad (B & M). Formerly the line 
proceeded due west from the L. D. Carter (or John Niedzial) 
house of Boylston Street, to the South Clinton station (which is 
now submerged in the Reservoir). To change to its present 
position, four and one-half miles of track were laid in a north and 
west course, parallel to West Street and passing through a 1,133- 
foot tunnel and thence over a 921-foot steel bridge across the 
Nashua River north of the dam. 

It was reported (December 13, 1957) by Harold J. Toole, 
Water Director of the Metropolitan District Commission, that 
work on the construction of a $20,000,000 rock tunnel would be¬ 
gin during the summer of 1958. This tunnel, penetrating rock 
200-300 feet below the surface, will pass through Berlin con¬ 
necting the Wachusett Reservoir with the Hultman Aqueduct in 
Marlboro. Its capacity of 600,000,000 gallons per day would 
double that of the present aqueduct. This work is now under way. 


CHAPTER VII 


AGRICULTURE AND INDUSTRIES 


The Town of Berlin has been classed as an agricultural com¬ 
munity. Originally, that was the purpose of its settlement. The 
early settlers devoted their time to clearing the land, hunting, 
trapping, and farming. There are 8,320 acres of land in the Town, 
of which 7,557.24 are assessed. This entire territory was owned by 
a few priority grantees. 

Among these we find John Houghton, who acquired a tract of 
337 acres of “Third Division Hill,” 200 acres of which was in 
Berlin, comprising the entire northwest section of the Town. To 
the west of this was the Philip Larkin estate of 144 acres and to 
the east were the John Moore possessions, which later became the 
estate of Jonathan Wheeler, Jr., known as “Wheeler Hill.” Then, 
to the extreme east, Stephen Gates owned 314 acres on which 
the Fosgates settled. 

To the south there was the John Houghton, 3rd, parcel of 137 
acres, which he sold to Benjamin Bailey in 1718. This he enlarged 
until it included Berlin Center, and extended from Sawyer Hill 
on the east to Barnes Hill on the west. The Johnsons established 
themselves to the south of the Bailey lands. 

North of the Johnson grant and east of the Bailey lands, the 
Jonathan Wheeler estate of 362 acres was located. This embodied 
the territory from the Elizabeth (Assabet) River on the south to 
the Sawyer clearings on the north, and touched the Gates prop¬ 
erty on the east side. 

It was upon these grants that a few of the descendants began 
to settle in the early 1700’s. Their purpose was to earn a living 
upon the land, but they learned that they must be more than 
farmers. It became necessary for them to provide for all of the 
necessities of life—food, clothing, and shelter. Thus they were 

144 




AGRICULTURE AND INDUSTRIES 


145 


woodsmen, carpenters, masons, blacksmiths, and general mechan¬ 
ics. The womenfolk not only cared for the house and the meals, 
but they must also provide for the clothing, the soap, and the 
candles. 

If a farmer wished to prepare grain for feed or food it became 
necessary for him to carry it to a mill. The nearest was Prescott’s 
“Corne Mill,” located on what is now Water Street, Clinton, west 
of West Street. Prescott’s “saw mill” was located a few rods up¬ 
stream from the grist mill. But, if one preferred to get his 
lumber from Thomas Sawyer, he would find his “saw mill” in the 
Deer Horn District of Lancaster near the Four Ponds. It was not 
until around 1735 that the Century Mills of Bolton began their 
operations as “ye corne mill and ye saw mill.” 

In a few years, as the settlements increased, the tasks of the 
farming population became diversified. There was more special¬ 
ization. Saw and grist mills, blacksmith shops and potash plants 
were located on Berlin soil. Carpenters and masons worked at 
their trades, at least as a part time job. Traveling tradesmen be¬ 
came customary, such as those who would abide in the home 
while they fitted the family with shoes, clothing, or other com¬ 
modities. 

As one reads the various histories of Berlin, we find that it is 
listed as an argicultural town. Peter Whitney of Northboro states 
in his History of Worcester County of 1793 that “The most 
valuable uplands (of Berlin) are seated on the several hills, 
which afford excellent pastorage and orchards.” Barber’s His¬ 
torical Collections of Massachusetts of 1848 record the following 
lines concerning the Town of Berlin: “The most valuable uplands 
in the town lie on the several hills, which are excellent for grazing 
and a suitable proportion of it for tillage. This is entirely an 
agricultural town. Large quantities of hops are annually pro¬ 
duced here.” 

From the C. F. Jewett & Co. History of Worcester County of 
1879 we glean these encouraging words: “The whole people 
were homogeneous. They owned the farm which they cultivated. 
The business of the people in all generations has been principally 
in the agricultural line. In 1875, there were 6,918 acres of land 
under crops, orchards, woodland and unimproved land. Only 
110/2 acres are counted as unimprovable. There are 209 dwelling 


146 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


houses in the town, 117 of which are connected with farms. There 
are about 14,000 fruit trees and vines. The value of domestic 
animals was $42,000. Agricultural products were valued at 
$91,000. The income of the inhabitants is much larger than the 
value of the products of their labor, as their money is invested in 
stocks or in business conducted elsewhere.” 

Our native historian, Rev. William A. Houghton, paints this 
pleasing picture in 1895: “The town is distinctively agricultural, 
and the great variety of soils within its borders renders the town 
well adapted to horticulture and mixed farming. The hills and 
uplands are rocky and have a deep black soil suitable for grazing. 
These are moderate elevations and suitable for cultivation on 
their summits. The central plain and valleys are comparatively 
free from stones; the soil, a sandy loam, is adapted to the growth 
of cereals.” 

The farm picture for the Town of Berlin is generally similar to 
that of the “State of the Yankee Farmer” for the Commonwealth 
of Massachusetts. “At first glance, it would seem unlikely that 
agriculture could possibly be either important or prosperous in 
a highly industrialized state. The fields are all too often rough, 
small and stony. Labor costs are high. Basic items, such as grain, 
have to be shipped here from hundreds of miles away at great 
expense. The federal program, instead of helping the farmer, 
actually hinders him by subsidizing high grain prices for the 
benefit of the Midwest and Southern farmers—and then adds 
insult to injury by taxing him to support the program. Yet, despite 
these seemingly monumental disadvantages, agriculture in Mas¬ 
sachusetts (including Berlin) is flourishing as never before.” 

In the address of George F. Story, Manager of the Worcester 
County Extension Service and Worcester County Agent of the 
U. S. Department of Agriculture, before the Berlin Board of 
Trade on March 23, 1942, said: “Since the farmer is limited in 
his ability to produce in large quantities due to the shortage of 
labor and the inability to secure material equipment, it resolves 
that when the public feels the burden of the need of food supply, 
it will be necessary for the Government to create priorities for 
the material equipment for agriculture similar to that in other 
lines of industry.” 

Making agriculture its prominent occupation, the question 


AGRICULTURE AND INDUSTRIES 


147 


arises as to what does Berlin produce? The general crops are such 
as are suitable for the support of the livestock and household 
needs. These products are enumerated in fragmentary records 
of 1792. This reveals that nearly a ton and a half of good hay was 
produced on the acre. The annual production of rye was 300 bu., 
oats 400 bu., corn 1200 bu., and 250 bbls. of cider were made. 

This routine of farm production continued up to 1830-40. From 
about 1840 to 1860 hop culture became a leading cash product. 
The late Henry A. Wheeler said that his father had received as 
much as $300 for a single load delivered in Boston. This annual 
crop amounted to $2,000. 

Another crop which paid well between 1880 and 1900 was 
asparagus. Berlin was considered second only to Concord in the 
amount raised in the State. This brought as much as $15.00 for 
a crate of two dozen bunches, says Mr. Joseph Schartner. From 
the items of the Berlin News edited by Perry A. White (1888- 
1893) we are informed that “The farmers began cutting their 
asparagus (May 7, 1890) and are shipping it to Boston, where it 
sold for 75 cents a bunch. Eighty-four boxes were shipped from 
the Old Colony (N.Y. N.H. & H.) Railroad Station on May 8th, 
and ninety-seven boxes were shipped on June the 2nd. Hobart 
Lasselle made two or three trips to Marlboro each week and 
Jacob Boyce took a load to Clinton twice a week/’ Arthur Hast¬ 
ings and George Bowers were in asparagus production as late as 
1914 on their respective farms. 

The strawberry season was another prosperous time for the 
Berlin farmer. The growing of this berry is an item of production 
with some farmers in recent years, but less profitable than of 
yore. The Berlin News reports in their issue of June 1890 that 
“G. W. Kallon picked his first box of strawberries on June 11th, 
which was a week later than usual. By the 25th, he had picked 
fourteen bushels from his field.” Several farmers had a field of 
strawberries as late as 1935, but lately it is not profitable to 
compete with the Southern producer. 

The products of the orchards (apples, peaches, and pears) for 
which the soil of Berlin is well adapted, were quite remunerative. 
Albert Jacobs states that his father has received $400 for a load 
of 100 baskets of peaches delivered to the Boston market. Large 
orchards of peaches were maintained by Charles E. Sladen and 


148 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Edward L. Collins on the “Stone House” farm, the Potas Brothers 
of Randall Road, and Benjamin Marble on Ball Hill Road. Myron 
S. Wheeler of Summer Road had a large variety orchard, mostly 
apples. 

One of the largest apple orchards in Berlin (yes, in eastern 
Worcester County) is the Chedco Farms Inc. In 1922, Charles 
E. Cotting purchased of Charles G. Schirmer 104 acres on 
Sawyer Hill, with buildings. This included the original twenty- 
seven acres which Dea. Josiah Sawyer cleared for settlement in 
1735. This estate has been christened Chedco Farm, Inc., using 
syllables of his name. To the original purchase Mr. Cotting has 
increased the acreage by buying neighboring farms until the 
estate covers over 500 acres. It stretches from the shores of 
Gates Pond, westward over the slopes of Sawyer Hill to the 
bounds of Walnut Street; and from the southern borders of the 
former L. W. Brewer farm northward into “Hog Swamp.” Central 
Street, Sawyer Hill, and Brewer Roads traverse its acres. 

Mr. Cotting proceeded to clear these lands of stones and brush, 
and drained the same where needed, so that the wilderness 
blossomed into fields of hay, feed crops, and orchards. The hill¬ 
side acres were set out in thousands of apple trees until the number 
mounted to over five thousand. The orchards cover one hundred 
acres. Macintosh is the leading crop. Other varieties are Bald¬ 
wins, Delicious, Portland, Gravestein, and Greening. These 
produce an output of around 40,000 boxes per season. Their 
large storage plant employs ten or more persons during the 
harvest period. Another feature of improvement that is employed 
upon this farm is that of reforestation. In 1936 5,000 young pines 
and spruce trees were set out. 

Since about 1905 farming has resolved itself into a system of 
specialization. The most general type is that of the dairy farm. A 
good second became hog raising. Other animals produced are 
sheep, poultry, and turkeys. Truck gardening and flower culture 
are conducted on some of the farms, and it ofttimes happens that 
two or three of these products are raised on the same farm. 

Local Dairy Farming 

Dairy farming has fluctuated since the opening of the twen¬ 
tieth century. In 1890 the Assessors reported 589 cows and 157 


AGRICULTURE AND INDUSTRIES 


149 


neat cattle. This number gradually declined so that the report 
for 1927 was 412 cows and 76 neat cattle. About this time 
industry began to slacken; headed for the depression of 1930, and 
several Berlin farms ceased to function as such. Nevertheless, 
there are some twenty dairy farms still in operation, ranging 
from six to thirty-five milk cows. From the farm census of 1941, 
a report on 308 cows of these herds produced 2,070,747 lbs. of 
milk. We dare say that owing to the advancement in the methods 
of milk production, these 308 cows produced a much larger yield 
than the 589 cows reported in 1890. Herewith is a chart of the 
number of cows reported by the Assessors through a period of 
years: 

Year 1890 1902 1910 1920 1927 1937 1941 1950 1955 

Cows 589 534 511 440 412 451 308 382 389 

Some of the more prominent dairy farms are operated by 
Chester and Alice Cole of “Lotta Rocks Farm”; Everett Wheeler 
and Frederick Wheeler of Highland Street; George Sargent of 
Randall Road; John Niedzial of Boylston Road; Albert Wheeler 
of Derby Road; Joseph Roseberry and Hermon L. Sawyer of 
Linden Street; Willard H. Wheeler of Pleasant Street; Mary Risi 
and Danford B. Tyler of River Road; and Walter D. Stratton of 
Gates Pond Road. 

Chedco Farm, “where Charles E. Cotting . . . has created, 
within the past thirty-four years, one of the finest dairy and 
fruit farms in this Commonwealth.” The chief interest of Mr. 
Cotting is in the raising of an improved breed of Guernsey 
cattle. He maintains a herd of between forty-five and fifty. These 
are bred for size and production. Each cow that is tested for a 
record has to be milked three times every day during the period. 
Moonbeam , one of the test cows, has a record of 11,986 lbs. of 
milk and 750 lbs. of butterfat, which was within three pounds of 
the world record when taken. Her daughter, Moonlight, has a 
record of 13,433 lbs. of milk and 738 lbs. of butterfat. Wisteria 
Ruth has a record of 17,348 lbs. of milk and 882 lbs. of butterfat. 

These choice cattle are housed in a large (75 x 40 ft.) substan¬ 
tial dairy barn which is finished with polished cement floors, and 
the walls are sheathed and coated with the best grade of valspar. 




150 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


The quarters are kept clean and sterilized, which impressed a 
visitor from the Island of Jamaica to remark that it “surpasses any 
of the (British) government dairy farms on the island.” 

The products of these numerous dairy farms were collected, 
pasteurized, bottled, and distributed by several different firms; 
namely, Holder’s Milk, Small’s Milk, Fillmore, Harriman’s Milk 
Dairy, Whitings, Hood, and Cummings. Gradually, one by one, 
these collectors and dairies went out of business, and turned their 
business over to a central pasteurizing and bottling station in 
Worcester. There were two dairy plants in Berlin: Holder’s Dairy 
on Gates Pond Road and Small’s Dairy on South Street. Holder’s 
went out of business in 1946. Myron R. Small converted the 
buildings of the Theodore Guertin blacksmith shop into a modern 
dairy plant in 1925, but discontinued the use of this equipment 
in 1952. Small’s Milk is still distributed from the central station 
in Worcester. Whitings and Lee are other distributors. 

The poultry business has fluctuated over a period of years. The 


following 

assessed: 

record will show 

this 

variation in number of fowl 

Year 

Number 

Year 

Number 

1895 

4780 

1925 

9363 

1900 

3602 

1930 

12930 

1905 

4200 

1935 

10028 

1910 

5680 

1940 

5560 83,600 doz. eggs 

1915 

770 

1950 

18024 

1920 

5320 

1955 

8005 


The price of eggs also varied with the market. During the years 
of 1916-18, the price was as high as $1.25 per dozen and the 
average dealer shipped three to four crates per week. With 
thirty dozen per crate we see how the poultrymen could build 
up their bank account. But when the market price gets down to 
39-42 cents per dozen, as in 1955, you can see why so many go out 
of the business. Between the years 1935-1942 there were around 
twenty farmers engaged in the poultry business. Among these 
John Bernardson and Richard Mungeam maintained a hatchery. 
By the year 1955 this number was reduced to about eight who 
maintain a sizable flock. Among these are Lionel J. Manseau, 
Walter Kivior, George Hale, George Sargent, Robert Guild, Carl 


AGRICULTURE AND INDUSTRIES 


151 


A. Barter, William-Everett Wheeler, Clifford Wheeler, and 
Dennis Murphy. Earl J. B. Schwartz had 1500 hens in 1949. The 
“Maple Farm Poultry” on West Street, operated by Lionel 
Manseau, is a large establishment equipped with modern fur¬ 
nishings and the latest mechanical devices for handling a large 
quantity of eggs and broilers. 

Turkey raising was introduced in Berlin about 1927 by Brittan 
A. Jackson. Since the flock was dressed off and sold by the 1st of 
January, the Assessors did not have any report on these birds. 
Other dealers in turkey raising are George Hale and Carl Barter. 
Through the courtesy of a farm census in December of 1941 John 
L. Nutting reported a total of 2,685 turkeys. This was a report 
from five flocks, namely numbering 1400, 160, 175, 500 and 450 
respectively. From the Assessors’ report from 1950-1955 we have 
the following list of turkeys (by the year ) : 94, 94, 25, 38, 40, 40. 

This does not give us a fair picture of the turkey production, 
for on the “1790 Farm” they dressed and sold 2,000 turkeys dur¬ 
ing the Thanksgiving-Christmas season of 1956. The 1790 Farm, 
consisting of approximately 150 acres, is located on River Road, 
through which the Assabet River meanders. The same is owned 
by Paul Arthur, and under the supervision of Joe W. Davis, 
where they grow and market the White Holland turkeys. 

Dorset sheep are also raised on this farm. The sheep produce 
wool and breeding stock. Some are sold at live weight at the 
farm. There were twenty-three in the herd in December of 1956. 
A few sheep are kept on several farms. Waldo L. Wheeler of 
Summer Road generally had a sizable herd. The Assessors re¬ 
ported the following sheep: 

Year 1870 1892 1902 1912 1922 1933 1942 1952 1955 

Sheep 97 8 3 43 17 13 22 27 35 

The raising of hogs for the market was another business which 
was introduced among the Berlin farmers in the early 1900’s. A 
report of 4,500 pounds of pork was listed for the year 1792. The 
first record of swine in the Assessors’ report was made in 1902 
when thirty-seven were listed. The number mounted to eighty- 
one in 1907; then there was a gradual decrease until 1922, after 
which there was a gradual increase. This is accounted for by the 




152 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


number of pig farms. Roy P. Marble of Linden Street was the 
principal grower of hogs, having been in the business since the 
fall of 1924. Others interested in this branch of farming were: 
Brittan A. Jackson of West Street, Edward Martineit of Carr 
Road, and Walter J. Allen of Linden Street. In 1938 eighty-five 
swine were assessed, and in 1944 the number was 104. 

These hogs were fed principally on garbage collected in neigh¬ 
boring towns and Worcester. When a bill was passed requiring 
the cooking and processing of this feed, the hog farms were 
abandoned. So the report of swine now refers to privately-owned 
stock and the killing is for private use. So that when we read 
that twenty-two swine were reported in 1942, but the Inspector 
of Slaughter reported 176 dressed swine, we may understand. 

Within the past half century the growing of flowers and early 
garden vegetables under glass has been carried on by a few of 
the farmers. Willis Rice introduced this system of growing early 
crops in greenhouses in 1880, on his place on South Street, later 
followed by A. D. Brewer. A neighbor, William S. Eager, to the 
south but opposite side of the street, also raised flowers and early 
vegetables in greenhouses. Arthur L. Brewer of Walnut Street 
conducted an early vegetable and florist business in greenhouses. 
The same was bought and enlarged by C. M. Field & Co. in 
1925, and they are in business to date. As early as 1889 Wheeler 
Brothers (Samuel and Henry) were engaged in raising special 
crops in their greenhouses on Sawyer Hill Road. The business 
has been continued at the “Old Wheeler Homestead” by Clifford 
H. Wheeler (grandson of Samuel). The greenhouses of Samuel 
Wheeler on Sawyer Hill Road, were purchased by Kenneth M. 
Pierce in 1937, but the buildings were wrecked by the hurricane 
of September 21, 1938. They have not been completely restored, 
but Mr. Pierce intends to re-establish the business as soon as 
conditions permit. 

Specialization in truck gardening has been conducted by 
Charles J. G. Hubbard of Randall Road, Foster Brothers of Saw¬ 
yer Hill Road, Waldo L. Wheeler and Myron S. Wheeler of Sum¬ 
mer Road, John L. Nutting of Derby Road, Lester R. Maynard, 
and A. D. Brewer of South Street. All of the above gardens have 
been discontinued. The more recent gardens are conducted by 
William L. Foster and Ernest L. Wheeler of Randall Road, Wil- 


AGRICULTURE AND INDUSTRIES 


153 


liam E. Wheeler and Everett Wheeler of Highland Street, Eldon 
C. Wheeler of Pleasant Street, Clifford H. Wheeler of Sawyer 
Hill Road, and Louis V. Rowe of Fosgate Road. 

Berlin Mushroom Inc., conducted by Elio E. Bellucci, began 
operations in 1940 in the large brick building on West Street, the 
former power house of the Worcester Consolidated Street Rail¬ 
way Co. The windows were bricked in to make it dark, and a 
ventilator was installed with a dormer along the ridge of the roof. 

Mushrooms are raised from spores, which are planted in beds 
of specially prepared soil. The principal ingredients of this soil 
are loom and horse manure, proportionately mixed, in the “old 
car barn.” The interior of the building is fitted with a series of 
racks (frames) spaced about three feet apart and running the 
whole length of the room. Upon these racks are tiers of grow¬ 
ing beds just wide enough so that the tender can reach halfway 
across, and spaced vertically about two feet above each other. 

After the gathering of the crop, the soil is completely changed; 
but there is a rotation of crops by sections, so that all is not 
changed at the same time. To remove the old soil, a truck is 
backed up to the opening and the refuse is passed out in baskets. 
To refill the beds, the process is reversed—a truckload of prepared 
soil is transferred to the beds by baskets. The marketable product 
of mushrooms are placed in small covered baskets and put in 
cold storage until a truckload is ready. The load is taken to the 
Boston market, generally at night, so that they will be ready for 
the early market. The annual output from forty beds is estimated 
at 25,000 baskets. 

Several agencies participate in the interests of agriculture and 
home economics for the Town of Berlin. These are broken down 
from the Cooperative Extension Work in Agriculture and Home 
Economics of the State of Massachusetts into University of Mas¬ 
sachusetts, U. S. Dept, of Agriculture, Worcester County Exten¬ 
sion Service with its divisions of Extension Service in Agriculture, 
Home Economics and 4-H Club work. At each Annual Town 
Meeting, under an article of the warrant, a sum is raised and 
appropriated “for county aid to agriculture”—and for the support 
of demonstrating work in agriculture, home economics, or boys’ 
and girls’ club work under the supervision of a director. 

The following program is presented for Home Department of 


154 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Berlin for 1957 by Director Mrs. Daniel Plastridge of Sawyer 
Hill Road: Community Meals, Make Entertaining Easy, Adding 
Life to Your Years, Keep It & Fix It, Home Improvement Tours, 
Landscaping Tours, and Use Your Freezer Wisely. Boys' and 
Girls' Clubs have been formed with special interests in sheep, 
poultry, cows, vegetables, flowers, cooking, mat making, etc. 

Through the courtesy of the Worcester County Agricultural 
Agent we have received some pointed recommendations for the 
improvement of rural conditions. To quote—“Some farms (in 
Berlin) are not being operated and others not operated to capac¬ 
ity. Recently a number of milk producers were dropped by local 
milk dealers. Because this milk must now be sold on the Boston 
markets, the gross receipts of milk on these farms is considerably 
less than formerly.” These conditions and the required pasteuri¬ 
zation of the milk has reduced the number of dairy farms. 

Another subject presented was that of forestry. To quote: 
“There are about 4600 acres of woodland in Berlin, mostly in 
ownership. Over 3000 acres of this woodland is in stands of in¬ 
ferior hardwood trees, or in mixed stands of softwoods and in¬ 
ferior hardwoods. Over 3600 acres of woodlands are in trees be¬ 
tween 20 and 40 years of age. The soils are capable of raising 
both softwood and hardwood trees of good quality. It is recom¬ 
mended that good forestry be put into practice.” No longer is 
wood needed for fuel, but good building material is in ready 
demand. 

In the year 1940 the Worcester County Extension Service in¬ 
stituted a survey of the rural life of Berlin through the work of 
a fifteen-member Town Rural Policy Committee to serve (1) in 
appraising local conditions, (2) in determining local needs and 
(3) in making recommendations for action. A summary of the 
assets and liabilities of Berlin as reported by the committee is 
quoted here. “Berlin has advantages as a residential and farm¬ 
ing town. While not located on trunk-line highways and railroads, 
Berlin adjoins the populous industrial towns of Clinton, Hudson, 
and Marlboro, and is not far from Worcester. Good intersecting 
highways connect the town with important surrounding towns 
and roads. 

“While it is a small proportion of the total Town area, the 
good farming land offers opportunities for both dairymen and 


AGRICULTURE AND INDUSTRIES 


155 


market gardeners, for whom nearby population centers serve as 
ready markets. Fruit growing can utilize both the better soil and 
the rough hill land, and constitutes an important item in Berlin’s 
agriculture. Numerous poultry establishments have advantages 
both in nearby markets and good roads. All homes in Berlin have 
access to electrical service.” 

Clinton Courant March 10, 1954—Chester E. Cole of Highland 
Street was elected to a three-year term as a Supervisor of the North¬ 
eastern Worcester County Soil Conservation District. 

December 28, 1956—Alice Cole of Lotta Rocks Farm, Highland 
Street, takes no back seat in handling Holsteins for production. A reg¬ 
istered Holstein classified “Good Plus” produced 17,000 pounds of 
milk, 601 pounds of fat, in a 365 (twice a day) milking. 

Early interest in the rural community was promoted by the 
organization of The Farmers’ and Mechanics’ Club on October 

10, 1868. Their last annual cattle show was held in September of 
1892. Their work was eventually absorbed by the Berlin Grange 
(Patrons of Husbandry, No. 134) which was organized on May 

11, 1886. This organization, in conjunction with the Berlin 
Parent-Teachers’ Association, has done much to restore the in¬ 
terest in rural community life by conducting the Annual Com¬ 
munity Fair and Old Home Day at the Berlin Memorial School 
and grounds. The first of these fairs was held on August 18, 1951. 

Another organization which does much to promote and main¬ 
tain a spirit of rural integrity is that of the Berlin Board of Trade, 
which came into being in 1916. M. Reed Tyler was the first 
president of the society (1916-18). As the name implies, the or¬ 
ganization is all inclusive. That is, it covers a larger field than 
agriculture. Since, out of the 377 dwellings in Berlin, only eighty- 
four are classed as farm houses, it will be noted that a large per 
cent of the population is engaged in other trades, industries, 
business, or professions. So, the Board of Trade exists to en¬ 
lighten and entertain its constituency in the various lines of in¬ 
terests: social, sports, travels, and industries. 


Other Industries 

A by-product of the land, the forests, furnishes a convenient 
transition from agriculture to industry. Wood was the principal 


156 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


fuel material, and down to the time of the installation of oil 
burners, several persons were engaged in supplying fuel-wood. 

The report of the Industry of Massachusetts for 1855 accredits 
Berlin with 64,500 feet of lumber valued at $818, and 880 cords 
of firewood valued at $3,175. Also, in the year 1865 it gives the 
value of boards planed at one planing mill at $15.00 per 1,000, 
and for three sawmills—425,000 feet of Lumber at $6,375 and 
75,000 shingles valued at $225; also 550 cords of fire wood and 
bark for market, value $2,475. 

In order to handle the products of the forests, there were: 
sawmills, sash, blind and shingle shops, cooper shops, tanneries 
and basketmaking shops. Most of these industries are enumerated 
in Houghton’s History of Berlin (pp. 90-97). But, suffice it to say, 
that of the fifteen or more mills and shops located along the 
course of the North Brook and its tributaries, there is one saw¬ 
mill still in operation (the Wheeler Mill of Pleasant Street), al¬ 
though they do not depend on water, but electrical power. The 
Philip Larkin sawmill was located on the west fork of the North 
Brook (on the south side of Snake Hill) about 1735. The Felton- 
Babcock Saw & Grist Mill located on the North Brook at West 
Street in 1756 was in operation in 1912 and later. 

The sawmill and lumberyards of the late Sidney W. Wheeler 
are located in South Berlin on the North Brook where William 
Goddard built the dam and mill in 1752. In 1875 Willard M. 
Wheeler bought the mills and operated them. He was followed 
by his son, Edmund W. (1854-1938), and then his son Sidney W. 
Wheeler (1887-1951) took over, after returning from the opera¬ 
tion of sawmills in France during World War I. Since his decease 
the business is operated by Prino Bonazzoli. 

In Hurd’s History of Worcester County , published in 1889, 
Berlin is accredited with about thirty cooper shops which were 
busy converting the oak and chestnut of the forests into beef 
barrels, rum barrels, and cider barrels. “Many a two-horse 
barrel rig started at midnight for Boston.” Besides these, many 
smaller containers such as churns, pails, “piggins,” and “noggins” 
were made. 

Basket-making is not listed among the industries of Berlin in 
Houghton’s History , but in Hurd’s History , “Basket-making, em¬ 
ploying three men, is listed as its largest business.” There were at 


AGRICULTURE AND INDUSTRIES 


157 


least two persons engaged in this business, namely, Rufus How¬ 
ard (1805-1865) of Pleasant Street and George Howard (1819- 
1900) of West Street. There is in the possession of George R. 
Spofford a paper of agreement, dated November 17, 1847, in 
which Samuel Spofford “agrees to furnish Rufus Howard with all 
the timber and stuff suitable for the manufacture of baskets 
(from date until April first next), and all the baskets manu¬ 
factured from the stuff—are to be delivered to said Spofford, and 
said Howard is to receive a fair compensation for his work.” 
George Howard manufactured baskets at his shop on West Street 
at a later date—until about 1875. Many baskets of various styles 
and sizes produced in these shops are found in homes of the 
town and exhibited at public fairs. 


The Berlin House 

In 1778 Levi Meriam bought of James Goddard, Sr., a tract of 
eighty-four acres in that section bounded by Carter and West 
Streets, and built thereon a house in the year 1780. This building 
has become known as “The Berlin House” with varied characteri¬ 
zations. His son, Jonathan D. Meriam, Esq., followed on the 
homestead, and became the first stagecoach driver and the first 
Postmaster of Berlin in 1828. He died in 1850, and the Town 
bought the property at auction, in 1855, to be used as a Town 
Farm. This was sold again in 1857 by lots. 

The house was purchased by Peter O’Toole of Clinton in 1885 
and converted into a hotel. During his ownership, a long list of 
proprietors conducted their business here. Finally, around 1922, 
Walter A. Wheeler bought the property and made it into a tene¬ 
ment. The present owner is Mrs. Freda L. Spielvogel. 

In contrast with the connotation of “road-house,” this house 
was the residence of an Italian artist, G. D. Carafa, in 1882-83. 
We are indebted to Mrs. Effie (Merrill) Gale for this informa¬ 
tion, who remembers his daughter as a schoolmate of hers and 
furnished us with an itemized list of provisions which he pur¬ 
chased of her father’s (John A. Merrill) store in 1882 and 1883. 
D. G. Carafa is listed with the taxpayers of Berlin in 1882. Mrs. 
Gale recalls going to this house and seeing some of his works 
of art. 


158 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


The walls of St. John’s Church of Union Street, Clinton, are 
decorated with twenty-four large paintings depicting “scenes 
from the Life, Passion, and Death of Our Divine Lord.” The 
records impart that these were executed by Mueller of Munich 
and the Church was dedicated by Bishop O’Reilly on June 27, 
1886. As with most contractors—they receive credit for the work 
that the workmen do—so in this case, Mr. Carafa assured us that 
he did work on these paintings in St. John’s Church. 


The “Howe Tavern ’ 

Solomon Howe married Sarah Stow (both of Marlborough) on 
May 19, 1802. The following day they came to Berlin and re¬ 
sided in the Bullard House until their tavern was built, into 
which they moved and set up business in the following year. 
Sarah Howe was one of those practical women who kept an ac¬ 
count of her time and emotions, which has been passed on to 
posterity in her journal. To gain a background of some of the 
activities that transpired under that tavern roof, we may refer 
to her journal. 

The records speak of weaving, baking (one entry mentions a 
baking of thirty-eight pies), quilting, braiding straw, tending 
store, posting books, churning, cheesing, soapmaking, candle¬ 
making (one entry records nineteen dozen candles). “A tinker 
comes mending tins and brass; the tailoress and dressmaker were 
called in, and a woman to clean.” 

There was at the Inn much coming and going. The Meeting¬ 
house was used for Town Meetings as well as religious assem¬ 
blies, but any public social life centered at the tavern. An entry 
for December 30, 1818 reads: “Have had 221 travelers the past 
year to victuals, 175 to lodge, not including the public times and 
the balls.” This was several years before the more traveled days 
of the stage coach. Under May 25, 1819, the following notation 
is made: “Making arrangements for the ball, seventeen couples. 
—Had a good many spectators to see them.” 

At the opening of the twentieth century (or following the year 
1895) there were at least five stores in the Town of Berlin. One at 
the Center, one in Carterville, two at the South and one at the 
West Village. 


AGRICULTURE AND INDUSTRIES 


159 


The store at the Center had its origin in the “Howe Tavern” at 
the corner of Central and Pleasant Streets in 1803. The same was 
moved to its present location, on Central Street opposite Carter 
Street, in 1852. It was then under the management of R. S. Hast¬ 
ings. He was succeeded by Riley Smith, E. S. Moore, and Chris¬ 
topher S. White, who sold out to H. E. Lasselle in 1895. Follow¬ 
ing him there has been a long procession of proprietors, including 
W. H. Lasselle, Perley B. and George H. Sawyer (Sawyer Bros.), 
Zoheth H. Woodbury, and E. Guy Sawyer. 

In the year 1925 James E. Andrews and N. Harriman Fay pur¬ 
chased the business, which became known as “Andrews and Fay.” 
When Kendall E. Andrews took over J. E. Andrews’ interest, in 
1928, it still continued as “Andrews and Fay.” On date of Sep¬ 
tember 1, 1936 Robert E. Taylor bought the interest of N. H. Fay 
in the firm and it was christened “Andrews and Taylor,” until 
the decease of Kendall E. Andrews in 1948. From this date until 
December 29, 1954, Robert E. Taylor was the sole proprietor 
and manager of the “Red & White” Store. 

Following the decease of R. E. Taylor, the ancient “Hartshorn” 
property changed hands through its purchase by Carl B. Devine, 
and Mr. and Mrs. Russell K. Hawkins purchased the general 
store business from the estate of the late Robert E. Taylor. On 
November 14, 1955 they took charge of the “Berlin General Store” 
where they are operating the enterprise under a self-service, 
cash and carry system. 

The store in Carterville, located on the corner of Carter and 
Highland Streets, was owned and operated by John A. Merrill. 
This building was built by Luther Carter in 1846. The first floor 
was occupied by his son-in-law, Ezra Moore, husband of Lucy 
Carter, where he operated a general store. Thomas Pollard, an¬ 
other son-in-law, husband of Persis Carter, was in business with 
Ezra Moore about 1856. Lewis H. Barnard, a third son-in-law of 
Luther Carter, husband of Hannah Carter, manufactured shoes 
in the same building on the second floor over the store. Pliny B. 
Southwick and Josiah Moore, brother of Ezra Moore, bought out 
L. H. Barnard in 1848 and continued in the shoe business until 
1872. At a later date the second floor was made into a tenement. 

Samuel M. Fuller, who lived in the next house north of the 
store building (where Silas Bacon now lives), succeeded Ezra 


160 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Moore and Thomas Pollard in the general store, and finally sold 
out his stock of “Flour, Meal, Grain, Choice Family Groceries, 
Crockery, Confectionery, Patent Medicines and all articles 
usually found in a grocery store” to John A. Merrill, December 20, 
1875. This imposing list of stock was taken from a billhead of the 
general store of Samuel M. Fuller, and the same type of mer¬ 
chandise was carried by John A. Merrill after he took over the 
operation of the store. John A. Merrill married Laura E., daugh¬ 
ter of Ivory Carter (son of Luther Carter) on April 9, 1851. 

This was typical of a country store of the times. In the center 
of the room was a stove placed in a box of sand and surrounded 
by a number of chairs where men would gather on evenings to 
talk or have a social game of cribbage or checkers. Seventy-two 
dollars a year was paid to Mr. Fuller for rent until January 1879 
when the building was purchased by John A. Merrill. He con¬ 
tinued this store operation until 1914, when he had an auction 
and sold out. 

In 1923 the property was sold to Clifford H. Barter who 
changed this first floor from a store to a residential apartment, 
making the building into a two-apartment house. An additional 
wing was built on the south side, and in this room of the first floor 
James W. Barter conducted a men's clothing supply for around 
five years. He died April 24, 1936. In October, 1948, the property 
was sold to Hall Rayner. 

In South Berlin Arthur B. Wheeler began the operation of a 
store on South Street (across from the John Bernardson place) in 
1907. Mr. Wheeler was deceased November 24, 1925, and Mrs. 
Jane M. Wheeler continued with the store until 1927 when Mrs. 
Jessie A. Bernardson became Postmaster. 

The Village Store of South Berlin, conducted by Willard H. 
Wheeler, has a varied history. The present building, at the junc¬ 
tion of Pleasant and South Streets, is the third on the original site 
of the Hastings Brothers Store. Two previous buildings were 
destroyed by fire. The present proprietor is a grandson of Arthur 
Hastings, who was in partnership with his brother Ruthven Hast¬ 
ings. Hastings Brothers sold out to John E. Walters and H. E. 
Lasselle in 1890. Walters-Lasselle sold the business to N. Harri- 
man Fay, which he operated until 1925 when he became a 
partner with James E. Andrews at the Center. He then sold his 


AGRICULTURE AND INDUSTRIES 


161 


business to Joseph A. McCabe. Within three years (1928) the 
building was destroyed by fire and the site stood unoccupied 
until 1937. During this year, N. Harriman Fay purchased the 
property and constructed a building thereon and set up in the 
store business. Willard H. Wheeler took over the business and 
became the South Berlin Postmaster in December of 1946. 

Mr. Wheeler also conducts the Village Farm Supply, Inc. of 
Pleasant Street. This is a business which deals in heavy modern 
farm machinery, equipment, and supplies. Near-by is the Village 
Garage, convenient to the patrons of this section of the town. 

In West Berlin there was the voluminous business of Silas R. 
Carter. He built for himself a store on West Street (across from 
the “Old Colony” R.R. Station) in 1870. This business was en¬ 
larged and continued by his son, S. Rolla Carter and estate until 
1919. S. Rolla Carter having died January 29, 1913, and his father, 
Silas R. Carter, on August 15, 1917, the business was continued 
under the management of Mrs. Nellie C. Carter for two more 
years. 

Besides the goods of the General Store, the building housed 
the Post Office and the Ticket and Telegraph Office of the “Old 
Colony” branch of the New Haven Railroad. Across the street, 
adjacent to the railroad tracks, were the buildings and sheds 
which housed the grain and coal supply. Here was a supply of 
coal, grain, hay, and general farm supplies, such as tools, hard¬ 
ware, cement, roofing, seeds, paint, etc. On the grounds, at the 
pond, were two icehouses and the old Barnes “Saw and Grist 
Mill.” 

They had three teams on the road, driven by George G. Pierce, 
Frank K. Wilder and James D. Lockhart, to fill the orders for 
grain, commodities and coal. Their trade accommodated a terri¬ 
tory including parts of Northboro, Shrewsbury, Boylston, Bolton, 
and the Acre section of Clinton. To take orders and deliver goods 
from the General Store, there was another team driven by Walter 
A. Sawyer. 

When the Carters closed out, the Post Office was transferred 
to the home of Charles F. Harris at the corner of Lincoln Road 
and West Street. Mr. Harris was engaged in a job printing busi¬ 
ness and continued here until he sold the property to C. Archie 
Bowen in 1924. The Bowens held the Post Office and conducted 


162 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


a commodity store, but the printing outfit was sold to William 
S. Eager of South Street. The ticket and telegraph office was 
moved over to the railroad station, and George H. Carpenter be¬ 
came the Station Agent. 

The grain and coal business was taken over by the J. Cush¬ 
ing Co., Inc., which was superseded by the “Farm Service Stores, 
Inc.” in 1933. In 1944 the business of the Farm Service Stores of 
Berlin closed up and was transferred to the Hudson office. The 
buildings were leased by the Wallace Grain Company of Clinton, 
and McCann Bros., for storage. 

The abandoned icehouses appealed to the McCann Bros, as 
an opportunity for a good investment. So, during the summer of 
1919, they bought the buildings and water rights, and that 
winter they cut and stored ice from the pond. The following 
summer they began the manufacturing of ice cream on a com¬ 
mercial basis under the trade name of McCann Bros. Ice Cream. 

They enlarged the plant and installed modern machinery. By 
the year of 1938 they proclaimed themselves to be “the largest 
ice cream manufacturing company in New England, using mod¬ 
ern methods of instant-frozen ice cream.” (Quote from Festus L. 
and Owen J. McCann). A fleet of twenty-three trucks were en¬ 
gaged in delivering their product to distant points throughout 
New England where they had planted their stores. These ranged 
from Williamstown (Mass.), Brattleboro (Vt.), Nashua (N. H.), 
and Boston, to points in Connecticut and Rhode Island. They 
made fifty mixings of 1000 gallons per week. 

Since the decease of the original founders of the firm, their 
trade name has been changed to “Lovely Farms” Ice Cream. The 
freezer units from the various discontinued stores have been re¬ 
called and stored in the grain sheds awaiting their disposal. The 
trade is confined to the local area. 

What became of the Carter General Store? There was a suc¬ 
cession of owners for short periods. Herbert C. Estabrook (1920), 
William H. Pinney (1921), William Milligan (1924), George A. 
Colson (1925), and finally Alphonse Plamondon purchased the 
property and business in 1929. He, with Mrs. Adeline G. Plamon¬ 
don, carried on the store until about 1942 when it gradually 
closed down. 

Ralph L. Harriman built and established his Dairy Ice Cream 


AGRICULTURE AND INDUSTRIES 


163 


Stand on West Street, opposite the Berlin Mushroom Company, 
Inc., in 1939. Here he manufactures a variety of ice creams and 
confectionary, and offers to the public a complete line of dairy 
products. 


Ice Business 

Correlated with the fuel and heat supply is that of the ice busi¬ 
ness. Before the advent of electric refrigerators, a great many 
farmers cut and stored their own ice to be used for cooling and 
keeping milk and food, but there were some who made it a busi¬ 
ness to cut, store and deliver ice. 

Chief among these were the Hale Bros. (Charles F. and 
George W.), who operated their business until around 1950. 
They formerly cut their ice from the Wheeler Pond of South 
Berlin and stored it in the icehouses there. But, in 1927, they 
built and located at the Cobum Pond on West Street. During the 
heavy freshets of the spring of 1950, the dam gave way and the 
pond was drained. There was no purpose in restoring it for most 
of their customers had installed electric refrigerators. 

Brittan A. Jackson also conducted an ice business between the 
years of 1925 and 1946. He handled manufactured ice and had 
installed a large refrigerating unit so that he could store ice for 
the next day’s delivery. There was the argument that natural 
ice lasts longer than manufactured ice; but to demonstrate that 
manufactured ice is purer and clearer, Mr. Jackson procured a 
cake of ice in which a spray of roses was frozen which could be 
clearly seen. 


Hartshorns Patent Medicines 

One ancient industry which is worthy of consideration is that 
of Hartshorn’s Patent Medicines and Extracts, which are still on 
the market. Dr. Edward Hartshorn received his diploma from the 
Medical College of Harvard University in 1840, and he immedi¬ 
ately began his practice in Berlin where, up to 1855, he was the 
only physician in this locality. 

In 1850 he began to prepare a patent medicine which met with 
increasing popularity. He took Dr. Lemuel Gott into partnership 


164 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


with him in his practice in 1855. However, he soon decided to 
sell his practice to Dr. Gott and devote his full time to manu¬ 
facturing his medicines and flavoring extracts. 

His business increased so that eight large wagons were re¬ 
quired to distribute his goods. These gay-colored wagons bearing 
the inscription “Hartshorn’s Medicines & Extracts,” drawn by 
fine black horses, were as welcome to the farm housewife in his 
day as the Rawleigh man of the present generation. When the 
business outgrew its Berlin “Pill-Box” (as the Berlin factory was 
called), he moved his headquarters to Boston (1870). He con¬ 
tinued to maintain his summer home in Berlin until his death on 
July 26, 1906. In 1895 the property was purchased by his son, 
William H. Hartshorn, who also continued in his father’s busi¬ 
ness and made Berlin his summer residence. He died in 1926 and, 
upon the disposition of the estate, this residence (at the corner 
of Central and Pleasant Streets) was purchased by E. Guy 
Sawyer. 


Rawleigh Products 

For several years (1925-1956) the pleasant, congenial, cour¬ 
teous personality of Raymond F. Stone, the Rawleigh Agent, was 
a welcome visitor to the numerous households of Berlin. For here 
he dispensed the various products of good health from his store- 
supply of West Street. Mrs. Sylveia E. Stone continues to carry 
on the business. 


Other Industries 

During the past fifty years several industrial projects have been 
conducted in Berlin. Among these, there was the Stone-Craft Co., 
located on Carter Street in quarters of Berlin Cement Company, 
owned and operated by Arthur E. Bissell between the years 1916 
and 1927. They manufactured a modern, smooth-finished cement 
“set-tub” which was customarily installed in the kitchen or 
laundry of the homes of that period. They employed as many as 
ten men, among whom were Carl L. Harris, Arthur H. Clark, 
Arthur P. LaPorte, Walter J. Allen, and Harold C. Hubbard. 

After the removal of the business to Boston, Walter A. Wheeler 


AGRICULTURE AND INDUSTRIES 


165 


bought the property and fitted part of it up for a blacksmith 
shop, where Carl E. Perry and Selden MacNeil wielded the ham¬ 
mer for a time. Thereafter, Lemuel D. Carter purchased the 
property and used the building for grain storage, which business 
he conducted until his decease on March 27, 1939. Since then 
Earle A. Wheeler has purchased the property and installed 
therein the Wheeler Garage and Hudson Service Station. 

Shoe Polish 

Fred A. Boyd began the manufacturing of a shoe polish in his 
shop on Central Street, opposite his home, in 1912, and he oper¬ 
ated this business until 1927, when the property was purchased 
by the Chedco Farms, Inc., and the building was converted into 
a storage house. 

Recently (1956) shoe polish is made on the premises of John 
J. Sallinger, Pleasant Street. This location has an interest to the 
older citizens as the site of the original parsonage of the South 
Parish Church, occupied by Rev. Reuben Puffer and his succes¬ 
sors, including Rev. W. A. Houghton. The present is the third 
house on this site. The original burned in 1894, and the W. Addi¬ 
son Hartshorn house was destroyed by fire in 1948 while occu¬ 
pied by Earl C. Morey. Mr. Morey had the present structure built 
the following year. 


Shoe Making 

The making of shoes was a familiar subject among the inhabi¬ 
tants of Berlin. Houghton's History states that, “Previous to the 
Civil War the town was dotted with small shops for bottoming 
shoes; in fact, nearly every other house had a room or shop in 
which shoes were made.” The work in these shops was conducted 
in “teams.” That is, each person performed a certain part of the 
construction of a shoe. Such operations were termed: bottoming, 
pegging, lasting, healing, and finally, trimming. The output of a 
five-man shop, said the late James E. Andrews, was around sixty 
pairs per day. The Industrial Report for 1855 gives 9,340 pairs 
of boots and 34,340 pairs of shoes valued at $35,275 as the out¬ 
put of thirty-four males and twenty-four females. 


166 HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 

In 1868 the citizens of Berlin consolidated their talents and 
built a large shoe factory at the corner of Walnut and Carter 
Streets. This four-story (30 x 100 foot) building, employing 300 
hands, the pride of the community, was the John H. Parker Shoe 
Shop, operated by steam power. They made boys’ and youths’ 
shoes, Parker’s rubber-upper leather-sole boot, and leather tops 
put on lumbermen’s rubber overs. The value of shoe production 
for the year 1875 was $150,000. 

This building was burned on February 18, 1882, and opera¬ 
tions were transferred to a building on West Street (now used 
as an engine house of the Fire Department). The firm trans¬ 
ferred their business to Malden, Mass., in 1903. James E. 
Andrews became Secretary and General Manager, and a mem¬ 
ber of the Board of Directors. Cora A. Berry was employed as a 
bookkeeper. Both remained with the company until they closed 
up. 

The natural result of the loss of this industry from Berlin was 
for those familiar with the making of shoes to become employed 
in the plants of Hudson and Marlboro. 

Fold-Well Table Company 

In 1931 Leon H. Cummings, of Ware, purchased the property 
of George W. Lewis on Central Street and began the manufac¬ 
turing of a special design of an ironing table. The business was 
known as the “Fold-Well Table Co.” He installed machinery 
which placed the production on a commercial basis, and main¬ 
tained a large truck for delivering their products to the market. 
He closed out his business in Berlin in 1945 and returned to his 
native town. 

George W. Lewis had made ironing boards and clothes reels 
on the same location between 1921 and 1931. He moved his 
business to River Street in Hudson after selling to Leon H. 
Cummings. 


ColdwelVs Inc . 

Percy R. Coldwell established his building contractor business 
in 1905 with headquarters at his residence on Central Street, east 
of the General Store. In connection with his contracting business 


AGRICULTURE AND INDUSTRIES 


167 


he built up building supply stores, so that he would contract and 
supply the material—from the digging of the cellarhole to the 
finished house, with much of the furnishings. 

During the prosperous years, between 1922 and 1930, he 
carried a force of some thirty-five men, who represented all 
phases of the building trades. Among the local men who were 
employed were: 

Carpenters 
Walter M. Allen 
Cecil B. Wheeler 
Lloyd L. Wheeler 
Raymond W. Cole 
Lester G. Ross 
Ernest B. Coulson 
Adelbert E. Coulson 
David S. Tyler 
Stanwood A. Puffer 

Charles A. Fromant 
Ralph G. Davis 


Painters 
Clifford H. Barter 
Frank A. Pierce 
Arthur F. Sawyer 
Harold C. Hubbard 
John W. Bosselman 
Harry M. Bosselman 
Richard W. Bosselman Electrician 
Alfred S. Wheeler Emerson W. Wheeler 


Masons 

Charles Houston 
Charles H. Bliss 
Elmo Gardner 
Albert Bosselman 
F. A. Krackhardt 




Besides the above, there was James Jones and Elwin Jacobs, 
who manned the trucks which delivered the building materials 
to the jobs and the trade. These trucks were also used in convey¬ 
ing the building materials from the freight cars to the yards and 
storage buildings. 

Around the year 1944 Mr. Coldwell ceased to do contract work 
and devoted his attention to building up a larger building stock 
business. His former employees became independent contractors. 
The business became incorporated as COLDWELL’S INC. on 
December 31, 1947. The office and stock in trade have become 
modernized. The yards and buildings cover over three acres. 
Percy R. Coldwell was deceased October 15, 1948, and the busi¬ 
ness is carried on under the management of his sons, Norman S. 
and Robert B. Coldwell. 

Some of the modern general contractors are: 

G. Bonazzoli & Sons, General Contractors in Excavation and 
Landscaping. 

Roy Estabrook, Concrete Cellars, Foundations & Floors. 


168 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Gordon W. Taylor, Barnes Hill Road, Excavation and Land¬ 
scaping Machinery. 

Brandt Bros., General Contractors. 

Lester Sarty, Pleasant Street, General Contractor. 

Delbert Kuehner, Summer Road, Contracting Carpenter and 
Construction Engineer. 

Risis Cement Blocks 

Around the year 1940 the Risi Bros, of River Road began the 
making of cement blocks on the premises opposite their resi¬ 
dence, at the junction of South Street with River Road. This is 
on the location of what was lately known as the “Newsome 
Place” which was in the John Brigham estate, one of three farms 
of Marlboro added to the South Parish of Bolton in 1784. The 
original house burned in 1895. The Risi Bros, have increased 
their business to include: concrete and cinder blocks, mason 
supplies, sand and gravel, sheet rock (rocklath), overhead doors 
installed, and insulation. 

Garages and Filling Stations 

One of the oldest and largest garages of the Town is that of 
Earle A. Wheeler, known as Wheeler’s Garage. Earle, under the 
tutelage of Forrest E. Day, began tinkering with auto-cars in the 
shed back of Ethel Sawyer’s house, corner of Central and Linden 
Streets, around 1918. He opened a garage in the building of the 
former Parker Shoe Shop on West Street in 1919. He continued 
operations here until 1953, when he sold the same to the Town to 
be used in the enlargement of the Fire Station for the storage of 
their new fire apparatus. At this time he established his garage 
in the quarters of the late L. D. Carter’s Grain Store on Carter 
Street. 

Mr. Wheeler is also sales agent for Hudson cars and has a 
used car yard east of the Town Barns on Carter Street. 

Dick’s Service Station—a station providing car service and 
minor repairs, located at the corner of West and Carter Streets, 
has been in operation since 1928. Clyde E. Rogers operated same 
between the years 1951 and 1957 when he sold to Benjamin and 
Edith Spaulding, at which time the name was changed to 
Ben’s Service Station. 


AGRICULTURE AND INDUSTRIES 


169 


Benjamin H. Coolidge operated a garage and filling station on 
Central Street (Stone's Corner) of East Berlin between the years 
1923 and 1938. The filling station was maintained by Mrs. Bessie 
Jacobs until 1940. 

Van E. Miller had a filling station on Central Street in East 
Berlin for a short time between 1927 and 1941. 

There were gasoline pumps located at all of the stores in Town 
at one time. In the year 1940 permits were granted to seven 
stands to store gasoline; but in 1955, the Village Store of South 
Berlin was the only store maintaining a pump. The pump at the 
Center General Store was discontinued in 1941; that at the 
Farm Service Store in 1942; A. Plamondon in 1937; and Cyrus A. 
Bowen in 1951. 

Fuel Oil Service is conducted by Blinky’s Oil Service of Crosby 
Road, Glendon H. Blenkhorn, proprietor. Also Hill’s Oil Service 
of Randall Road, conducted by Carl W. Hill. Wesley J. Guerard, 
South Street, was for many years a distributor of bottled gas. 


Radio and Television 

The people of Berlin keep abreast with the times. Not only is 
it a common practice to have a radio or television in the home, 
but sales and service stations have been established. Around the 
year 1950 Maurice O. Wheeler opened the Wheeler Radio and 
Television Sales & Service Station at his residence on Gates Pond 
Road. Recently (1956) he has transferred his business to Hudson. 
Following him, we have the announcement of the Acre Radio & 
Television Service conducted by Thomas Fielding of Gates Pond 
Road, a neighbor to Mr. Wheeler. 

Insurance and Real Estate 

Tatman & Park of Worcester, offering insurance of all kinds, is 
represented and managed by E. Guy Sawyer and Ellsworth G. 
Sawyer of Central Street. Bertha C. Bridges of Derby Road 
carries insurance of all kinds (life-automobile-fire). Ann’s 
Antique Shop and Real Estate business is conducted by Ann 
Burke of Central Street. The Larkindale Real Estate Agency is 
conducted by George G. Badger of Boylston Road. 


170 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Germains Meat Wonderland 

In 1954 Paul A. Germain opened a meat market at his resi¬ 
dence on Lancaster Road at its junction with Randall Road. His 
services became so popular that he decided to relocate nearer to 
the center of Berlin. Whereupon he purchased property on 
Carter Street opposite the Town Barn and excavated and con¬ 
structed a large commodious building in which he housed his 
modern type supermarket. 

Germain’s Meat Wonderland was opened to the public on 
July 23, 1959. Ample parking space is provided and the store 
carries a complete stock of food and household commodities. 

The building also provides a room for a barber shop where 
Earle Sanford conducts his trade between Monday and Satur¬ 
day (except Wednesday). 

Mickey’s Shop of West Street, operated by George E. Blan¬ 
chette, is a place where lawnmowers are sharpened and repaired. 
It is also a station for servicing and sale of outboard motors. 


Recent Industries 

Several industrial business projects have been conducted in 
Berlin within recent years. Among these is the Berlin Remnant 
Store, which was a storeroom where a stock of remnant goods 
was displayed for sale. This was located on South Street and 
operated by Mr. and Mrs. Matthew Featherstone, and later by 
Mr. and Mrs. Harry W. Featherstone, between the years 1944 
and 1952. Following this date the business was sold to Mrs. 
Stephanie D. Hopfmann and moved to her residence on Linden 
Street. 

A unique business was that of the Peggy’s Doll Clothing Com¬ 
pany conducted by Mrs. Margaret Temple of Gates Pond Road 
between the years 1949 and 1953. The cloth for these doll clothes 
was received, cut and stamped, ready to be made up. Many of 
these outfits were taken into homes to be made up. An average 
production amounted to 500 dozen suits per week. Mrs. Temple 
continues to make these doll clothes privately. 

Another modern production is that of the Nancy York Com- 


AGRICULTURE AND INDUSTRIES 


171 


pany which originated with Ruth Morland in March 1956 at the 
residence of Natalie Bernardson Wheeler, South Street. This is a 
process of hand silk-screen printing upon linen towels. The de¬ 
sign is in the screen and there is a screen for each color. Only one 
color is printed at a time, and generally thirty-two impressions 
are made at one setting, and this must be repeated for each color 
used in the design. These printed towels are sold to the trade, in¬ 
cluding such outlets as R. H. Sterns of Boston, Barnard, Sumner 
& Putnam of Worcester, and Old Sturbridge Village. 

One business related to clothing was that of the Berlin Clean¬ 
ers operated by Harold M. Warbin of West Street. Harold had 
been in the trade since 1952, and advertised under the slogan 
“If it can be cleaned—we do it.” “We also repair shoes.” 

An industry of “no mean standard” is that of the Artcraft 
Woven Label operated by Frank W. Potas of Randall Road. He 
began operations in a new cement block building in 1947. He 
now (1956) has four looms in operation with an output (depend¬ 
ing on the various sizes of labels) of 10,000 to 50,000 labels per 
day (of eight hours). The pattern design (in the Jack Card) is 
furnished by the customer. 

In conclusion, it should be noted that Berlin is a rural residen¬ 
tial community. Although at times it is classified as an agricul¬ 
tural town, records show that only about ten per cent of the 
dwellers are engaged in pure agriculture (or farming). The fol¬ 
lowing list will show the ratio: 


Year 

Dwellings 

Farmers 

1935 

271 

40 

1942 

283 

38 

1955 

377 

25 


The majority of those residing in the Town are engaged in 
other industries as their principal source of income; yet their 
employment, as a rule, is not in the Town of Berlin, but in the 
neighboring industrial and commercial centers of Clinton, Hud¬ 
son, Marlboro, and Westboro; also in the cities of Worcester and 
Boston. Here they apply their various trades, professions, or 
abilities. 


CHAPTER VIII 


SOCIAL INTERESTS 


The social life of the community of Berlin was confined to that 
fragment of time and energy that remained after provision had 
been made for shelter, food, clothing, and rest for the family. 
During the early days of the Town’s history (1779-1812) their 
social life was principally associated with the Sunday services. 
For they practiced the rule that “Six days shalt thou labour . . . 
and rest the seventh day.” 

This custom was diversified with an occasional party in the 
evening—after the chores were completed and preferably after 
the harvesting season. Gradually the relation of the earning time 
and recreation time have shifted so that the day is divided into 
three parts. That is, eight hours for earning, eight hours for sleep 
and the remaining eight hours for recreation or social fife. 

Social life has become a necessary factor within every gather¬ 
ing or organization. Thus, we observe that the church, school, 
patriotic, business or recreative organizations have their social 
aspect, and these assemblies have become so numerous that, since 
1952, there has been printed and distributed a Community Cal¬ 
endar listing the various meetings day by day and hour by hour. 
To enumerate all of these meetings would require a volume so 
we must confine our records to the more general gatherings. 

Among these early places of congregating was “Ye Jones’ Inn,” 
built in 1749; followed by “Howe’s Tavern,” built in 1803. In the 
year 1779 the First Meeting House of the South Parish of Bolton 
was erected. Besides the weekly Sunday meeting for worship, 
there was the annual town meeting, which occasion was observed 
as a holiday with a mid-day feast. In Mrs. Sarah Howe’s diary 
of May 25, 1819, she describes the preparation for Election Day 
and the Election Ball, and relates that two pigs were prepared 

172 




SOCIAL INTERESTS 


173 


for roasting, two legs of veal, and one loin. Twenty-eight pounds 
of flour were used in making the Election Cake, besides a loaf 
and pound cake. Seventeen couples participated in the ball. 

The annual muster, or regimental training, was a great occa¬ 
sion in those old days. Every town in Worcester County had its 
militia. These companies came together in some central town of 
the group, and were followed by all the old military officers, 
idle men and boys, big and little, belonging to the towns in the 
military association. Horse-jockeys, showmen, and peddlers 
crowded the procession on all the roads and filled the place of 
muster with life and din. The military drill and evolutions thrilled 
the boys with wonder, while the veterans who had “seen service” 
criticized the “awkward squads.” These were as much of a gala 
day as the Firemen’s Muster of our modern day. 


The Berlin Lyceum 

The social life of Berlin took on a more intellectual aspect in 
the form of the Berlin Lyceum. The first Lyceum was organized 
on November 28, 1831. This was a favorable response to a notice 
posted at Howe’s Tavern on Tuesday of November the 22nd, 
which read: “Persons desirous of forming a Lyceum are re¬ 
quested to meet at the Town House in Berlin on Monday the 
28th instant at 6 o’clock p.m. for the purpose of organizing and 
making the necessary choice of officers. 

Signed— 

John Bartlett, Merrick Houghton, 
Asa Sawyer, and William A. Howe 
Thirty-seven men signed the constitution during the first year 
and paid their annual fee of twenty-five cents. The objects of 
the Lyceum were the improvement of its members in useful 
knowledge, and the advancement of education in the community. 
This was to be accomplished by readings, discussions, debates, 
and dissertations. Subjects were debated with great zeal and zest 
on such questions as: “Ought the Indians to be forcibly removed 
beyond the Mississippi?”, “Are females capable of as high a de¬ 
gree of mental improvement as males?”, “Ought the privilege of 
acquiring an education be shared equally by male and female?”, 


174 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


“Ought the rights of citizenship to be longer withheld from the 
females?” 

Many social and civic questions were debated. Among these 
were: “Ought the government to aid the Colonization Society to 
establish the colored people in Africa?”, “Can the people of 
colour be raised to an equality with the whites in this country?”, 
“Ought the general government immediately to abolish slavery 
in the District of Columbia?”, “Ought Abolition Societies to be 
encouraged?”, “Does the profits of the use of tobacco counter¬ 
balance the evils from the use of the same?”, “Ought the traffic 
in ardent spirits to be abolished by law?”, “Does the newspaper 
press, as now conducted, advance good morals?”, “Ought capital 
punishment to be abolished?” 

To assist the members of the Lyceum in securing data for their 
debates, discussions, and lectures, a library was established in 
1837, supported by subscriptions from the members. The last 
entry in the minutes of this Lyceum was made on December 28, 
1841. Prominent among its members were Josiah Bride (principal 
of the Berlin Academy), ministers—Robert F. Walcott, David R. 
Lampson, Abraham C. Baldwin, Michael Burdett, Eben S. 
Clarke, and Robert Carver. Also, Dr. J. L. G. Thompson, Amory 
Carter, Dexter Fay, Daniel Holder, Pliny S. South wick, William 
A. Howe, O. B. Sawyer, and Oliver Fosgate. 

This organization was followed by a similar group in the South 
Berlin Lyceum, conducted in the South Berlin Schoolhouse. This 
group carried on until the outbreak of the Civil War. Their 
method of procedure was similar to that of the former, although 
they permitted ladies to take part in their discussions. Notable 
among its workers were: E. C. Shattuck, Solomon Jones, Na¬ 
thaniel Wheeler, Lyman Morse, Amasa A. Whitcomb, and Wil¬ 
liam Bassett. The Lyceum filled an important place at a time 
when public entertainments were rare. 


Berlin Total Abstinence Society 

Evidently the debates and discussions in the Lyceum on the 
temperance question resulted in the organization of The Ber lin 
Total Abstinence Society which dated back to 1855. This organ¬ 
ization had for its purpose the promotion of the cause of tern- 


SOCIAL INTERESTS 


175 


perance. The ministers and a host of interested citizens partici¬ 
pated in their gatherings. Public meetings were held on the third 
Sunday evening of each month, rotating among the three churches 
of the Town and, on special occasions they were held in the Town 
Hall with a well-filled house. The program consisted of music, 
singing, recitations, and addresses or lectures directed to educate 
the public on the moral and practical need of prohibition. 

During the more active years of the Society, a program was 
arranged for the ensuing year. A typical program appeared in 
the Clinton Courant of November 3, 1900, as follows: 


December 

Congregational Christian Endeavor 

January 

Rev. George F. Pratt of Natick 

February 

Good Citizenship 

March 

Unitarian Y.P.R.U. 

April 

The Lyman School for Boys 

May 

Union Sunday School Temperance Concert 

June 

Epworth League of Methodist Church 

July 

Annual Meeting 


This form of monthly meeting was continued until the time 
of the ratification of the Eighteenth Amendment, which became 
operative on January 16, 1926. In substance, this Article XVIII 
read as follows: “The manufacture, sale, or transportation of in¬ 
toxicating liquors within, the importation thereof into, or the ex¬ 
portation thereof from the United States and all territory sub¬ 
ject to the jurisdiction thereof for beverage purposes is hereby 
prohibited.” 

Following the enactment of this article, the interest in the 
Total Abstinence Society waned. A period of lethargy emerged. 
Some of the more pronounced advocates of a temperance pro¬ 
gram had passed from the active stage of life. Others became 
indifferent, and a group of modernists interpreted the Preamble 
of the Constitution—“to secure the blessing of liberty to ourselves 
and our posterity” to mean that the individual has the priv¬ 
ilege of doing as he pleases in these matters. Consequently, the 
program of the Temperance Society in Berlin died with the re¬ 
peal of Prohibition, which became effective December 5, 1933. 


176 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


John B. Gough 

One of the outstanding factors in molding public opinion on 
the temperance question in Berlin was the personality of John B. 
Gough. His first visit to Berlin was soon after his reformation in 
Worcester in 1842, when he told a moving tale of his own 
experience. 

He married Mary Elizabeth Whitcomb on November 23, 1843. 
She was the daughter of Luke Whitcomb of Bolton, who married 
Hannah, the widow of Welcome Barnes, in 1834 (Mary being 
fourteen years and five months of age at the time). They took 
up their abode on Derby Road, in the brick mansion which is 
now the residence of John L. Nutting. 

The Gough’s resided and maintained “Hillside” in Boylston, a 
farm estate supervised for the purpose of aiding those who de¬ 
sired to break the habit of intoxication. For many years there¬ 
after Mr. Gough customarily gave a lecture at the church in 
Berlin in payment of his debt of gratitude for the strong, wise, 
and loving helpmate who stood by his side in the battle of fife 
and helped so valiantly in his winning it. There is on file a ticket 
inscribed “Lecture by John B. Gough, Berlin, January 4th, 1884.” 

John B. Gough was buried in Hope Cemetery of Worcester 
and his monument bears the following inscription: For 37 years, 
the light and crown of his home at “Hillside” finished in a mo¬ 
ment, while yet speaking at Frankford, Pa., his message of 43 
years, and called to higher service, February 18, 1886. But his 
widow, Mary Elizabeth Gough, continued to do favors for the 
Berlin community, as well as for others, until she “Awoke in 
His likeness” on April 22, 1891. 

The Belmont House, a tavern, which stood on the site of the 
residence of Ellsworth G. Sawyer on Central Street, was de¬ 
stroyed by fire in 1883. Mrs. Gough bought the property and 
built a house thereon, to be used for a parsonage, declaring that 
she was “determined that liquor should never be sold there 
again.” The Unitarian Society bought the property from the 
Gough estate in 1891 and it was occupied as the parsonage until 
1917, when purchased by Mr. E. Guy Sawyer. 


SOCIAL INTERESTS 


177 


It is attributed that Mrs. Gough gave the new bell of 1899 to 
the Church. 


Womens Christian Temperance Union 

Concurrent with the Total Abstinence Society was the Wom¬ 
en’s Christian Temperance Union which was organized on Octo¬ 
ber 27, 1879 by Mrs. Emma Molloy with twenty-nine members. 
Its procedure was demonstrated when, early in its history it 
secured over two hundred signatures to a petition to the Select¬ 
men asking that they endeavor to enforce the law against the 
illegal sale of liquor. They also circulated various temperance 
petitions and sent delegates to county, state, and national con¬ 
ventions. These white ribbon (symbol of their membership) 
ladies worked with the various church and temperance organiza¬ 
tions in carrying out their public programs. 

Among the prominent members of the Union were: Mrs. L. W. 
Brewer, Mrs. Bertha Cole, Mrs. Clara S. Eager, Mrs. Sarah H. 
Dudley, Mrs. Laura A. Taylor, Mrs. Adelaide R. C. Parmenter, 
Mrs. Carrie L. Woodward, and Mrs. Ella A. Hebard. All of these 
laid down their lives and labors among men, and since they were 
the backbone of the temperance movement in Berlin, due honor 
should be recorded for them. Their cause faded with the decline 
and death of the Temperance Society. 

A little historical review of Berlin temperance social action 
might be opportune. There are those modern “jesters” who get a 
great “kick” out of the mere statement that the First Meeting¬ 
house of Berlin was raised, in 1779, with “spike poles, rum and 
cider.” And, in addition, that the Parish (a political unit) voted 
eight hundred pounds and instructed the Building Committee to 
use what was necessary for the raising of the Meetinghouse. 
This meetinghouse was a place of public assembly, as well as a 
place of public worship. It will be noted that no mention is made 
of “rum and Cider” in connection with the erection of the second 
meetinghouse of 1826; and, furthermore, it was not used for 
town meetings. These were held in private homes and school- 
houses until a separate town-house was built. The consensus of 
opinion was that a house of worship should not be defiled by the 
profanity and tobacco “squirts” of the indifferent. 


178 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Formerly Berlin had a Liquor Agent to dispense the "ardent 
spirits” to the thirsty public. The report for the year 1856 showed 
that the “Liquor purchased” amounted to $328.14, and the 
amount received from sales was $251.64, leaving a balance of 
$113.20 on hand. 

Given under the Selectmen’s report of March 3, 1856 

/ Oliver Smith 
Selectmen ] J. E. Sawyer 
( E. S. Moore 

The Liquor Agent’s report to the Town of Berlin, March 6, 1865 
Dr. to mdse, sold Feb. 15th, 1864 to Feb. 15th, 1865 . $227.58 


Cr. by cash paid for mdse. 

Feb. 15, 1864-Feb. 15, 1865 .$179.72 

Cr. by Agent’s salary . 25.00 

Cr. by re-assessment on license . 4.16 

Cr. by errors on last year’s account . 1.16 

Cr. by postage . .06 

Cr. by cash to balance . 16.98 $227.58 


Respectfully submitted, 

L. Gott, Agent 

Evidently Dr. Gott didn’t think the business paid for his 
troubles, so the next year we find Riley Smith had the Agency. 
Mr. Smith kept store at the corner of Carter and Highland 
Streets (where Hal Rayner now resides). His report is more 
enlightening than the previous ones. The report follows: 

Feb. 15, 1866, the Town of Berlin had on hand as capital: 


5/2 gals. Rum 

$13.92 

2 “ Brandy 

7.85 

1 “ Whiskey 

6.03 

2/2 “ Alcohol 

10.86 

3 qts. Gin 

3.85 

45 bottles Porter 

11.25 

The Town bought during the year; 

6 gals. Alcohol 

26.62 

10 “ Gin 

46.20 

36 “ B. Whiskey 

136.50 

59 “ Med. Rum 

148.65 

I /2 “ Cog. Brandy 

18.00 

Anly. 

3.53 

Com. 

27.21 










SOCIAL INTERESTS 


179 


Exp. 

8.50 


2 books 

2.00 


2 Brass Faucetts 

1.50 


Paid for License 

25.00 


Paid Agent’s salary 

25.00 

$468.71 

$522.47 

Town Received: 

Cash on Sales 


$506.30 

Liquor on hand: 

7 gals. Rum 

21.28 


1 3 pts. Gin 

5.90 


1 1 Whiskey 

4.90 


1 “ 3 “ Alcohol 

6.00 


32 bottles Porter 

8.00 


1 gal. 3 pts. Brandy 

4.25 


1 qt. 1 pt. Cog. Brandy 

5.00 


2 Books 

2.00 


2 Faucetts 

1.50 

$565.13 


Less Expenses 

522.47 


Net Gain 


$ 42.66 


Riley Smith, Agent 


Following the period of Liquor Agents, the Town incorporated 
a system of local option by which they placed an article in the 
Annual Town Warrant “To bring their ballots, Yes or No in 
answer to the question —Shall licenses be granted for the sale of 
intoxicating liquors in this town?” 

Under the Warrant of 1880 (Article 17) members of the 
W.C.T.U. petitioned the Town “To see if the Town will in¬ 
struct the Selectmen or Agent to suppress the illegal sale of 
intoxicating liquors in the Town of Berlin.” The vote on the 
motion was seventeen to four in the affirmative. The following 
year (1881) under Article 16, “To hear from the Selectmen in 
relation to the suppression of the illegal sale bf intoxicating 
drinks as instructed at the last annual meeting.” Evidently the 
Selectmen were not prepared to give a favorable report, so it 
was voted “to pass over the article.” Then, the following year, 
the Town accepted a verbal report on Article 16 (1882) “To 





180 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


hear the report of the committee chosen for the suppression of 
the illegal sale of intoxicating drink.” 

The next year (1883) Article 13: “To bring in their ballots of 
YES and NO to the question—Shall licenses be granted for the 
sale of intoxicating liquors in this town,” brought forth a vote of 
fifty-one no and two yes. The records for March (1885) show 
that Charles F. Hale was paid $8.00 for seizing liquors. 

The custom of inserting the article on “liquor license” in the 
Annual Town Warrant was followed until, and including, the 
Warrant of March 2, 1914; after which it was transferred to 
Article 1, being placed on the ballot for the election of Town 
Officers. The following figures will show the license vote over a 
period of years: 



Yes 

No 

1905 

7 

80 

1909 

0 

79 

1910 

3 

73 

1913 

6 

64 

1923 

24 

105 


The liquor question was dropped from the Town Warrant 
during the period of Prohibition (1926-1933). In the State 
Election of November 6, 1928, Berlin cast her vote on the follow¬ 
ing “Questions of Policy”: 

“Shall the representatives from this district be instructed to vote 
for resolutions requesting the President and Congress to take action 
for the repeal of the 18th Amendment to the Constitution of the U. S. 
known as the prohibition amendment?” 

Yes 79 
No 288 

“Shall the Senator from this district be instructed to vote for a 
resolution requesting Congress to take action for the repeal of the 18th 
Amendment to the Constitution of the U. S. known as the prohibition 
amendment? 

Yes 79 
No 294 

The next change on the subject was in the Special State Election 
of June 13, 1933, after the repeal of the eighteenth Amendment, 
which was a YES or NO vote on the following question: “Shall 
licenses be granted in this town for the sale therein of wines and 
malt beverages?” The vote stood YES 47—NO 138. 


SOCIAL INTERESTS 


181 


The ballot for the State Election subsequent to the year 1942 
presented the following three phases of the question: 

(A) Shall licenses be granted in this town for the sale therein of 
all alcoholic beverages (whiskey, rum, gin, malt beverages, 
wines, and all other alcoholic beverages)? 

(B) Shall licenses be granted in this town for the sale therein of 
wines and malt beverages (wines and beer, ale and all other 
malt beverages)? 

(C) Shall licenses be granted in this town for the sale therein of all 
alcoholic beverages in packages, so called, not to be drunk on 
the premises? 

A tabulation of the vote on these questions will present the 
trend of public opinion in a changing social order. 


State 

Election 


A 

B 

C 

Nov. 

3, 

1942 

Yes 

87 

91 

81 




No 

241 

228 

225 

Nov. 

4, 

1952 

Yes 

181 

182 

228 




No 

402 

393 

364 

Nov. 

2 , 

1954 

Yes 

180 

182 

210 




No 

363 

349 

315 

Nov. 

6 , 

1956 

Yes 

194 

202 

251 



f 

No 

435 

419 

388 


Farmers' and Mechanics' Club — Grange—Tuesday Club 

The social life in Berlin acquired more of a community interest 
after the men returned from service in the Civil War. The Farm¬ 
ers’ and Mechanics’ Club was organized in 1868 and continued 
until 1892. At the monthly meetings in the winter, agricultural 
subjects were discussed, while in the summer, field meetings 
were held at the various farms. The annual “fair and cattle 
show” was an institution long to be remembered. It was a gala 
day for the Town. Old residents and people from surrounding 
towns were present in large numbers. A marked and interesting 
feature of the show was the exhibition of fruits, flowers and 
artistic work in the Town Hall. Dinner was provided, at a 
moderate charge, in Central Hall of the Church; or, weather 
permitting, in a tent on the Common. After dinner speeches 
were always in order, and all the exercises were enlivened by the 
Berlin, or some other, brass band. The youngsters, with an al- 


182 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


lowance of fifteen cents, enjoyed the festive collection of ad¬ 
vertising cards, popcorn, ice cream and prizes. It was a gloomy 
day for the boys and girls when the curtain ran down on the 
Berlin Cattle Show. (From a paper presented before the Berlin 
Tuesday Club by Mrs. E. Hope Puffer). 

The Berlin Grange, No. 134 Patrons of Husbandry, organized 
on May 11, 1886, embraces the principles of fraternity, practical 
education, and social advancement. By its application of these 
principles, it gradually supplanted the Farmers’ and Mechanics’ 
Club. It continues to the present time, fulfilling these functions 
of society and co-operating with other organizations to supply 
the public with the most modem forms of social life. 

While the Berlin Lyceum was pondering over the question as 
to whether women were of equal intellectual capacity to men, the 
Berlin women were breaking the shell of prejudice; and, in 1898, 
the Berlin Tuesday Club was organized with Miss Mary J. Keyes 
as President. The object of the Club is educational, philanthropic, 
and social; the motto is “The aim, if reached or not, makes great 
the life.” Regular meetings are held on the second Tuesday of 
each month (October through April) at 2:30 p.m., in Central 
Hall of the First Parish Church. The subject of the speaker on 
the annual guest night of October 29, 1957 was “Men are What 
Women Make Them.” Their programs cover a large field of 
activities, including: American Home, Art, Community Service, 
Drama, Education and Literature, Flowers, Hospital Service, 
International Relations, Music, Preservation of Antiques, Religion, 
Veterans’ Service, Civil Defense, and Girl Scouts. These programs 
are coordinated with the respective groups. 

The present membership (1957) is 101. The following persons 
have been President of the Berlin Tuesday Club. 


Miss Mary J. Keyes 
Mrs. Adele B. Wilson 
Mrs. Sarah H. Dudley 
Mrs. Clara M. Hubbard 
Mrs. Ida J. Sawyer 
Mrs. Harriet B. Allen 
Mrs. Adelaide Parmenter 
Mrs. Nellie F. Wheeler 
Miss Lucinda H. Hartshorn 
Mrs. Edith R. S. Sawyer 


1898-1900 

1900-1902 

1902-1904 

1904 - 1905 

1905 - 1907 
1907-1909 
1909-1911 

1911 - 1912 

1912 - 1914 
1914-1917 


SOCIAL INTERESTS 


183 


Mrs. Emma Littlefield 
Mrs. Clara L. S. Eager 
Mrs. M. Grace Sawyer 
Mrs. Edith R. S. Sawyer 
Mrs. Carrie W. Hoxie 
Mrs. Hazel I. Wheeler 
Mrs. Florence R. Brewer 
Mrs. Ruth L. Brooks 
Mrs. Mildred A. Bartlett 
Mrs. Iva M. Popp 
Mrs. Marjorie L. Coldwell 
Mrs. Jeanette C. Andrews 
Mrs. Eula H. Krackhardt 
Mrs. Laura G. Nutting 
Mrs. Catherine W. Davis 
Mrs. Doris C. Eager 
Mrs. Evelyn H. Wheeler 
Mrs. Mildred A. Bartlett 
Mrs. Barbara E. Lapan 
Mrs. Harriet H. Field 
Mrs. Louise F. Lockhart 


1917-1919 

1919-1921 

1921-1924 

1924-1927 

1927-1929 

1929-1931 

1931-1933 

1933-1935 

1935-1937 

1937-1939 

1939-1941 

1941-1943 

1943-1945 

1945-1947 

1947-1949 

1949-1951 

1951-1953 

1953-1955 

1955-1957 

1957-1959 

1959 


Village Improvement Society 

At the turning of the century a group of pulchritude-minded 
citizens responded to the urge to landscape the center of the 
village. Thereupon the Berlin Village Improvement Society was 
formed and they held their first meeting in September of 1900. 
From that time until it disbanded in April of 1917, it contributed 
much to the well-being, safety, and attractiveness of the Town. A 
notation of the effects of their efforts appeared in the Clinton 
Daily Item of April 1902, which we quote: “A town man who 
recently had occasion to drive through Berlin was much im¬ 
pressed with the care which had been given the little common 
of the town, the edges of the road side, the plots of ground sur¬ 
rounding the public buildings, in fact all the little touches that 
only a village improvement society, with genuine interest and 
authority to go ahead and accomplish what seems best for 
general appearance and betterment can bring about.” 

This society raised much of the money, supplemented by ap¬ 
propriations from the Town, to construct the sidewalks about 
the Common and the placing of settees to accommodate the 


184 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


customers of the trolley and bus service. There was also the im¬ 
provement of Powder House Hill Park, with grading and steps to 
the summit. A nucleus fund for the public library building was 
raised and encouraged by a model of the proposed building on a 
float in the parade of the Centennial of 1912. 


The Centennial Celebration of 1912 

Berlin celebrated the one hundredth anniversary of the in¬ 
corporation of the Town on August 29, 1912. This celebration 
was prefaced by a Centennial Union Service held in the Con¬ 
gregational Church on Sunday, August the 25th at which Rev. 
Henry Hyde, a former pastor (1881-1885), was the guest 
speaker. The congregations of the three churches of the Town 
attended this service in large numbers, and their respective 
pastors—the Reverends Frederick T. Mayer-Oakes, Frank R. 
Gale, and Frederick A. Krackhardt—participated in the program. 

In anticipation of this celebration, the Town took action at 
their Annual Meeting of March 4, 1912, under Article 16. At this 
time a Centennial Committee, consisting of Frank H. Crossman, 
Mary A. Bassett, Rev. Frank R. Gale, Arthur Hastings, and 
Truman P. Felton, was appointed. This committee was placed 
“in full charge, empowered to appoint the day and make all ar¬ 
rangements in relation to the same.” The Town appropriated 
$200 to be raised by taxation for the use of the committee. 

On the appointed day 1720 persons signed the guest book. 
From the arrival of the Leominster Band at 8:30 a.m. to the 
midnight dance, people from all sections of Massachusetts en¬ 
joyed all features of the program. At nine o’clock the parade 
formed at the Central School yard on Linden Street and pro¬ 
ceeded to Central, around Carter to West Street, and thence to 
the grandstand before the Town Hall where it disbanded. The 
parade was in charge of Chief-Marshal George H. Carpenter 
who, with his aides, led the procession, followed by the Leomins¬ 
ter Band, then the Selectmen and the Centennial Committee in 
cars. 

The remaining order of the procession, which portrayed many 
interesting historic and fascinating features, was as follows: 


SOCIAL INTERESTS 


185 


1. The Old Stage Coach bearing the lettering “Berlin to Hudson.” 

2. “Farming in 1812” drawn by oxen. 

3. Float bearing modern farming tools (these would be outmoded 
by the modem motorized farm equipment of 1957). 

4. Float “Kitchen of 100 Years Ago” drawn by oxen. 

5. Float “Modern Kitchen” with latest electrical appliances (again 
compare with 1957 models). 

6. Float model of “Powder House” and soldiers of 1812. 

7. Float of the “Grange.” 

8. Float of the “G.A.R.” and allied societies. 

9. Float of “Tuesday Club.” 

10. Float of “W.C.T.U.” with motto “For God, home, and every land.” 

11. Float of the Berlin Tennis Clubs—Shanondasee, Kequasagansett, 
and Minne-wa-wa. 

12. Float bearing a model of the “Library,” the ambition of the 
Village Improvement Society. This was left standing on the 
Common for a number of months. 

13. Float, The Lyman School for Boys. 

The remainder of the procession was floats, carts, and wagons 
representing the business and industry of the Town. They were: 
Small and Paine's Wagon, Herman Holder’s Milk, three teams of 
the S. R. Carter Stores, N. H. Fay of South Berlin, float of E. 
W. Wheeler & Son bearing a small house, and then the wagon 
of Hale Bros. 

Dinner was served in the Town Hall at 12:30 to over 400 
people. Rest rooms and lunches were available at the Methodist, 
Unitarian and Congregational church buildings. After dinner 
speeches were made by George L. Wright of Boylston, W. E. 
Parkhurst of Clinton, Hon. Elmer Potter of Worcester, and Rep. 
William S. Duncan of Clinton. 

The historical address, delivered by Frank H. Crossman from 
the grandstand on the Common, was surcharged with historical 
data and seasoned with many an anecdote, and presented in a 
masterful way without script or notes. 

At two o’clock Rev. Percy H. Eples of Worcester delivered the 
oration of the day in the Congregational Church. From three to 
seven o’clock sports were the center of attraction. A concert was 
rendered at the Town Hall at eight o’clock, followed by a dance, 
which concluded at midnight. The many “old timers” reported 
having a day long to be remembered. (With due regards to the 




186 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Worcester Daily Telegram , and records compiled by Frank H. 
Crossman, the Town Clerk.) 

Board of Trade 

Following the precedence of the Tuesday Club, the men of 
Berlin contemplated the formation of a Men’s Club. Con¬ 
sequently, in the fall of 1914, the Rev. Herman F. Lion, then 
pastor of the First Unitarian Society, organized a Men’s Club 
within his parish and M. Reed Tyler was chosen President. 
Within two years it had outgrown this circle and it was decided 
to make it a community organization. Thereupon, the Berlin 
Board of Trade was organized on September 25, 1916, with plans 
to meet in Barnes Hall of the Town Hall on the fourth Monday 
evening of each month from September through May. 

The annual meeting and election of officers was held on the 
fourth Monday night in May at the John E. Rice Orchards in 
Marlboro. This system was changed at the meeting of July 22, 
1940, when it was voted to amend Article 5 of the Constitution 
and By-Laws to read: “The Annual Meeting of the organization 
shall be held on the fourth Monday night of December of each 
year.” Thus the current year now embraces the period from 
January 1 to December 31, with a recess during the months of 
June, July, and August. However, special meetings were held 
during the summer months in the years of 1940 and 1941. 

For several years (to 1939) a Program Booklet was published 
giving the features of each meeting from September to May 
inclusive. On this program, Berlin was favored with many 
prominent speakers and entertainers. Among these were: Lieut. 
Governors Hon. William S. Youngman, Hon. Horace T. Cahill, 
Robert F. Bradford, and Hon. Sumner G. Whittier; Speakers of 
the House John C. Hull and Hon. Leverett Saltonstall (later 
Gov. and U. S. Senator); Representative Hon. Edith Nourse 
Rogers; Senator Thomas Johnson; Registrar of Motor Vehicles 
Frank A. Goodwin, George A. Parker, and Rudolph F. King; 
Sheriffs of Worcester County Albert Richardson and William A. 
Bennett. 

Also, many departments of various interests were represented, 
such as: A. W. Gilbert, Commissioner of Agriculture, and George 


SOCIAL INTERESTS 


187 


F. Story, Worcester County Agent of U. S. Dept, of Agriculture; 
Lewis E. MacBrayne, General Manager Massachusetts Safety 
Council; Evan F. Richardson, Director of State Bureau of Animal 
Industry; A. Philpott of the editorial staff of the Boston Globe; 
William Summers, American League Umpire; Capt. Joseph J. 
Benoit, Recruiting Officer of Worcester County; and Horace A. 
Clark of the Boston Salvation Army. 

The programs were varied by the presentations of descriptive 
talks on some of the local industries such as the Greenhouse busi¬ 
ness of Charles M. Field & Co., and that of Clifford H. Wheeler; 
Berlin Mushroom Co., Inc., by Allie E. Bellucci; and Maple 
Poultry Farm by Lionel Manseau. The interest in many industries 
in which men of Berlin were employed has been discussed by 
the members. For instance: the book manufacturing business of 
the Colonial Press Inc., of Clinton, was given by Leonard Burnett; 
the manufacture of plastic goods was described by Kenneth M. 
Pierce; and the insurance business of Tatman & Park by E. Guy 
Sawyer. 

One prominent feature was the Annual Banquet and Ladies’ 
Night held in the Town Hall on the night of their April meeting. 
The Board of Trade responds to the annual appeal for the Red 
Cross, Salvation Army, and Christmas health seals. They sponsor 
the Berlin Boy Scouts. The same became a member of the 
Wachusett Council of Boy Scouts in 1931. Through the committee 
of the Board of Trade the annual drive is made for their sub¬ 
scription to the Council, and arrangements are made to aid some 
boys to attend Camp Wanocksett. The Board also financed a trip 
for 4-H boys and girls to Camp Farley. 

Many projects in the interest of the community are sponsored 
by the Board of Trade. On May 24, 1917, a singular flag raising 
occurred on Powder House Hill when they supplied a new staff 
with flag, which was accompanied with the following ceremony: 
“Under the direction of Miss Florence Wilder, the school children 
sang ‘The Star Spangled Banner,’ ‘Your Flag and My Flag,’ and 
‘America.’ The Reverends Charles A. S. Dwight and Daniel M. 
Welch rendered the devotions and prayer, and Rev. James W. 
Barter presented the new staff (pole) and flag in the name of 
the Berlin Board of Trade.” 

For several years they provided the community Christmas tree 


188 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


which adorned the Common at the Center. They also encouraged 
the Boy Scouts to aid in maintaining the beauty of the Common. 

During the summer months of the years 1940 and 1941, the 
Board of Trade introduced a new unique venture. They sub¬ 
scribed fifty dollars to build a bandstand on Sawyer’s Field and 
engaged the Worcester Brass Band to hold band concerts once 
every two weeks. They also built a shelter house at a cost of 
$296.96, plus the volunteer labor. This building covered the 
booths and had a (12 x 12) room for housing the equipment and 
supplies. The complete building was 24 x 48 feet, with a six-foot 
overhang. 

In addition to the band concerts, there were field days. Such 
were conducted on July 4th (afternoon and evening) in 1940 and 
1941, also on Labor Day in September of 1940. During these 
energetic years, the membership mounted to 150. The following 
persons have been president of the Berlin Board of Trade: 


M. Reed Tyler 

1916-1918 

Lester R. Maynard 

1918-1919 

A. E. Bissell 

1919-1921 

J. William McCarty 

1921-1923 

Frank F. Dunfield 

1923-1925 

Rev. Louis G. Hudson 

1925-1931 

Lemuel D. Carter 

1931-1933 

Walter Cole 

1933 

George R. Spofford 

1933-1934 

Harris G. Field 

1934-1936 

Jerry S. LaPorte 

1936-1938 

Rev. Louis G. Hudson 

1938-1940 

E. Guy Sawyer 

1940-1943 

Rev. Louis G. Hudson 

1943-1947 

Ellsworth G. Sawyer 

1947-1948 

Earle A. Wheeler 

1948-1949 

Carl A. Barter 

1949-1953 

Rev. Louis G. Hudson 

1953-1956 

Glendon H. Blenkhorn 

1956-1958 

Arthur E. Chapdelaine 

1958- 

Boy Scouts of 

America 


The Boy Scout movement in Berlin germinated from a Boys’ 
Club (the Knights of the Holy Grail) organized in June of 1910 
by Rev. Philip A. Goold, then pastor of the Methodist Episcopal 


SOCIAL INTERESTS 


189 


Church. The original group consisted of sixteen boys, some of 
whom became Scout Masters in later years. A list of the members 
follows: Walter Burnham, Raymond Cole, Harold and Robert 
Taylor, Ernest and Eason Coulson, Ralph, Robert and Arthur 
Turnbull, Franklin Jacobs, David Tyler, Roy Keizer, Eugene 
Wilder, Clifford Wheeler, Leon Brewer, Walter Sawtelle, Wallace 
and Sumner Woodward, and Leland Maynard. 

The majority of these boys were in the service of their country 
during World War I. After a period of readjustment and re¬ 
habilitation, the interest in the boys of America was resumed. It 
was during this period that Arthur E. Bissell, then President of 
the Berlin Board of Trade (1919-1921), interested a group of 
boys in the Scout work; and, on motion of Rev. Louis G. Hudson, 
the Board of Trade became their sponsors. 

In the year 1920 Arthur A. Turnbull was chosen Scoutmaster of 
Berlin Troop 1, Boy Scouts of America, with a group of seventeen 
boys. Ernest Paquette followed as Scoutmaster from 1925 to 1930, 
and he was succeeded by Merle Hunt, 1930 to 1932. The Berlin 
Troop 1 became a member of the Wachusett Council in 1931. 
Berlin is one of the fourteen towns of the Wachusett Council and 
is represented by Rev. Louis G. Hudson on the Executive Board. 
This Wachusett Council is composed of a group of volunteers 
who are organized to meet the Scouting needs of this area. They 
elect officers and appoint operating committees to serve this 
purpose. They provide the adequately equipped and staffed 
Camp Wanocksett. This camp is located in Dublin, N. H., on 
Thorndike Pond at the base of Mount Monadnock. 

Edmond Hoxie was awarded the Eagle Scout Badge (the 
highest achievement in Scouting) in 1930; Charles O. Smith in 
1937; and Larry White in 1955. At a public Court of Honor held 
in the Berlin Town Hall on November 16, 1957, Scouts Douglas 
Campbell, Robert Hawkins and Joel Plastridge received the 
Eagle Scout award. In addition, awards for Life and Star Scouts 
were presented to members of Troop 1. At an impressive service 
in the First Parish Church on Sunday, May 19, 1957, under the 
direction of Scout Master Norbert Haner, Scouts Clifton Wheeler, 
Douglas Phipps, and Peter Plastridge were presented with “God 
and Country” awards by Rev. John W. Linzee. 

During the years 1933 to 1938, Oliver E. Smith was the Scout 


190 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Master with Charles E. Nutting as Assistant Scout Master, who 
took over in 1939. Berlin Scouts began attending the training 
at Camp Wanocksett during this period, and Charles O. Smith 
became a delegate to the World Jamboree held in Holland in the 
summer of 1937, on which he gave an interesting report before 
the Wachusett Council at their annual banquet and meeting 
held in Lancaster on December 7, 1937. 

During the succeeding few years it seemed to be difficult to 
find any Berlin men who had the time to supervise the Boy 
Scouts, so Edward A. Boutillier of Leominster, Scout Executive, 
took over the situation. Eddie Weston and Edward Ross served 
as Assistants and Scout Leaders. 

The supervision of the Berlin Boy Scouts has continued under 
the leadership of the following Scout Masters: 


A. Eason Coulson 1942-1944 

Willard H. Wheeler 1945-1946 

Silas H. Bacon 1947-1948 

Francis E. Underwood 1949 

Lester F. Sarty 1950 

Norbert Haner 1951-1957 

Bruce A. Maxwell 1957 


Ernest O. Wheeler has been an active supporter of the Scout 
program since coming to Berlin in 1936. So, at the Scouters Rec¬ 
ognition Banquet sponsored by the Wachusett Council, held in 
North Leominster on February 15, 1957, he was presented with 
a silver Scouter statuette, accompanied by a citation, in recogni¬ 
tion of his outstanding service to Berlin Boy Scouts over a period 
of more than ten years. 

The Scouting program consists of three units. The Cub Scout 
Pack for boys between the ages of eight and ten, directed by Cub 
Masters, meet on the last Friday of the month at seven p.m. in 
Parish Hall. The Boy Scout Troop, composed of boys from 
eleven to thirteen years of age, meet every Wednesday in Parish 
Hall at seven p.m. under the leadership of the Scoutmaster and 
his assistants. The Explorer Post for boys between the ages of 
fourteen and eighteen meets every Monday evening at seven 
p.m., directed by an Explorer Advisor. Thus, a Scouting program 
is offered for our youths from eight years of age to eighteen. 


SOCIAL INTERESTS 


191 


Girls ’ Clubs 

Provision was also made for the social life and practical train¬ 
ing of the girls in Berlin. The order of the Camp Fire Girls was 
started in 1913 by Mrs. George F. Matthews of East Berlin. Then 
Mrs. Marion C. Fromant conducted the Camp during the years 
of 1915-1919. During this period the girls went to a camp in 
Concord, Mass., for two summers. For a time the organization 
became dormant and its funds were given to the Berlin Library 
Building Fund. The work was revived in 1924 under the leader¬ 
ship of Mrs. Violet Turnbull and Mrs. Jeanette Andrews. 

Due to the similarity in their field of endeavor, the Camp Fire 
Girls was superseded by the Girl Scouts. At a board meeting on 
March 11, 1947, it was recommended that the Tuesday Club 
sponsor the Girl Scouts in the Town of Berlin, with Mrs. Kendall 
Andrews as sponsoring director. The first meeting of the Girl 
Scouts was held on March 26, 1947. The Tuesday Club made 
an annual donation toward the support of the local Girl Scout 
organization. Miss Estelle Liberty became the first leader in 
October of 1947. She was assisted and followed by Mrs. Louis F. 
Lapan in 1949. 

The Girl Scouts had charge of a meeting on the annual pro¬ 
gram of the Tuesday Club. They conducted a cooky sale to 
procure funds for sending members to Scout camp. From 1952 to 
1956 the Girl Scouts held their meetings in a room of the Library 
building, and held a series of card parties to provide money to 
improve the room. Owing to the increase in membership (which 
was twenty members) they transferred to more commodious 
quarters in the Town Hall. In October of 1953 the Girl Scouts 
visited the Old Sturbridge Village and reported their trip to the 
Tuesday Club. 

At the December 12th (1950) meeting of the Tuesday Club 
it was voted to sponsor a “Brownie” group of the Girl Scouts 
(age 7-10). 

Miss Estelle Liberty resigned as leader of the Girl Scouts in 
November of 1950, and Mrs. Everett S. Walker was chosen leader 
with Mrs. Lester F. Sarty and Mrs. Laura Nutting as assistants. 


192 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Between the years of 1953 and 1957 there have been the follow¬ 
ing leaders and assistants: 

Miss Mary Casey, with Mrs. Charles C. Deitmer 
and Mrs. Carl Phipps assisting. 

Mrs. Deitmer, with Mrs. Carl Phipps and Helen 
Wheeler assisting. 

Edith Nutting became leader, then Mrs. Marguerite 
M. Sallinger, assisted by Mrs. Miriam F. Coldwell. 

The present leader (1957) is Mrs. Florence L. 

Hawkins. 


The 4-H Club 

The 4-H Club for Boys and Girls operates under a director 
appointed annually by the Town for promoting the projects of 
the Worcester County Extension Service in agriculture and home 
economics. A Berlin 4-H Club was organized in 1914 by Miss 
Marion C. Copeland (Mrs. Marion C. Fromant). After the 
adoption of Chapter 128 of the General Laws of 1918, the Town 
(in Feb. of 1920) appointed Mrs. Marion C. Fromant as Di¬ 
rector; and for the next twenty-five years (including 1944) she 
was annually chosen for this position. Ruth I. Allen served during 
the year 1945. Mrs. Louise F. Lockhart has been appointed Di¬ 
rector, annually, since 1945. 

The motto of the 4-H Club is “To Make the Best Better.” Their 
pledge is: 

My HEAD to clearer thinking, 

My HEART to greater loyalty, 

My HANDS to larger service and 

My HEALTH to better living 

For my club, my community and my country. 

A large field of projects is offered to the boys and girls during the 
year. These vary over a period of years, but all projects are 
given with the goal of making better citizens. These cover proj¬ 
ects in clothing, sewing, foods, cooking, canning, child-care, 
home improvement, crafts, woodworking, garden work, feeding, 
livestock, cows, horses, poultry, sheep, goats, rabbits, and food 
preservation. There has been a gradual increase in interest and 


SOCIAL INTERESTS 


193 


the number of pupils has soared from thirty-eight in 1952 to 
seventy in 1956. 

In order to carry on this work, the Director had the assistance 
of helpers—Miss Alice L. Cole, Mrs. Eleanor T. Plastridge, and 
Mr. E. O. Wheeler. The program of the 4-H Club has been 
augmented by the Young American Club which was organized 
of pupils from the seventh and eighth grades of the Berlin 
Memorial School by Principal Raymond A. Plotczyk in 1951. In 
the year 1953 the Superintendent of Schools reported that they 
were pleased to welcome two part-time teachers, namely, Mrs. 
Elizabeth Gustafson, who teaches home economics for the girls, 
and Mr. E. O. Wheeler, who conducts a woodworking class for 
the boys. Thus the Junior High School program co-ordinates 
with the 4-H course of projects. 


Berlin Youth Council 

In order to provide for community activities for the post-Scout 
group of teenagers (14-18), preferably the high school pupils, a 
few public-spirited persons considered an organization. The in¬ 
ception of the Berlin Youth Council was sponsored by the Parish 
Men’s Club of the First Parish Church. At their meeting of 
January 13, 1953, they secured Mr. James Sumner, director of the 
Arlington Boy’s Club as their speaker who spoke on the subject 
“How Can We Meet Our Youth’s Needs?” 

As a result of this able discussion, many of the men felt that a 
more concerted effort in this direction was needed in the com¬ 
munity. It was then proposed that delegates from other commu¬ 
nity organizations should be invited to attend the next meeting of 
the Men’s Club. Mr. Raymond A. Plotczyk, Principal of the 
Berlin Memorial School, was the speaker, who presented the 
needs of a unification of our efforts with the youth program, and 
pointed out the success they were having with the Young Ameri¬ 
can Club in the school. Subsequently, the Berlin Youth Council 
was organized and bylaws approved at the April meeting in 1953. 
Mr. Plotczyk was chosen President and Rev. Robert W. MacNeill 
(pastor of the First Parish Church) became Secretary. The 
membership consisted of representatives from twenty-two local 
(social, patriotic, civic, and religious) organizations. The purpose 


194 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


of the B.Y.C. was to promote activities which would be beneficial 
to the youth of the Town. 

At a meeting of the Council on July 13, 1953, plans were made 
for a four-week summer playground program from July 27 to 
August 22. The program included competitive sports, tourna¬ 
ments, and special events. Norman S. Cold well was elected 
Treasurer of the Council at this meeting. Several suggested 
projects were offered to the youth by the Council. Among these 
was a basketball team under the supervision of a competent 
instructor. Another group supported dancing and skating parties. 

A group of thirty-three members organized a Rifle Club under 
the supervision of Raymond C. Baum, but the inconvenience of 
assembling at the Marlboro Rifle Range resulted in its abandon¬ 
ment. A very successful community Christmas party was spon¬ 
sored and arranged by the Council in 1954. Over 400 gifts were 
distributed among the children, and a dance for the seventh and 
eighth graders was held at the Memorial School in the evening. 
The lack of interest and nonsupport of parents resulted in the 
decease of the enterprise (1957). 

Berlin Schools Association 

One of the most thrilling nostalgic occasions was the annual 
assembly of the “Reunion of Berlin Schools.” For many years 
prior to 1919 independent groups assembled at their respective 
school buildings and celebrated a reunion of old classmates. 
There were five of these gatherings held on the same date, 
generally Labor Day or the day before school opened. The place, 
of course, was at the North, South, Center, East and West school- 
houses. 

On September 1, 1919 (Labor Day), the schools of Berlin met 
on the Common at the Center. After the picnic dinner the meet¬ 
ing was called to order by Lester M. Bartlett, and it was proposed 
that the organization should include all of the pupils of the Town. 
As a result, the “Reunion of the Schools of the Town of Berlin” 
was organized. The following officers were elected: President, 
Sidney Carter; Vice President, Walter Wheeler; Recording Sec¬ 
retary, L. Ada Berry; Corresponding Secretary, Nellie Keizer; 
Treasurer, Bessie Jones. The Executive Committee consisted of a 


SOCIAL INTERESTS 


195 


representative from each of the five school districts, and it was 
recommended that the meetings be held annually on the Com¬ 
mon where they would have access to the Town Hall and Church 
building in case of bad weather. 

Two hundred and fifty old schoolmates assembled the follow¬ 
ing year. Frank H. Crossman was chosen President, which posi¬ 
tion he held repeatedly until 1932 (the year of his decease on 
February 25, age eighty-six years). L. Ada Berry continued as 
Secretary until 1931. 

Following the business meeting, a list of the deceased school¬ 
mates since the last assembly was read. This produced an 
atmosphere of serious reverence, as one reflected that year by year 
their ranks were reduced. Frank H. Crossman, being Town 
Clerk, could produce some interesting data. “There was a certain 
T. J. Sanderson who taught at the East ‘old red school’ in 1856 
when he had forty-two scholars. By research, it was found in 
1896 that thirty-eight of these were located among the living 
and four had died. By 1931, thirty-eight had died and only four 
remained living. These were Frank H. Crossman, Martha Pierce, 
George Ellis, and Sarah Wheeler.” 

No reunion was held in the years 1932 and 1933. On account 
of the Field Day conducted by the Board of Trade on Labor 
Day of 1939, the School Reunion was omitted. During the years 
of World War II (1942-1948) no reunions were held. They were 
resumed in 1949 and at this time it was decided to change the 
name of the organization to “Old Home Day and School Re¬ 
union.” On the advent of the dedication of the new Memorial 
School (1951), in cooperation with the P.T.A. and Grange, the 
event was designated as the annual “Community Fair and Old 
Home Day.” 

It was a pleasure to have such persons as Lester M. Bartlett 
of Boston; Charles D. Cartwright, Charles Staples of Leominster; 
Dr. Frank Staples, President of State Medical School of Colum¬ 
bus, Ohio; Dr. Ernest B. Maynard of Choteau, Mont.; Perry H. 
White of Taunton, Mass.; or Lester Maynard (either present or 
by letter) contribute of their talent to the meeting. Many local 
personalities contributed with their talent in song, music, recita¬ 
tion or manuscript to enliven the program of the assembly. 

In 1920, Mrs. J. Ida Sawyer was elected Historian of the As- 


196 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


sociation, and for ten consecutive years she kept the association 
informed on “The Playmates of Yesterday.” Her remarks were 
prefaced by a poem, written by Perry H. White, with the above 
title. At the meeting of September 7, 1936, Mrs. Marion Fromant 
presented a paper which depicted the status of the Berlin schools 
of that period. There were six classrooms located in five build¬ 
ings, with six regular teachers and three special instructors for 
drawing, music, and penmanship. Three bus drivers and the 
Lovell Bus participated in transporting the pupils. The School 
Committee and Faculty were complimented upon the way they 
maintained schooling with the present equipment. In conclu¬ 
sion, “Berlin’s greatest need is a consolidated school, which I 
hope to see in the not too distant future.” 


Community Fair and Old Home Day 

The Annual Community Fair and Old Home Day was in¬ 
stituted in August of 1951 in connection with the presentation of 
the new Memorial School building to the Town. In addition to 
the facilities of the school building, there was Sawyer’s Field, 
which the Town had purchased for a playground and recreational 
field in 1948. 

This project was sponsored under the auspices of the Berlin 
Grange P. of H., No. 134, the Berlin Parent-Teachers’ Association, 
and the Massachusetts Department of Agriculture co-operating. It 
was conducted annually in August from 1951 to 1954 inclusive 
at the Memorial School. The program covered the period from 
10:00 a.m. to 11:55 p.m., with the following arrangement: 


10:00 a.m. - 12:00 Noon 
12:30 - 1:30 p.m. 

1:30 p.m. 

1:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. 


5:30 p.m. - 7:00 p.m. 
6:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. 

8:30 p.m. - 11:55 p.m. 


Judging Exhibits 
Dinner 

Business Meeting, School 
Reunion 

Fair and Exhibits 
Hobby Exhibition 
Professional Animal Show 
and Exhibit 
Baked Bean Supper 
Square Dance Competition 
Dance in Town Hall 


SOCIAL INTERESTS 


197 


The exhibits were arranged into eight classes or departments, 
with a Chairman for each. The following is a sample: 

I. Vegetables 

II. Poultry and Poultry Products 

III. Flowers 

IV. Canned and Preserved Goods 

V. Home Cooking 

VI. Hand Work 

VII. 4-H and Junior Dept. 

VIII. Senior Hobbies, Junior Hobbies and Handicraft (Art Paint- 
ings) 

Cash or ribbon awards were given for first and second places 
in all classes. Agricultural prize money not to exceed $25.00 was 
awarded on the fist by the Massachusetts Department of Agri¬ 
culture. Other sources for the prize money came from the ad¬ 
vertisements and host of patron contributors. The occasion not 
only furnished a school reunion and social gathering, but an 
opportunity to exhibit the local products in art and industry. 


Golden Age Club 

Not only the youth and middle-aged, but the older-aged 
persons have provision for recreation and entertainment. Rev. 
Robert W. MacNeill, Pastor of the First Parish Church, invited 
a group of the “oldsters” to the parsonage on the evening of 
June 11, 1953, to discuss the advisability of organizing a club. 
The Berlin Golden Age Club was organized in October of 1953 
with fifteen members, and chose Charles M. Field as its President. 
It is sponsored by the Evening Guild of the First Parish Church. 
They meet on the third Tuesday afternoon of each month. Some¬ 
times they provide their own entertainment. The program is 
generally finished by playing cards and all sorts of table games. 
Speakers from outside have been invited to discuss problems of 
the aging, which has proved very interesting and helpful. 

Each town and city in Massachusetts was requested by 
Governor Christian A. Herter to appoint a Council for the Aging. 
The Selectmen of Berlin appointed the following committee in 


198 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


1955: Mrs. Ethelyn Baum, Mrs. Blanche Nutting, Mrs. Laura 
Cole, Miss Lucy Wheeler, and Mrs. Annella Dunfield. The duties 
of the local council are to coordinate the work of the local de¬ 
partments dealing with the problems of the aging and to promote 
local facilities for the health, education, welfare, and recreation 
of the aging. 

Mrs. Earle C. Morse was elected President of the Golden Age 
Club in 1955. The membership has more than doubled. The 
Council has arranged for transportation of dependent members 
to doctors, church, voting or meetings. 

One hundred and fifty-seven letters were sent to senior 
citizens of Berlin. On Saturday afternoon, May 12, 1956, a party 
was held in Parish Hall in observance of “Senior Citizens’ Week.” 
Prizes were given to the couple married the longest, the oldest 
man and woman present, most recent bride present, and the 
person having the largest number of grandchildren and great 
grandchildren. 


Berlin Art and Historical Society 

At the Annual Town Meeting of February 7, 1949, Mr. J. Adams 
Puffer stated that there is a wealth of objects of art and historical 
interests in the homes of Berlin that should be collected and 
preserved in some suitable place within the Town. Therefore, he 
proposed that some person with interest and ability should be 
appointed to head such a project, and he presented the name of 
Mr. Vincent S. Eager. Under Article 38 of the Warrant of 1950, 
it was voted “to appoint a committee of three to receive objects 
of art and historic value, and to encourage interest in providing 
a place for their safekeeping; Mr. Vincent S. Eager to be Chair¬ 
man, and empowered to select the other two members.” Mr. Her¬ 
bert H. Guild and Miss Emily C. Wheeler were named as the 
other two members of the committee. 

The committee functioned and the Berlin Historical Society 
was instituted at a meeting held in Carter Hall on April 29, 1950. 
Bylaws were adopted on September 30, 1950, and Vincent S. 
Eager was chosen President and Hattie B. Woodward Secretary- 
Treasurer. Forty interested members assisted in arranging pro¬ 
grams for the year, covering the period from September to June. 


SOCIAL INTERESTS 


199 


The meetings to be held on the last day of each month, except 
when that day falls on a Sunday, then the last Saturday shall be 

the date. 

By the vote of the Town, March 10, 1952, the Selectmen were 
authorized to lease the South School building to the Berlin 
Historical Society for a meeting place and storage of property. 
In September of 1956 the Society accepted the privilege of using 
a basement room of the Public Library for their meetings and 
housing of the collection of objects of art and historical value. In 
January of 1953 the Berlin Historical Society became the Berlin 
Art and Historical Society. At their annual meeting in September 
(1952) Herbert H. Guild was elected its second President. The 
annual meeting was changed to June (in 1954) and Katherine A. 
Bacon was elected President and Vincent S. Eager Custodian. 
In 1958 Mrs. Doris C. Eager was elected President. 

Their programs are varied and interesting. Under the caption 
of the “Preservation of Antiquities’’ there is the presentation of 
papers and exhibits in music, arts, drama, crafts, or history. In 
order to refresh and instruct the membership in the history of 
Berlin, “papers” and “exhibits” are given on such phases as civic 
life, the church, the school, military affairs, transportation and 
communication, or agriculture and industry. Another feature is 
the exchange of visitations with other historical societies as 
Hudson, Northboro, and Clinton. 

The public has been favored with many exhibitions of articles 
of interest. Public exhibitions were conducted in Parish Hall on 
November 29, 1951, May 23, 1952, and in May and November of 
1953. There was also an art exhibit in connection with Old Home 
Day held at the Memorial School on August 22, 1953. In the year 
1954 the society held a craft exhibit of handmade rugs in Parish 
Hall in February, and in March an exhibit of paintings of “old 
houses” of Berlin. The annual exhibit was held in May in the 
Town Hall. In June the society joined with the First Parish 
Church in arranging an exhibit of church relics and papers in 
connection with the 175th anniversary of the Church. 

During the years’ programs, several interesting speakers have 
been procured. There was the illustrated lecture on “The Restora¬ 
tion of Old Colonial Williamsburg,” and also “A Tour of Mexico” 
by Lewis R. Paine. Mrs. Harriman Reardon gave a very instruc- 


200 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


tive talk on “Winter-Thur.” The illustrative lecture by Roland 
Wells Robbins on “Treasure Hunting in America' revealed the 
projects of restoration of Jefferson’s birthplace, Shadwell, Va.; 
Saugus Ironworks, Saugus, Mass.; and Thoreau’s cabin at 
Walden Pond, Concord, Mass. Miss Elvira Scorgie gave a very 
illuminating lecture on the “Shakers” of the Harvard Settlement. 

Another interesting feature of their program are the field trips 
and visitations. Among these was the visitation of the Holder 
Memorial in Clinton; the meeting held in Holder Social Club 
House and Friends Meetinghouse in Bolton (before its removal 
to Sturbridge Village); the pilgrimage to the Sandown Meeting¬ 
house of Sandown, N. H.; a pilgrimage to the Concord Anti¬ 
quarian Society Building in Concord, with tea at the Hartwell 
Farms in Lincoln; and tour of the “Old Sturbridge Village” in 
Sturbridge. 

Another feature of the society is to develop some project for 
the annual program. On May 30, 1957, the central feature of the 
Memorial Day program was the appropriate dedication service 
for the placing of grave markers and flags at the graves of the 
thirty-four Revolutionary War veterans who rest in the Old 
Cemetery. At the meeting of February 28, 1958, the program 
consists of appropriate papers and exercises for the re-installation 
of the portraits of the noted citizens—Artemas Barnes, Chandler 
Carter, and Rev. W. H. Houghton, on the walls of the auditorium 
of the Town Hall. 


Drama 

During the later years of the nineteenth century, when there 
were not so many organizations, a group of public-spirited citizens 
banded themselves together to produce some form of entertain¬ 
ment. The Berlin Players, a dramatic club, was organized in 
1889. While these volunteer players furnished entertainment for 
the public, their ulterior motive was to raise funds for commu¬ 
nity improvements. About $11,000 was thus secured for the new 
Public Library building. 

Furthermore, these Players used to put on an act on the 
evening of Memorial Day to aid in meeting the expenses of this 
annual holiday. On the occasion of the observation of the fiftieth 


SOCIAL INTERESTS 


201 


anniversary of the order of E. H. Hartshorn Camp 43, S. of U. V. 
(April 18, 1938), Charles S. Knight, a charter member, made 
reference to these Berlin Players in the following manner: He 
experienced a thrill as he entered the Town Hall and recalled 
that it was within these walls that he made his stage debut with 
Christopher S. White (the director of the Players) in a melodrama 
in which he spoke four words, in trembling voice and with even 
more shaky lower limbs, as he held a dark lantern while Mr. 
White robbed a safe. 

A revival of the interest in dramatic presentation and enter¬ 
tainment developed on the evening of October 16, 1939, when a 
group of twelve met at the home of Miss Frances E. Rice and 
formed a dramatic club, to be known as the Parish Players. The 
officers were: President, Robert B. Coldwell; Vice President, 
Sidney Sawyer; and Secretary-Treasurer, Miss Thora Coulson. 
Their first presentation was staged in the Town Hall on Friday 
night, December 1, 1939—a three-act comedy entitled “A Howl¬ 
ing Success.” On Friday evening, January 26, 1940, the Parish 
Players presented “Winning Winnie,” a farce comedy in three 
acts. The cast of characters consisted of: Carolyn Bell, Dorothy 
Jones, Lulu Parmenter, Thora Coulson, Haydn Hunt, Josephine 
Rogers, Sidney Sawyer, Arthur Pierce, Robert Coldwell, and 
Rev. Ivan A. Klein. This was the second of a series of plays. The 
next production in the series was “Smoky Treasure.” 

When Rev. Ivan A. Klein transferred to a church in Boston in 
1942, the Players lost a valuable member, not only as an actor 
but also as a designer (for he had designed and painted the wings 
and the main curtain of the stage in the Town Hall). According to 
the Worcester Telegram —“Before the days of political campaign¬ 
ing by television, it was possible for a candidate to lose votes be¬ 
cause he was too good an actor.” At least that’s the way it was in 
1930 when Harris G. Field was first elected Town Clerk. He 
said, “When I first ran for office a woman (Miss Frances E. 
Rice, director of plays) told me she wouldn’t vote for me because 
she was afraid I’d stop taking part in plays.” 

Once in a score of years a group of entertainers becomes 
hilarious and stages a minstrel show. 

A unique departure in community entertainment was the pops 
concert. On Friday evening, May 8, 1953, the Senior Choir of 


202 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


the First Parish Church presented an old-fashioned “pops con¬ 
cert” in the Town Hall under the direction of Mrs. Barbara 
Krackhardt, with Mrs. Florence Ross, accompanist. Guest artists 
were Alex MacLaren, soloist; Charles Young, pianist; and Lewis 
Paine, violinist. 

The concert was in cabaret style with tables, in a setting 
depicting all the beauties of an early springtime garden. The 
program was presented in three parts and during the musical 
interludes refreshments were served at the tables by members of 
the Evening Guild. A capacity house, with many more desirous 
of attending the concert, called for a repeat on the following 
evening, Saturday, May 9. 

When the Senior Choir of the First Church of Christ (Unitar¬ 
ian) of Lancaster arranged to present a “pops concert” they 
engaged pops talent of the Berlin First Parish Church to assist. 
The date was February 9 and 10, 1956. The Clinton Daily Item 
reported the occasion as follows: “Gay music, colorful costumes, 
and a striking stage setting combined to make the Pops Concert 
a very successful endeavor, and in addition provided the audience 
a wonderful evening of entertainment.” The concert was repeated 
on the following evening. 

The Passion Play 

A sacred dramatization of portions of the Passion Play was 
presented to the public in the Town Hall by a cast from the St. 
Joseph the Good Provider Mission in three consecutive years of 
1953-55. The plays were staged as follows: 

March 21 and 22, 1953, “The Upper Room,” Sat. and Sun. 

April 10 and 11, 1954, “The Dark Days,” Sat. and Sun. 

Palm Sunday, April 3, 1955 “The Trial” @ 2:30 and 8:15 p.m. 

The cast of twelve members was directed by John P. McGrail, 
accompanied by a chorus of fourteen voices. 

Dancing 

Dancing was a form of amusement, recreation and entertain¬ 
ment from the time of the very early settlements of the Town. 
Several old houses claim a room suitable for a rallying dance. 


SOCIAL INTERESTS 


203 


The most notable of these is the “Bullard House” built about 
1747, in which there is a large room covering the entire second 
floor that was used as a dance hall. 

The “Howe Tavern” built in 1803 later became the head¬ 
quarters for public dances, more commonly referred to as “balls.” 
Amory Carter refers to this practice in his History of the Parish 
and Town of Berlin whence he states that “there used to be two 
companies in the Town who had each their association of in¬ 
dividuals (the old company and the young company) and they 
held their social dances, then called balls. . . . These were held 
at the tavern hall.” Mrs. Sarah Howe presided over this “tavern 
hall.” In her diary, under date of May 25, 1819, she recorded, 
“making arrangements for the ball, seventeen couples.” This was 
evidently an election ball for she continued in her record, “the 
company behaved very well, and went away at an early hour for 
election. Had a good many spectators in to see them.” 

After the erection of the new Town House (1870) its audi¬ 
torium became the suitable place for holding public dances. 
These were sponsored by civic groups, local organizations and 
even private individuals. The Saturday night public dances 
became so popular that they drew patrons from the neighboring 
towns. Unfortunately, some of these visitors did not conduct 
themselves in a gentleman-like manner in the hall. Then they 
persisted in parking their cars on the Church lawn and strewing 
a number of empty bottles around. This conduct irritated a 
number of the citizens, so that a special Town Meeting was 
called February 24, 1925. At this time the following resolution was 
adopted: “Resolved that we, the citizens of Berlin, do heartily 
endorse the recent efforts of the selectmen to provide for the 
proper use of the Town Hall and prevent intrusion by an outside 
undesirable element; and that in the future no dance be held 
unless strictly policed and chaperoned by matrons approved by 
the Woman’s Club; that no one be allowed repeatedly to use the 
Town Hall unless person or persons abide by the regulations 
enacted or to be enacted by the Selectmen. A rider motion met 
with an affirmative vote that “the Town Hall shall not be let for 
dances if the proceeds shall go for private use.” 

Then, for a short period, public dances were abeyant. But sev¬ 
eral mothers said that they did not want their daughters attend- 


204 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


ing dances in other towns. It was then that the Unitarian Society 
came forward with a recommendation for a solution. Their horse- 
shed barn was remodeled, converting it into a commodious 
Parish Hall, which was dedicated at the May Festival of 1926. 
This provided a convenient place for a party dance. The annual 
May Festival, with the winding of the Maypole, became a gala 
form of entertainment for several years following the dedication 
of the social hall. This May Festival was promoted under the 
direction of Miss Frances E. Rice. 

Since the fall of 1939 public dances have been resumed in the 
Town Hall under official regulations. Provision is also made for 
the conducting of dances for the “graders” at the Memorial 
School building under the direction of an instructor. Thus the 
Town has three places where public dances may be conducted. 


Card Parties 

Throughout the community life of Berlin, card playing has 
been a form of amusement and recreation, but with the increase 
of leisure, due to the shifting from a pure agricultural to a modi¬ 
fied commercial and industrial population, card parties have be¬ 
come more popular. One’s leisure varies according to whether 
he or she is employed eight hours in the day or from four a.m. 
to nine p.m. 

There are several group or family card parties held regularly 
in different sections of the Town, so that one will say that “I 
cannot meet on Tuesday evening, for that is our card party 
night,” and another will say, “I cannot meet on Thursday eve¬ 
ning, for that is my card party.” 

Then there is the associated card playing. Almost every organ¬ 
ization has a game of cards for a “nightcap” to its meeting. Thus 
the Board of Trade, Parish Men’s Club, Firemen, Policemen, 
Golden Age Club, Grange, etc., have a game of cards for a 
friendly “good-night.” 

The public card party is the most popular social event. These 
are generally held for the purpose of raising money for some 
specified cause, and they are patronized by many card devotees 
from neighboring towns. The Board of Trade conducts a Military 
Whist Party near Thanksgiving in anticipation of funds for their 


SOCIAL INTERESTS 


205 


Annual Ladies’ Night. On December 11, 1941, the Board of 
Trade had a pitch party which netted $91.00 which was turned 
over to the 4-H Club to be used to send members to Camp Far¬ 
ley. In conjunction with the Fire and Police Departments, a pitch 
party was held in the Town Hall on February 27, 1941, which 
netted $103.35 that was presented to the family of a member 
who had been hospitalized for a long period. 

The Berlin Fire Department ran a benefit public stag pitch party 
on Thursday evening, January 26 (1956), for the benefit of a depart¬ 
ment member who lost his home by fire. 

The Berlin Tuesday Club held a military whist party in the Town 
Hall on Saturday evening, Jan. 28 (1956), for the benefit of their 
charity fund. 

The Clinton Daily Item ,, November 2, 1957: The first of the winter 
public Grange pitch parties will start on Saturday, November 9, at 
8 o’clock, at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Francis Burke, Highland Street. 
These parties are being sponsored by the Home & Community Service 
Committee of the Berlin Grange. 

So, the calendar is filled and each society finds it necessary to 
plan weeks ahead in order not to conflict with another’s date. 

Sports 

A fascinating form of sport was the Triangular Tennis Clubs 
that operated during the early 1900’s. These contestants con¬ 
sisted of three groups, namely: The Kequasagansett of the Center, 
whose court was located on the Hartshorn lot between the gen¬ 
eral store and Coldwell’s; the Minne-wa-wa Club, which was 
located in West Berlin on the property of Charles F. Harris (now 
that of Mrs. May H. Bowen); and the Shanondasee Club of 
South Berlin, the court of which was located on the property of 
Arthur Hastings. A great deal of interest was shown in their 
games and tournaments. One of the floats in the parade of the 
Centennial of 1912 consisted of a presentation of these three 
Berlin tennis clubs. Interest in the tournaments seemed to wane 
about 1917 when several of the members volunteered in the 
service of World War I. Many may recall some of the members, 
among whom was: Frances Rice, Ernest Ross, Lucinda Hart¬ 
shorn, Ralph Hartshorn, Maude Barter, E. Guy Sawyer, George 
Sawyer, Hermon Sawyer, Rev. Philip A. Goold, Sidney Wheeler, 


206 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Emily C. Wheeler, Harold Hubbard, Pauline Felton, Charles F. 
Harris, Ruea E. Carter, Gertrude M. Felton, Florence Wilder, 
Ralph Turnbull, Carl Marble, Ralph Marble, Bertha Felton, 
Marjorie Sawyer, Florence Hastings. 

Several of the devotees continued to play tennis on private 
courts. One was located at the Willis Rice residence on Walnut 
Street. Another at the Center was at Lucinda Hartshorn’s. The 
court at Sidney Wheeler’s in South Berlin was used for a number 
of years. 

A few of the youth of the next generation thought that they 
would like to have a tennis court and so it was undertaken as a 
community project. Danford Tyler donated a plot of land back 
of the Library and the Town voted $100 in 1930, and $200 in 
1931 “to construct a tennis court on the lot adjoining the Library.” 
Then it was decided that this would make a good W.P.A. proj¬ 
ect, so a committee (L. D. Carter, Frances Rice, and Lucinda 
Hartshorn) was appointed to supervise the project. After grad¬ 
ing, surfacing with loam, and fencing the court, it proved to be 
unsatisfactory to the amateur players. Then volunteers spent 
some time and labor in establishing a cinder court, but this was 
never used, and since the fence has been removed it is desired 
that the plot may be converted into a lawn. 


Roller Skating 

Roller skating was the vogue around the years of 1914 to 1916. 
Waldo L. Wheeler of Summer Road had constructed a large 
(20 x 100 ft.) henhouse. In order to promote the social life of the 
youth, under the pastorage of Rev. Herman Frederick Lion, he 
permitted the use of the second floor for a skating rink. A host 
of the young people enjoyed the frolicking times they had at the 
rink. The newly constructed cement sidewalks along two sides 
of the common at the Center furnished a good place for prac¬ 
ticing on the roller skates. 


Baseball 

Baseball is a sport that fascinated the young men of Berlin 
through successive generations. Back in the early 1890’s, when 


SOCIAL INTERESTS 


207 


young Perry H. White was publishing the Berlin News , he spread 
upon his sheet some interesting data on baseball games. There 
was the Berlin News Club, and under the caption “The Berlins 
Defeat the Hudsons,” in the issue of June 11, 1890, he says: “In 
the game between the Hudsons and Berlins last Saturday the 
Berlins came out one ahead; the score being 8 to 7. The boys are 
beginning to show the out-of-towns that they can play ball. They 
are ready to play any nine whose players are not above 18 
years of age.” 

Again on July 9, 1890, we quote: “The Berlin News Club 
played the Hudsons last Friday defeating them, after a long 
game of 12 innings, in a score of 7 to 6. Both sides worked hard 
to beat, but at last the B.N. nine brought in the winning score.” 
“In the game with Northboro, our nine took it easy, while the 
Northboro boys worked hard but with no success. The score was 
24 to 2 in favor of the B.N. team.” 

During the period between 1910 and 1917 there were some local 
games during the ball seasons. After World War I, an Athletic 
Club was formed which played during the seasons between 1922 
and 1927. Some of the players were Chester Cole, Cecil Wheeler, 
Walter Sawtelle, Raymond Cole, Everett Bartlett, Ernest Coul- 
son, Ernest Parmenter, Herman Wheeler, and Waino H. Tervo. 
They were winners in many games and won the pennant in 1927. 

The Assabet Valley League was organized and functioned be¬ 
tween the years of 1929 to 1933. This was a six-team league, con¬ 
sisting of teams from Marlboro, Northboro, Jefferson, Sterling, 
West Boylston, and Berlin. The Berlin team was sponsored by 
the American Legion and suits were furnished by several mer¬ 
cantile concerns which displayed their goods. Several of the 
players were from the former Athletic Club, but several new men 
took up the bat. Among these were Glendon H. Blenkhorn, Harry 
Featherstone, Lawrence (Ace) Cotter, and Burton K. Wheeler. 

Another Assabet Valley League was formed (1947-1948) 
which was an eight-team league. This incorporated teams of 
Clinton, Cordaville, Fayville, Southboro, Northboro, Boylston, 
West Boylston, and Berlin. 

After a lull of several years in baseball activities, new interest 
has been revived. In 1956, the Little League was organized con¬ 
sisting of four teams. These are from four sections of the Town: 


208 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


North, Center, West and East. For the season of 1957 a full 
schedule was announced covering games from June 23 to August 
15. All games were played on the Community Playgrounds at the 
Memorial School starting at 6:15 p.m. The age of the players 
range from eight to twelve. The anticipation is that in the near 
future they will cross bats with neighboring Little League teams. 


Basketball 

Ever since the construction of Parish Hall in 1926, the playing 
of basketball has claimed its principal utility. The Berlin Town 
Team was formed in 1927 and continued to function during the 
seasons, including 1930. The original lineup was:— 

(Chet) Chester Cole, guard 

(Kip ) Clifton Brewer, guard 

(Puf ) Stanwood Puffer, center 

(Jeff ) Ernest Parmenter, forward 

(Burt) Burton Wheeler, forward 

They practiced on Monday nights and played other teams on 
two other nights of the week. Competing games were played with 
Hudson, Maynard, Marlboro, Clinton, Boylston, Sterling, Leom¬ 
inster, Fitchburg, and Princeton, the Berlin team winning its 
share of the games. 

Following these years the Parish Hall was in demand for 
games under the sponsorship of the American Legion. Some of 
the promoters of these games were William E. McNamara, 
Vaughn E. Stone, Arthur E. Chapdelaine, Warren G. Field, 
Everett E. Bartlett, and Robert B. Coldwell. 

In recent years there have been girls’ basketball, school basket¬ 
ball, women’s basketball, senior boys’ basketball, and men’s bas¬ 
ketball games, so that a Parish Hall Committee was assigned to 
provide a schedule timetable for these various games. A cross- 
section of the schedule for Parish Hall during the season (Jan.- 
Apr.) of 1956 reads as follows: 

Mon. 3-5 p.m. School basketball 
Tues. 3-5 p.m. School basketball 
Tues. 7 p.m. Women's basketball 
Wed. 7 p.m. Senior Boys' basketball 
Sat. 2 p.m. Girls’ basketball 


SOCIAL INTERESTS 


209 


Fencing 

Fencing is another sport that is conducted in the Parish Hall. 
During the season (Jan.-Mar.) of 1956, a class in fencing for girls 
was directed by Miss Marchant on Wednesday at 3:45 p.m.; and 
a similar class for the boys was supervised by Warren G. Field on 
Saturday at 10:00 a.m. 

The Parish Hall Activities Committee has supervision over the 
activities held in the Parish Hall. The committee has purchased 
a record player to be used at the Parish Hall dances. (Record 
of Dec. 1957) 


Volley Ball 

Interest in volleyball was a new adventure of Parish Hall that 
was introduced in 1957. The Parish Hall Association was formed 
with Warren G. Field as Director. Games were played on Thurs¬ 
day evening. 


Clinton Fish and Game Protective Association 

The grounds of the Clinton Fish & Game Protective Associa¬ 
tion are located off Lancaster Road (in Berlin) on land of the 
former Edward L. Collins farm. The purchase was made in the 
year 1943 and their equipment was transferred from the former 
Bolton location. Their property embraces ten acres of rustic en¬ 
vironment, adapted to the maintenance of wildlife. There is a 
club house upon the grounds and recently a shooting gallery has 
been installed in the basement. 

Their chief project is to procure and stock the streams and 
brooks (especially of Berlin) with brook trout and rainbows. An¬ 
other project is the raising and distribution of pheasants, part¬ 
ridges, and woodcocks over the forested section of the territory. 

The following licenses were issued to Berlin citizens during 
the year 1956: 87 fishing licenses, 74 hunting licenses, 50 sport¬ 
ing licenses, 22 minor fishing licenses, 11 female fishing licenses 
and 1 trapping license. 


210 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Wataquadock Fox Club 

The Wataquadock Fox Club has a clubhouse on Peach Hill 
Road on the property and near the residence of the late Albert A. 
Jacobs. From these headquarters the fox-chasers release their 
hounds in the early dawn to bay down the sly prowler. It is great 
sport for the fox-men, but a headache for the neighbors who wish 
to sleep during those early hours. 


Public Playground Commission 

Since the year 1950 there has been a Playground Commis¬ 
sioner appointed annually. The Commission has been increased 
to a committee of three. Their duty was to condition the Sawyer 
Field for a suitable playground and arrange for a summer pro¬ 
gram. Annual appropriations have been made for this purpose. 
Besides being used as the school playgrounds, it is the local 
athletic field. During the summer of 1955 a four weeks program 
was conducted under the direction of two paid instructors. 


Pinecrest Country Club 

Berlin also sports a golf course. In the year 1952 the three 
Martineit brothers (Adolph, Edward, and Walter) began con¬ 
verting their ninety-four acres of farm land into a country club. 
By the summer of 1957 they had constructed the clubhouse and 
developed the greens for a nine-hole golf finks so that the players 
could begin their practice. 

These commodious grounds, with abundance of natural re¬ 
sources (brooks, ponds, rocks, groves, hills, and valleys) were 
named Pinecrest Country Club, with an entrance to the grounds 
from Carr Road. Players and members of the club hail from 
neighboring towns of Clinton and Hudson, and from cities of 
Fitchburg, Marlboro and Worcester, in addition to residents of 
Berlin. 



TOWN HALL 

















Mil*!: ;! s p; 

$ , * ikhkkkkkhM M, 
■i (!?.»i!iliii!Mhii h!iiiM 

iMt 


■■■* ' t * * -? Tx > ■■>. 

>-s ¥ 

SJ 


i 1 








BBS 


;* 

' ' ■? 
: s 'Mm 
' rmm 

Y. : ; 


' v, xMs& 

w 


'*M 


, 


in 


i 


i y 








■ 


PUBLIC LIBRARY 






























MEMORIAL SCHOOL 

























FIRST PARISH CHURCH 













CHILDREN S CHURCH 















SAINT JOSEPHS MISSION 







































TOWN BARN 


















ABOVE: POLICE DEPARTMENT 
BELOW: FIRE DEPARTMENT 






CHAPTER IX 


GENEALOGY 


ALLEN 

Charles H. Allen, s. John A. and Mary A. (Richardson) Allen 
of Salem, b. Reading, May 9, 1852, d. Nov. 23, 1927; m. Harriet 
B. Pratt, dau. of Stillman M. Pratt, May 9, 1876. She b. Reading, 
Oct. 2, 1854, d. Dec. 24, 1935. Came to Berlin in 1893 and located 
on “1790 Farm” on River Rd. Had: 

Florence B., b. Nov. 12, 1880, m. Ernest O. Wheeler, Feb. 12, 
1904. 

Henry M., b. Oct. 26, 1883, d. May 27, 1893. 

Arthur Pratt , b. Oct. 5, 1889, m. Annie F. Simoneau, June 27, 
1912. 

Walter /., b. Oct. 19, 1891, d. Dec. 20, 1945, m. Ruth I. 
Munyon. 

Charlotte , b. Jan. 8, 1894, m. Lee E. Ellis, June 7, 1921, res. 
Menlo Park, Calif. Dau. Jane, b. Washington, D.C., Sept. 8, 
1924. She m. Pete H. Kafity; have two children, Charlotte and 
William, res. San Diego, Calif. 

Arthur Pratt Allen, s. Charles H.; m. Annie F. Simoneau, 
June 27, 1912, res. Norwood, Mass. She d. Nov. 15, 1942. They 
had: 

Priscilla , b. May 19, 1916, m. John Haskell Colby, Sept. 17, 
1938. 

Arthur Pratt , Jr., b. April 29, 1922. 

2m. Marian Brennan, Jan., 1945. 

Walter J. Allen, s. Charles H. and Harriet B. (Pratt) Allen m. 
Ruth I. Munyon, dau. Arthur T. and Alice (Hume) Munyon, 
Aug. 31, 1915. They had: 


211 




212 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


John Chester, b. in Cuba, May 22, 1916, m. Vera Louise 
Hooper, Oct. 9, 1948, res. Franklin, Mass. 

Mortimer Charles, b. in Milford, July 6, 1917, res. Franklin, 
Mass. 

Ronald Arthur, b. Berlin, July 21, 1922, m. Sylvia (Hall) Burns 
of Worcester, July 11, 1942. 

Florence Irene, b. May 30, 1924, m. Leroy H. LaPlante, May 
18, 1947, res. Auburn, Mass. Had: 

Carol Ann, b. June 27, 1948. 

Linda Jean, b. Dec. 11, 1949. 

Allen Roy, b. Nov. 25, 1955. 

Marion Ruth, b. July 4, 1927, m. Leonard G. Penniman, May 
11, 1946. Had: 

Barbara Allen, b. Aug. 20, 1947. 

2m. Wallace Hickey, Oct. 4, 1953. Had: 

Brian Hickey, b. Mar. 25, 1954. 

Bruce, b. June 7, 1955. Res. So. Acton, Mass. 

Ronald Arthur Allen, s. Walter J. and Ruth I. (Munyon) 
Allen; m. Sylvia (Hall) Burns of Worcester, July 11, 1942. 

2m. Phyllis M. (Felix) Thorpe of Brattleboro, Vt. She d. May 
10, 1953. Had: 

Dorothy Jean, b. Peterboro, N.H. Sept. 7, 1947. 

Donna Lee, b. Berlin, Dec. 12, 1950. 

Ronald Arthur, Jr. b. Berlin Aug. 16, 1952. 

3m. Lauretta Hines of Hamden, Conn., July 3, 1955. Had: 

Jeffery Anthony, b. Worcester Nov. 16, 1956. 

Other children: 

William Thorpe. 

Patricia Thorpe, b. Apr. 29, 1943, Marlboro. 

Donald Thorpe, b. Feb. 22, 1946, Marlboro. 

Elmer E. Allen, s. Nathan M. and Louisa (Babcock) Allen, b. 
Feb. 6, 1862, d. Sept. 27, 1937; m. Mary S. Barnes, dau. Mellen 
and Eliza (McNeil) Barnes of Boylston, June 29, 1892. She d. 
Dec. 30, 1917. They had: 

Bertha T. Allen, m. Alexander S. Robertson, Dec. 24, 1906. 
Walter M., b. July 12, 1893, m. Dorothy Pierce. 

Ellen L., b. Dec. 10, 1895, m. Lemuel D. Carter. 

Nettie D., b. Dec. 30, 1901, m. Archie G. Taylor. 


GENEALOGY 


213 


Walter M. Allen, s. Elmer E.; m. Dorothy Pierce, dau. Arthur 
Franklin and Mary (Cartwright) Pierce, June 10,1916. They had: 
Ethel Mary, b. Sept. 29, 1918, m. Harold A. Burnham, Mar. 11, 
1938. Res. Holden, Mass. 

ALLSOBROOKS 

Arthur William Allsobrooks, s. John and Emma (Shipton) 
Allsobrooks, b. Philadelphia, Nov. 17, 1876, d. Oct. 19, 1952; 
came to Berlin in 1916, located on Dudley Rd.; m. Ella Maria 
Henderson of Fitchburg. Had: 

Maria Matilda, b. Feb. 10, 1905, m. Earle M. Wheeler, Feb. 26, 
1923. She d. Mar. 23, 1924. 

Martha Harriet, b. Apr. 7, 1907, m. Richard Arthur Hanley, 
Oct. 29, 1927. She d. Mar. 14, 1938. 

2m. Edith May Dill of Hudson, Feb. 11, 1911, b. in Nova Scotia, 
Nov. 25, 1899. Had: 

Arthur Henry, b. Dec. 19, 1911, m. Emma Rowena Wetherell. 
May Rosella, b. Jan. 31, 1913, d. Apr. 7, 1915. 

Walter Kenneth, b. June 21, 1915, m. Elizabeth Ann Rodolff. 
Marjorie Ella, b. July 5, 1917, d. Apr. 15, 1926. 

George Albert, b. Feb. 9, 1920, d. Mar. 25, 1926. 

Cecil David, b. Jan. 9, 1922, m. Audrey Mary Labelle. 

Freelove Sophia, b. Feb. 20, 1924, m. Robert Martin Crouch of 
Hudson, July 4, 1943. Had: 

April Ann, b. Apr. 1, 1944. 

Arthur Henry Allsobrooks, s. Arthur W. and Edith (Dill) 
Allsobrooks; m. Emma Rowena Wetherell, Apr. 18, 1935. 

2m. Evelyn May Mosher of Hudson, Mar. 27, 1946. Had: 

Frances May, b. Feb. 18, 1947. 

Arthur Henry, Jr., b. Apr. 8, 1948. 

Walter David, b. Mar. 29, 1949. 

Edith Mary, b. Sept. 7, 1950. 

Jane Elaine, b. June 29, 1953. 

Walter Kenneth Allsobrooks, s. Arthur W. and Edith M. 
(Dill) Allsobrooks; m. Elizabeth Ann Rodolff, June 8, 1946. Had: 
Connie May, b. July 3, 1947. 

Allen James, b. Jan. 30, 1951. 


214 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Cecil David Allsobrooks, s. Arthur W. and Edith May (Dill) 
Allsobrooks; m. Audrey Mary Labelle of Northboro, June 28, 
1943. Res. Pleasant St. Had: 

Judith Ann, b. Apr. 14, 1944. 

Patricia Lillian, b. Feb. 5, 1946. 

Sharon Lee, b. Apr. 25, 1947. 

ANDREWS 

George E. Andrews, s. Samuel Elliot (d. Aug. 23, 1904) and 
Mary A. (Barnard) Andrews (d. Mar. 3, 1933); m. Susie L. 
Hartwell, dau. Daniel P. (d. Aug. 18, 1924) and Ellen M. 
(Wheeler) Hartwell (d. Feb. 12, 1915) on Aug. 5, 1894. Had: 
Kendall E., b. Jan. 22, 1903, d. Nov. 12, 1948, m. Jeanette C. 
Brewer. 

Mary Hartwell, b. Mar. 26, 1907, m. Edgar Albert Renaud Nov. 
8, 1931. 

Kendall E. Andrews, s. George E. (d. July 16, 1929) and Susie 
L. (Hartwell) Andrews (d. Apr. 11, 1943); m. Jeanette Cora 
Brewer, dau. Arthur L. and Cora (Wheeler) Brewer, Oct. 12, 
1922. Had: 

Faith, b. June 30, 1931, m. John William Linzee July 30, 1955. 
Had: 

Jill, b. May 21, 1956. 

John William, Jr., b. Oct. 8, 1958. 

James Elliott Andrews, s. George H. (d. June 14, 1916) and 
Adeliza J. (Howard) Andrews, dau. Rufus Howard (d. Mar. 9, 
1926). B. Sept. 12, 1865, d. May 7, 1954; m. Flora M. Babcock, 
dau. William T. and Harriet M. (Sawyer) Babcock, June 10, 
1885. She d. Nov. 21, 1892 Had: 

William Henry Andrews, b. Sept. 4, 1885, d. Feb. 23, 1903. 
2m. Nettie M. McFarland, dau. John L. and Lucinda M. (Fes¬ 
senden) McFarland of Gardner, June 24, 1896. She d. Jan. 1, 
1932. 

3m. Anne (Fiefield) Belledeu, dau. Avery F. and Elizabeth 
(Small) Fiefield of Melrose, Dec. 12, 1934. She d. Mar. 15, 1940. 

Leon Newton Andrews, s. L. Preston and Marian (Onthank) 


GENEALOGY 215 

Andrews of Westboro, m. Norma Irene Wheeler, dau. Roland E. 
and Freda B. (Stone) Wheeler, July 1, 1950. Had: 

Wayne Leon, b. July 16, 1951. 

Leah Jean, b. Oct. 29, 1953. 

Mark Boyd, b. June 4, 1958. 

ARTHUR 

Paul Harrison Arthur, s. Henry Harrison and Dilley (Lewis) 
Arthur, b. Neodesha, Kan. June 24, 1894. In 1939 Mr. Arthur 
purchased the “1790 Farm” of River Rd. at the junction with 
Bridge Rd. over the Assabet. He m. Miriam Taylor Wilson, dau. 
George Grafton and Elizabeth (Rose) Wilson. She b. Provi¬ 
dence, R. I. Feb. 13, 1896. Children: 

Elizabeth Rose, b. New York City Dec. 5, 1921, m. Paul Mascal 
Aubry. 

Henry Harrison, b. New York City June 20, 1925, m. Margaret 
Ann Penning. 

The “1790 Farm” was sold to Theodore O. Brewster of Dedham 
in August, 1958. 

BABCOCK 

Levi Babcock, s. Josiah and Betsey (Bowman) Babcock, b. 
Mar. 28, 1839, d. Mar. 31, 1924. He m. Maria C. Felton, dau. 
Henry O. and Charlotte (Phelps) Felton, Jan. 31, 1869; she d. 
Aug. 14, 1885. Had: 

Ethel May, b. Apr. 11, 1877, m. Charles J. Tarbell Jan. 18, 1898, 
He d. July 17, 1954. She d. Dec. 31, 1958. 

Irving Levi, b. Jan. 24, 1882. 

2m. Addie L. Felton, dau. Henry O. and Charlotte (Phelps) 
Felton, June 27, 1888, d. Feb. 24, 1915. 

BALL 

Thomas Brigham Ball, s. Barnabas B. and Abigail Ball, b. 
Boylston, d. Berlin July 28, 1898, buried in Pleasant St. Cemetery. 
He m. Emma A. Hastings, dau. Reuben and Caroline Hastings, 
Aug. 25, 1861. She b. Apr. 17, 1840. 

The following note was received from his daughter, Mrs. Emma 
Ball Upham of Foxboro, Mass. (1950): “Thomas B. Ball, Civil 
War Veteran, served as one of President Lincoln's Body Guards 


216 HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 

until his death. Then he served as Mail Messenger at the White 
House. His wife (my mother) accompanied him in Washington, 
and did many good deeds for the Company.” 

BARNES 

George Henry Barnes, s. Daniel and Betsey Barnes, b. Dec. 
18, 1831, d. Nov. 10, 1919. He m. Eliza Ann Batchelder, dau. 
Simeon and Eliza Batchelder, on Apr. 28, 1859. She b. Upton, 
Sept. 19, 1832, d. Jan. 26, 1907. He built “Johnny Barnes” house, 
cor. Barnes Hill Rd. and Linden St. Had: 

Mary Imogene , b. Oct. 22, 1860, d. Dec. 10, 1874. 

John Henry , b. Apr. 20, 1864, m. Luella B. Ayers. 

Lucy Sophia , b. Nov. 18, 1865, m. Ellsworth C. Howe. 
George Daniel , b. Dec. 25, 1868, d. July 2, 1912. 

John Henry Barnes, s. George H. and Eliza A. (Batchelder) 
Barnes; m. Luella B. Ayers, dau. William H. and Fanny B. (Farr) 
Ayers of Clinton, Oct. 9, 1895. She b. Enosburg, Vt. Aug. 20, 
1875. He d. Mar. 29, 1924. Had: 

Hazel Marion , b. June 23, 1896, m. Bernard O. Wheeler. 

BARTER 

James Weston Barter, s. Thomas and Hannah (Gardner) 
Barter, b. St. George, Me. Aug. 30, 1858; m. Carrie L. Gleason, 
dau. Samuel and Martha (Temple) Gleason of Heath, Mass. 
Aug. 30, 1883. Came to Berlin in 1888, pastor of M. E. Church. 
She b. Mar. 15, 1860, d. June 5, 1922. He d. Apr. 24, 1936. Had: 
Maude A., b. Aug. 28, 1885, m. E. Guy Sawyer, Oct. 24, 1913. 
Lila May , b. May 5, 1890, d. Apr. 22, 1891. 

Clifford Herbert , b. Dec. 12, 1891, m. Ruth C. Manter Dec. 25, 

1916. 

Marion Smith , b. Sept. 11, 1893, m. Raymond W. Cole Aug. 2, 

1917. 

Clifford Herbert Barter, s. James W. and Carrie L. (Glea¬ 
son) Barter; m. Ruth Caroline Manter, dau. Alfred Elmer and 
Frances Maude (Hipson) Manter Dec. 25, 1916. She was b. in 
Whitman Aug. 19, 1892; her mother d. Plymouth May 21, 1958; 
bur. Pleasant St. Cemetery. Had: 


GENEALOGY 


217 


Carl Andrew, b. Sept. 15, 1918, m. Janet Gibbs Nov. 11, 1944. 
Alfred Weston, b. Sept. 27, 1920, d. Apr. 6, 1945. 

Bruce Manter, b. May 8, 1925, m. Constance Ziegler Sept. 17, 
1949. 

Paul Gleason, b. Aug. 9, 1927, m. Edith Schnebelen Oct. 12, 
1951. Res. Los Angeles, Calif. 

Carl Andrew Barter, s. Clifford H. and Ruth C. (Manter) 
Barter; m. Janet Gibbs, dau. Roy J. and Hester E. (Perkins) 
Gibbs Nov. 11, 1944. She b. Nov. 8, 1920, in Manchester, N. H. 
Had: 

Alfred Weston Barter, b. Aug. 5, 1945. 

Thomas Johnson, b. Dec. 2, 1947. 

Terence Gibbs, b. Dec. 2, 1947. 

BARTLETT 

Everett Edward Bartlett, s. Edward Ashley and Lily (Eat¬ 
on) Bartlett of Shrewsbury, b. Aug. 21, 1896; m. Mildred A. 
Field, dau. Charles M. and Carrie (Goodwin) Field Oct. 19, 
1918. Had: 

Thomas Rodney, b. May 15, 1919, d. Sept. 4, 1943, m. Betty L. 
Rodda May 23, 1942. Had: 

Thomas Rodney Bartlett, Jr. b. Sept. 26, 1943, Springfield. 
Everett Edward, Jr., b. Nov. 14, 1920, m. Marguerite Myrtle 
Flood, Hudson. 

Phillip Warren, b. June 1, 1929, m. Ida Jane Nowlan. 

Everett Edward Bartlett, Jr., s. Everett E. and Mildred A. 
(Field) Bartlett; m. Marguerite Myrtle Flood of Hudson Aug. 3, 
1945. Had: 

Bruce Arden, b. Feb. 15, 1947. 

Dennis Allan, b. Dec. 12, 1948. 

Nancy Lee, b. Mar. 18, 1951. 

Sue Linda, b. May 27, 1954. 

Phillip Warren Bartlett, s. Everett E. and Mildred A. 
(Field) Bartlett; m. Ida Jane Nowlan of Fairfield, Conn. Feb. 3, 
1951. Had: 

Rodney Allen, b. June 2, 1952. 

Debra Ann, b. Nov. 13, 1953. 

Karen Ashley, b. June 17, 1956. 


218 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


BASSETT 

Daniel Bassett came to Berlin with his wife, Susanna (Hark- 
ness) Bassett in 1856 and lived with their son, Elisha Bassett, on 
the Danford B. Tyler farm of River Road. He d. Berlin Sept. 18, 
1861, she d. Berlin Feb. 8, 1862. 

Elisha E. Bassett, s. Daniel and Susanna (Harkness) Bassett, 
b. Richmond, N. H. Mar. 11, 1811, d. Berlin Feb. 18, 1904; m. 
Olive B. Steward in 1843, she d. Mar. 18, 1845. Had: 

Olive S., b. Mar. 7, 1845, d. July 15, 1904. 

2m. Mrs. Maria L. (Whitcomb) Howland Nov. 27, 1847, she d. 
May 25, 1909. Had: 

Daniel H., b. July 9, 1849, d. Jan. 19, 1886, m. Susan E. Morse 
May 1, 1883. 

Pliny E., b. July 9, 1849, res. Brockton, m. Helen Morse. 
Anna S., b. June 28, 1856, d. Jan. 14, 1941, m. James D. Tyler. 

Daniel H. Bassett, s. Elisha and Maria L. Bassett; m. Susan 
E. Morse, dau. Winslow B. Morse, May 1, 1883. She b. Aug. 31, 
1859, d. July 29, 1931. Had: 

Eugenia L., b. Dec. 12, 1883, d. June 20, 1953. 

Fred Elisha , b. April 9, 1885, m. Myrtle Hildreth of Worcester. 

William Bassett, s. Daniel and Susanna (Harkness) Bassett, 
b. Richmond, N. H. Oct. 5, 1819, d. Berlin Nov. 26, 1896; m. 
Patience Tyler, dau. Moses Tyler (d. Oct. 8, 1847) and Abigail 
Tyler (d. Oct. 15, 1876), Dec. 13, 1846. She d. June 13, 1880. 
They settled on the “Joseph Parks” place (better known as the 
John Bernardson home of South St., So. Berlin) in 1857. In 1891 
they moved into the residence of their granddaughter, Mrs. 
Percy R. Coldwell on Central St., Had: 

Mary A., b. July 21, 1848, d. May 17, 1917. 

Laura E., b. Sept. 11, 1850, d. Nov. 10, 1852. 

Julia Ida , b. Oct. 26, 1854, d. Feb. 22, 1939, m. Charles M. 
Sawyer. 

Florence M., b. Apr. 1, 1858, d. Jan. 20, 1940, m. Edward F. 

Fletcher July 31, 1897, he d. Dec. 18, 1943. 

Helen E. y b. Feb. 17, 1860, d. Dec. 16, 1894, m. Edward F. 
Fletcher Jan. 11, 1887. 


GENEALOGY 


219 


BAUM 

John E. Baum, s. Cecil E. and Hannah (Lewis) Baum, b. 
Chelsea, Mass. Apr. 6, 1910; m. Ethelyn A. Rand, dau. Frederick 
T. and Katie (Stoodard) Rand Sept. 11, 1938. She b. Springfield 
Feb. 22, 1913. Had: 

John Rand , b. Needham, May 26, 1943. 

Frederick Raymond , b. Berlin Apr. 14, 1947. 

Raymond C. Baum, s. Cecil E. and Hannah (Lewis) Baum, b. 
Boston June 19, 1919, m. Ruea Nancy Wheeler, dau. Amos C. 
and Ethel M. (Jones) Wheeler Oct. 10, 1947, Had: 

Duncan Russell, b. April 24, 1949. 

Donald Raymond, b. Dec. 16, 1952. 

BEDARD 

Leon Eugene Bedard, m. Rhoda Mae Stone, dau. Jenness E. 
and Ethelena J. (Westover) Stone, Jan. 23, 1943. Had: 

Sandra Jane, b. Apr. 26, 1944. 

Leon Stone , b. Apr. 10, 1948. 

Ethelinda Jeanette, b. Aug. 11, 1949. 

Wendy Renae, b. May 31, 1951. 

Edmond Joseph, b. Dec. 19, 1958. 

BELLAROSA 

Andrew Bellarosa, s. Markey and Jessie (Nutsa) Bellarosa, 
b. Italy. Came to Berlin 1923, settled on Allen Rd.; m. Mary E. 
Minnicutch, wid. of Constantine Minnicutch 1920. She d. Feb. 
24, 1939. Had: 

Dona Edward (Minnicutch), b. Sept. 26, 1909, m. Mary 
Hanney. 

Elizabeth (Minnicutch), b. Oct. 4, 1911, m. Henry Anton 
Dilling. 

James (Minnicutch), b. Feb. 15, 1913, m. Florence M. Bassett. 
Markey Bellarosa, b. Clinton July 1921. 

2m. Ida (Guemieri) Parisi Oct. 30, 1939. 

3m. Alice M. (Allen) Hanscom July 31, 1947. 

Dona Edward Bellarosa, s. Andrew Bellarosa and Mary E. 
Minnicutch, m. Marguerite Mary Henney, dau. Michael and 


220 HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 

Margaret (Butler) Hanney Sept. 26, 1934. She b. Clinton Apr. 17, 
1913. Had: 

Mary Elaine , b. Oct. 5, 1935, m. Herbert M. Surette Sept. 27, 
1959. 

James Michael , b. July 19, 1939. 

Donald Raymond , b. July 13, 1943. 

Karen Elizabeth , b. Sept. 25, 1945. 

Diane Marie , b. Jan. 1, 1948. 

James Bellarosa, s. Andrew Bellarosa and Mary E. Minni- 
cutch, m. Florence Mae Bassett, dau. Edward D. and Mary 
Frances (Martin) Bassett Feb. 12, 1949. Had: 

Gail Elizabeth , b. Jan. 12, 1950. 

John David , b. May 27, 1958. 

BENT 

Charles Luman Bent m. Betty Marie Wheeler, dau. Emerson 
W. and Ethel (Ross) Wheeler, June 6, 1953. Had: 

Dale William , b. May 21, 1954. 

Cynthia Ann , b. May 11, 1955. 

Wayne David , Sept. 7, 1956. 

Brenda Jean , Dec. 27, 1957. 

BERNARDSON 

John Bernardson, s. Bernhard Johannesen and Frederica 
Gunnerson, b. Norway Mar. 23, 1876. Came to Berlin in 1924, 
located on Parks Farm of South St. (Poultry Farm). He d. Apr. 
6, 1949; m. Jessie A. Smith of Gloucester, dau. of David E. and 
Mary (Fraser) Smith, June 17, 1905. She b. Oct. 18, 1873, d. 
Nov. 6, 1953. Had: 

Annie Natalie , b. Mar. 26, 1907, m. Alfred S. Wheeler. 

Helen Maude , b. Oct. 21, 1917, m. George Alvin Estabrook. 

BERRY 

Thomas C. Berry, s. Thomas and Sarah Berry, b. Poland, Me. 
Aug. 12, 1834, d. Berlin Apr. 1, 1919; m. Alvina Sabra Wheeler, 
dau. William W. and Sabra (Wheeler) Wheeler, May 16, 1860. 
She b. Berlin Oct. 29, 1839, d. July 25, 1911. Mr. Berry came to 
Berlin about 1852. After marriage settled on the John Wheeler 


GENEALOGY 


221 


place; house built about 1829, located on Highland St.; now 
(1957) occupied by Frederick R. Wheeler. Had: 

Lelia ( Addie) Ada , b. Jan. 16, 1861, d. Dec. 12,1940. 

Lulu Ann , b. Jan. 16, 1861, d. Jan. 17, 1861. 

Lester Eliphas, b. Jan. 15, 1863, d. Feb. 22, 1946. 

Adelia L., b. Dec. 1, 1870, m. Herbert L. Wheeler. 

Cora A., b. July 7, 1879. 

BETTS 

Henry Melburn Betts, s. Henderson and Emily B. (Betts) 
Betts, b. Middleboro, Nova Scotia June 26, 1864, d. Berlin Mar. 
10, 1949; m. Alice Louise Guertin, dau. Theodore and Clara 
Estelle (Sawyer) Guertin, Sept. 1, 1889. She b. Berlin Oct. 7, 
1868, d. Apr. 29, 1941. Her father d. Oct. 8, 1912, her mother d. 
Feb. 25, 1919. Had: 

Rena E., b. Hudson July 12, 1890, d. Worcester Dec. 9, 1915. 
Reneldo Henderson , b. Berlin Feb. 2, 1892. 

Clara B ., b. Leominster Sept. 3, 1893, m. Hector Alfred Liberty. 
Theodore A., b. Sterling, Feb. 2, 1896, res. Berlin. 

Anna P., b. Sterling, Feb. 1, 1900, res. Berlin. 

Edgerton A., b. Lancaster Oct. 25, 1902. 

Milburn R., b. Berlin Jan. 5, 1904, d. Mar. 16, 1904. 

Bessie B., b. Marlboro Nov. 29, 1906, m. Miller Nelson Boucher, 
Worcester. 

Eloi D. y b. Worcester Apr. 13, 1927, d. Berlin May 22, 1947. 

BID WELL 

Norman Edward Bidwell, m. Marcelle Brewer, dau. Leon A. 
and Florence B. (Roys) Brewer, Mar. 10, 1946. Had: 

Caroline Amanda, b. Nov. 9, 1950. 

Norman John, b. Apr. 11, 1952. 

Susan Melinda, b. Dec. 19, 1955. 

BLANCHETTE 

George Edward Blanchette, m. Enid Evelyn Blenkhorn, dau. 
Charles B. and Lydia May Blenkhorn, 1944. Had: 

Betty Jane, b. Dec. 24, 1944. 

Gail Ann, b. Nov. 12, 1945. 


222 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


BLENKHORN 

Charles Blanchard Blenkhorn, s. Isaac and Catherine 
(Lovely) Blenkhorn, b. Nova Scotia May 2, 1881; m. Lydia May 
Blenkhorn, dau. William and Rebecca (Sanford) Blenkhorn, 
Mar. 1, 1905. She b. Nova Scotia Oct. 14, 1881. Family came to 
Berlin from Hudson in 1939. Had: 

Robert Freeman, b. Oct. 1, 1906, m. Florence B. Richardson. 

Leila May, b. July 1, 1909, m. Lawrence Cotter. 

Harold Russell, b. Jan. 11, 1912, m. Myrtle Rogers. 

Laura Pearl, b. May 24, 1916, m. Milton Wilson. 

Glendon H b. May 16, 1920, m. Matilda T. Polich 

Enid Evelyn, b. May 7, 1922, m. George Edward Blanchette. 

Glendon H. Blenkhorn, s. Charles B. and Lydia May Blenk¬ 
horn; m. Matilda T. Polich July 12, 1946. Had: 

Wayne Charles, b. June 9, 1947. 

George Burton, b. Mar. 27, 1949. 

Ronald Glenn, b. Oct. 27, 1950. 

Harold Russell Blenkhorn, s. Charles B. and Lydia May 
Blenkhorn; m. Myrtle Gladys Rogers, dau. Walter Francis and 
Anna Bates (Ferguson) Rogers, Nov. 28, 1935. She b. Feb. 27, 
1917; her mother d. Feb. 8, 1934. Had: 

Beverly Ann, b. Apr. 19, 1939. 

Walter Russell, b. May 10, 1943. 

Harold, b. 1946. 

Helen, b. 1953. 

Debra Ellyn, b. Nov. 7, 1957. 

BLISS 

Boswell Bliss. The first of this fine to settle in Berlin lived 
on Highland St. where Samuel W. Stammers now (1958) fives. 
The ancestral fine traces back to Thomas Bliss of England through 
his s. John Bliss, b. Hartford, Conn. 1640; s. Ebenezer Bliss, b. 
Longmeadow, Mass. 1683; s. Stephen Bliss, b. Wilbraham, Mass. 
1732; s. Gideon Bliss, b. Wilbraham, Mass. 1766. 

Said Boswell Bliss, s. Gideon and Mary (Woodworth) Bliss, 
b. Monson, Mass. Mar. 15, 1791, d. Berlin Apr. 30,1869; m. Lydia 



GENEALOGY 


223 


Chase, dau. Jacob and Matilda Chase, Sept. 27, 1815. She b. June 
9, 1795, d. Berlin Jan. 15, 1872, bur. Bolton. 

Edward Flint Bliss, s. Boswell and Lydia Bliss, b. Berlin 
July 4, 1821; m. Susan H. Evarts Jan. 4, 1847; she b. June 12, 
1826. 

Sebertrum E. Bliss, s. Edward F. and Susan (Evarts) Bliss, b. 
South Hadley Falls, Mass. June 15, 1848; m. Fanny Jane Little 
Sept. 1, 1869, she b. May 13, 1850. 

Dr. Jesse L. Bliss, s. Sebertrum E. and Fanny J. (Little) Bliss, 
b. So. Hadley Falls, Mass. Sept. 6, 1870; m. Ruth Hillick, 
Thompsonville, Conn. Feb. 26, 1898. She b. Aug. 4, 1866. 

SusAlN Elaine Bliss, dau. Dr. Jesse L. and Fanny (Little) 
Bliss, b. Holyoke, Mass. Nov. 30, 1907; m. Alvin L. Gewinner in 
Nassau, N. Y. Aug. 21, 1932. He b. Holyoke, Mass. Feb. 2, 1903. 
Res. (1958) Amsterdam, N. Y. 

Henry Harrison Bliss, s. Gideon and Mary (Woodworth) 
Bliss; m. Lucy M., dau. of Amory Sawyer, Sept. 27, 1840. He was 
a brother of Boswell Bliss. 

Charles Henry Bliss, s. Henry Harrison and Lucy M. (Saw¬ 
yer) Bliss, b. Berlin Aug. 16, 1841, d. Oct. 30, 1903; m. Martha 
Augusta Staples, dau. of William Ingraham and Sarah Ann 
(Knight) Staples, Sept. 28, 1860. She b. Mar. 30, 1843, d. Nor¬ 
wich, Conn. Aug. 17, 1925. Had: 

Lucy E., b. Mar. 14, 1861, m. Frank E. Gammon, res. Fal¬ 
mouth, Me. 

Mary Grace, b. Jan. 4, 1863, m. Arthur F. Sawyer. 

Maud Ethel, b. Apr. 2, 1871, m. Frederick Grant Bliss, res. 
Norwich, Conn. 

Helen Agnes, b. July 19, 1875, d. May 18, 1952, m. Dr. Clifton 
R. Chamberlain of Marlboro. He d. Jan. 26, 1940. 

Helena Augusta, b. July 19, 1875, m. Lawrence L. Winde, res. 
Winchester. 

2m. Clifton Walcott, res. Barre. 

The Charles H. Bliss homestead was on Pleasant St., now (1958) 
occupied by Lewis R. Paine. It was built by Rev. David R. 


224 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Lampson (1834) and later owned by Henry H. Bliss (1848) and 
heirs. 

Charles H. Bliss, s. Henry E. and Fransinia (Montgomery) 
Bliss, b. Lancaster, Sept. 25, 1877, died Berlin Jan. 15, 1959; m. 
Etta Estel Wood, dau. Levi P. and Minniva E. (Parker) Wood, 
June 20, 1908. She b. Lancaster Nov. 20, 1872, d. Berlin July 21, 
1948. Came to Berlin June 29, 1923, settled on the 120 acre 
“Bruce-Carr” place of West St. The same was sold to Linwood F. 
Hart in 1949. 


BOSSELMAN 

John William Bosselman, s. Henry and Mary (Saddler) 
Bosselman, b. Boston Oct. 21, 1871, d. Apr. 21, 1932; m. Florence 
M. Matheson, dau. Malcolm and Florence (McCloud) Matheson, 
Mar. 1, 1901. She b. Breadalbane, Prince Edward Island Nov. 27, 
1881. Came to Berlin in 1924. Had: 

Harry Malcolm, b. Boston Aug. 9, 1906, d. Nov. 8, 1944, m. 
Phyllis L. Trecartin. 

John William, Jr. b. Dedham Apr. 27, 1910, m. Eleanor M. 
Sawyer. 

Harry Malcolm Bosselman, s. John William and Florence 

M. (Matheson) Bosselman; m. Phyllis L. Trecartin, dau. Thomas 
and Mary (Stevens) Trecartin, May 8, 1932. She b. St. Johns, 

N. B. Oct. 26, 1908. Harry d. in service. Had: 

John Edward, b. Jan. 1, 1933, m. Sabina J. Golas June 30, 1956. 

Had: Harry Malcolm, b. Westford, Feb. 3, 1958. 

Leslie Frances, b. Aug. 24, 1937. 

Linda Mary, b. Nov. 23, 1941. 

John William Bosselman, Jr., s. John William and Florence 
M. (Matheson) Bosselman; m. Eleanor Mae Sawyer, dau. Walter 
A. and Mary E. (Mahan) Sawyer Sept. 11, 1937. Res. Boylston 
Rd., built new house in 1944. Had: 

John William, 3rd, b. Oct. 24, 1938, m. Judith Abbott Ken¬ 
worthy May 23, 1957. Had: Ronald Paul. 

Dennis Paul, b. May 18, 1943. 

Cheryl Ann, b. Nov. 30, 1945. 

Richard W. Bosselman, s. Henry and Mary (Saddler) Bos- 


GENEALOGY 


225 


selman, b. Dorchester Jan. 27, 1887, d. July 14, 1956; m. Fannie 
Ann Seager Feb. 5, 1917. She b. Lowell, Nov. 30, 1887. Came to 
Berlin in 1924. 

Charles Waldo Bosselman, s. Henry and Mary (Saddler) 
Bosselman. Came to Berlin in 1924, built new house on West 
Street, now res. of Frederick G. Martin. He d. Jan. 18, 1946; m. 
Esther Marsh. Had: 

Fred Bosselman , m. Olive Lang Aug. 7, 1951, res. Florida. 

BOWEN 

Cyrus Archie Bowen, s. Cyrus Adolphus and Elizabeth 
Miriah (Smith) Bowen, b. Providence, R. I. May 19, 1883, d. 
Berlin Feb. 18, 1952; m. May Holland West of Whitinsville, Oct. 
3, 1908. She b. Washingtonville, O. May 5, 1885. Died in Berlin 
March 27,1959. They came to Berlin in 1924; took charge of West 
Berlin Post Office, conducted Store and poultry business. Had: 
Ruth May , b. Sept. 20, 1909, m. E. Carl Parmenter Apr. 15, 
1933. 

Olive Eloise , b. Mar. 20, 1911, m. Jerry Simon LaPorte Sept. 
2, 1939. 

Charles Thomas Moffett, brother-in-law of Mr. Bowen, re¬ 
sided with them, d. Berlin Nov. 15, 1950. 

BOWERS 

George Bowers, s. John and Sarah Ann (Barker) Bowers, b. 
Landbeach (Cambridgeshire) England, Feb. 24, 1868, d. Hud¬ 
son Dec. 23, 1937; m. Catherine Moore of Clinton May 30, 1904. 
She d. Hudson Feb. 22, 1937, age 72 yrs. 8 mos. He came to 
Berlin in 1900 and settled on the farm on Linden St., which was 
purchased by Arthur P. LaPorte in 1921. 

George W. Boyd (a foster son), s. William J. and Sarah 
(McMaster) Boyd, b. Oxford May 10, 1905, d. Hudson Oct. 18, 
1937; m. Lucy Stone. Had: 

Barbara A., b. Hudson. 

Claire A., b. Hudson. 

George W. Jr ., b. Hudson. 


226 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Emma Bowers, dau. John and Sarah Ann (Barker) Bowers, 
b. Landbeach (Cambridgeshire) England Feb. 28, 1876, d. Ber¬ 
lin Feb. 28, 1956. She was living with her nephew, Charles A. 
Fromant of Crosby Rd. 

BRADLEY 

Harry F arwell Bradley, s. John Thaddeus and Mary Eme- 
line (Farwell) Bradley, b. Somerville, May 20, 1893; m. Eva 
Gertrude Gardiner, dau. Edward Clifford and Annie Sophia 
(Wentzell) Gardiner, Aug. 24, 1925. She b. Feb. 8, 1900, Port 
Moulton, N. S. Had: 

Jean Eleanor , b. July 14, 1926, m. Robert H. Guild. 

John Edward , b. Nov. 11, 1927, m. Freda M. Freenan, July 2, 
1956. 

Helen Barbara , b. Sept. 18, 1929, m. Roger E. Wheeler. 

Roger Leonard , b. Sept. 11, 1933, m. Valary Jean Butler. 

Mary E. Bradley (Harry’s mother) 2m Albert L. Tarbell, Jan. 7, 
1910. 

Roger Leonard Bradley, s. Harry F. and Eva G. (Gardiner) 
Bradley; m. Valary Jean Butler June 2, 1956. Had: 

Roger Leonard , II, b. Dec. 3, 1956. 

Edward Butler , b. Dec. 22, 1957. 

Thomas Gardiner , b. Nov. 19, 1958. 

BREWER 

James Brewer of Sudbury; m. Deborah Moore (dau. Jacob 
Moore) about 1780 and lived on Highland Street, a little to the 
north and opposite the George R. Spofford house. The cellar 
hole is still visible. His son, John, b. here (Berlin) 1783; m. 
Dorcas Bruce (dau. John Bruce). Their son, Leonard (b. Boyls- 
ton) was the father of Leonard W. Brewer who settled on Central 
St. opposite Brewer Rd. in 1866. 

Leonard W. Brewer, s. of Leonard and Adaline Brewer of 
Boylston; m. Harriet J. Walker of Northboro Oct. 2, 1866. Came 
to Berlin (1866), located on Central St. opposite Brewer Rd. She 
d. Sept. 10, 1908. He d. Feb. 20, 1922. Had: 

Nellie F., b. Aug. 23, 1868, m. George E. Keizer. 


GENEALOGY 


227 


Mabel H., b. Dec. 18, 1869, m. Alfred Hapgood of Hudson, 
Dec. 31, 1890. 

Arthur L., b. Dec. 4, 1871, m. Cora E. Wheeler. 

Frank W., b. June 21, 1876, m. Etta J. (Westover) Booth. 
Alfred D., b. Sept. 6, 1878, m. Julia C. Walcott. 

Ruth E., b. June 15, 1883, m. William E. Speaker. 

Arthur L. Brewer, s. Leonard W. and Harriet J. (Walker) 
Brewer; m. Cora Emily Wheeler, dau. Samuel and Emily 
(Bruce) Wheeler, Dec. 4, 1891. She d. Apr. 22, 1929. He d. July 
6, 1938. Had: 

Leon Arthur, b. June 23, 1893, m. Florence B. Roys. 

Jeanette Cora, b. Aug. 13, 1902, m. Kendall E. Andrews. 
Harriet Helen, b. Feb. 19, 1910, m. Warren G. Field. 

Leon Arthur Brewer, s. Arthur L. and Cora E. (Wheeler) 
Brewer; m. Florence Belle Roys, dau. Frederick D. and Mary A. 
(Poland) Roys, Aug. 19, 1919. Had: 

Leonard Arthur, b. Sept. 22, 1920, d. Oct. 23, 1936. 

Marcelle, b. Jan. 2, 1924, m. Norman Edward Bidwell. 

Frank Walker Brewer, s. Leonard W. and Harriet J. (Walk¬ 
er) Brewer; m. Etta J. (Westover) Booth, wid of Walter Hender¬ 
son Booth. She d. July 26, 1915. Had: 

Frank Leonard, b. July 26, 1915, d. July 21, 1944. 

Pearl Jane Emily Booth, dau. Walter and Etta (Westover) 
Booth, b. Dec. 21, 1903, m. Sidney Francis Lloyd Feb. 19, 
1922. 

Paul Henderson Booth, s. Walter and Etta (Westover) Booth, 
b. June 29, 1906. 

2m. of Frank W. Brewer to Irene Eloise (Hunter) Long, Aug. 1, 
1925. 

Virginia Merle Matthews, a maternal granddaughter to Irene 
(Hunter) Long, m. Leon R. Turmaine of Lancaster Mar. 
3, 1940. 

Alfred Durston Brewer, s. Leonard W. and Harriet J. 
(Walker) Brewer; m. Julia C. Walcott, dau. Marshall and Clara 
Susan (Whitcomb) Walcott, Jan. 28, 1902. She b. Sept. 19, 1882. 
He d. Nov. 17, 1952. Had: 

Alfred Marshall, b. Aug. 6, 1902, d. Oct. 27, 1902. 


228 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Ruth Mabel , b. July 23, 1903, m. Leonard R. Mungeam. 

Clifton Walcott , b. Aug. 21, 1904, m. Helen L. Estabrook. 

Hazel Harriet , b. Sept. 8, 1905, m. Earle A. Wheeler. 

The house of Alfred D. Brewer was built by Samuel Jones, Jr., 
son of “Land’ord” Jones, around the year 1777. This was the year 
of his marriage to Martha Fay and they settled on part of his 
father’s farm. Martha (Fay) Jones died on Oct. 1, 1831 and the 
place was owned by Oliver Fosgate until 1875, when it was sold 
to Nahum W. Fay. He in turn sold it to his son-in-law, Willis 
Rice, in 1880. Mr. Rice owned it until 1905, when it was sold to 
Benjamin Wright. But the ownership soon reverted to Mr. Rice 
and remained in his possession until 1910, when it was sold to Mr. 
and Mrs. Alfred D. Brewer. In 1955, the property was sold to 
Edmund Hoffmann, who sold the house to Arthur P. Lange. 

Clifton Walcott Brewer, s. Alfred D. and Julia C. (Walcott) 
Brewer; m. Helen Louise Estabrook, dau. Herbert C. and Flor¬ 
ence L. (Wilder) Estabrook, May 28, 1930. She b. Jan. 15, 1912. 
Had: 

Corinne Helen , b. Mar. 6, 1931, m. Milton Arthur Landin Sept. 
6, 1953. 

Doris Arline, b. Nov. 2, 1932, m. Robert Eldon Clemmer, Dec. 
29, 1951. 

Shirley Ann , b. Sept. 13, 1934, m. Edward J. Lipka, July 4, 
1958. 

Alfred Walcott , b. April 5, 1937, m. Edith A. Nutting, May 3, 
1958. Dau. Cynthia Alisa born April 7, 1959. They have 
bought land on Highland St., in the locale of the original 
homestead of James Brewer, who settled there in 1780, with 
plans for building. 


BRIDGES 

Fay Louis Bridges, s. William W. and Anna Rebecca (Hay¬ 
wood) Bridges, b. Athens, Vt. June 4, 1885; m. Bertha C. Vaughn, 
dau. Clarence Elliott and Mary I. (Hamilton) Vaughn, Sept. 22, 
1917. Came to Berlin from Gardner in 1921 and located on the 
Clarence Spofford place of Derby Rd. Had: 

May Emilia , b. Athol May 4, 1918, m. Vaughn Edwin Stone 
April 18, 1941. Res. Worcester. Had: 


GENEALOGY 


229 


Judith May, b. Sept. 1, 1944. 

Marcia Lee, b. Oct. 11, 1946. 

Vaughn Edwin, Jr., b. Jan. 26, 1948. 

Ardelle Harriette, b. Mar. 18, 1925, m. Roger Francis Rice 
Nov. 7, 1946. Res. Worcester. Had: 

Roger Francis, Jr., b. June 16, 1947. 

Michael Edward, b. May 29, 1951. 

Dianne Marie, b. Aug. 13, 1955. 

Sheila Ann , b. Sept. 3, 1957. 

Ruth Alta , b. Mar. 20, 1930, m. Frederick R. Wheeler. 

BRODEUR, CARL A. 

See “Warbin, Winfield Ernest” 

BULLARD 

Ethelbert M. Bullard, s. Mason and Mary J. (Turner) Bul¬ 
lard, b. Knowlton, Que. July 13, 1879, d. Jan. 22, 1945; m. Laura 
E. Lund, dau. Lorenzo and Angelia (Cole) Lund, Dec. 26, 1900. 
She b. Newark, Vt. Mar. 6, 1882. He came to Berlin in 1908; was 
farm supervisor for: Levi Cooley, C. G. Shirmer (1911), Henry 
H. Harper (1916), and since 1922 for C. E. Cotting on the 
Chedco Farms, Inc. Mrs. E. M. Bullard res. Clinton, Mass. Had: 
Lawrence M., b. Dec. 30, 1910, m. Joyce Marguerite Hobert of 
New York City, Aug. 31, 1938. They had: 

Nancy H., b. June 8, 1942. 

Eleanor M., March 1, 1947. 

Lena Marion, b. Aug. 18, 1912, m. Roland Bachelder Plummer, 
s. Walter F. and Dora C. (Bachelder) Plummer, June 11, 
1933. He b. Newbury, Mass., Nov. 3, 1907. Herdsman at 
Chedco Farms, Inc. 


BURKE 

William Francis Burke, b. Boston, Mar. 31, 1856; m. Carrie 
Mable Wilkins, dau. Rufus and Abigail (Priest) Wilkins. She b. 
June 17, 1859, d. June 23, 1933. He d. Dec. 1 1938. They had: 
W. Ernest, b. Sept. 25, 1886. 

Frank A., b. 1888, res. Boston, m. Minnie Lendall. 

Harry C., b. Jan. 27, 1890, m. Mae F. Webb. 


230 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Lloyd L., b. May 2, 1896, m. Gladys Campbell, res. Providence. 

Anna M., b. Nov. 25, 1898. 

Doris M., b. Aug. 6, 1900, m. Arthur Clinton Wetherbee. 

Harry C. Burke, s. William F. and Carrie M. (Wilkins) 
Burke; m. Mae F. Webb, dau. William and Margaret (Fahyee) 
Webb, July 22, 1924. She b. Mar. 12, 1902. Had: 

Francis C., b. Dec. 1, 1926, m. Alice E. Wheeler. 

Francis Carlton Burke, s. Harry C. and Mae F. (Webb) 
Burke; m. Alice Effie Wheeler, dau. Clifford H. and Addie E. 
(Mahan) Wheeler, Nov. 23, 1946. Had: 

Judith Elizabeth, b. Oct. 24, 1950. 

Francis Carlton, Jr., b. June 18, 1954. 

BURNHAM 

Clarence Walter Burnham, s. George Burnham of Epson, 
N. H., b. Feb. 13, 1886, d. Dec. 17, 1926. Came to Berlin with 
family in May of 1921; sawyer at S. W. Wheeler mills of Pleasant 
St. He m. Gertrude Grace Brown of Salford, Suffolk Co., Eng¬ 
land, Feb. 1911. She b. Mar. 2, 1892, d. Dec. 13, 1936. Had: 

Harold Albert, b. May 26, 1912, m. Ethel Mary Allen, res. 
Holden. 

George William , b. Sept. 7, 1913, m. Elsie Cromb Apr. 25, 1936. 
res. West Upton. 

Roscoe Arthur , b. Oct. 2, 1914, m. Carrie Cromb, Sept. 30, 
1933, res. Northboro. Carrie d. Aug. 3, 1955; 2m. Ruth E. 
Norton Sept. 7, 1957. 

Frank John, b. Jan. 13, 1916. Res. E. St. Louis, Ill. 

Rosebelle Victoria , b. May 3, 1918, m. Frank Blair Mar. 31, 
1957. Res. E. Hartford, Conn. 

Walter Henry, b. Dec. 9, 1920. res. Lake Pleasant, Mass. 

John Henry, b. Sept. 20, 1921, d. Oct. 23, 1921. 

Harold Albert Burnham, s. Clarence Walter and Gertrude 
G. (Brown) Burnham; m. Ethel Mary Allen, dau. of Walter M. 
and Dorothy (Pierce) Allen, March 11, 1938. Had: 

Clarence Walter, b. Mar. 25, 1939. 

Harold Frank, b. Dec. 28, 1940. 


GENEALOGY 


231 


CARPENTER 

George Herbert Carpenter, s. Orin F. and Laura E. (Mar- 
ean) Carpenter, b. Saco, Me. April 28, 1874, d. Marlboro Aug. 
16, 1949. His mother d. Berlin Dec. 29, 1912. He m. Janett L. 
Lasselle, dau. Frank C. and Catherine B. (Lanphere) Lasselle, 
in Berlin Dec. 8, 1897. He came to Berlin from West Boylston 
in 1894; became Station Agent at So. Berlin, later at West Berlin 
(Carter's) from 1919 to its closing in 1933. He also served on 
police duty during construction of Wachusett Aquaduct (1895- 
98). Conducted a monument business, headquarters on West 
St. Old monument stones were exhumed at the site in 1954 where 
Raymond F. Stone built his new house. Had: 

Katherine Lanphere , b. Apr. 8, 1899, m. Clarence Robertson 
Lamson, of Hudson, Sept. 9, 1922. He d. Mar. 4, 1951. They 
had: Patricia Janett Lamson, b. Jan. 28, 1928, m. Terrance E. 
Lively of Westboro Oct. 27, 1946. 

Frank Orin, b. Jan. 13, 1904, m. Catherine K. Stent Aug. 4, 
1925; res. Manchester, Conn. 

Arthur Ellsworth, b. Oct. 14, 1905, m. Doris E. Parker Aug. 29, 
1942; res. Jamaica Plain, Mass. 

Frank O. Carpenter, s. George H. and Janett (Lasselle) 
Carpenter; m. Catherine K. Stent of Marlboro Aug. 4, 1925. Had: 
Bryce Kent, b. Mar. 23, 1926. 

Virginia Marie, b. Apr. 10, 1927. 

Natalie Ann, b. Apr. 18, 1928. 

Donn Alan, b. Sept. 11, 1929. 

William Dana, b. Jan. 22, 1934. 

Sandra L., b. Sept. 1943. 

Wife Catherine d. Dec. 30, 1945. 

2m. Estelle Biccum Feb. 1, 1947. Res. Manchester, Conn. 

Arthur E. Carpenter, s. George H. and Janett (Lasselle) 
Carpenter, M. Doris E. Parker of Jamaica Plain, Mass. Aug. 29, 
1942. Had: 

Arthur Frederick, b. June 14, 1945. 

Susan Janett, b. July 26, 1947. 

Janet Christine, b. Nov. 29, 1951. 


232 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


CARTER 

I. Stanton Carter, s. Rev. Samuel Carter of Lancaster, b. 
1738, m. 1762, d. 1823. 

II. Daniel Carter, b. 1762, m. 1785, d. 1824. 

II. Sanderson Carter, b. 1764, m. 1788, d. 1841. 

III. Amory Carter, s. Daniel, b. 1785, m. 1808, d. 1815. 

III. Lewis Carter, s. Daniel, b. 1796, m. 1821, d. 1878. 

III. Chandler Carter, s. Daniel, b. 1808, m. 1839, d. 1891 (Ber¬ 
lin’s benefactor). 

IV. Amory Carter, Jr., s. Amory, b. 1813, m. 1839, d. 1892 (Saw¬ 
yer family record). 

IV. Lewis Lincoln Carter, s. Lewis, b. 1822, m. 1849, d. 1910. 

IV. Silas Rufus Carter, s. Lewis, b. 1828, m. 1856, d. 1917. 

IV. Jonas Hale Carter, s. Lewis, b. 1840, m. 1871, d. 1922. 

V. Sidney B. Carter, s. Lewis L., b. 1852, m. 1878, d. 1924 (see 
family record). 

V. Lewis Paul Carter, s. Lewis L., b. 1856, m. 1881, d. 1920. 

V. Silas Rolla Carter, s. Silas Rufus, b. 1868, m. 1895, d. 1913 

(see family record). 

V. Eugene Francis Carter, s. Silas Rufus, b. 1860, m. 1891. 

V. Lemuel Draper Carter, s. Jonas H., b. 1873, m. 1899, d. 
1939, (see family record). 

V. Eva L. (Carter) Ordway, dau. Jonas H., b. 1881, m. 1906, 
d. 1956 (see family record). 

VI. Milton P. Carter, s. Lewis P., b. 1892, m. 1922. 

VI. Willard Minot Carter, s. Eugene Francis, b. 1903, m. 1932 
(see family record). 

Jonas H. Carter, s. Lewis and Sarah (Sawyer) Carter, b. Jan. 
23, 1840, d. Sept. 24, 1922; m. Annetta L. Draper Nov. 30, 1871, 
she d. Dec. 4, 1904. Had: 

Lemuel D., b. Oct. 25, 1873, d. Mar. 27, 1939, m. Fannie Belle 
Ray July 26, 1899, she d. Apr. 30, 1912. 2m. Ellen L. Allen 
Oct. 30, 1913. 

Eva L., b. April 6, 1881, m. Alfred F. Ordway Mar. 16, 1906. 

Lemuel Draper Carter, s. Jonas H. and Annetta L. (Draper) 
Carter, b. Oct. 25, 1872, d. Mar. 27, 1939; m. Fannie Belle Ray 
July 26, 1899. She d. Apr. 30, 1912. Had: 


GENEALOGY 


233 


Annetta Mary , b. Oct. 28, 1900, m. Harold L. Raymond June 
30, 1930, res. Orlando, Fla. 

2m. Ellen Lovisa Allen, dau. Elmer and Mary Allen, Oct. 30, 
1913. Had: 

Jonas Ellsworth , b. Oct. 3, 1915, m. Dorothy Ruth Sites of 
Clinton, Iowa. 

Jonas Ellsworth Carter, s. Lemuel D. and Ellen L. Carter; 
m. Dorothy Ruth Sites June 22, 1946. Res. West Upton, Mass. 
Had: 

Vicki Diane , b. Mar. 21, 1947. 

Steven Chandler , b. April 20, 1949. 

Cathi Joy , b. Mar. 27, 1951. 

Debbi Sue , b. Nov. 22, 1952. 

Sidney Brigham Carter, s. Lewis Lincoln and Susan E. 
(Phelps) Carter, b. Sept. 23, 1852, d. May 22, 1924; m. Julia Etta 
Fosgate, dau. George W. and Eunice C. (Dodge) Fosgate, Dec. 
25, 1878. She b. July 18, 1857, d. Aug. 15, 1916. Had: 

Ruea Etta , b. Feb. 16, 1887, m. Ralph B. Small Jan. 9, 1915; he 
d. Nov. 18, 1937. 2m. John Leslie Shaw of Hudson, Sept. 4, 
1943. 

George Lincoln , b. March 16, 1891, m. Gladys Leslie of Spring- 
field. 

Silas Rolla Carter, s. Silas Rufus and Emily (Crowell) 
Carter (she d. Feb. 21,1916, he d. Aug. 15, 1917), b. Apr. 8, 1868, 
d. Jan. 29, 1913; m. Ellen (Nellie) C. Garrity, dau. James and 
Bridget Garrity Sept. 18, 1895. She d. Berlin Dec. 7, 1870. Sold 
home place of West St. and moved to Hudson 1957. She is an 
“honorary” charter member of the Tuesday Club and was a 
Library Trustee (1904-1931). 

Milton P. Carter, s. Lewis Paul and Ada E. (Simonds), b. 
Sept. 4, 1892 in Worcester; m. Marion F. Fillmore, dau. Calvin J. 
and Mary (Hannon) Fillmore Dec. 3, 1922. She b. Foxboro, 
Mass. Sept. 4, 1895. 

Willard Minot Carter, s. Eugene Francis and Georginia 
(Hendrix) Carter, b. Norwalk, Conn. Oct. 10, 1903; m. Edna 


234 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Margaret Waterbury, dau. Willard Cyrus and Margaret S. (Whit¬ 
lock) Waterbury, July 2, 1932. She b. Bridgeport, Conn. Feb. 2, 
1906. Had: 

Willard Ray , b. Norwalk, Conn. July 16, 1933. 

Margaret Lucy , b. Norwalk, Conn. May 23, 1936, m. James 
Albert Garrity, Oct. 5, 1957. 

CHAPDELAINE 

Arthur Edward Chapdelaine, s. Arthur D. and Lydia (Sey¬ 
mour) Chapdelaine, b. Marlboro, Jan. 20, 1918; m. Claire Y. 
Bouffard, dau. Louis and Emma (Boule) Bouffard, Sept. 9, 1946. 
She b. Sept. 30, 1917. Res. Coburn Rd. 

CLARK 

Arthur Herman Clark, s. Arthur E. (d. Feb. 19, 1955) and 
Lilia G. (Harris) (d. Northwood, N. H. Apr. 27, 1938) Clark, b. 
Berlin, Sept. 14, 1899. Res. Sawyer Hill Rd. (Foster Bros. Place) 
1898-1913. He m. Nov. 23, 1917 Pearl Caroline Hastings, dau. 
Lewis A. (d. July 3, 1937) and Nettie M. (Lackey) (d. Jan. 16, 
1946) Hastings. Had: 

Arthur Herman , Jr., b. Oct. 31, 1918. 

Harold Leonard , b. July 11, 1921. 

Wesley Everett , b. Apr. 29, 1923, m. Angela Szczepkowski 
Nov. 19, 1941. 

Richard Burton , b. July 8, 1925. 

Gardner Fred , b. May 12, 1930, m. Carol Merietta Still, June 
23, 1951. 

Kenneth Earl , b. Dec. 10, 1931, m. Doris Elizabeth Hunter 
Sept. 6, 1958. 

CLEMMER 

Robert Eldon Clemmer, m. Doris Arline Brewer, dau. Clifton 
W. and Helen L. (Estabrook) Brewer Dec. 29, 1951. Had: 

Gail Florence , b. Dec. 30, 1952. 

Keith Robert , b. Feb. 24, 1955. 

Robin Marie , b. Mar. 18, 1957. 

COLDWELL 

Percy Roy Coldwell, s. Charles Coldwell, b. Gaspereau, N. S. 
Nov. 1, 1882, d. Berlin Oct. 15, 1948; m. Marjorie Louise Sawyer, 


GENEALOGY 


235 


dau. Charles M. and Julia Ida (Bassett) Sawyer, Aug. 27, 1913. 
Had: 

Norman Sawyer, b. Nov. 14, 1916, m. Miriam Frances Dupree. 
Robert Bassett, b. May 2, 1919, m. Barbara Wyman Fitton. 

John Patterson, b. Sept. 14, 1925, d. May 14, 1926. 

Jane Patience, b. Sept. 14, 1925, d. May 8, 1926. 

Norman Sawyer Coldwell, s. Percy R. and Marjorie L. 
(Sawyer) Coldwell; m. Miriam Frances Dupree, dau. Lester B. 
and Mabelle F. (Brigham) Dupree, Oct. 27, 1940. She b. Hudson. 
Had: 

Judith Frances, b. Sept. 14, 1941. 

Linda Norma, b. Aug. 25, 1943. 

Diane Marie, b. Apr. 13, 1946. 

Douglas John, b. June 30, 1947. 

Barry Alan, b. Aug. 12, 1952. 

Robert Bassett Coldwell, s. Percy R. and Marjorie L. (Saw¬ 
yer) Coldwell; m. Barbara Wyman Fitton, dau. John Joseph and 
Naomi Hartshorn (Gleason) Fitton, Nov. 26, 1942. She b. Groton 
Feb. 1, 1922. Had: 

Susan, b. June 3, 1944. 

Peter Reid, b. Sept. 27, 1945. 

Betsy, b. Apr. 18, 1947. 

Mark Wyman, b. June 8, 1950. 

Martha, b. Apr. 24, 1952. 

COLE 

Walter Cole, of Bolton, b. Mar. 9, 1862; came to Berlin in 
1904; d. July 18, 1933; m. Bertha M. Wheeler, dau. Robert B. and 
Nancy M. (Wheeler) Wheeler, Sept. 17, 1890. She b. Oct. 28, 
1869, d. Dec. 9, 1938. Had: 

Raymond Walter, b. May 26, 1892, m. Marion S. Barter. 
Chester Edmund, b. Apr. 26, 1899, m. Laura Elms Bickford. 
Mabel L., b. June 27, 1895, m. Walter H. Werk, Res. Poison, 
Mont. 

Raymond Walter Cole, s. Walter and Bertha (Wheeler) 
Cole; m. Marion S. Barter, dau. James W. and Carrie (Gleason) 
Barter Aug. 2, 1917. Had: 


236 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Carolyn Maude, b. Sept. 22, 1925, d. Feb. 10, 1927. 

Marjorie Christine , b. Mar. 27, 1928, m. Emilio Anthony Rosi- 
ello, s. Emilio and Theresa Rosiello, Sept. 5, 1951. Res. 
Shrewsbury, Mass. Had: 

Thomas Anthony, b. Mar. 24, 1954. 

Paul James, b. June 17, 1959. 

Chester Edmund Cole, s. Walter and Bertha (Wheeler) Cole; 
m. Laura Elms Bickford, dau. Carl L. and Ethel (Taylor) Bick¬ 
ford, July 3, 1929. She was b. Bolton July 2, 1907. Had: 

Alice Laura, b. Mar. 21, 1930, m. Raymond I. Wheeler July 25, 
1958. Mr. Chester E. Cole resides at the homestead of Jona¬ 
than and Mary (Buffum) Wheeler of 1775 and therefore 
the Annual Wheeler Reunion is generally held under the 
“Maples” of the “Lotta Rocks” Farm. 

COLLINS 

John Collins, s. of John (d. Oct. 20, 1887) and Mary (Ahern) 
(d. Aug. 2, 1886) Collins of Ireland. Born Northboro Aug. 2, 
1862, d. Berlin July 19, 1904. Came to Berlin in 1868 and settled 
on Joel Procter farm of Lancaster Road; m. Mary A. McNulty, 
dau. James A. and Mary E. (Caveny) McNulty, April 22, 1890. 
She b. Lawrence Feb. 1, 1872, d. Berlin Jan. 10, 1943. Had: 

John Francis, b. Mar. 27, 1891, d. Aug. 25, 1891. 

James Raymond, b. May 10, 1892, d. Feb. 15, 1956. 

Benjamin Harold, b. May 26, 1894, d. Sept. 9, 1894. 

Edward Leroy, b. Aug. 9, 1895, m. Catherine A. Hastings. 

Joseph Leo, b. May 13, 1898, d. Sept. 14, 1898. 

Mary Gertrude, b. May 3, 1901, m. Harold J. Long June 4, 
1923. Had: 

Dorothy Marie, b. June 21, 1935. 

William Henry, b. Apr. 8, 1904. 

Edward Leroy Collins, s. John and Mary A. (McNulty) 
Collins; m. Catherine Agatha Hastings, dau. John and Nora 
(Kittredge) Hastings Sept. 16, 1918. She b. Clinton Sept. 17, 
1893. They reconstructed the “Old Stone House” of Peach Hill 
Rd. in 1947 and resided there until 1957. Had: 

John Edward, b. June 18, 1919, m. Katherine E. Noonan. 

Francis Leroy, b. Jan. 29, 1921, m. Thelma Mae Ellis. 


GENEALOGY 


237 


Joseph Leo, b. Aug. 13, 1922, d. Feb. 5, 1943. 

Mary Esther, b. Mar. 30, 1928, m. James Martin Hoban, Jr. 
Aug. 19, 1950. Had: 

James Martin Hoban 3 rd, b. June 10, 1951. 

Jean, b. July 16, 1952. 

Kathleen, b. Feb. 27, 1956. 

James Hastings, b. Apr. 10, 1931, m. Dorothy Eleanor Murphy. 

John Edward Collins, s. Edward Leroy and Catherine A. 
(Hastings) Collins; m. Katherine E. Noonan, dau. Edward J. and 
Mary A. (Garrity) Noonan of Haverhill, on Aug. 23, 1941. Had: 
Katherine M., b. Aug. 30, 1948. 

John Robert, b. Mar. 5, 1950, d. June 7, 1951. 

Judith Ann, b. Apr. 9, 1953. 

Francis Leroy Collins, s. Edward Leroy and Catherine A. 
(Hastings) Collins; m. Thelma Mae Ellis, dau. of Roy and Lillian 
Ellis, Aug. 24, 1946. Had: 

Francis Roy, Sept. 17, 1947 
Joseph Leo, b. June 26, 1950. 

Mary Ann, b. Mar. 11, 1953. 

Edward Paul, b. Mar. 11, 1956 

James Hastings Collins, s. Edward Leroy and Catherine A. 
(Hastings) Collins; m. Dorothy Eleanor Murphy, dau. James 
Joseph and Rose (McCoy) Murphy, May 25, 1953. Had: 
Patricia, b. May 12, 1955. 

James Joseph, b. Sept. 14, 1956. 

Susan Mary, b. Apr. 21, 1959. 

COOLIDGE 

John Coolidge, Jr., s. John and Arline Beatrice (Woodbury) 
Coolidge, b. Hudson; m. Gwenneth Willard. Had: 

Lisa, b. Hudson Oct. 20, 1952. 

Stacie, b. Hudson Oct. 19, 1953. 

John Howard, b. Dec. 28, 1954. 

Bruce Willard, b. Feb. 29, 1956. 

Eric Woodbury Coolidge, s. John and Arline Beatrice (Wood¬ 
bury) Coolidge, b. Hudson; m. June Sylveia Stone, dau. Ray¬ 
mond F. and Sylveia E. (Crowell) Stone, Oct. 28, 1951. Had: 


238 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Lynda Lee, b. Aug. 10, 1952. 

Denise, b. Sterling Mar. 7, 1954. 

Robert Woodbury , b. Dec. 6, 1955. 

CORMAN 

John William Corman, Jr., s. John W. and Anne E. (Salmon- 
son) Corman, b. Framingham June 10, 1921; m. Rachel May 
Jackson, dau. Brittan A. and Florence E. (Felton) Jackson, Dec. 
12, 1946. Had: 

Keith Alton, b. Dec. 3, 1951. 

Kenneth Alvin, b. Dec. 3, 1951. 

Beverly Jean, b. Feb. 26, 1954. 

Andrew Brittan, b. Mar. 15, 1955. 

Glenn Scott, b. May 5, 1959. 

COTTER 

Lawrence Franklin Cotter, s. Thomas and Talitha (Russell) 
Cotter, b. New Brunswick Sept. 25, 1901; m. Leila May Blenk- 
horn, dau. Charles B. and Lydia May Blenkhorn, Nov. 17, 1928. 
Came to Berlin in 1938. Had: 

Carolyn Elaine, b. Dec. 3, 1942. 

COTTING 

Charles Edward Cotting, s. Charles Edward and Ruth S. T. 
Cotting, b. Boston May 15, 1889. In 1922 Mr. Cotting purchased 
the 104 acres, with buildings, of Charles G. Schirmer on Sawyer 
Hill. This, with the addition of some 400 acres and utility build¬ 
ings, has developed into the Chedco Farm, Inc. Here is main¬ 
tained a registered guernsey dairy farm, and the apple orchards 
cover over 100 acres with a storage and packing house. He m. 
Sarah Winslow, dau. Arthur and Mary (Devereux) Winslow, 
July 26, 1939. She b. Jefferson City, Mo., June 16, 1893. They 
maintain their summer home on Sawyer Hill. 

COULSON 

Isaac Edmund Coulson, s. Thomas and Mary A. (Eason) 
Coulson, b. England, May 23, 1869, d. Jan. 10, 1947; m. Carrie 
Persis Jones, dau. Ira and Mary E. (Frink) Jones, Apr. 11, 1893. 
She b. Apr. 11, 1869, d. Sept. 20, 1921. Had: 


GENEALOGY 239 

Cyril Edmund, b. Mar. 4, 1894, m. Miriam Bullard, res. Tucson, 
Ariz. 

Ruth Gladys, b. Mar. 20, 1895, m. Henry True Folson, Oct. 29, 
1921. 

Adelbert Eason , b. Aug. 23, 1896, m. Miriam Pratt. 

Ernest Boynton, b. Dec. 20, 1897, m. Ruth Marion Cook. 

Adelbert Eason Coulson, s. Isaac Edmund and Carrie P. 
(Jones) Coulson; m. Miriam Pratt, dau. Henry Dewitt and 
Lucy B. (Hapgood) Pratt, Feb. 17, 1923. Had: 

Lucy Carrie, b. April 5, 1923, m. Oliver Henry LaBonte. 
Henry Eason, b. Mar. 31, 1928, m. Muriel C. Radke. 

Ernest Albert, b. May 2, 1935, m. Jean Elaine Butman May 3, 
1958. 

2m. Edith V. (Henry) VanLiew of Worcester, June 13, 1953. 

Henry Eason Coulson, s. Adelbert Eason and Miriam (Pratt) 
Coulson; m. Muriel C. Radke, dau. Charles J. and Caroline 
(Schilling) Radke, Sept. 29, 1951. She b. Oct. 24, 1929. Had: 
Lori Ann, b. Clinton Apr. 2, 1951. 

Janis Lorraine, b. Berlin May 1, 1953. 

Dale Marie, b. Berlin July 30, 1954. 

Ernest Boynton Coulson, s. Isaac Edmund and Carrie Persis 
(Jones) Coulson; m. Ruth Marion Cook, dau. Charles Frederick 
and Thora Amelia (Thorgesen) Cook, Oct. 2, 1920. She b. Rox- 
bury Jan. 8, 1901. Had: 

Ernest Boynton Jr., b. Aug. 12, 1921, d. Aug. 12, 1921. 

Thora Marion, b. Sept. 14, 1922, m. Arthur Tull Fieldsen June 
23, 1946. 

Ann Marie, b. Apr. 24, 1924. 

Mrs. Thora A. (Thorgesen) Cook d. Berlin June 12, 1937. 

CROSSMAN 

Frank H. Crossman, s. John W. (d. July 21, 1886) and Eve¬ 
lina (Phelps) (d. Apr. 29, 1904) Crossman, b. Bolton Jan. 12, 
1846, d. Feb. 25, 1932; m. Lelia Mira Farwell, dau. Abel and 
Sarah (Babcock) Farwell of Fitchburg, Jan. 12, 1870. She b. 
June 14, 1851, d. Jan. 31, 1937. Had: 

Alice Bertha, b. July 29, 1872; m. Ernest A. Bickford June 5, 
1895. 


240 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Walter leers, b. Nov. 5, 1874, d. June 1, 1957. 

Harrison Austin, b. Sept. 21, 1876, m. Mabel E. Ware of 
Hudson. 

Agnes Blanche, b. July 11, 1882, m. Carlton W. Howe of 
Hudson. 

Kenneth Ward, b. July 14, 1896, m. Mildred Gray Howe. 

Harrison Austin Crossman, s. Frank H. and Leilia M. (Far- 
well) Crossman d. Mar. 20, 1951; m. Mabel E. Ware, dau. Phi¬ 
lander H. and Sarah L. (Lewis) Ware of Hudson, May 27, 1898. 
She b. Hudson Jan. 4, 1879. Had: 

Walter Stanley, b. Dec. 23, 1898, m. Vera Evelyn Haynes May 

17, 1922. 

Evelyn, b. Feb. 2, 1900, m. Burpee Edward Wallace July 25, 
1943, he d. Jan. 1958. Res. Marlboro. 

Lyman Ware, b. Mar. 12, 1901, m. Helen Mildred Travis May 

18, 1923, he d. June 6, 1953. 

Lelia Elizabeth, b. Aug. 15, 1904, m. Casper Winslow Hobbs. 
John Waldo, b. July 10, 1907, m. Isabelle A. Vautrey Sept. 1, 
1933. 

Almon Hartwell, b. July 5, 1909, m. Mary E. Hastings July 1, 
1931. 

Alberta Lucinda, b. Mar. 18, 1915, m. Louis Edward Rockel 
Sept. 2, 1936. 

William Jeffery, b. Dec. 15, 1917, m. Marion Dorothy Martin. 
Ruth Marion, b. May 27, 1921, m. Donald A. Jacobs Apr. 5, 
1940. 2 m. Joseph John Cabral 1946. Had: 

James Anthony Cabral, b. Nov. 20, 1946. 

Lelia Luttie, b. Oct. 21, 1949. 

William Jeffery Crossman, s. Harrison A. and Mabel E. 
(Ware) Crossman; m. Marion Dorothy Martin, dau. Albert E. 
and Evelyn (Richard) Martin, Feb. 11, 1939. She b. Clinton Sept. 
21, 1919. Had: 

Janice Marie, b. Aug. 10, 1939. 

2m. Nina Rita Pace of Worcester, Sept. 6, 1947. 

Kenneth Ward Crossman, s. Frank H. and Lelia M. (Far- 
well) Crossman; m. Mildred Gray Howe, July 14, 1922, res. Long 
Island, N. Y. Had: 


GENEALOGY 


241 


Shirley, b. Nov. 29, 1923, m. George Muss, Hatsboro, Pa. 

Beverly, b. July 6, 1926, m. John Dillon, Hatsboro, Pa. 

CUMMINGS 

Alton Vernon Cummings, s. Howard A. and Geraldine 
(Beals) Cummings, b. May 6, 1930, Marlboro; m. Dora Marie 
Wheeler, dau. Earle A. and Hazel H. (Brewer) Wheeler, June 9, 
1951. Had: 

Cathy Ann, b. Apr. 20, 1952. 

Wayne Alton, b. June 24, 1953. 

DAVIS 

George Gardner Davis, s. Horatio E. and Jane Ingalls (Hall) 
Davis, b. Boston Aug. 6, 1847, d. Aug. 16, 1925; m. Mary True 
Perkins, dau. Alvin Trask and Eliza Abigal (Sevens) Perkins, at 
Lexington Sept. 27, 1871. She d. Sept. 24, 1907. Had: 

Alice Gardner, b. Apr. 24, 1873, d. Sept. 24, 1873. 

Ralph Gardner, b. Nov. 27, 1875, m. Sarah W. Coolidge. 

Ralph Gardner Davis, s. of George Gardner and Mary True 
(Perkins) Davis, came to Berlin with parents in 1892. Built the 
house on Central St. in 1895. He m. Sarah Winniefred Coolidge, 
dau. Walter and Sarah Ann (Ryder) Coolidge of Hudson July 
15, 1896. She b. Dec. 6, 1873, d. Jan. 26, 1951. Had: 

Iola, b. Aug. 22, 1896, d. Sept. 7, 1896. 

Arthur Gorham, b. Apr. 11, 1899, m. Janet L. Berry of Marl¬ 
boro June 21, 1925. They had: 

Gardner Andrew, b. Aug. 20, 1925. 

Virginia Ruth, b. Dec. 20, 1929, m. Robert Hanson of 
Fitchburg. They had: 

Wendy Hanson, b. June 4, 1952. 

Donna Lynn Hanson, b. Mar. 25, 1955. 

Ruth Peabody, b. Nov. 13, 1901, m. Charles Merle Boyd May 
5, 1929. 2m. Roy J. Hall Oct. 22, 1938; he d. May 19, 1944. 

Gertrude, b. Aug. 31, 1905, d. Sept. 20, 1906. 

Mary True, b. Mar. 11, 1909, d. Nov. 4, 1918. 

Ward Gardner, b. June 29, 1916, m. Lorraine V. Morrell of 
Hudson Feb. 25, 1938. Had: 

Ward Gardner, Jr., b. April 6, 1939. 


242 HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 

Frederick Charles, b. June 20, 1943. 

Mary True, b. Apr. 19, 1952. 

Joe William Davis, s. James Ernest and Martha Palmer 
(Bull) Davis, b. North Elba, N. Y. Oct. 15, 1901. Came to Berlin 
in 1940, with family, as supervisor of the “1790 Farm.” He m. 
Catherine J. Wood, dau. Nelson Sanford and Johanne H. (Mahl- 
stedt) Wood, Aug. 20, 1929. She b. Riverside, Calif. May 31, 
1903. They had: 

John Wood Davis, b. Lake Placid, N. Y. May 16, 1930, m. 
Gloria Anne Rockhill of Malden Aug. 29, 1953. Had: 

Valerie Wood, b. Boston Dec. 9, 1955. 

Laura Rockhill, b. Washington, D. C. April 18, 1958. 

Forrest Henry, b. Lake Placid, N. Y. Nov. 16, 1931, m. Marjorie 
E. Hall June 9, 1956. She b. Granby, Conn. 

Milford Ernest, b. Lake Placid, N. Y. Nov. 17, 1931, m. Barbara 
Jean MacDonald Aug. 28, 1954. They had: 

Glenn Scott, b. Tampa, Fla. Aug. 13, 1955. 

Jodi Ann, b. Everett, Wash., Jan. 6, 1958. 

DAY 

John Lovell Day, s. Isaac and Caroline Day of Southboro, b. 
Apr. 10, 1843, d. Berlin July 20, 1928; m. Julia A. Wheeler, dau. 
George F. and Sarah R. Wheeler, April 5, 1866. Came to Berlin 
in 1869, res. Highland Street house built by George Fox Wheeler 
about 1843; purchased by Wilmer G. Tenney in 1928. Had: 

Forrest E., b. Southboro Dec. 27, 1866, d. Berlin Dec. 2, 1945, 
m. Grace H. Merrill, dau. Sewell H. and Augusta D. Merrill, 
Nov. 27, 1889. She d. May 17, 1951. 

Lewis E. Day, b. Southboro July 3, 1869, d. Hudson May 12, 
1933. M. Alice P. Randall, dau. Paul A. and Abbie W. Ran¬ 
dall, Feb. 6, 1890, she b. Sept. 27, 1870, d. Nov. 12, 1958. 
They had: 

Myra Abbie, b. Berlin July 22, 1890. 

Lena J., b. 1892. 

DERBY 

Alfred C. Derby, b. Randolph, Vt. Aug. 13, 1824, d. Berlin 
Aug. 24, 1914; m. Charlotte A. Fisher, dau. Seth Fisher of North- 
field, Mass., May 15, 1856. She b. Feb. 10, 1836, d. Berlin May 


GENEALOGY 


243 


10, 1917. Resided on the Welcome Barnes Farm, Derby Rd., now 
(1958) occupied by John L. Nutting. Had: 

Lizzie Jane, b. June 8, 1858, m. Clarence E. Spofford. 

Oliver Dexter, b. May 20, 1869, m. Eunice Bruce, dau. Philo 
and Lavina Bruce, Nov. 29, 1891. She b. July 11, 1869. They 
had: 

Veretta Elaine Derby, b. Watertown, Feb. 1, 1893, m. 
Joseph Charles Webber. 

Lucelia Mae Derby, b. Berlin June 16, 1895, m. Edward 
Brennan of Roslindale. 

Mildred Louisa Derby, b. Westboro Mar. 25, 1903, m. 
Harrison Bussey. 


DEVINE 

Cabl B. Devine, s. Martin and Agnes E. (Alexander) Devine, 
b. Chicopee July 23, 1902; m. Cora May Powell Nov. 23, 1946. 
Had: 

Carol Anne, b. April 24, 1948. 

Brett Martin, b. Feb. 12, 1951. 

Mrs. Agnes E. (Alexander) Devine d. Berlin May 11, 1958, 
age 78. 

DILLING 

Henry J. Dilling, s. Anton and Elizabeth (Eyerding) Dilling, 
b. Borghoist, Germany, Feb. 5, 1872, d. Berlin May 10, 1950; 
m. Antonia Stoebel Dec. 31, 1898. She d. Nov. 4, 1918 in Bolton. 
His father d. Bolton Sept. 11, 1912; mother d. Berlin Jan. 12, 
1922. They had: 

Lillian M. b. Clinton Dec. 17, 1899, m. Arthur Kunst Aug. 6, 
1923. 

Esther Henrietta, b. Nov. 10, 1901, m. Frederick Heinold July 
21, 1924. 

Helen L. b. Clinton Aug. 19, 1904, m. Edwin Heinold Aug. 10, 
1931. 

Henry Anton, b. Feb. 23, 1903, m. Elizabeth Bellarosa Nov. 
10, 1934, he d. Feb. 22, 1939. 

Roy D., b. 1907, m. Louise A. Farrow Mar. 24, 1928. Had: 
Ethel May, b. Sept. 13, 1928. 

Fred Henry, b. Sept. 6, 1939. 


244 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Perley, b. April 7, 1913, m. Dorothy Pauline Matthews Aug. 29, 
1936. 

Christine , b. October 24, 1915, m. Max Gesell, Dec. 17, 1933. 

Henry Anton Dilling, s. Henry and Antonia (Stoebel) Dill- 
ing, m. Elizabeth Bellarosa Nov. 10, 1934. Had: 

Marjorie Ann , b. June 25, 1936, m. Gerald Ruberti Sept. 19, 
1959. 

Mary Evelyn , b. Nov. 20, 1937, m. Henry Joseph Vanasse Nov. 
27, 1958. 

Henrietta Virginia , b. Feb. 18, 1939. 

DINSMORE 

Charles Edwin Dinsmore, foster-son of Leon and Florence 
Brewer, b. in Lowell Jan. 5, 1933; m. Gladys Louise Lilja, dau. 
John and Florence Lilja of Rockport, Mass. Mar. 21, 1954. Had: 

Peter Charles Dinsmore , b. Oct. 24, 1954. 

Thomas Alan , b. Nov. 22, 1958. 

DOHERTY 

Reginald Rayworth Doherty, s. Bert L. and Ethel (Ward) 
Doherty, b. Sackville, N. B. (Canada) Nov. 14, 1929; m. Eleanor 
May Marble, dau. Ralph P. and Mabel (Felton) Marble Sept. 22, 
1951. Had: 

Daniel Bert , b. July 28, 1953. 

Michael Jay, b. May 17, 1955, d. Feb. 6, 1956. 

Regina Rae, b. Dec. 16, 1956. 

Robert Alan, b. June 27, 1958. 

DUDLEY 

Ira G. Dudley, s. Era C. and Eleanor (Stearns) Dudley, b. 
in Shrewsbury June 25, 1868. He m. Sarah H. Bray, dau. S. Ben¬ 
ton and Elizabeth (Friend) Bray of Gloucester, Oct. 30, 1895. 
She b. Dec. 19, 1872, d. Berlin Sept. 10, 1938. Mr. Dudley came 
to Berlin in Nov. of 1895 as Master of the Lyman School for Boys, 
located on Linden Street. He retired in 1937. 

DUNFIELD 

Frank Freeman Dunfield, b. New Brunswick, Canada July 
29, 1877, d. Berlin Oct. 29, 1925. He m. Annella Mattie Wheeler, 


GENEALOGY 


245 


dau. Henry A. and Nellie F. (Reed) Wheeler, Aug. 28, 1906. 
They had: 

Barbara, b. Worcester Apr. 17, 1911, m. Howard A. Watkins 
Sept. 18, 1948. He b. Millbury Sept. 1, 1911. 

Burton Wheeler, b. Clinton May 2, 1913, m. Helen Gertrude 
Hubbard, dau. Harold C. and Hazel (Russell) Hubbard, 
Aug. 20, 1938. They had: 

Deborah Lea, b. Troy N. Y. June 27, 1940. 

Brenda Jeanne , b. Rochester, N. Y. July 30, 1945. 

EAGER 

William Smith Eager, s. Augustus and Lucy Ellen (Bab¬ 
cock) Eager, b. Westminster Jan. 28, 1868, d. Dec. 23, 1947; m. 
Clara Louisa Shattuck, dau. Elijah C. and Olive C. (Wheeler) 
Shattuck, June 20, 1897. She b. July 9, 1863, d. Rerlin Dec. 4, 
1935. Had: 

Vincent Shattuck, b. May 17, 1905, m. Doris Carter Ordway. 

Vincent Shattuck Eager, s. William S. and Clara L. (Shat¬ 
tuck) Eager; m. Doris Carter Ordway, dau. Alfred Frost and 
Eva Louise (Carter) Ordway, June 20, 1933. They had: 

Charles Ordway, b. June 20, 1935. 

David Vincent, b. Aug. 29, 1938. 

Barry William, b. July 12, 1944. 

ENRIGHT 

Jeremiah Christopher Enright, s. Patrick and Hannah (Cal¬ 
lahan) Enright, b. Clinton Jan. 19, 1904; m. Alta Josephine 
Parker, dau. Herbert Harwood and Ethel (Lee) Parker, June 1, 
1940; s. bom Clinton May 31, 1903. Had: 

Richard Jeremiah, b. Feb. 23, 1943. 

ESTABROOK 

Herbert Cyrus Estabrook, s. Mendall A. (d. Berlin May 16, 
1920) and Louise (Wilder) Estabrook, b. Sterling Apr. 22, 1885; 
m. Florence L. Hart Oct. 27, 1909. She d. Dec. 11, 1952. He con¬ 
ducted the West Berlin Store (1919-1921), removed to New 
Hampshire, and returned to Berlin in 1947, located in the Rufus 
Howard place of Pleasant Street, now (1958) res. of Edmund 
Joslin. They had: 


246 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Herbert Hart, b. Feb. 3, 1911, m. Eva Guilmette. 

Helen Louise, b. Jan. 15, 1912, m. Clifton W. Brewer. 

George Alvin, b. Jan. 10, 1915, m. Helen Maude Bernardson. 
Roy Irving , b. Oct. 5, 1916, m. Ann (Reed) of Marlboro. 

2m. Gladys (Schumacher) Turner, wid. Ernest S. Turner of 
Clinton July 3, 1954. 

Herbert Hart Estabrook, s. Herbert C. and Florence L. 
(Hart) Estabrook; m. Eva Guilmette of Chelmsford Oct. 20, 
1932. They had: 

Pauline, b. June 13, 1934. 

Henry, b. Apr. 8, 1936. 

Grace Ann, b. July 28, 1937. 

Norman Carl, b. Dec. 6, 1939. 

Donald, b. June 11, 1946. 

George Alvin Estabrook, s. Herbert C. and Florence L. 
(Hart) Estabrook; m. Helen Maude Bernardson, dau. John and 
Jessie (Smith) Bernardson, Dec. 31, 1940. Had: 

Janet Ann, b. Jan. 25, 1942. 

John Alvin, b. Jan. 1, 1945. 

Joyce Marie, b. Aug. 17, 1955. 

EVANS 

Edwin Montrose Evans, s. Edwin Allen and Isabelle (Wins¬ 
low) Evans, b. Marlboro Jan. 22, 1872; m. Effie G. Rice, dau. 
Willis and Harriet S. (Fay) Rice, June 3, 1902. He d. Berlin 
June 5, 1941. Had: 

Richard Rice, b. June 16, 1916. 

FALBY 

Vern Frederick Falby, s. Albert E. and Evie (Coonie) Falby, 
b. Guilford, Vt. July 25, 1903, d. Berlin Oct. 16, 1940; m. Blanche 
Jennette Wheeler, dau. William E. and Ethel E. (Randall) 
Wheeler, July 15, 1925. Had: 

Chester Edward, b. May 27, 1927; m. Laurel Deanne Bowman, 
dau. Vernon Akron and Ola (Cutshall) Bowman Aug. 25, 
1951. She b. Nov. 23, 1928. They had: 

John Steven, b. Mar. 8, 1953. 

Matthew James, b. Mar. 24, 1954. 


GENEALOGY 


247 


Mark Andrew, b. Apr. 25, 1955. 

Kathleen Joanne, b. Aug. 10, 1956. 

Luke Timothy, b. Oct. 31, 1957. 

Paul Thomas, b. Oct. 15, 1958. 

Clifford William, b. Jan. 3, 1929; m. Carolyn Nutting Billings, 
dau. Osmond Jesse and Rena Lyman (Nutting) Billings, 
June 20, 1953. She b. Sept. 23, 1932. They had: 

Vern Clifford, b. Mar. 30, 1954. 

Bruce Edward, b. Jan. 9, 1956. 

Wayne Thomas, b. Mar. 26, 1959. 

FAY 

Nahum IIarriman Fay, s. William E. and Mary Jane (Mc¬ 
Kenna) Fay, b. Sept. 15, 1877, d. May 3, 1956; m. Melissa J. 
(Taylor), dau. Arad and Laura Ella (Merrill) Taylor, Sept. 16, 
1897. She b. May 19, 1878, d. Dec. 12, 1946. 

FELTON 

Henry Otis Felton, s. Jacob and Lucinda (Wilkins) Felton, 
b. Marlboro Dec. 12, 1814, d. Mar. 4, 1895; m. Charlotte Phelps 
of Lunenburg May 7, 1840. She d. June 6, 1891. Had: 

Maria C., b. Mar. 23, 1841, m. Levi Babcock, d. Aug. 14, 1885. 
Mary E., b. Apr. 21, 1843, d. Dec. 5, 1927. 

George H., b. Aug. 2, 1847, m. Sarah J. Norrish, d. June 29, 
1922. 

Sarah A., b. Apr. 22, 1850, d. Mar. 2, 1852. 

Addie L., b. Nov. 6, 1854, m. Levi Babcock, d. Feb. 24, 1915. 

George H. Felton, s. Henry O. and Charlotte (Phelps) Fel¬ 
ton. He m. Sarah Jane Norrish, dau. William and Mary Ann 
(Holtby) Norrish, Aug. 3, 1883. She b. July 8, 1952 in Canada, 
d. Berlin June 4, 1932. Had: 

Walter Louis, b. Oct. 30, 1884, d. Jan. 27, 1906. 

Gertrude M., b. May 6, 1886, m. Joseph S. Watson Oct. 14, 
1908. 

Bertha C., b. Sept. 27, 1888, m. Robert F. Keith Nov. 10, 1923. 
He d. Mar. 3, 1946. 

Mabel, b. July 3, 1892, m. Ralph Perkins Marble. He d. Mar. 
31, 1959. 

Florence Elsie b. Jan. 26, 1896, m. Brittan Ayers Jackson. 


248 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Merrick Felton, s. Jacob and Lucinda (Wilkins) Felton, b. 
Princeton Aug. 31, 1823, d. Berlin Mar. 17, 1913. He m. Elizabeth 
Page of Lunenburg. She d. Sept. 30, 1871. They had: 

Martha Emma, b. Oct. 14, 1852, m. George H. Dyer Sept. 12, 
1869. 2m. Arthur Munroe. She d. Mar. 3, 1939. 

Marion Annetta , b. Aug. 30, 1858, m. Charles G. Larned Apr. 
23, 1885, d. Mar. 31, 1944. 

Truman Page, b. Jan. 25, 1862, m. Mary L. Whitcomb. 
Lucinda E. b. Oct. 10, 1864, m. Harmon Thompson. She d. 
Jan. 29, 1941. 

Merrick m. 2nd Mary B. Priest Aug. 31, 1872. 

Truman Page Felton, s. Merrick and Elizabeth (Page) Fel¬ 
ton, d. Nov. 17, 1936. He m. Mary Lenora Whitcomb, dau. Amasa 
and Lucy H. (Wheeler) Whitcomb June 24, 1890. She b. Aug. 
10, 1860, d. Aug. 2, 1938. Daughter: 

Pauline F., b. Feb. 2, 1889, m. Charles W. Powell. 

FIELD 

Charles Moses Field, s. Moses Land and Susan (Silsby) Field, 
b. Northfield, Vt. Feb. 13, 1873. Came to Berlin in 1925, located 
on Walnut St. in greenhouse business; m. Carrie E. Goodwin, 
dau. Harris and Isabelle (Church) Goodwin, June 27, 1894. She 
b. Webster, N. H. Dec. 24, 1871, d. Berlin Jan. 31, 1948. Had: 
Mildred Alice, b. July 31, 1895, m. Everett Edward Bartlett. 
Harris Goodwin, b. Sept. 27, 1897, m. Marjorie Puffer. 
Warren Gilbert, b. Feb. 6, 1903, m. Harriet Helen Brewer. 
Lucij; b. Dec. 18, 1904, m. Clymer W. Reynolds, Shrewsbury. 
2m. Jennie (Brown) Banks of Ayer, Oct. 3, 1948. 

Harris Goodwin Field, s. Charles M. and Carrie E. (Good¬ 
win) Field; m. Marjorie Puffer, dau. J. Adams and E. Hope 
(Rice) Puffer, Sept. 19, 1931. Had: 

Robert Goodwin, b. Sept. 26, 1932, m. Rosalie Ann Britton, of 
East Westmoreland, N. H., June 27, 1959. 

Richard Willis, b. Apr. 21, 1934. 

Jonathan Seth, b. July 13, 1938. 


GENEALOGY 


249 


Warren Gilbert Field, s. Charles M. and Carrie E. (Good¬ 
win) Field; m. Harriet Helen Brewer, dau. Arthur L. and Cora 
(Wheeler) Brewer, July 19, 1930. Had: 

Charlotte Anne , b. Nov. 25, 1931, m. Russell Philip Larson 
June 13, 1953. 

Barry Charles, b. June 20, 1934. 

David Arthur, b. Dec. 16, 1938. 

William B., b. July 15, 1941. 

THE BRIDE-FIELD HOUSE 

The house in which Mr. and Mrs. Harris G. Field live was the 
Alexander MacBride Homestead built around 1748. The house 
was occupied by four generations of the original family. Some¬ 
where along the line they dropped the “Mac”. The last of the 
family consisted of Asa Bride and two sisters, Lucy and Caty, all 
unmarried. When the house was built, it was at the end of the 
road which came from Bolton. There was no road to Berlin 
Center until 1853. 

About 1872 the place was bought by Florence McCarty. 

Arthur L. Brewer bought the place about 1895 and lived there 
until 1925, when it was bought by Charles M. Field and Com¬ 
pany. 

FOSGATE 

Frederick Adolpheus Fosgate, s. Joel H. and Ruth A. (Brig¬ 
ham) Fosgate, b. Berlin June 17, 1852, d. Berlin May 7, 1937; m. 
Ella Frances Swan, dau. Benjamin P. and Sarah A. Swan, July 11, 
1881. She b. Andover, Me., d. Berlin Jan. 19, 1928. Res. east end 
of Fosgate Rd., proprietor of picnic grounds at Gates Pond until 
leased to Town of Hudson for reservoir (1902). They had: 

Ruth Evelyn, b. Jan. 6, 1883, m. Walter Daniel Stratton. 

Jennie Isadora, b. Mar. 23, 1884, m. Herman S. Holder. 

Frederick Houghton, b. Feb. 20, 1890, m. Frances M. Hill. 

Frederick Houghton Fosgate, s. Frederick A. and Ella F. 
(Swan) Fosgate; m. Frances M. Hill, dau. Albert and Flora B. 
Hill, Dec. 23, 1916; she b. Oct. 6, 1890. Res. Hudson, Mass. Had: 

Fred Courtney, b. Apr. 27, 1920. 

Janice, b. 1925, d. Aug. 1937. 


250 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


George Washington Fosgate, s. Luke and Mary (Rice) Fos¬ 
gate, b. Berlin Feb. 25, 1824, d. Dec. 30, 1891; m. Eunice C. 
Dodge of Framingham Oct. 25, 1848. She d. July 12, 1902. Res. 
old homestead on Fosgate Rd. Had: 

Julia Etta, b. July 18, 1857, m. Sidney B. Carter. 

Nellie Maria, b. Aug. 23, 1865, m. Ernest C. Ross. 

Lillia Frances, b. June 29, 1863, d. Jan. 30, 1899. 

Lewis Eddy, b. June 29, 1863, m. Ella G. Walcott June 9, 1894. 

Reuben Puffer Fosgate, s. Luke and Mary (Rice) Fosgate, b. 
Berlin Dec. 7, 1826, d. Oct. 19, 1914; m. Sarah D. Loomis of 
Southboro June 11, 1851. She d. Dec. 5, 1915. Res. old homestead 
on Fosgate Rd. They had: 

Hattie Anna, b. July 13, 1856, d. Jan. 30, 1928. 

William Loomis, b. Aug. 5, 1860, d. Dec. 23, 1940. 

FOSTER 

Ernest Daniel Foster, s. William O. and Sarah Frances 
(Hatch) Foster, b. Bridgetown, N. S. June 6, 1874; d. Sept. 1, 
1944. Came to Berlin in 1915 with brother Charles Robert, op¬ 
erated poultry and market gardening farm on the “Josiah Saw¬ 
yer” estate on Sawyer Hill Road. He m. Olive Ethel (Bickford) 
Young, dau. George W. and Ellen Maria (Felker) Bickford, 
June 6, 1933. She b. Rochester, N. H. June 7, 1894. 

Elwyn Vaughn (Carl) Young, s. Victor and Olive B. Young, 
b. Strafford, N. H., Feb. 12, 1916, m. Nora Kathleen Hafferty 
Jan. 1, 1942. 

Charles Robert Foster, s. William O. and Sarah Frances 
(Hatch) Foster, b. Bridgetown, N. S., Aug. 17, 1862; d. Berlin 
Aug. 24, 1932. 

William Lawrence Foster, s. George W. and Annie Evelyn 
(Barnes) Foster, b. Upper Granville, N. S., Aug. 10, 1899. Came 
to Berlin in 1929. He m. Eva Rachel Bickford, dau. George W. 
and Ellen Maria (Felker) Bickford, Jan. 26, 1924. She b. Roches¬ 
ter, N. H., July 14, 1900. Had: 

Lawrence Robert, b. July 15, 1925, m. Elizabeth A. Krouse. 


GENEALOGY 


251 


Lawrence Robert Foster, s. William L. and Eva R. (Bick¬ 
ford) Foster, m. Elizabeth Ann Krouse Sept. 4, 1954. Built new 
house on site John Moore (Kelley) house, in 1956, cor. Carr 
and Randall Rds. Had: 

Brian Robert , b. July 26, 1955. 

FROMANT 

Charles Arthur Fromant, s. Arthur and Mary Ann (Bowers) 
Fromant, b. Landbeach, (Cambridgeshire) England, March 22, 
1884; m. Ethel Frink Maynard, dau. Charles B. and Nellie S. 
(Frink) Maynard, of Swanzey, N. H., June 13, 1909. She b. Jan. 
4, 1879, d. Apr. 28, 1910. 

2m. Marion C. Copeland, dau. Charles W. and Abbie M. (Car¬ 
ter) Copeland, Aug. 3, 1921. She b. Fall River, Mass. Sept. 16, 
1884. She was Principal of Berlin Public Schools (1913-1946). 
Charles A. Fromant res. on Crosby Rd., in the house built by 
Adin B. Allen. The original house burned in 1886, being the 
property of Joshua Johnson who settled there in 1750. 

FRYE 

George Fuller Frye, s. William and Fanny (Fuller) Frye, b. 
Berlin Sept. 25, 1831, d. June 11, 1874; m. Zilpah A. Goddard, 
dau. Ephriam and Sophia (Bigelow) Goddard, Nov. 8, 1952. She 
b. Oct. 15, 1835, d. May 12, 1867. They res. on the N. Harriman 
Fay place of Pleasant St. Had: 

Nellie G., b. 1853, d. Nov. 13, 1870. 

Chester Jabez, b. Mar. 21, 1855, m. Lavinia Howe Pope of 
Marlboro. 

Charles Adelbert, b. Feb. 15, 1857, d. Nov. 3, 1877. y 

George (Eddie) Edward, b. Dec. 8, 1859, m. Annie Frances 
Smith. 

Leslie Morton , b. Sept. 23, 1863, m. Nellie Hastings Brown. 

Chester Jabez Frye, s. George F. and Zilpah A. (Goddard) 
Frye, m. Lavinia Howe Pope, dau. Frank and Emily S. (Sher¬ 
man) Pope of Marlboro, Nov. 30, 1881. He d. Oct. 30, 1894, she 
d. Mar. 5, 1951. Had: 

Ethel Bruce Frye , m. Clarence Nelson Scott, Oct. 27, 1909. 
They had: 



252 HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 

Barbara Frye Scott, b. Jan. 16, 1912, m. George Kenneth 
Day of Marlboro, July 18, 1943. They had: 

Alan Scott Day, b. Nov. 11, 1944. 

Douglas Colwell Day, b. June 11, 1947. 

The family resides in Marlboro. 

George Edward (Eddie) Frye, s. George F. and Zilpah A. 
(Goddard) Frye; m. Annie Frances Smith of Marlboro, Oct. 9, 
1883. He d. Nov. 24, 1937, she d. July 30, 1934. They had: 

Roland Leslie, b. June 6, 1885, m. Anna Belle Patriquin Oct. 
30, 1912, res. Haverhill, Mass. 

Harrison Ames, b. Dec. 31, 1889, d. Aug. 28, 1899. 

Homer Edward, b. Jan. 15, 1892, m. Grace Belle Hare Mar. 1, 
1924, res. Columbus, Ohio. 

Leslie Morton Frye, s. George Fuller and Zilpah A. (God¬ 
dard) Frye, b. Sept. 23, 1863, d. June 21, 1946; m. Nellie Hastings 
Brown, dau. John and Lucy R. (Brigham) Brown, of Marlboro, 
Nov. 17, 1886. She b. Nov. 1, 1863, d. Mar. 3, 1943. 

2m. Ceridwen Williams of New York City, Mar. 15, 1944. 

Leslie M. Frye was born in Berlin in the house on Pleasant 
Street formerly owned by the late N. Harriman Fay. On his re¬ 
turn to Berlin in 1912, he bought the homestead of his grand¬ 
parents (Ephraim and Sophia Goddard), later known as the 
“Mark Goddard” place, on Pleasant Street. This property (Mar¬ 
cus M. Goddard) dates back to the purchase of the same (120 
acres) by Benjamin Bailey in 1718, of John Houghton 3d, on 
which he (Houghton) had built a house and lived therein. 

GALE 

Frank Randall Gale, s. William Randall and Luthera 
(Paine) Gale, b. Barre, Vt. Feb. 17, 1872, d. Dorchester Oct. 2, 
1935; m. Effie Anna Merrill, dau. John A. and Lorinda Elizabeth 
(Mansfield) Merrill, Aug. 3, 1904. She b. Berlin June 18, 1874. 
Had: 

William Merrill, b. Berlin July 21, 1908, d. Dorchester Aug. 2, 
1936, m. Mary Herdic Nov. 28, 1935, had Patricia, b. Nov. 
3, 1936. 

Elinor Luthera, b. Berlin July 24, 1909; m. Frank Raymond 
Moran Sept. 25, 1932; he d. Mar. 21, 1941. Had: 


GENEALOGY 


253 


Richard Clark, b. Jan. 14, 1934. 

Alberta Gale, b. Mar. 2, 1941. 

Alberta Elizabeth, b. Berlin Jan. 31, 1911. 

Mrs. Effie (Merrill) Gale resides with her daughter, Alberta, 
in the ancestral homestead on Carter Street at the junction of 
Highland Street. This was the residence of the late John A. 
Merrill and the house is one of the Luther Carter houses built 
around 1850. This development accounts for the section called 
“Carterville ” 


GILMOUR 

Isaac Dean Gilmour, s. John and Eliza (Hanna) Gilmour, b. 
Scotland Apr. 11, 1847, d. Oct. 29, 1929; came to Berlin 1899, 
settled on Lancaster Rd. (now 1958 res. his daughter Mrs. 
Rachel Kinnear); m. Susanne McGill, dau. William and Susanna 
(Rowan) McGill, Sept. 25, 1869. She b. Ireland Aug. 9, 1869, d. 
April 16, 1920. They had: 

Susan, b. Dec. 14, 1870, m. David Wright, res. Marlboro. 
Elizabeth, b. Feb. 19, 1872, m. John Begg, res. Marlboro, d. 
Apr. 2, 1942. 

Isaac, Jr., b. Aug. 9, 1874, m. Mary E. Thompson, Clinton; d. 
Dec. 7, 1899. 

Esther, b. June 3, 1876, m. Thomas Irvine Feb. 1, 1901, 
Leominster. 

John, b. Nov. 14, 1879, m. Florida Bovin. 

Sarah, b. Oct. 1880, m. James Sturrock Dec. 7, 1899, d. Dec. 
1925. 

Jennie, b. Feb. 25, 1882, m. John Begg May 30, 1902, d. Aug. 
11, 1907. 

David, b. Feb. 19, 1884, m. Anna Walkup, Marlboro, d. Feb. 
2, 1946. 

Samuel, b. June 7, 1887, d. Mar. 14, 1948. 

Isabelle, b. Dec. 24, 1889, m. Charles Sladen Sept. 1, 1917, 
Clinton. 

Rachael, b. May 16, 1890, m. George A. Muschie, he d. Mar. 
1920. 2m. Joseph D. Kinnear, he d. June 18, 1937. Res. 
homestead, Lancaster Rd. Rachel and George had: 

Charles E., b. May 26, 1914, m. Jean Caudix Apr. 13, 1948. 
George Allen, b. Oct. 14, 1916. 


254 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


GRALA 

Frank Joseph Grala, b. in Poland Mar. 1, 1869, d. Berlin 
Mar. 1, 1943; m. Mary R. Kowalski, she b. Poland Dec. 1874, d. 
Hudson Oct. 19, 1958. They came to Berlin in Oct. of 1919 and 
settled in the Frank Hartwell Place, cor. West St. and Boylston 
Rd. They had: 

William F., b. Sept. 24, 1895, m. Victoria Wojdaz. 

Theofil E., b. May 7, 1904, m. Louise, res. Marlboro. 

Anna Katherine, b. Jan. 27, 1905, m. John J. Veo, res. Hudson. 
Mary Rose, b. Nov. 1906, m. George Shepard Mayes, res. 
Hudson. 

Helen Agnes, b. Aug. 10, 1910, m. Joseph Patrick Greska, res. 
Hudson. 

Stanley Joseph, b. May 8, 1912, m. Helen Eileen Colena, res. 
Hudson. 

Antonina Mary, b. Mar. 13, 1913, m. Alfonse Unis, res. Hudson. 

William F. Grala, s. Frank J. and Mary R. (Kowalski) Grala; 
m. Victoria Wojdaz Sept. 1, 1915. She b. Poland June 16, 1897. 
Had: 

Josephine B., b. March 19, 1918. 

Francis Stanley, b. Mar. 30, 1920, m. Mary L. Grady. 
Theresa Mary, b. Apr. 9, 1930, m. Thomas J. Kenney, res. 
Clinton. 

Francis Stanley Grala, s. William F. and Victoria (Wojdaz) 
Grala; m. Mary Grady, dau. Malachi and Mary (Joyce) Grady, 
June 21, 1947. Had: 

William Francis, b. Clinton Feb. 12, 1949. 

Paul Joseph, b. Berlin June 18, 1954. 

GREENE 

Edward F. Greene, s. Alonzo F. (d. Oct. 2, 1917), and Mary 
A. (Fry) Greene (d. Nov. 24, 1931), dau. Sarah P. (Howard) 
and David A. Fry; b. Dec. 28, 1876, d. Sept. 17, 1955; m. Dora I. 
Dudley, dau. Era C. and Eleanor (Stearns) Dudley, Sept. 1, 
1905. He followed Mr. Dudley as Master of the Lyman School 
for boys. Following the close of the school in Berlin he resided 
in Marlboro. 


GENEALOGY 


255 


GUERARD 

John Joseph Guerard, s. Joseph and Odile (Donais) Guerard, 
b. Canada Jan. 16, 1883; m. Diana Laremie, dau. Homer and 
Caroline (Genire) Laremie, Apr. 28, 1902. She b. Canada Jan. 
17, 1883. Had: 

Almire, b. Uxbridge Dec. 10, 1903, m. Albert Haase, res. New 
York City. 

Eva Olivia, b. Worcester June 19, 1906, m. William Carl Snell. 

Wesley John, b. Worcester May 10, 1910, m. Bertha Emma La- 
tulippe. 

Violet Diana, b. Worcester June 24, 1912, m. Hector McKay, 
res. Marlboro. 

Rena Elmira, b. Worcester Aug. 15, 1917, m. Alfred W. 
Wheeler. 

Wesley John Guerard, s. John J. and Diana (Laremie) Guer¬ 
ard; m. Bertha Emma Latulippe June 28, 1930. She b. Dec. 4, 
1908, Worcester. Had: 

Richard Wesley, b. Nov. 18, 1932, m. Barbara Jean Andrade 
Feb. 20, 1955. 

Raymond John, b. Feb. 7, 1935, m. Carol Bonazzoli Aug. 3, 
1957. 


GUERTIN 

Theodore Guertin, s. Joseph and Margaret Guertin, b. Fair- 
field, Vt. May 22, 1842, d. Berlin Oct. 8, 1912; m. Clara Estelle 
Sawyer, dau. Israel and Louiza (Smith) Sawyer Aug. 29, 1868. 
She b. Sept. 22, 1845, d. Feb. 25, 1919. Had: 

Alice L. b. Berlin Nov. 7, 1868, m. Henry M. Betts. 

Edna Zoa, h. Berlin Sept. 2, 1873, d. May 17, 1939. She taught 
in Berlin Public Schools for thirty-eight years (1898-1936). 
Augustus Eleazer, b. Berlin Oct. 22, 1881, d. May 5, 1958, Bel¬ 
mont, bur. Pleasant St. Cemetery; m. Frances Houghan Sept. 
11, 1907. 


GUILD 

Herbert Horton Guild, s. Ernest Adelbert and Caroline 
(Horton) Guild, b. Canton, Mass. Feb. 7, 1897; m. Beatrice Ray- 


256 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


mond Haynes, dau. Francis Sleeper and Laura (Taylor) Haynes, 
Aug. 11, 1919. She b. Nov. 13, 1897, d. Jan. 20, 1947. Had: 

Laura, b. Apr. 2, 1921, m. Wentworth A. Ernst, May 1, 1944, 
res. Baltimore, Md. 

June, b. June 20, 1923, m. Harry L. Hemmerdinger Nov. 25, 
1944. 

Robert Haynes, b. Dec. 2, 1926, m. Jean E. Bradley Nov. 1, 
1952. 

2m. Helen (Kimmens) Moore, dau. Gilbert A. and Ella (Haynes) 
Kimmens of Bolton, Oct. 2, 1947. She d. Mar. 22, 1956. 

3m. Mrs. Eleanor Badmington of Maine on Feb. 14, 1957, in 
Berlin. 

Robert Haynes Guild, s. Herbert H. and Beatrice R. (Haynes) 
Guild; m. Jean Eleanor Bradley, dau. Harry F. and Eva G. 
(Gardiner) Bradley, Nov. 1, 1952. Had: 

Joanne Marie, b. June 11, 1955. 

Robert Haynes, Jr., b. July 30, 1957. 

Janis Lee, b. Dec. 10, 1958. 

HADLOCK 

John Andrew Hadlock, s. Everett and Nancy (Kelley) Had- 
lock, b. Newport, Vt. July 5, 1870, d. Berlin July 1, 1947. His 
father (Everett) d. Berlin May 29, 1917, his mother (Nancy) d. 
Sept. 1918. He m. Elizabeth May Stone, dau. Henry and Rhoda 
(Parker) Stone, July 27, 1895. She b. Newport, Vt. June 29, 1877, 
d. May 30, 1955. Her father (Henry Stone) d. Newport, Vt. Mar. 
18, 1914. Family came to Berlin in 1916, res. Derby Rd. in house 
of Ralph Marble (1957), thence removed to Arthur B. Wheeler 
house of South St. South Berlin. Had: 

Harry E., b. South Jay, Vt., May 9, 1897, m. Carrie Nelson, 
res. Simsbury, Conn. 

Erwin /., b. South Jay, Vt., Sept. 13, 1898, m. Ethea Parsons, 
res. Simsbury, Conn. 

Floycl C., b. South Jay, Vt., Mar. 18, 1901, m. Hershie Wynott, 
res. Simsbury, Conn. 

Dycia A., b. North Troy, Vt., Sept. 26, 1904, m. David W. 
Wheeler. 


GENEALOGY 


257 


HALE 

Charles F. Hale, s. Thomas and Eliza (Chase) b. Berlin, Dec. 
5, 1842, d. Sept. 10, 1919. 

2m. Nancy L. (S.) Hastings, dau. Benjamin and Eliza M. Hast¬ 
ings, Nov. 9, 1872. She b. Boylston Apr. 3, 1853, d. Berlin Jan. 3, 
1930. Had: 

Ralph Burton, b. July 8, 1876, d. Jan. 17, 1935. 

Charles F., b. Feb. 3, 1880. 

George W ., b. Sept. 30, 1886. (Farmer, West St.) 

Marion Gertrude (S.) b. Aug. 21, 1891. 

HANLEY 

Richard Arthur Hanley of Marlboro; m. Martha Harriet 
Allsobrooks Oct. 29, 1927. She d. Mar. 14, 1938. Had: 

Flora, b. Mar. 14, 1928. 

Vera, b. Oct. 3, 1933. 

Eva, b. May 7, 1934. 

Gloria, b. Oct. 5, 1935. 


HARMON 

Robert W. Harmon, s. George and Isabelle (Wallace) Har¬ 
mon, b. Medford Apr. 16, 1917; m. Myrtle Frances Manter, dau. 
Alfred E. and Frances Maude (Hipson) Manter, June 2, 1946. 
She b. Waltham Mar. 26, 1911. Had: 

David Manter, b. May 25, 1947. 

Roberta Ann, b. Feb. 3, 1950. 

Patricia Frances, b. Oct. 10, 1951. 

HARPER 

Henry Howard Harper (Literary-Farmer), s. Benjamin J. 
and Elisa (Rector) Harper, b. LeCrescent, Minn. July 10, 1871, d. 
New York; m. Maydora Pauck, dau. Charles A. Pauck, Dec. 2, 
1892. She d. in 1916. They had: 

Hazel, b. Houston, Texas, Oct. 7, 1893, m. Charles C. Ide. 
Hall, b. Winthrop, Mass. Sept. 9, 1898. 

2m. Marguerite Young of Minneapolis, Minn., dau. James C. 
Young. She d. in New York 1944. They had: 

Laurence Rector , b. Dec. 13, 1918, entered aviation service at 


258 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


New York Dec. 18, 1941, became Captain of test pilot flights; 
d. 1944. 

3m. Mrs. Grace Cowles Gardner, dau. Mr. and Mrs. Henry Clay 
Cowles of New York City Sept. 19, 1947. 

In 1909 Mr. Harper purchased the seventy-eight-acre home¬ 
stead farm of Dea. Oliver Sawyer on Sawyer Hill Road from 
Levi Cooley and made it his summer home, naming it “Green 
Brae Farm.” This place was the summer home of Madame 
Rudersdorff, the Russian prima donna, from 1876-1882, which 
she named her beautiful “Lakeside.” The house burned Jan. 31, 
1881. James and M. Reed Tyler purchased the place and rebuilt 
the house in 1885. The red barn became a point of the state tri¬ 
angulation (survey) stations, known as “Tyler’s Cupola.” In 1899 
the estate was sold to Levi Cooley. 

In several of his literary productions, which are in the Berlin 
Public Library, Mr. Harper gives expression of his life at “Green 
Brae,” saying that “Farming is a good deal like authorship; the 
principal thing I get out of it is the joy of being in it.” 

In 1915, Mr. Harper built a fifteen-room fieldstone bungalow 
to the south of his residence to serve as a vacation home for 
crippled children. On June 14, 1917, he sent a notice to the 
Clinton office of the Red Cross in which he offered his bungalow 
to the U. S. Government for hospital purposes. 

This bungalow was purchased by Dr. John R. Bergen in April 
1953 and remodeled into a modern, nine-room, glass house. 

HARRIMAN 

Norris B. Harriman, s. Sewell and Sarah (Simpson) Harri- 
man, b. Bucksport, Maine Feb. 28, 1868, d. Dec. 15, 1925, bur. 
Lowell; m. Sarah Elizabeth Palin, dau. Charles H. (d. July 15, 
1916) and Hannah B. (Baker) Palin, in 1889. She d. Clinton 
May 1, 1943. 

Came to Berlin in 1909, bought the John F. Larkin place of 
Boylston Rd., to which the Lyman Kendall house had been at¬ 
tached in 1895. The same is now (1958) the residence of Freder¬ 
ick W. Hatstat. Had: 

Maynard S., b. Lowell Jan. 3, 1890, d. Acton Oct. 1953, m. 
Fannie Adell Moss Sept. 18, 1915. Had son Bradley Moss 
Harriman , b. May 3, 1916. 


GENEALOGY 


259 


Smith Baker, b. Bedford July 21, 1891, d. Antrim, N. H. May 
1950, m. Florence M. Frazier of Maynard. 

Ralph Louden, b. Bedford Aug. 28, 1893, m. Mildred M. Hill. 
She b. Clinton Nov. 8, 1892, d. Berlin Oct. 26, 1916. 2m. 
Gladys Mae Sleeper. 

Smith Baker Harriman, s. Norris B. and Sarah E. (Palin) 
Harriman; m. Florence M. Frazier of Maynard Sept. 4, 1920. She 
b. Feb. 9, 1887. They settled on the Lemuel D. Carter farm (now 
John Niedzial) of Boylston Rd. in 1923 and removed to Antrim, 
N. H. in 1934. Had: 

Ruth Frazier, b. Oct. 25, 1921. 

Norris Bradley, b. Berlin Feb. 23, 1924. 

Smith Baker, Jr., b. Berlin Feb. 9, 1926. 

Ralph Louden Harriman, s. Norris B. and Sarah E. (Palin) 
Harriman. 

2m. Gladys Mae Sleeper, dau. Frank G. and Alice L. (Pierce) 
Sleeper, Mar. 19, 1920. She b. Grafton, N. H., Mar. 5, 1895. Had: 
Ralph Louden, Jr., b. Dec. 31, 1920. 

Hazel Ernestine, b. Mar. 12, 1923. 

Franklin Norris, b. Apr. 20, 1924. 

Barbara Alyce, b. June 22, 1928, m. Donald Roswell Thomas of 
Hudson, Oct. 8, 1949. Had: 

David Lynden, b. Oct. 8, 1950. 

Debra Eileen, b. Jan. 8, 1953. 

Linda Jean, b. Feb. 7, 1956. 

Ralph Louden Harriman, Jr., s. Ralph L. and Gladys M. 
(Sleeper) Harriman; m. Ethel Jane Langille of Lancaster Oct. 
15, 1941. She b. Aug. 19, 1923. Had: 

Sharon Lee, b. Jan. 18, 1943. 

Jefferey Brian, b. Feb. 7. 1944. 

2m. Virginia Rose Wheeler, dau. Emerson W. and Ethel R. 
(Ross) Wheeler, Dec. 2, 1956. Had: 

Judith Irene, b. Nov. 10, 1957. 

Franklin Norris Harriman, s. Ralph L. and Gladys M. 
(Sleeper) Harriman; m. Margaret Helen Hopfman of Clinton 
June 1, 1946. Res. Lancaster. Had: 


260 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Franklin Norris, Jr., b. Jan. 11, 1948. 

Nancy Louise, b. July 7, 1950. 

HART 

Linwood F. Hart, s. Fred E. and Inez (Deering) Hart, b. 
Hartland, Me. Jan. 9, 1911; m. Helen R. Manson, dau. Lyle J. 
and Maude (Kilton) Manson, Oct. 21, 1932. She b. Hartland, 
Me., Dec. 4, 1914. They came to Berlin, bought the Charles H. 
Bliss property of West Street in 1949. Had: 

Darrel Manson, b. Aug. 2, 1934, m. Eleanor Margaret Bailey 
June 11, 1955. 

Derwood Lyle, b. Mar. 5, 1936, m. Lucille Long Jan. 29, 1955. 
David Fred, b. Aug. 22, 1940. 

Darlene Ruth, b. Oct. 13, 1942. 

Dennis Eugene , b. Aug. 10, 1944. 

Doreen Alice, b. May 13, 1951. 

Derwood Lyle Hart, s. Linwood F. and Helen R. (Manson) 
Hart; m. Lucille Long* dau. Clyde W. and Gertrude M. (Arm¬ 
strong) Long, Jan. 28, 1955. Had: 

Philip Manson, b. Sept. 21, 1955. 

Nancy Ann, b. May 11, 1957. 

HARTSHORN 

Edward Howe Hartshorn, s. Dr. Edward and Lucy Elizabeth 
(Howe) Hartshorn, b. Berlin Dec. 16, 1842, d. Jan. 8, 1887; m. 
Lucinda H. Houghton, adopted dau. Rev. W. A. Houghton and 
Mary Grace Howe, May 28, 1869; she d. Dec. 26, 1876. Dr. Ed¬ 
ward d. July 26, 1906 and his w. Lucy Elizabeth d. July 4, 1898. 
Had by Lucinda Howe: 

Mary Grace , b. Feb. 25, 1871, m. John A. Otterson Mar. 17, 
1904. He b. Clinton Aug. 25, 1867, d. Stow. 

William Addison , b. Feb. 28, 1874, m. Ida Belle Rice, dau. 
Thomas and Susan (Kinder), Oct. 7, 1896. Res. Belfast, Me. 
She d. Feb. 10, 1950. 

Solomon Henry, b. Dec. 26, 1876, d. Dec. 26, 1876. 

2m. Louisa Southgate Hastings, dau. Rufus S. and Louisa S. 
(Blood) Hastings, Oct. 7, 1880. She b. May 9, 1858, d. Apr. 28, 
1930. Had: 

Lucinda Howe, b. Oct. 8, 1881. 


GENEALOGY 


261 


Ralph Edward, b. Oct. 21, 1883. 

Edward Howe, b. June 9, 1887, d. Dec. 3, 1903. 

HEBARD 

Frederick E. Hebard, s. Everett Adrian (d. Sept. 29, 1923) and 
Ella Adelaide (Miller) Hebard (d. May 11, 1931), b. Sept. 1, 
1875, d. Jan. 18, 1943; m. Cassie McCure, dau. Alexander and 
Margaret McClure, Feb. 12, 1912. Had: 

Margaret Adelaide, b. Nov. 2, 1920, m. Harold Forhan Sept. 
6, 1937, res. Clinton. 


HEBB 

James Hibbard Hebb, s. Benjamin F. and Cassie (Carkun) 
Hebb, b. Nova Scotia Feb. 15, 1871, d. Berlin Dec. 22, 1951; m. 
Amy H. (Farwell) Baker, dau. George and Mary M. (Worster) 
Farwell, May 14, 1896. She b. Berlin Mar. 23, 1869, d. Jan. 1, 
1949. Had: 

Eva Maria, b. Jan. 19, 1897, m. Joseph Edward Szewczyk May 
29, 1943, d. Feb. 12, 1959. Res. Clinton. 

Iva May, b. Sept. 22, 1900, m. Clyde E. Rogers. 

Ida Emeline, b. Nov. 14, 1904, res. Carter St. 

Annie Louise, b. Jan. 18, 1906, m. Michael Morgan Feb. 12, 
1927, res. Hudson. 

The “Hebb Place” on Walnut St., now (1957) owned by Albert 
E. Newick, was purchased by George Farwell in 1878 of Jarvis 
Wheeler; he in turn came into possession of the place through 
his father, Stephen Wheeler, in 1830, who settled there in 1798. 
Dolley Bowker, dau. Solomon and Dorothy Bowker, was b. 
Berlin Jan. 30, 1786. 


HEMMERDINGER 

Harry L. Hemmerdinger, m. June Guild, dau. Herbert H. and 
Beatrice R. (Haynes) Guild, Nov. 25, 1944. Had: 

Gary, b. Medford Sept. 5, 1945. 

Heidi Ann, b. Aug. 1, 1947. 

Gretchen, b. Mar. 3,1951. 

Kristie Jane, b. Aug. 8, 1956. 


262 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


His mother, Cora (Steeves) (Hemmerdinger) Grant d. Berlin 
May 1, 1957. 

HENRY 

Albert Edgar Henry, b. Shirley Nov. 10, 1870, d. Berlin July 
26, 1934; m. Rosena Elizabeth Tanner who was b. Bristol, Eng¬ 
land, June 12, 1867, d. Berlin May 23, 1941. She 2m. Eugene A. 
Pierce April 12, 1936; he d. Mar. 18, 1942. Mr. Henry came to 
Berlin 1914, settled on George W. Kallom place, Crosby Rd., 
house built by his father (Frederick D. Killam) about 1842. 

HOBBS 

Casper Winslow Hobbs, s. Fred J. and Cora (Wood) Hobbs, 
b. Dec. 27, 1906; m. Lelia Elizabeth Crossman, dau. Harrison 
and Mabel E. (Ware) Crossman, Aug. 15, 1926. She b. Aug. 15, 
1904, d. Aug. 20, 1928. Had: 

Carlton Robert , b. July 11, 1927, m. Doris M. Woodcock Aug. 

12, 1950. She b. May 5, 1929. Had: 

Susan Doris, b. May 15, 1951. 

Charlotte Elizabeth Hobbs, b. Aug. 4, 1928. 

HOLDER 

Herman Sumner Holder, s. Henry R. and Elmira (Crosby) 
Holder, b. Berlin Feb. 14, 1874, d. July 19, 1940; m. Jennie I. 
Fosgate, dau. Frederick A. and Ella F. (Swan) Fosgate, Oct. 4, 
1904. She b. Mar. 23, 1884. Had: 

Eben Daniel, b. June 6, 1907, m. Janet Cargill, had: 

Anne, b. May 3, 1941. 

Stanford Samuel, b. Sept. 22, 1909, m. Myrtle Broadbent. 

Evelyn, b. Jan. 10, 1913, m. Maurice O. Wheeler. 

David Fosgate, b. Dec. 20, 1919, m. Barbara Beach. 

For 45 years Herman S. Holder conducted a dairy and milk 
business at the homestead on Gates Pond Rd. The later five years 
of his life he resided in Hudson. 

Stanford Samuel Holder, s. Herman S. and Jennie I. (Fos¬ 
gate) Holder, d. Apr. 1, 1942; m. Myrtle Broadbent of Hudson 
Sept. 14, 1935. Had: 

Sandra Jean, b. Feb. 6, 1938. 

Sheila J., b. Apr. 7, 1942. 


GENEALOGY 


263 


Widow (Myrtle B. Holder) m. Burton K. Wheeler Sept. 25, 1947. 
Removed to California, 1957. 

David Fosgate Holder, s. Herman S. and Jennie I. (Fosgate) 
Holder; m. A. Barbara Beach, dau. Carl and Jessie (Emery) 
Beach, June 19, 1940. She b. Mar. 25, 1916, d. Feb. 5, 1954. Had: 

Donald Frederick, b. Sept. 11, 1941. 

2m. Harriet E. Dacey, dau. Arthur J. and Bertha (Crossman) 
Dacey, May 2, 1959. 

HOLMES 

James Royce Holmes, m. Betty Jane Tansey, dau. Warren W. 
and Helen L. (Wheeler) Tansey, Feb. 10, 1951. Had: 

Ronald Eugene, b. Aug. 26, 1952. 

Donald Edward, b. Aug. 8, 1955. 

HOPFMANN 

Ralph M. Hopfmann, s. Alwin E. and Loretta (Zink) Hopf- 
mann, b. Barrington, R. I. Apr. 16, 1915; m. Ruth M. Howe, dau. 
Earl F. and A. Ruth (Langley) Howe, June 19, 1937. She born 
Clinton June 1, 1917. Had: 

Gail Marie, b. Sept. 1, 1944. 

Alwin Edward, b. Mar. 5, 1946. 

Gary Michael, b. May 26, 1951. 

He resided on West Street from 1940 to 1952. Res. now Sterling, 
Mass. 


HOWARD 

George Washington Howard, s. Timothy, Jr. and Abigail 
(Temple) Howard, b. Sept. 27, 1819, d. Sept. 9, 1900, bur. Old 
Cemetery; m. Hulda (Forbes) Sargent, wid. of Curtis Sargent, 
Dec. 8, 1855. She b. Oakham, Mass. Nov. 17, 1823, d. Berlin Oct. 
25, 1911, bur. Lancaster Cemetery beside 1st husband. Had: 

Marshall Elwyn Howard, b. Nov. 24, 1857. 

Marshall Elwyn Howard, s. George W. and Hulda (Forbes) 
(wid. Curtis Sargent) Howard, b. Berlin Nov. 24, 1857, d. Berlin 
Sept. 19, 1920; m. Etta Melvina Perkins, dau. George A. and 
Melvina (Carville) Perkins, in Berlin Oct. 11, 1893. She b. Carth¬ 
age, Me. Jan. 22, 1861, d. Berlin March 27, 1934. Had: 


264 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Elwyn Warren , b. July 12, 1894, d. Oct. 30, 1926. 

Eula Lillian, b. Nov. 16, 1895, m. Frederick A. Krackhardt. 

Rufus Howard, s. Timothy, Jr., and Abigail (Temple) How¬ 
ard, b. Berlin May 18, 1805, d. July 23, 1865; m. Louisa, dau. 
Oliver Sawyer of Heath, she d. Mar. 18, 1886. Had: 

Sarah P., b. Jan. 10, 1827, d. Apr. 3, 1890; lm David A. Frye 
of Bolton Nov. 21, 1848. 2m. Joshua Wolcott. 

Elmira G., b. Feb. 19, 1829, m. William J. Davenport of Marl¬ 
boro. 

Susan B ., b. June 14, 1831, d. Dec. 16, 1894, m. Jonathan W. 
Ray. 

Louisa S., b. Dec. 20, 1832, m. Samuel N. Marsh June 8, 1851. 
Martha A., b. Aug. 4, 1834, m. Abel G. Haynes. 

Mary W ., b. Oct. 8, 1835, m. Ralph Safford. 

Adeliza Jane , b. Mar. 8, 1842, m. George H. Andrews Sept. 7, 
1862. 

Augusta M., b. Aug. 21, 1843, m. William Smith June 18, 1864. 
Homestead on Pleasant St. where Edmund J. Joslin now resides 
(1958). 

HOWE 

Alamson S. and Andelia Howe of Marlboro had: 

Chester A., b. Marlboro, m. Grace R. Wheeler. 

Olivia A., b. Marlboro, m. Edmund W. Wheeler, s. Willard 
M. and Caroline (Fosgate) Wheeler, June 30, 1879. 

2m. Alamson S. and Cordelia Howe, had: 

Ella L. Howe , b. Marlboro, m. Walter A. Wheeler, s. Rufus R. 
and Lucy (Walcott) Wheeler, May 3, 1886. 

Chester A. Howe, s. Alamson S. and Andelia Howe, b. Marl¬ 
boro Sept. 11, 1874, d. Berlin Aug. 25, 1941; m. Grace R. Wheeler, 
dau. Oliver S. and Hannah (Blodgett) Wheeler, May 1, 1895. 
She b. Marlboro May 11, 1870, d. Apr. 30, 1949. Had: 

Gertrude Bigelow , b. May 6, 1896, d. Jan. 17, 1926. 

Everett Wheeler , b. May 17, 1900, d. May 28, 1951, m. A. 
Mildred McMahill June 25, 1927. Had: 

John William Howe , b. Aug. 19, 1931, d. Sept. 3, 1931. 

Carlton W. Howe, s. Anson B. and Mary L. (Brown) Howe 
of Hudson, b. June 6, 1877, d. Aug. 23, 1949; m. Agnes Blanche 


GENEALOGY 265 

Crossman, dau. Frank H. and Lelia M. (Farwell) Crossman, 
June 14, 1905. Had: 

Brenda Alice, b. Aug. 20, 1915, m. Cuthbert S. Richards June 
12, 1937. Had: 

Diane Richards, b. Apr. 18, 1938. 

2m. Richard M. Goldfrank, May 7, 1943. Had: 

Richard Bruce , b. Apr. 21, 1946. 

Ellsworth Carlton Howe, b. Clinton Mar. 8, 1864, d. Dec. 
13, 1937; m. Lucy Sophia Barnes, dau. George H. and Eliza A. 
(Batchelder) Barnes, Mar. 8, 1910. She d. July 15, 1938. Had: 
Carlton Barnes, b. Dec. 18, 1911, m. Eleanor T. O’Malley. 

Carlton Barnes Howe, s. Ellsworth C. and Lucy S. (Barnes) 
Howe, m. Eleanor Teresa O’Malley of Clinton May 7, 1935. She 
dau. James and Mary (Kirby) O’Malley, b. June 1, 1913. Res. 
Clinton. Had: 

Richard Carlton, b. May 16, 1936. 

Eleanor Lucy, b. Mar. 11, 1938. 

HUBBARD 

Charles J. G. Hubbard, s. Augustus J. and Elizabeth (Welling¬ 
ton) Hubbard, b. Ashby, Mass. Oct. 21, 1863, d. Jan. 6, 1954. 
Came to Berlin from Fitchburg Jan. 15, 1895, located on the 
Reuben Wheeler place of Randall Rd.; m. Helen Gertrude 
Brooks, dau. Ivers H. and Nancy (Babcock) Brooks of W. 
Rindge, N. H., April 5, 1886. She b. Sept. 16, 1867, d. Sept. 24, 
1890. Had: 

Harold C., b. Dec. 19, 1887, d. Feb. 15, 1944, m. Hazel Russell. 
Amy Elizabeth, b. Sept. 10, 1889, m. Glen Salmond. 2m. Mr. 
Cragin. 

C.J.G. Hubbard 2m. Clara M. Welch, dau. Joseph and Matilda 
(Mellor) Welch of Manchester, England, April 19, 1893. She b. 
Aug. 31, 1863, d. Aug. 28, 1945. 

Harold Charles Hubbard, s. Charles J. G. and Helen G. 

(Brooks) Hubbard; m. Hazel Russell, dau. William Augustus and 
Emma (Wheeler) Russell of Hudson, Oct. 28, 1914. She b. Nov. 
2, 1893. Had: 

Helen Gertrude, b. July 28, 1915, m. Burton W. Dunfield. 


266 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Hilda Adeline, b. Feb. 24, 1918, m. John Warner Smith Oct. 
10, 1940. He d. Sept. 4, 1950. Had: 

Jacqueline, b. Nov. 5, 1946. 

Mabel Chesley , b. Dec. 31, 1922, m. David Anton Johnson, s. 
Carl R. and Hazel (Andrews) Johnson, June 24, 1944. Had: 

David Hubbard, b. Dec. 31, 1948. 

HUDSON 

Louis Germaine Hudson, s. Allan G. and Eliza Rankin (Louis) 
Hudson, b. Lower Island Cove, Newfoundland, Nov. 20, 1888; m. 
Carrie Sewall Fogg, dau. Reuell W. and Lucy (Sewall) Fogg, 
July 21, 1926. She b. Glouster, Maine, Apr. 16, 1886. He served as 
pastor of the First Congregational Church of Berlin from Sept. 
2, 1922 to Sept. 5, 1947. In recognition of this faithful and ef¬ 
ficient service, the Church voted upon him the honorary title of 
Pastor Emeritus as of January 16, 1959. He supervised the Oak 
Street development. The two daughters of G. Ernest and Ethel 
Woodman (Fogg) Bell resided with the Hudsons for several 
years following their mother’s decease, and deserve recognition 
as former natives of Berlin, namely: 

Carolyn Bell, b. Stoneham Apr. 22, 1923, m. Dr. Theodore H. 
Wilson, U.S.N., Sept. 23, 1944. 

Marjorie Bell, b. Stoneham, Jan. 9, 1926, m. Donald W. Han¬ 
son Sept. 18, 1948, res. Stoneham, Mass. 

JACKSON 

Britt an Ayers Jackson, s. George E. and Emma Rizpah 
(Ayers) Jackson, b. Fitchburg June 19, 1891, d. Berlin June 27, 
1950; m. Florence Elsie Felton, dau. George H. and Sarah J. 
(Norrish) Felton, Oct. 9, 1916. She b. Jan. 24, 1896, d. July 23, 
1951. They had: 

Elsie Brittan, b. Southbridge, Feb. 9, 1918. 

Priscilla Felton, b. Princeton, Aug. 7, 1919, m. Frederick W. 
Jewett. 

Rizpah Merle, b. Princeton, Apr. 12, 1921, m. Harold M. 
Warbin. 

Rachel May, b. Princeton, Apr. 12, 1921, m. John W. Corman. 

Carol Florence, b. Princeton, July 13, 1922, d. Dec. 2, 1938. 


GENEALOGY 


267 


JACOBS 

Elwin S. Jacobs, s. George Sumner Jacobs, b. Bolton Mar. 23, 
1887; m. Lula Mabel Trask, dau. Charles A. and Ella Jane 
(Waite) Trask, Nov. 10, 1911. She b. Saxions River, Vt. Oct. 9, 
1885. Adopted son: 

Richard Elwin Jacobs , b. Mar. 19, 1916, m. Constance Guard, 
Bridgeport, Conn., May 16, 1942. 

Joseph Rowe Jacobs, m. Arvilla L. Wood; came to Berlin in 
1908, purchased the Frederick A. Woodward place of Peach Hill 
Rd., formerly owned by Rufus Sawyer (1813) in the John 
Houghton Division. Had: 

Albert Augustus , b. Northboro Mar. 21, 1879, d. Berlin Oct. 4, 
1957, m. Clara Belle Wheeler, dau. Leslie E. and Jennie F. 
(Bowman) Wheeler, Feb. 8, 1911. 2m. Vesta Louise 
(Southart) Howe, July 21, 1917. 

Leon Moses , b. Northboro Nov. 11, 1891, d. Berlin Oct. 22, 
1909. 

Hattie D., m. Chester A. Barker Sept. 29, 1909. Res. W. Spring- 
field. 

Lillian Viola, m. Howard T. Chandler June 2, 1908. 

Wakefield S., res. East Brookfield. 

Franklin O., b. Mar. 23, 1896, d. Mar. 22, 1957, m. Marceu 
G. Pearson. 2m. Cora Damico. Res. Sterling. 

William W. Jacobs, s. George S. and Emma F. (Graves) 
Jacobs, b. Acton June 1, 1881; m. Bessie Burnham, dau. Dodd¬ 
ridge A. and Evelyn J. (Hardy) Burnham, Sept. 23, 1903. She b. 
Bolton Mar. 10, 1881. Res. Central Street (Stone’s Corner). 

JEWETT 

Walter Scott Jewett, s. Henry P. Jewett of Bolton, b. Apr. 7, 
1862, d. Bolton Mar. 20, 1908; m. Bertha L. Merrill, dau. Sewell 
H. and Augusta (Day) Merrill, May 17, 1884. She d. June 2, 
1946. Had: 

Ralph Sewell, b. Nov. 20, 1891, m. M. Ruth Archer. 

Frederick Walter Jewett, s. Ralph Sewell and Madeline 
Ruth (Archer) Jewett, b. Berlin July 15, 1919, d. Aug. 11, 1953; 


268 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


m. Priscilla Felton Jackson, dau. Brittan A. and Florence E. 
(Felton) Jackson, Feb. 10, 1946. Had: 

Linda Priscilla, b. Dec. 19, 1946. 

Bradford Alan, b. Sept. 15, 1951. 

Ellen Louise, b. May 26, 1953. 

JOHNSON 

Carl R. Johnson, s. Anton and Hannah Johnson, b. E. Boston 
Mar. 2, 1892, d. Berlin Nov. 9, 1945; m. Hazel Andrews, dau. 
Horace and Nellie (Hogan) Andrews, June 23, 1914. She b. 
Marlboro May 6, 1894. Had: 

Carl Russell, Jr ., b. Apr. 27, 1915; m. Beatrice Wadsworth Mar. 
4, 1937. 

David Anton , b. July 9, 1921; m. Mabel C. Hubbard June 24, 
1944. Had: 

David Hubbard Johnson, b. Dec. 31, 1948. 

Philip Andrews , b. Apr. 29, 1926, m. Edith Lorraine Peck 
June 14, 1952. 

Norman Roger , b. June 18, 1930. 

2m. Mrs. Hazel (Andrews) Johnson to Edward A. Chamberlain. 

Carl Russell Johnson, Jr., s. Carl R. and Hazel (Andrews) 
Johnson; m. Beatrice Burdette Wadsworth of Northboro Mar. 4, 
1937. She b. Nov. 20, 1919, dau. Ralph E. and Evelyn (Porter) 
Wadsworth of Northboro. Had: 

Karen Lee , b. Apr. 23, 1938. 

Carl Russell, III, b. May 28, 1939. 

Joyce Virginia, b. Aug. 31, 1940. 

Barbara Dale, b. Nov. 26, 1941. 

JONES 

Oscar Marcellus Jones, s. Solomon and Laura B. (Wheeler) 
Jones, b. Berlin Aug. 5, 1848, d. Berlin Feb. 9, 1916; m. Lucy 
Ella Kimmins, dau. Amos and Nancy Kimmins of Bolton. She d. 
Berlin Mar. 15, 1931. Had: 

Laura Angie, b. Apr. 9, 1882, m. Christopher Wheeler Dec. 
2, 1903. 

Hattie Belle, b. Nov. 22, 1888, m. W. Lyle Woodward Mar. 
25, 1915. 


GENEALOGY 


269 


Sibyl Beatrix, b. Aug. 12, 1891, m. Dr. Harry R. C. Cobleigh 
Apr. 22, 1916. He d. Sept. 27, 1918, she d. Nov. 27, 1922. 
Florence Marion, b. Oct. 5, 1893, d. Feb. 3, 1894. 

Mary Hope, b. Feb. 27, 1895, d. Mar. 21, 1929. 

Ralph Leroy, b. Mar. 11, 1898, m. Elizabeth Wahl Feb. 5, 1931. 

Ralph Leroy Jones, s. Oscar M. and L. Ella (Kimmins) Jones; 
m. Elizabeth Wahl, dau. Frederick C. and Catherine (Toole) 
Wahl Feb. 5, 1931. She b. Clinton Jan. 21, 1908. Res. on home¬ 
stead of Summer Rd.; house built by grandfather, Solomon Jones 
in 1864. Her mother d. May 27, 1935. Had: 

Margaret Hope, b. Dec. 15, 1935, m. Donald Henry Ulrich, s. 

Henry A. and Irene (Evans) Ulrich, May 31, 1958. 
Elizabeth Deborah, b. July 5, 1947. 

James Arthur Jones, s. Arthur C. H. and Mattie (Sargent) 
Jones, b. Concord, Mass. Oct. 15, 1889; m. Cora Brigham, dau. 
Frank E. and Eva (Whitney) Brigham, June 17, 1915. She b. 
Hudson Apr. 29, 1890, d. Berlin Nov. 21, 1935. Had: 

Waldo Brigham , b. Hudson May 20, 1916. 

Florence Evelyn , b. Hudson Mar. 19, 1918, m. Reginald Perry, 
res. Concord, Mass. 

Lawrence Arthur, b. Hudson Aug. 4, 1920. 

KEIZER 

George E. Keizer, s. James and Ellen (Conners) Keizer of 
Nova Scotia; m. Nellie F. Brewer, dau. Leonard W. and Harriet 
J. (Walker) Brewer, Aug. 26, 1888. She d. Aug. 28, 1922. He d. 
Feb. 2, 1935. Had: 

Althea Ellen, b. June 21, 1891, m. David S. Tyler. 

Hattie Eleen, b. May 27, 1896, m. William Cambridge July 25, 
1915. She d. July 29, 1916. Son William Lloyd Cambridge, b. 
July 29, 1916. 

Roy Leonard, b. Feb. 21, 1898, m. Addie Day. 

Lloyd Frank, b. Mar. 19, 1902, d. Mar. 19, 1911. 

Ethel B., b. Mar. 26, 1890, d. Aug. 26, 1890. 

Ralph L., b. Dec. 5, 1889, d. May 20, 1892. 

Verlie Mabel, b. June 23, 1892, d. Nov. 1, 1898. 


270 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Roy Leonard Keizer, s. George E. and Nellie F. (Brewer) 
Keizer; m. Addie Day May 13, 1918. Had: 

Marion Eleen Keizer , b. June 18, 1919. 

KENT 

Clifford Arthur Kent, s. George D. (d. Feb. 23, 1928) and 
Grace E. (Copland) Kent, b. Aug. 31, 1909 in Hampton, Conn.; 
m. Louise Dimond Stearns, dau. Austin E. and Lilian M. 
(Wheeler) Stearns, Dec. 31, 1932. She b. Westboro Oct. 3, 1913. 
Had: 

Arthur Austin , b. Mar. 28, 1935, m. Mary Shirley Hatt June 19, 
1955. Had: 

Carl Joseph , b. Mar. 16, 1957. 

Arthur David , b. Sept. 5, 1958. 

Foster Daughter: 

Anne Stanford , b. July 11, 1940. 

KERR 

Charles Albert Kerr, m. Betty Louise Marble, dau. Ralph P. 
and Mabel (Felton) Marble, Apr. 3, 1954. Had: 

Judith Ann , b. Nov. 8, 1954. 

Jayne Louise , b. Dec. 23, 1955. 

Thomas Linton , b. Oct. 28, 1957. 

KINGSBURY 

Ralph Sidney Kingsbury, s. Albert and Helen (Price) Kings¬ 
bury, b. Mattapan, Mass. July 20, 1900; m. May Taylor, dau. Fred 
and Catherine (Griffin) Taylor, Apr. 2, 1928. She b. Maynard 
Oct. 6, 1900. The family first came to Berlin in 1936, res. Lyman 
Rd. in Walter Wheeler homestead. Returned to Berlin in 1955 
and built a new home on Central Street where Mrs. Kingsbury 
operates a nursing home. Had: 

Ralph Sidney , Jr., b. Newton, Mass. July 25, 1929. 

Ralph Sidney Kingsbury, Jr., s. R. Sidney and Mae (Taylor) 
Kingsbury; m. Gloria Alice Dorais of Hudson June 4, 1950. Res. 
in Hudson. Conducts a sheet metal business. Had: 

Dianne Marie , b. Oct. 31, 1950. 

Daniel Francis , b. Dec. 8, 1952. 


GENEALOGY 


271 


Nancy Ann, b. Aug. 4, 1954. 

Susan, b. Apr. 9, 1956. 

KLEIN 

Ivan Anton Klein, s. Julius and Wilhelmina Klein, b. 1885 
Riga, Latvia. Graduate of Meadville Theological School, affiliated 
with University of Chicago; attended University of London, 
England; had graduate work at University of Chicago, Tufts 
College and Harvard University. Came to Berlin as pastor of the 
First Unitarian Society and served from 1925 to 1940. Then he 
took the pastorate of the Buffinch Place Church of Boston, retir¬ 
ing in 1958. During his pastorate the barn was remodeled into the 
Parish Hall. He was interested in dramatics and painted the 
scene on the front curtain on the Town Hall stage. 

KRACKHARDT 

Frederick August Krackhardt, s. August and Ophelia F. 
(Matthews) Krackhardt, b. Jan. 19, 1883, Newburgh, Ind.; m. 
Eula Lillian Howard, dau. Marshall E. and Etta M. (Perkins) 
Howard, Nov. 16, 1916. She b. Berlin Nov. 16, 1895. Had: 

Marguerite Elizabeth, b. May 12, 1923. 

Russell Howard, b. June 18, 1925, m. Barbara Beatrice Hatch. 

Elliott Marshall, b. Aug. 22, 1927, m. Merilyn June Hatch. 

Ruth Esther , b. Sept. 3, 1929, m. Gerald K. Clark of Clinton, 
s. Kenneth and Grace (Glassey) Clark, June 15, 1951. They 
had: 

Margaret Penelope Clark, b. Aiken, S. C., July 24, 1952. 

Bonnie Ellen Clark, b. Augusta, Ga., July 4, 1954. 

Gary Frederick Clark, b. Wilmington, Del., Mar. 23, 1957. 

Russell Howard Krackhardt, s. Frederick A. and Eula L. 
(Howard) Krackhardt; m. Barbara Beatrice Hatch, dau. Clar¬ 
ence Randolf and Lois (Foss) Hatch, in Cleveland, O., June 18, 
1948. She b. Cleveland, O. June 7, 1925. Had: 

David Michael, b. Jan. 27, 1950. 

Merribeth Ann, b. Dec. 24, 1951. 

Laurence Russell, b. June 11, 1957, d. July 26, 1957. 

Elliott Marshall Krackhardt, s. Frederick A. and Eula L. 
(Howard) Krackhardt; m. Merilyn June Hatch, dau. Leon S. and 


272 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Irene Pettengill, in Lynn, Mass., Oct. 24, 1953. She b. June 11, 
1932. Had: 

Debra Arlene, b. Syracuse, N. Y., Feb. 11, 1955. 

Diane Louise , b. Syracuse, N. Y., Apr. 9, 1957. 

Peter Elwyn, b. Syracuse, N. Y., June 15, 1959. 

LABONTE 

Oliver Henry LaBonte, s. Henry J. and Albina (Cloutier) 
Labonte, b. Putnam, Conn., Dec. 12, 1915; m. Lucy Carrie Coul- 
son, dau. Adelbert Eason and Miriam (Pratt) Coulson, Nov. 23, 
1944. Had: 

Barbara Lucy, b. Jan. 2, 1948. 

Paul Henry, b. Oct. 11, 1951. 

Joan Carol, b. Oct. 30, 1952. 

LANDIN 

Milton Arthur Landin, m. Corinne Helen Brewer, dau. Clif¬ 
ton W. and Helen L. (Estabrook) Brewer, Sept. 6, 1953. Had: 

Glenn Herbert, b. Aug. 31, 1954. 

Craig Milton, b. Oct. 25, 1955. 

Gloria Helen, b. Jan. 25, 1957. 

LaPORTE 

Arthur Paul LaPorte, s. Jerry and Annie Rose (Malbeauf) 
LaPorte (his mother d. Berlin Sept. 5, 1933), b. Lawrenceville, 
Prov. Quebec, Canada July 14, 1883; m. Ethel May Mills, dau. 
Harry John and Ida (Lewis) Mills, Dec. 25, 1911. She b. Worces¬ 
ter June 14, 1893. Her father d. Mar. 2, 1931. Came to Berlin in 
1921 having purchased the George Bowers place on Linden St. 
Had: 

Richard Mills, b. Feb. 27, 1928, d. Mar. 2, 1928. 

Roy Paul, b. Feb. 27,1928, d. Mar. 24,1928. 

Bristol Paul, b. Jan. 3,1933, m. Marlene J. Merrill of Worcester, 
Apr. 7, 1956. 

Jerry Simon LaPorte, s. Jerry and Annie R. (Malbeauf) La¬ 
Porte, b. Sept. 9, 1895; m. Olive Eloise Bowen, dau. Cyrus A. and 
May H. (West) Bowen, Sept. 2, 1939. Res. Auburn, Mass. 


GENEALOGY 


273 


LARKIN 

Dana Marshall Larkin, s. John Flavel, Jr., and Cynthia 
(Hayden) Larkin, b. Berlin June 21, 1828, d. Berlin Dec. 9, 
1905; m. Lucinda Elmina Sargent, wid. Charles D. Starkey, dau. 
of Curtis and Hulda (Forbes) Sargent, Nov. 4, 1868. She b. 
Shrewsbury Oct. 4, 1841, d. Berlin June 30, 1927. Res. in “Lark- 
indale” of the Boylston Rd., Had: 

Otis Hayden , b. June 4, 1869, d. Oct. 24, 1879. 

Ella Elmina , b. Nov. 18, 1870, m. Alvin W. Howe Feb. 11,1891, 
he d. Feb. 9, 1909, she d. Nov. 30, 1953. 

Warren Dana , b. Apr. 5, 1872, m. Charlotte M. Bigelow. 

Walter Augustus , b. Aug. 24, 1873, m. Lillie P. Wilson. 

Etta Maria , b. Apr. 24, 1875, m. John Francis Irwin, Mar. 5, 
1921. She d. Leominster Dec. 11, 1938. 

Emma Cynthia , b. Mar. 2, 1879, m. Alfred Pope Aug. 8, 1906. 
He d. Oct. 12, 1933. 2m. George Kreig Aug. 20, 1921, he d. 
Nov. 30, 1927. Res. Leominster. 

Foster sons: 

Winfield O. Larkin , b. May 20, 1888, d. June 14, 1920. 

Wilbur E. Larkin , b. Apr. 20, 1890, m. Claire LaPierre. 

Res. Saugus, Mass. 

Warren Dana Larkin, s. Dana M. and Lucinda Elmina 
(Sargent) Larkin; m. Charlotte Maud Bigelow, dau. Elmer El- 
bridge and Mary (Hanna) Bigelow, Feb. 21, 1901. She b. Rush- 
ville, Ill. Feb. 18, 1873, d. March 9, 1959. Warren d. July 10, 
1946. Had: 

Thelma Elmina , b. Aug. 1, 1901, d. Mar. 23, 1925. 

Walter Augustus Larkin, s. Dana M. and Lucinda Elmina 
(Sargent) Larkin, b. Aug. 24, 1873, d. Andover, Mass. Dec. 23, 
1929; m. Lillie P. Wilson Dec. 25, 1896. Had: 

Eldred W., b. Berlin Sept. 18, 1897. 

Harold E ., b. Berlin July 31, 1898. 

Grace L., b. Berlin June 6, 1900. 

Florence E., b. Berlin Sept. 16, 1902. 

Etta E., b. Andover Aug. 8, 1914. 

Ella M. y b. Andover Sept. 9, 1916. 


274 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


LASSELLE 

Frank C. Lasselle, b. Saco, Me. Apr. 1, 1829. Came from 
Waterville, Me. in 1887 and settled on the Dexter Fay Farm of 
Bellevue Road, at the Northboro-Berlin line (one half of the 
house is in Berlin, the other half is in Northboro). This farm has 
been occupied in succession by George H. Carpenter, Robert B. 
Churchill, Olaf Rebstadt and Roger W. Mills. He d. Berlin Sept. 
10, 1903; m. Catherine B. Lanphere of Waterville, Maine Mar. 
28, 1856. She b. May 5, 1834, d. Berlin Apr. 29, 1909. The record 
is that her Silver Dollar (a cartwheel) contributed at the Tues¬ 
day Club in 1902, was the nucleus for the building fund for the 
Berlin Public Library. Had: 

Edward C., b. Waterville, Me. May 11, 1857, d. Waterville, Me. 
Feb. 9, 1910, m. Kate Sheridan of Waterville, Me. July 17, 
1894. 

Pauline L., b. Oct. 9, 1860, d. Waterville, Me. Jan. 16, 1885. 
Lanphere D., b. Dec. 26, 1862, d. Hudson Sept. 7, 1936, m. 

Georgiana Pray Boston, June 2, 1897. 

John Frank , b. July 31, 1867, d. San Diego, Calif. Jan. 22, 1950, 
m. Rosa Torres, Sinaloa, Mex. Aug. 30, 1896. 

Janett L., b. Jan. 1, 1873, d. San Diego, Calif. Jan. 4, 1945, m. 

George H. Carpenter, Berlin Dec. 8, 1897. 

Arthur H., b. Dec. 2, 1878, m. Blanche Green, Berlin, Aug. 28, 
1901. Res. Westboro, Mass. 

LIBERTY 

Hector Alfred Liberty, s. George H. Liberty; m. Clara B. 
Betts, dau. Henry M. and Alice Louise (Guertin) Betts, Apr. 28, 
1910. Had: 

Leroy A., b. Sept. 24, 1911. 

George H., b. Nov. 13, 1913. 

Estella Clara , b. Dec. 2, 1914, m. Raymond Howard Stark Sept. 
29, 1951. 

Hector A., Jr ., b. Jan. 9, 1918. 

Joseph A., b. Dec. 28, 1921, m. Irene F. Hines, June 10, 1950. 


GENEALOGY 


275 


LOCKHART 

James Dennison Lockhart, s. Augustus and Sarah (Manning) 
Lockhart, b. Nova Scotia Feb. 9, 1871, d. Oct. 18, 1953; m. Nellie 
Sylvia Drysdale Sept. 10, 1905. She d. Apr. 10, 1943. Had: 

William, b. May 3, 1906, m. Louise F. Ordway Oct. 10, 1931. 

Marion May, b. Mar. 12, 1908, m. Armond Guerard Nov. 24, 
1929. Res. Oxford. 

Emma Gertrude, b. Dec. 25, 1909, m. Winthrop E. Bray Nov. 
28, 1931. 

Mildred L., b. Jan. 1, 1912, m. Robert L. Torteson June 21, 
1931. 

James Dennison, b. Mar. 2, 1914, d. Aug. 15, 1915. 

Ernest, b. Aug. 28, 1915, d. Sept. 1, 1915. 

Carlton Stanley, b. Oct. 14, 1916, d. July 20, 1917. 

William Lockhart, s. James D. and Nellie (Drysdale) Lock¬ 
hart, m. Louise Frances Ordway of Hudson, Oct. 10, 1931. Had: 

Grace Louise, b. Apr. 3, 1938, m. Cyrus Flint, Jr. of Marlboro 
Apr. 14, 1956. They had: 

Amy Louise Flint, Mar. 14, 1958. 

MANSEAU 

Lionel J. Manseau, s. Adzade and Josephine (Beaulac) Man- 
seau, b. Canada Dec. 6, 1904; m. Yvonne Roy, dau. Narcisse and 
Rosanna (Dubreuil) Roy, Sept. 2, 1928. She b. Canada Sept. 26, 
1900. He operates the Maple Poultry Farm on West Street. Had: 

Lucille Ann, b. May 19, 1932, m. Francis J. Roux June 20, 1953. 

MANTER 

Alfred Elmer Manter, b. Nov. 28, 1871; m. Frances Maude 
Hipson Nov. 6, 1891. She b. Mar. 10, 1870, d. Plymouth May 21, 
1958. Had: 

Ruth Caroline, b. Whitman Aug. 19, 1892, m. Clifford H. 
Barter. 

Alfred Elmer, Jr., b. Plymouth July 12, 1894, m. Mary Rich¬ 
ards; 2m. Beatrice (Johnson) Millikin. 

Richard Gordon, b. Plymouth Jan. 17, 1896, m. Laura Mitchell. 

Doris A., b. Whitman Sept. 21, 1897. Res. Lowell. 


276 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


George Truman, b. Holbrook Feb. 12, 1901, d. Berlin Mar. 30, 
1958. 

Lucy Glover, b. Holbrook Oct. 17, 1903, m. Cecil B. Wheeler. 
Bertha Maude, b. Holbrook, Dec. 15, 1905. 

Myrtle Frances, b. Waltham Mar. 26, 1911, m. Robert W. Har¬ 
mon. 

Elsie L., b. Waltham Nov. 17, 1917, m. George Burt. Res. R. I. 

George Truman Manter, s. Alfred Elmer and Frances Maude 
(Hipson) Manter, b. Holbrook Feb. 12, 1901, d. Berlin Mar. 30, 
1958; m. Frances Isabel Linn Jan. 16, 1926, dau. Fred and Theo¬ 
dore E. (Parker) Linn. Had: 

David G. 

Carolyn. 

2m. Ada Barbara Heeley, dau. William and Armanda M. (For¬ 
tin) Heeley, Apr. 12, 1944. She b. Lancaster Mar. 22, 1926. Had: 
June Ann, b. Lancaster March 6, 1945. 

MARBLE 

William Frank Marble, s. David and Abbie (Brazier) Mar¬ 
ble of Gloucester, b. June 22, 1852, d. Nov. 30, 1938. He m. Eva 
Peterson of Nova Scotia (1873). She b. Sept. 6, 1854, d. Dec. 28, 
1925. They came to Berlin from Somerville in 1904, having pur¬ 
chased the “Barnes Homestead” of the William H. Brown est. 
Had: 

Frank Wallace, b. 1877, m. Mary Alvira Charbot, res. Gary, 
N. H. 

Edmund Stewart , b. 1879, m. Pheobe MacPhail, she d. 1923. 
Res. Medford. 

David Arthur , b. 1881, m. Annie Esty. 

Roy Payson, b. Nov. 30, 1882, m. Flora M. Parkhurst. 

Paul August, b. Apr. 3, 1885, d. Dec. 3, 1913. 

Ralph Perkins, b. June 23, 1891, m. Mabel Felton. 

Carl, b. Feb. 9, 1893, res. Detroit, Mich., m. Marie D. Martin- 
dale. 

Benjamin, b. Mar. 10, 1895, m. Mary Gladys Mace. 

Perry, b. Apr. 7, 1897, m. Frances Frenchart. Res. St. Peters¬ 
burg, Fla. 


GENEALOGY 


277 


Frank Wallace Marble, s. William F. and Eva (Peterson) 
Marble, m. Mary Alvira Charbot of Gary, N. H. Had: 

Frank Joseph, b. Jan 21, 1902, m. Beatrice Ettinger of Cam¬ 
bridge. 

Charles Edmond, b. Jan. 2, 1903, m. Edith Ola McRae. Had: 
Charles Wallace, b. Dec. 21, 1933, m. Sybil Marie Brosnan. 
Fay Patricia, b. Sept. 2, 1936, m. Rex Wallace Copsy. 
Ronald Carl, b. Dec. 14, 1938. 

Gail Arline, b. Feb. 3, 1943. 


Roy Payson Marble, s. William F. and Eva (Peterson) Mar¬ 
ble, m. Flora M. Parkhurst, dau. Frederick and Augusta (Spauld¬ 
ing) Parkhurst, Nov. 12, 1918. She b. Feb. 5, 1884, Minneapolis, 
Minn. Her uncle, Clifton Parkhurst, d. Berlin May 4, 1945, age 
92 yrs. 6 mo. Settled in Berlin (1924) on the Henry J. “Gripp” 
Sawyer (or Dea. James Goddard) farm of Linden Street. Re¬ 
moved to Central Street. Had: 

Eva Parkhurst, b. Paxton Jan. 28, 1920, m. Donald Elliot Mc- 
Claren Mar. 4, 1946. 2m. Orville Christian Dahl June 13, 
1949. 3m. Burton K. Tobey Sept. 23, 1954. Res. Dedham. 

Flora Geraldine, b. Paxton Feb. 8, 1922, m. Albert Lester 
Touchette of Forestdale, R. I. Oct. 27, 1945. Had: 

Debora Diane b. July 30, 1951.1 Res Birmingham) Mich 
Pamela Ann, b. Dec. 3, 1953. 

David Roy Marble, b. Mar. 28, 1945. 


Ralph Perkins Marble, s. William F. and Eva (Peterson) 
Marble, b. June 25, 1891, d. Mar. 31, 1959; m. Mabel Felton, dau. 
George H. and Sarah Jane (Norrish) Felton, Aug. 4, 1922. Had: 
Betty Louise, b. Dec. 23, 1923, m. Charles Albert Kerr Apr. 3, 
1954. 

Ralph Perkins, Jr., b. Apr. 26, 1926, m. Sylvia Foster Shaw of 
Peabody Aug. 25, 1951. Res. Nantucket. 

Eleanor May, b. Jan. 25, 1933, m. Reginald Rayworth Doherty 
of Clinton. 


Benjamin Marble, s. William F. and Eva (Peterson) Marble; 
m. Mary Gladys Mace, dau. Francis M. and Edna C. (Holman) 
Mace of Bolton, Oct. 8, 1922. She b. Feb. 24, 1901. Her mother 
(Edna C. Mace) d. June 7, 1929. Had: 


278 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Benjamin Kenneth, b. Feb. 13, 1925, m. Dorothy Elaine 
Roberts July 4, 1948. 

Donald Francis , b. Aug. 6, 1927. 

Perry Marble, s. William F. and Eva (Peterson) Marble, m. 
Frances Winifred Trenchard, dau. Kenneth E. and Eleanor 
Trenchard, Dec. 22, 1934. Had: 

Kenneth William , b. Jan. 21, 1936. 

MARSH 

Edward S. Marsh, b. Hadley, Mass. Mar. 31, 1874, d. Apr. 
15, 1920; m. Lillian E. Pierce, dau. Arthur Franklin and Mary 
(Cartwright) Pierce, Dec. 25, 1905. Had: 

Emma E., b. Dec. 21, 1906, m. Alvah G. Blake Dec. 25, 1929, 
res. Leominster. 

Arthur E., b. Jan. 3, 1908, m. Elizabeth L. Burns Nov. 10, 
1934, res. Winchendon. 

Fordyce S., b. Jan. 8, 1909, m. Eleanor E. Jones Dec. 24, 1934, 
res. W. Boylston. 

Nellie M., b. Mar. 31, 1910, m. Charles E. McDermott Sept. 
28, 1935, res. Chicago. 

William G., b. Apr. 21, 1912, d. Sept. 15, 1912. 

Mary E., b. June 22, 1917, m. Carl J. Devoe June 6, 1938, res. 
Chicago. 

Lillian’s 2m. Frank E. Smith of Clinton, s. Louis and Gertrude 
(Brigham) Smith, Oct. 2, 1924. He d. Sept. 2, 1940. 

MARTINEIT 

Edward R. Martineit, s. of Edward and Dorothea (Koike) 
Martineit, b. Lithuania Feb. 7, 1885; m. Augusta Guenther, dau. 
Ferdinand and Minnie (Kenpen) Guenther, Dec. 20, 1908. She 
b. Lithuania Oct. 25, 1887, d. Berlin July 31, 1958. Had: 

Adolph , b. Sept. 12, 1909, m. Gertrude Beyer Apr. 17, 1936. 
Res. Clinton. 

Edward Edgar , b. Nov. 3, 1916, m. Elizabeth L. Sheperd. 
Walter Edwin , b. Nov. 3, 1916, m. Dorothea Armstrong June 
24, 1939. 


GENEALOGY 


279 


MATTHEW 

Andrew Barrowman Matthew, s. James and Jane (Barrow- 
man) Matthew, b. Bicknell, Ind. Feb. 9, 1911; m. Helen I. 
Vandlan, dau. Carl and Pauline (Anderson) Vandlan, Aug. 29, 
1931. She b. Worcester Mar. 11, 1912. Had: 

Andrew Barrowman, Jr., b. Aug. 20, 1932, m. Mary Ellen Tan- 
sey. 

David Vandlan, b. Mar. 23, 1935, m. Elaine Joyce Neumann, 
June 28, 1958. 

Carl James, b. July 21, 1954. 

Andrew Barrowman Matthew, Jr., s. Andrew B. and Helen 
(Vandlan) Matthew; m. Mary Ellen Tansey, dau. Warren W. and 
Helen L. (Wheeler) Tansey, Aug. 3, 1957. Had: 

Mark Andrew, b. Mar. 21, 1959. 

MAYNARD 

Charles B. Maynard, s. George W. and Sophia (Bigelow) 
Maynard, b. Berlin Nov. 24, 1846, d. Mar. 14, 1914;, m. Sarah 
Ellen Frink, dau. Orlando and Eunice (Russell) Frink, Nov. 24, 
1870. She b. Swanzey, N. H. Apr. 5, 1846, d. Berlin Mar. 24, 1909. 
Had: 

Ernest B., b. Wakefield Aug. 24, 1872, m. Eugenia Skinner. 
2m. Martha Seldon. 

Lester R., b. Wakefield Oct. 1, 1874, d. June 28, 1957. 

Mabel A., b. Berlin Oct. 23, 1876, d. April 1917. 

Ethel F., b. Berlin Jan. 4, 1879, m. Charles A. Fromant; she d. 
Apr. 28, 1910. 

Minnie E., b. Berlin Aug. 14, 1882. 

Leland C., b. Berlin Aug. 23, 1889, d. Apr. 8, 1959. 

MERRILL 

Frank Edward Merrill, s. Arthur G. and Rosamond J. 
(Buchan) Merrill, b. Watertown Sept. 17, 1923; m. Ruth E. Sel- 
mer, dau. Rev. Carl W. and Elizabeth J. (Pinkul) Selmer, Sept. 
5, 1948; she b. Boston Jan. 6, 1928. Had: 

Stanley Edward, b. Nov. 1, 1949. 

Richard Kent, b. Apr. 13, 1954. 

Glenn Robert, b. Apr. 29, 1956. 


280 HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 

Frank E. Merrill and family came to Berlin in 1956 and located 
on Peach Hill Rd. The bungalow built by William C. Dean in 
1911 was burned in 1941. The present house was constructed and 
remodeled by Philip Tyler. 

John A. Merrill, s. John D. and Mary H. (Barter) Merrill, b. 
Sept. 7, 1827, d. Mar. 24, 1916; m. Laura E. Carter, dau. Ivory 
and Oliver (Smith) Carter, Apr. 2, 1853. She b. May 25, 1834, d. 
Aug. 28, 1866. Had: 

Alice M., b. May 13, 1856, m. Henry S. Houghton, Jr., Sept. 
28, 1876. 

Laura Elizabeth, b. June 9, 1861, m. Warren S. Howe, Jan. 18, 
1888. 

2m. Lorinda E. Mansfield of Ashby July 3, 1869. She d. Mar. 22, 
1928. Had: 

Walter Everett, b. Dec. 24, 1870, d. Feb. 15, 1932. 

Effie Anna, b. June 17, 1874, m. Frank R. Gale Aug. 3, 1904. 
Mr. Merrill operated a store of general merchandise on the corner 
of Carter and Highland Streets (now the residence of Mr. Hall 
Rayner) from 1875 to 1914. 


MILLS 

John K. Mills, m. Elizabeth B. (Holt), res. Nelson, N. H. 
They had: 

Charles D. Mills, b. Greenville, N. H. 1861, d. Jacksonville, Fla. 
m. Etta F. Parmenter, dau. A. D. and Julia Parmenter, Dec. 
27, 1881. 

John K. Mills, b. Greenville, N. H. 1864, d. Northboro, Mass., 
m. Elsie Jennie Parmenter, dau. A. D. and Julia Parmenter, 
Mar. 29, 1887. She d. Jacksonville, Fla., bur. Berlin Dec. 26, 
1950. 

Silas L. Mills, b. Mason Village, N. H. 1866, d. Aug. 21, 1914. 
Came to Berlin 1885, m. Ella M. Flagg, dau. Edward W. 
and Charlotte M. (Looms) Flagg, Dec. 24, 1885. She b. 
Berlin Oct. 4, 1866, d. Berlin July 15, 1950. Had: 

Lula Edith, b. Berlin May 19, 1888, d. Berlin Feb. 27,1950. 
Roy Edward, b. Berlin Dec. 2, 1890. 

Mildred Hazel, b. Berlin Oct. 22, 1896. 


GENEALOGY 


281 


Roy J. Mills (Station Agent), s. Alfred Estrin and Mary 
(Chalmers) Mills, b. New Brunswick May 3, 1894; m. Emily 
M. Looms Mar. 14, 1919. She b. London, Eng. Feb. 8, 1898. Came 
to Berlin in 1923, located on Lancaster Road near Bolton town 
line. Had: 

Gertrude Emelie, b. Moncton, N. S. Feb. 3, 1921, m. Roger 
Adam Laughlan May 6, 1950. 

Hilda Edna , b. Leominster Aug. 12, 1922, m. James Warren 
Ordway May 12, 1942. 

Mary Elizabeth , b. Berlin Nov. 24, 1923, m. James Alan Hen¬ 
derson Jan. 5, 1946. Res. Holden. 

MORSE 

Amory C. Morse, s. Jesse Morse of Marlboro; m. Mary 
Sawyer Spofford, dau. Capt. Samuel, Jr. and Betsey (Sawyer) 
Spofford, July 7, 1847. She b. June 25, 1828, d. June 6, 1915. 
Amory C. d. Feb. 14, 1885. Had: 

Mary Amanda , b. Dec. 20, 1859, d. Dec. 17, 1934. She had 
retained the Capt. Samuel Spofford homestead on Highland 
Street, now (1958) occupied by Ernest O. Wheeler. 

MOSSMAN 

Edward Mossman, m. Lilith Trask, dau. Charles A. and Julia 
(Eaton) Trask. Had: 

Emeline G., m. Edwin J. Brown, res. Hudson. 

Marion A., m. Leon Spence, 2m. Clarence E. Beck Nov. 2, 1937, 
res. Hudson. 

Florence , m. Samuel McNutt, res. Watertown. 

Howard , m. Marion Waugh, res. Waltham. 

MUNGEAM 

Richard Mungeam, s. Richard and Jane (Clout) Mungeam of 
Rochester, England, b. June 1, 1883; m Ethel Florence Edge, 
dau. Richard Curson and Anne (Fynes) Edge, of Chatham 
England Nov. 29, 1903. Came to Berlin in 1925. Had: 

Leonard Richard , b. Apr. 30, 1906, m. Ruth Mabel Brewer. 

Gladys Ethel , b. July 21, 1908. 


282 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Leonard Richard Mungeam, s. Richard and Ethel (Edge) 
Mungeam, m. Ruth Mabel Brewer, dau. Alfred D. and Julia 
(Walcott) Brewer, Apr. 30, 1927. Had: 

Gretta Mae, b. Nov. 23, 1927. 

Lee Richard, b. Jan. 16, 1929, m. Vera Dorothy Gross. 
Virginia Ann, b. April 22, 1940, m. Clifford Herbert Wheeler, 
Jr.. 

Lawrence Alfred, b. Dec. 13, 1931, m. Theresa Loretta Gil- 
chrest. 

Alan Leonard, b. May 13, 1933, m. Barbara Rimkus July 2, 
1957. 

Lee Richard Mungeam, s. Leonard R. and Ruth M. (Brewer) 
Mungeam; m. Vera Dorothy Gross June 10, 1950. Had: 

Marsha Lea, b. Sept. 11, 1955. 

Richard George, b. Dec. 18, 1956. 

Lawrence Alfred Mungeam, s. Leonard R. and Ruth M. 
(Brewer) Mungeam; m. Theresa Loretta Gilchrest, Mar. 18, 
1949. Had: 

Linda Ann, b. Aug. 17, 1949. 

Alan Leonard Mungeam, s. Leonard R. and Ruth M. (Brew¬ 
er) Mungeam; m. Barbara Ann Rimkus July 2, 1957, Had: 

Anna Marie, b. Nov. 22, 1958. 

MURPHY 

Dennis D. Murphy, s. Daniel and Catherine (Mahoney) Mur¬ 
phy, b. Nov. 28, 1880, d. Dec. 8, 1957; m. Mary A. Sheehan, dau. 
Dennis and Mary (Reardon), Nov. 28, 1906. She b. Mar. 25, 
1883, d. Dec. 23, 1957. Had: 

Daniel J. b. Lawrence Oct. 19, 1908, m. Jeannette D. Senecal 
Sept. 11, 1942. 

Augustine Dennis, b. Hudson June 30, 1917. 

Rita Mary, b. Hudson Aug. 8, 1919, m. Fred G. Burge of San 
Antonio, Tex. Aug. 5, 1950. 

McCARTY 

John William McCarty, s. Robert and Jane (Roche), b. 
Dec. 27, 1869, d. May 5, 1950; m. Maria (Mayberry) dau. Robert 


GENEALOGY 


283 


and Eliza (Gaw) Mayberry, Aug. 29, 1894. She b. Canada June 
3, 1870, d. Clinton Feb. 27, 1940. Had: 

Lois Isabelle, b. Clinton July 27, 1898, m. Reginald Bates Nov. 
10, 1923. 


McNAMARA 

William E. McNamara, s. John Augustus and Annie (Hogan) 
McNamara, b. Spencer Jan. 12, 1900; m. Ella Mary End, dau. 
Daniel Francis and Mary Elizabeth (O’Malley) End, Feb. 10, 
1922. She b. Berlin Jan. 22, 1898. Her father d. Sept. 10, 1938. 
Had' 

Eleanor Frances, b. Worcester May 20, 1923. 

Edward Joseph, b. Spencer Dec. 1, 1924. 

Anna Marie, b. Feb. 10, 1928. 

John Augustus, b. Oct. 8, 1930. 

William Edward, b. July 20, 1932. 

Eileen Dorothy, b. May 11, 1934. 

Charles Thomas, b. July 16, 1936. 

Patricia, b. Oct. 12, 1938. 

NELSON 

Charles Nelson, s. Charles A. and Marion (Rasmussen) Nel¬ 
son, b. Northboro June 9, 1898; m. Marjorie Viola Parker, dau. 
Harry W. and Daisy Viola (Wallace) Parker, Oct. 16, 1935. She 
b. Westboro Sept. 1, 1911. Had: 

Charles Thornton, b. Aug. 28, 1941. 

Richard Alan, b. Jan. 9, 1947. 

NIEDZIAL 

John Niedzial, s. Frank and Stacia Niedzial, b. Sterling June 
8, 1914; m. Marilea P. Morse, dau. Earle C. (d. Dec. 3, 1951) and 
Mary (Pettee) Morse, Oct. 7, 1935. She b. Mar. 1, 1915 in 
Worcester. Her maternal grandmother, Lena E. (Heissler) 
Pettee, d. June 19, 1959, bur. Pleasant St. Cemetery. Had: 
Kathlea Mary, b. Aug. 1, 1939, m. Louis A. Bolduc July 15, 
1959. 

John, Jr., b. Dec. 31, 1937. 


284 HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 

Pattilea Sandra, b. Sept. 20, 1941, m. Joseph P. Ciampaglia 
Sept. 26, 1959. 

Bonnilea Susan, b. Feb. 22, 1949. 

NUTTING 

Charles Allen Nutting, s. John Chancy and Maria (Stone) 
Nutting, b. Leominster Nov. 11, 1873, d. Berlin Nov. 5, 1933; m. 
Alice Edna Merriam, dau. Lyman Wheeler and Ellen Maria 
(Lowe) Merriam, Apr. 20, 1904. She b. Fitchburg Nov. 25, 1874, 
d. Berlin Oct. 30, 1956. Family came to Berlin in 1910, employed 
with Truman P. Felton of Linden Street. Had: 

John Lyman, b. Fitchburg June 1, 1905, m. Blanche J. (Wdieel- 
er) Falby Nov. 28, 1943. 

Charles Edward, b. Nashua N. H. Aug. 16, 1906, m. Laura 
Austin Geers Mar. 16, 1934. 

Henry Allen, b. Nashua, N. H. Apr. 28, 1908. 

John Lyman Nutting, s. Charles A. and Alice E. (Merriam) 
Nutting; m. Blanche J. (Wheeler) Falby, dau. William E. and 
Ethel E. (Randall) Wheeler, Nov. 28, 1943. Res. Derby Rd., 
brick house built by Welcome Barnes about 1815; later (1834) 
this became the home of Mary Whitcomb who married John B. 
Gough Nov. 23, 1843. Adopted children: 

Beverly Jane Nutting, b. Aug. 13, 1944. 

Lyman Clifford Nutting, b. Aug. 7, 1946. 

Charles Edward Nutting, s. Charles A. and Alice E. (Mer¬ 
riam) Nutting; m. Laura Austin Geers, dau. Otto Henricson and 
Edythe Belle (Woodward) Geers, Mar. 16, 1934. She b. Stow 
June 20, 1914. Her father (Otto H. Geers) d. Sept. 30, 1943. Had: 

Barbara Ann, b. Feb. 6, 1937, m. William A. Hart, Jr., St. Paul, 
Minn. July 20, 1957. Had: 

William Charles Hart, b. Germany Aug. 7, 1958. 

Edith Alice, b. Mar. 3, 1938, m. Alfred W. Brewer May 3, 1958. 

ORDWAY 

Alfred Frost Ordway, s. James H. and Frances A. (Locke) 
Ordway, b. April 11, 1881 in Hudson, d. Apr. 2, 1955; m. Eva 
Louise Carter, dau. Jonas H. and Annetta L. (Draper) Carter, 
Mar. 16, 1906. She d. June 6, 1956. Had: 


GENEALOGY 


285 


Louise Frances, b. Sept. 11, 1906, m. William Lockhart Oct. 10, 

1931. 

Alfreda Lucie, b. Nov. 5, 1908, m. Philip W. Warren Sept. 24, 
1938. 

Doris Carter, b. Sept. 19, 1910, m. Vincent S. Eager June 20, 
1933. 

Edna Marion, b. Sept. 27, 1911, m. Donald M. Wilson Nov. 
22, 1944. 

Elizabeth, b. July 25, 1915, m. Carroll R. Wheeler Dec. 24, 

1932. 


PAINE 

Everett Lewis Paine, s. Lewis E. and Lucy E. (Wheeler) 
Paine, b. Bolton Sept. 26, 1881; m. Flora Susan Randall, dau. 
Paul A. and Abbie W. (Kimmins) Randall, Apr. 4, 1903. She b. 
Aug. 27, 1880, d. Dec. 31, 1950. Res. in new house built by Paul 
A. Randall, about 1890, on Randall Road. Had: 

Edith Abbie, b. July 22, 1906. 

Lewis Randall, b. Apr. 19, 1908, m. Pauline Stratton, dau. Her¬ 
bert and Vida (Folsom) Stratton of Hudson, Oct. 6, 1934. 
She b. Feb. 10, 1906. Res. Pleasant Street in house built by 
Rev. David R. Lampson (1834), later owned by Henry H. 
Bliss and heirs. 

2m. Everett L. Paine—Susan M. (Thomas) Wetherbee Jan. 15, 
1952. Built new house on West Street (1957). 

PARMENTER 

Appleton Dana Parmenter, s. Isaac of Sudbury, came to 
Berlin with his family in 1875, res. “New Worcester” of South 
Street; m. Julia Bancroft of Nelson, N. H. He d. Feb. 5. 1904, 
she d. Sept. 3, 1896. Had: 

Ella R., b. Sudbury May 1, 1852, m. Edward P. Holden of 
Lowell, s. Josephus N. and Rosina H. Holden, Dec. 5, 1876. 
Etta F., b. Sudbury June 8, 1856, m. Charles D. Mills of Keene, 
N. H., s. John K. and Elizabeth B. (Holt), Dec. 27, 1881, 
res. Jacksonville, Fla. 

Emma N. b. Sudbury Mar. 10, 1858, m. James W. McLaren. 
He d. 1877. 2m. William Allen, s. William W. and Elizabeth 


286 HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 

Allen. He d. May 22, 1888. She resides with her dau. Mrs. 
T. E. Miller, at 45 Bay State Rd., Worcester. 

Isaac Fowler, b. Sudbury Sept. 14, 1860, d. Berlin May 8, 1938, 
m. Adelaide R. Cottle, dau. William and Julia Ann (Look) 
Cottle of North Tisbury (Martha’s Vineyard), Sept. 28, 1887. 
Built house on South Street 1892. She b. N. Tisbury Mar. 
23, 1861, d. Berlin Dec. 21, 1940. 

Elsie Jennie, b. Sudbury Apr. 6, 1862, d. Jacksonville, Fla. 
Dec. 26, 1950, m. John K. Mills, s. John K. and Elizabeth 
Mills of Keene, N. H., Mar. 29, 1887. 

Edward Thomas Parmenter, s. Henry G. and Ella May (End) 
Parmenter, b. May 22, 1880 in Northboro, d. June 16, 1951, came 
to Berlin in 1914; m. Lulu Marie Olive Cook, dau. Charles Fred¬ 
erick and Thora Amelia (Thorgeson) Cook, June 7, 1906. She b. 
Dec. 17, 1886. They had: 

Ernest Waldo, b. Watertown May 21, 1907, m. Irene Breault of 
Stow Aug. 4, 1935. 

Edward Carl, b. Apr. 12, 1909, m. Ruth M. Bowen Apr. 15, 
1934. 

Lulu Thora, b. Nov. 14, 1919, m. Roger M. Wheeler May 2, 
1942. 

Waldo G. Parmenter, s. Henry G. and Ella May (End) 
Parmenter, b. Worcester Aug. 17, 1884; 

2m. Lulu Marie Olive (Cook) Parmenter, Oct. 25, 1955. 

PEIRCE 

Arthur Warren Peirce, s. Warren Clifton and Josephine L. 
(Babcock) Peirce, b. Northboro Aug. 6, 1888. His mother was 
dau. William Thomas Babcock of “Kelley Hill,” Berlin, b. Mar. 
20, 1864; m. Aug. 23, 1887. He m. Myrtle Day Arnold of Marlboro 
July 5, 1910. They had: 

Helen Marion, b. Nov. 2, 1911, m. Joseph Wade. 

Eleanor Josephine, b. July 27, 1913, m. Francis Santora. 
Carolyn Howe, b. Jan. 27, 1915, m. Edwin Proctor. 

Arthur Warren, Jr., b. Jan. 3, 1920, m. Mary Hayden; 2m. Jean 
Kirby. 

Kenneth Leigh, b. July 28, 1927, m. Mary Audrey Boudreau. 


GENEALOGY 


287 


Kenneth Leigh Peirce, s. Arthur W. and Myrtle D. (Arnold) 
Peirce; m. Mary Audrey Boudreau of Grafton July 31, 1948. Had: 
Susan Lee, b. May 4, 1951. 

Karen Jean , b. Dec. 17, 1952. 

PHIPPS 

Carl Douglas Phipps, s. John H. and Florence G. (Hill) 
Phipps, b. Marlboro May 14, 1900; m. Viola H. Ricker, dau. 
Giles and Ella M. (Gulliver) Ricker, Mar. 19, 1933. She b. Marl¬ 
boro Nov. 29, 1902. Had: 

Janet Ellen, b. Jan. 7, 1939. 

Nancy Ella , b. June 3, 1941. 

Douglas Henry, b. Jan. 22, 1943. 

Came to Berlin in 1933; orchardist on Chedco Farm, Inc. Res. 
on Central Street in the remodeled Edward Bliss house of 1842. 
Descendants, Oliver C. Rice and Jerome O. Warren (Station 
Agt.) lived here as late as 1912. 

PIERCE 

Arthur Franklin Pierce, s. Isaac and Elisa (Thomson) 
Pierce, b. in Peru, Mass. Oct. 28, 1853, d. Nov. 20, 1941; m. Mary 
V. Cartwright, dau. Algernon and Sarah E. (Carter) Cartwright, 
June 10, 1879. She d. Dec. 19, 1916. Had: 

Elisa V., b. Nov. 3, 1880, m. Lewis Heiberg in Tenn. She d. 
Jan. 3, 1904. 

Lillian E., b. Northboro Apr. 15, 1883, m. Edward S. Marsh. 
He d. Apr. 15, 1920. 2m. Frank E. Smith of Clinton Oct. 2, 
1924. 

Dorothy, b. May 18, 1897, m. Walter M. Allen. 

* 

Eugene Albert Pierce, s. Brigham Pierce, b. Rutland July 
10, 1866, d. Bridgeport, Conn. Mar. 18, 1942, bur. Leominster. 
Came to Berlin 1922; m. Rosena E. (Tanner) Henry, wid. Albert 
E. Henry, Apr. 12, 1936, res. Crosby Road. She d. May 23, 1941. 

George G. Pierce, s. Orrin and Fidelia (Holden) Pierce, b. 
Rutland Jan. 17, 1870, d. Leominster Dec. 15, 1957. Came to 
Berlin in 1893, witnessed the construction of Metropolitan Aque¬ 
duct at Shaft No. 1 from Village at Dana Larkin’s of Boylston 
Rd. Became engaged as teamster for S. R. Carter Stores until 


288 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


taken over by Farm Service Company (1917). In 1932 purchased 
80/2 acres of the Larkin estate, including land of the original 
Philip Larkin and the homestead of John F. Larkin, now (1957) 
residence of Frederick W. Hatstat, Boylston Rd. The property 
is now owned by Laurence Rauscher of Clinton. 

Kenneth Malcolm Pierce, s. Archie L. (d. Berlin June 24, 
1959) and Mabel (Brown) Pierce, b. Stoneham, Mass. Aug. 13, 
1910; m. Helen Louise Brown, dau. John A. and Elizabeth (Mac- 
Connell) Brown, June 2, 1935. She b. Dorchester Dec. 1, 1914. 
Came to Berlin in 1937, engaged in greenhouses of Samuel H. 
Wheeler Estate on Sawyer Hill Rd. Had: 

Roger Kenneth , b. Dec. 30, 1941. 

Douglas Stanley , b. Mar. 7, 1945. 

Carolyn Jean , b. Sept. 13, 1946. 

PLAMONDON 

Alphonse Plamondon, s. John and Marie (Lafond) Plamon- 
don, b. Lebanon, N. H., Mar. 17, 1887, d. Oct. 21, 1957; m. Ade¬ 
line G. Poland, dau. Solomon Poland and Ellen A. (Teehan) 
Poland, Oct. 9, 1912. She b. Fitchburg Jan. 31, 1887, d. Berlin 
June 29, 1951. Had: 

Norbert , b. July 8, 1919, m. Mollie Treadaway in England, 
1945. 

Came to Berlin in 1928 and operated Carter’s Store of West 
Berlin. 


POPP 

Eugene A. Popp, s. Michael and Barbara (Jahreis) Popp of 
Bolton, b. Bolton June 12, 1900; m. Iva Melvina Larkin, dau. 
Alfred Gilbert (d. Apr. 19, 1928) and Melvina Amanda (Luce) 
Larkin (d. Dec. 20, 1958) of Boylston, June 30, 1926. She b. 
Boylston Sept. 30, 1900. Mrs. Barbara (Jahreis) Popp d. Mar. 
26, 1940; Michael Popp d. Bolton May 6, 1912. Had: 

Barbara L ., b. Clinton Dec. 30, 1927, m. William W. Blakely 
of Ann Arbor, Mich. Sept. 29, 1951. Res. Baltimore, Md. 
Had: 

Gail Jean Blakely, b. Sept. 10, 1954. 

Christopher Edward , b. Sept. 11, 1957. 


GENEALOGY 


289 


Marjorie /., b. Berlin May 15, 1929, m. Donald K. Groat Sept. 
17, 1955. 

Virginia May , b. Berlin May 12, 1940. 

POTAS 

Peter Potas, s. Ludwig and Mary (Szablak) Potas, b. Poland 
June 2, 1881. He m. Mary Baldyga, dau. Hilary and Mary 
(Kapraszewska) Baldyga, Jan. 1901. She b. Poland Dec. 1885, d. 
Berlin June 29, 1940. Had: 

Stanley, b. June 1904, d. Sept. 1908. 

Frank William, b. June 14, 1909, m. Maryann Katherine Mroc- 
zek of Webster Oct. 5, 1936. 

Walter Stanley , b. June 10, 1911, m. Anna Camellia Ciesluk 
Oct. 1, 1938. 

Bertha T., b. Dec. 17, 1916, m. Arnold Willis Gage, June 27, 
1942. 

Julius Anthony, b. June 28, 1920. 

Walter Stanley Potas, s. Peter and Mary (Baldyga) Potas; 
m. Anna Camellia Ciesluk, dau. John and Sophia (Zakrzewska) 
Ciesluk, Oct. 1, 1938. He conducts the Aircraft Woven Label 
Company located on Randall Road. Had: 

Lorraine Ann, b. July 4, 1943. 

Edmund Walter, b. June 19, 1946. 

Donald Peter, b. Apr. 20, 1949. 

POWELL 

Charles W. Powell, s. William (d. Berlin Dec. 24, 1932) 
and Emma (Fay) Powell (d. Berlin Sept. 25, 1925), b. July 12, 
1887; m. Pauline Hazel Felton, dau. Truman P. and Mary L. 
(Whitcomb) Felton, Oct. 2, 1913. Had: 

Chester Felton, b. Feb. 17, 1916, m. Paula Lovering. 

Cora May, b. Aug. 4, 1918, m. Carl B. Devine. 

Chester Felton Powell, s. Charles W. and Pauline (Felton) 
Powell; m. Paula Lovering, dau. James and Alice (Bearce) 
Lovering, Oct. 5, 1945. She b. July 3, 1922. Had: 

Craig Barton, b. Oct. 6, 1946. 

Melanie Martha, b. Aug. 28,1948. 

Jeffrey Charles, b. Feb. 24, 1954. 


290 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


PRATT 

Henry DeWitt Pratt of Marlboro; m. Lucy Bigelow Hap¬ 
good, dau. Lewis I. and Mary Green (Wheeler) Hapgood, Dec. 
24, 1904. She b. Sept. 23, 1883, d. Mar. 20, 1917. Had: 

Miriam, b. May 17, 1905, m. Adelbert Eason Coulson. 
Howard Hapgood , b. June 23, 1906. 

Lewis Henry, b. Oct. 25, 1908, d. June 9, 1958. 

Olive Lenora, b. Nov. 20, 1909, m. Roy Parker of Hudson. Had: 
Harriet Lenora, b. Dec. 19, 1929. 

PUFFER 

Joseph Adams Puffer, s. William H. and Susanna W. (Coffin) 
Puffer, b. Harrington, Me. Feb. 13, 1872, d. July 27, 1958; m. 
E. Hope Rice, dau. Willis and Plarriet S. (Fay) Rice, Oct. 1, 
1903. Had: 

Evelyn Hope, b. Oct. 30, 1905, m. Harry E. Knowlton July 16, 
1942. 

Ruth Rice, b. Aug. 31, 1907. 

Stanivood Adams, b. Aug. 8, 1909, m. Arline Lillian Holden 
Aug. 17, 1929; 2m. Carolyn Taylor. 

Marjorie, b. Aug. 30, 1912, m. Harris G. Field Sept. 19, 1931. 

RAINVILLE 

Raymond J. Rainville, b. South Hadley Jan. 23, 1909; m. 
Irene Paquette June 23, 1934. She b. Indian Orchard Jan. 5, 
1914. Came to Berlin from Hudson in 1949, having purchased the 
John H. Barnes farm on Barnes Hill Road of Stephen Kalinowski. 
Had: 

Norman R., b. July 28, 1935. 

Conrad T., b. Dec. 11, 1936. 

Robert D., b. Mar. 27, 1939. 

Leonard A., b. July 28, 1940. 

Philip R., b. Apr. 24, 1948. 

Ruth Phyllis, b. Berlin May 20, 1949. 

Claude Randall, b. Berlin Aug. 20, 1952. 

Jacqueline Robin, b. Berlin Jan. 20, 1954. 

Jeanne Sharon, b. Berlin July 8, 1955. 

Judith Anne, b. Berlin Aug. 10, 1959. 


GENEALOGY 


291 


RAND 

James Eldridge Rand, s. Frederick T. (d. June 24, 1947) and 
Katie (Stoddard) Rand, b. Cambridge Aug. 16, 1896; m. Ella G. 
Galbraith, dau. John and Mary (Parker) Galbraith, July 8, 1922. 
She b. Charlemont, Mass. June 24, 1901. Had: 

Althea Ethelyn, b. Buckland, Mass. Feb. 13, 1924, m. Earl 
Stewart Wilson June 29, 1946. 

James Eldridge, Jr., b. Buckland, Mass. Mar. 22, 1925, m. 
Eleanor Frances McNamara June 29, 1946. 

RANDALL 

Paul Aldrich Randall, s. Joseph and Phebe Randall of Bol¬ 
ton, b. July 8, 1830, d. Jan. 21, 1906; m. Abbie Wheeler Kimmins, 
dau. John and Dinah Kimmins, June 30, 1860. She b. April 28, 
1840, d. June 14, 1920. Had: 

Joseph John , b. Apr. 13, 1861, m. Anna A. Grant Apr. 29, 1883. 

Reuben Henry, b. May 9, 1863, d. Feb. 13, 1867. 

Lucy Jane, b. Oct. 13, 1868, m. Charles E. Small Nov. 11, 1886. 

Alice Phebe, b. Sept. 27, 1870, m. Lewis E. Day Feb. 6, 1890. 

Flora Susan, b. Aug. 27, 1880, m. Everett L. Paine Apr. 4, 1903. 

Paul A. Randall settled in Berlin on the David Southwick 
place of Randall Road about 1860. It is said to have been first 
occupied by Francis McFadin (member of Friends' Society). 
David Southwick married Elizabeth Sweet (Apr. 16, 1779) and 
they with her father, Stephen Sweet, settled here in 1780. They 
were followed by Oliver and Nancy Young; Oliver d. May 19, 
1857 and Nancy d. Dec. 24, 1958. She bequeathed the Nancy 
Young School Trust Fund to the Town of Berlin. 

After Charles E. Small married Lucy J. Randall (Nov. 11, 
1886), Paul A. Randall built a new house (1889) across the 
road, where Carl A. Barter (1957) now lives. 

RAYNER 

Hall C. Rayner, s. Elijah Hardy and Edith (Knox) Rayner, 
b. Worcester Aug. 17, 1905; m. Marion L. Hoyt, dau. John I. 
and Marion C. (Davis) Hoyt (Mrs. Hoyt d. May 21, 1959), Dec. 
14, 1930. She b. Worcester June 12, 1910. Had: 

Jean Charlotte Rayner, b. Worcester Sept. 9, 1931, m. Cecil 


292 HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 

Burton Wheeler, Jr. June 26, 1954. Had: 

Wendy Marion, b. June 17, 1959. 

Janet Marion, b. Dundee, Ohio Dec. 2, 1934, m. Warren 
William Ordway. Had: 

Debra Ann Ordway , b. Sept. 12, 1955. 

Sandra Jean Ordway, b. Oct. 14, 1956. 

Ralph Richard, b. Dundee, Ohio Mar. 9, 1937. 

RICE 

Oliver C. Rice, s. Nathan and Eliza Ann (Walker) Rice, b. 
Berlin Sept. 15, 1848, d. Berlin Jan. 22, 1920; m. M. Augusta 
Bliss, dau. Edward and Zilpha H. (Sawyer) Bliss, Dec. 25, 1870. 
She b. Berlin Dec. 9, 1849, d. Warren, Ohio Jan. 19, 1928 (bur. 
Pleasant St., Berlin). Had: 

Louisa May, b. Apr. 14, 1874, m. Jerome B. Warren. 

Leslie Oliver, b. Dec. 21, 1885, m. Mae E. White. 

Res. on Central Street, in house now occupied by Carl D. 
Phipps (1957). 

Leslie Oliver Rice, s. Oliver C. and M. Augusta (Bliss) Rice, 
m. Mae E. White of Warren, Ohio, June 20, 1914. Moved from 
Berlin in 1912. Had: 

Charles L., b. Warren, O., Apr. 15, 1915. 

Edythe M., b. Warren, O., July 5, 1918. 

Willis Rice, s. Abel Rice of Marlboro, b. Marlboro Aug. 9, 
1845, d. Berlin Dec. 15, 1927; m. Harriet Susan Fay, dau. Nahum 
W. and Emily R. (Thompson) Fay, Apr. 3, 1873. She b. North- 
boro Feb. 23, 1850, d. Berlin Sept. 23, 1923. Had: 

Emily Hope, b. Jan. 5, 1874, m. J. Adams Puffer. 

Effie G., b. Sept. 3, 1875, m. E. Montrose Evans. Had: 

Richard Rice Evans, June 16, 1916. 

Frances E., b. Feb. 4, 1878, d. Apr. 29, 1957 Cleveland, O. 
Lucy Fay, b. Feb. 13, 1884, d. Dec. 17, 1930 Berlin. 

RISI 

Benedetto Risi, born in Italy, d. 1923; m. Antionette (De- 
Mambro). She b. Italy, d. Berlin Jan. 27, 1959. Had: 

John Joseph, b. May 8, 1901, m. Katherine O’Leary Mar. 16, 
1929. 2m. Mildred Adeline Johnson Apr. 9,1944. 


GENEALOGY 


293 


Richard William, b. June 15, 1905, m. Dorothy Frances 
(Bailey) Wheeler, Apr. 26, 1953. 

Mary E., b. Oct. 30, 1911. 

Cora, b. Feb. 25, 1914. 

Joseph Benjamin , b. Oct. 15, 1915, m. Antonetta Hilda Di- 
Nucci of Providence, R. I. Oct. 12, 1949. 

Carl Paul, b. July 29, 1920, m. Valerie G. Ferro Oct. 11, 1947. 
Had: 

Antoinette Mary, b. Apr. 19, 1949. 

Valerie Concetta, b. Apr. 14, 1950. 

Sharon Marie, b. Oct. 6,1955. 

Carl Paul, Jr., b. Aug. 14, 1958. 

ROGERS 

Clyde E. Rogers, s. Henry and Parney (Barteaux) Rogers, b. 
Hudson May 19, 1899, d. Aug. 13, 1958; m. Iva M. Hebb, dau. 
James H. and Amy H. (Farwell) Hebb, Sept. 4, 1918. She b. 
Berlin Sept. 22, 1900. Had : 

Emma Josephine, b. June 26, 1921, m. Francis E. Underwood 
of Clinton June 5, 1944. Had: 

James Francis, b. Dec. 13, 1946. 

Robert Clyde, b. Aug. 18, 1949. 

Edith Louise, b. Aug. 30,1926, m. Walter E. Pelletier. Had: 
Patricia Ann, b. Dec. 13, 1946. 

Richard Walter, b. Apr. 29, 1948. 

John Harold, b. Nov. 6, 1952. 

Robert Warren, b. Dec. 24, 1958. 

ROSEBERRY 

Joseph Louis Roseberry, s. Louis J. and Emma (Roseberry) 
Roseberry b. St. Pierre, Broughton, Canada Sept. 3, 1904; m. 
Julienne Marie Mercier, dau. Octave and Alphonsine (Rose¬ 
berry) Mercier, Oct. 23, 1935. She b. St. Methode, Frontenac Co., 
Canada Mar. 29, 1910. Had: 

Bertina Marie, b. Boylston Aug. 20, 1936. 

Dora Theresa Marie, b. Boylston Oct. 11, 1938, m. William J. 
Capite Apr. 7, 1956. Had: 

Joan Theresa Capite, b. Worcester June 22, 1957. 
Alphonse J., b. Boylston Sept. 22, 1940. 


294 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Mary Ann , b. Boylston May 11, 1942. 

Louise, b. Boylston Sept. 5, 1943. 

Joseph Henry, b. Boylston Aug. 29, 1945. 

Lucille Maria, b. Berlin Jan. 4 ,1949. 

Paul Joseph, b. Berlin Sept. 7, 1951. 

Mr. Roseberry settled on the Lewis W. Paradise farm of Lin¬ 
den Street in 1946. This ranks among the early settlements of 
Berlin. Phineas Howe was considered the first owner, around the 
year 1755 (his son, Silas Howe, b. there Mar. 28, 1760). His 
brother, Silas Howe, was a successor on this farm, but removed to 
Rumford, Me., around 1800. Later the Daniel Goodnow house 
(of Ball Hill) was moved and added between the original house 
and shed. After Fortunatus Barnes settled on Barnes Hill in 1766, 
he bought 80 acres of the Howe farm on which he kept cattle and 
fed them from the “Rack Meadows.” Silas S. Greenlief was 
assessed to 100 acres of this property between 1855 and 1889. The 
farm has been exchanged among many owners, until Mr. Rose- 
berry purchased the 96 acres of Mr. Ovide Dupont. 

ROSS 

Ernest Clifford Ross, s. Donald and Sarah Ann (Randall) 
Ross, b. Nov. 9, 1867, d. July 5, 1939; m. Nellie M. Fosgate, dau. 
George W. and Eunice C. (Dodge) Fosgate, June 20, 1895. She 
b. Aug. 23, 1865, d. Jan. 20, 1956. Had: 

Donald Ernest, b. Aug. 18, 1896, m. Florence Gertrude Martin, 
dau. Benjamin and Elizabeth (Hubbard) Martin, June 3, 
1921. Res. Amherst, Mass. 

Percy Thomas, b. Oct. 22, 1899, m. Marion Carpenter. 

Lester George Ross, b. May 31, 1898, m. Mildred L. Wheeler. 

Percy Thomas Ross, s. Ernest C. and Nellie M. (Fosgate) 
Ross; m. Marion Carpenter, dau. F. Scott and Eva (MacMaster) 
Carpenter, Mar. 8, 1924. She b. June 2, 1901 in Fitchburg. Had: 

Robert Thomas, b. Nov. 6, 1925, m. Viola Greeley. 

Barbara Marion, b. Dec. 5, 1926, m. Kenneth M. Perry Oct. 4, 
1958. 

Robert Thomas Ross, s. Percy Thomas and Marion (Carpen¬ 
ter) Ross; m. Viola S. Greeley, dau. Willis S. and Eleanor (Strat- 


GENEALOGY 


295 


ton) Greeley, Apr. 28, 1946. Res. and insurance agency at 80 
Central St., Hudson, Mass. Had: 

Robert Thomas, Jr., b. Aug. 3, 1947. 

Stephen Greeley, b. Nov. 5, 1949. 

Betsy Ann, b. Dec. 31, 1950. 

Nancy Jane, b. Feb. 25, 1952. 

Jonathan Stratton, b. Mar. 9, 1957. 

Jeffrey Ernest, b. Mar. 9, 1957. 

Lester George Ross, s. Ernest C. and Nellie M. (Fosgate) 
Ross; m. Mildred Luella Wheeler, dau. Herbert L. and Adelia L. 
(Berry) Wheeler, June 19, 1919. Had: 

Edward Lester, b. Sept. 3, 1922, m. Florence Ann Wheeler. 

Everett George, b. Apr. 3, 1925, m. Beverly J. Jamison. 

Edward Lester Ross, s. Lester G. and Mildred L. (Wheeler) 
Ross; m. Florence Ann Wheeler, dau. Waldo L. and Hazel I. 
(Sawyer) Wheeler, Sept. 26, 1942. He d. Jan. 31, 1946. Had: 

Judith Ann, b. April 13, 1944. 

David Edward, b. April 24, 1945. 

Everett George Ross, s. Lester G. and Mildred L. (Wheeler) 
Ross; m. Beverly J. Jamison, dau. Earle Andrew and Diana 
(Kirkpatrick) Jamison, Feb. 16, 1954. Had: 

Lorri Lou, b. Pittsfield Nov. 24, 1954. 

Jody Elaine, b. June 18, 1956. 

Daniel Edward, b. Feb. 6, 1959. 

ROWE 

Louis Victor Rowe, s. Victor Ephraim and Annie Elizabeth 
(Scotten) Rowe, b. Malden June 1, 1893; m. Louise Clara Stras- 
burg, dau. Fred Ernest and Lina (Bruckner) Strasburg, Sept. 18, 
1922. She b. Brooklyn, N. Y. Feb. 1, 1895. Came to Berlin in 1927, 
located on the John G. Fosgate place on Fosgate Rd. and con¬ 
ducts a plant nursery and flower farm. Had: 

Alma Elizabeth, b. Aug. 30, 1923 Richmond Hill, N. Y., m. 
Charles William Stewart of Wheeling, W. Va. Aug. 21, 1948. 
Res. Rev. Charles W. Stewart, Ph.D. of 2433 So. Dahlia 
Lane, Denver 22, Colorado. Had: 

Mark William, b. Columbus, O. June 27, 1951. 


296 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Louise Ann, b. Mystic, Conn. Jan. 6, 1954. 

Peter Rowe, b. Mystic, Conn. Mar. 18, 1955. 

ROYS 

Frederick Dimon Roys, s. William Plumer and Caroline 
(Holden) Roys, b. Roxbury June 3, 1857, d. Berlin July 26, 1936; 
m. Mary Amanda Poland, dau. John and Elvira (Cram) Poland, 
Nov. 8, 1884. She b. Wakefield May 8, 1863, d. Nov. 16, 1935. 
Had: 

Marion Edith, b. Mar. 6, 1888, d. Woodbury, Conn. Sept. 10, 
1958. 

Florence Belle, b. Sept. 26, 1896, m. Leon Arthur Brewer. 

RUSSELL 

Clarence James Russell, of Stow; m. Barbara Jean Tansey, 
dau. Warren W. and Helen L. (Wheeler) Tansey, Nov. 16, 1946. 
Had: 

Clarence James , b. Aug. 1, 1947, d. Aug. 1, 1947. 

Nancy Ann, b. Sept. 2, 1948. 

Peter James, b. Jan. 8, 1952. 

SARGENT 

Charles Willard Sargent, s. William and Sophia R. Sargent, 
b. Littleton June 19, 1861, d. Berlin Oct. 19, 1951; m. Hulda H. 
Wohlrabe, b. Germany, d. Clinton Mar. 25, 1922. Had: 

George Webster, b. Bolton Mar. 29, 1890, m. Clara L. Bent. 

Leroy Ernest Samuel, b. Berlin Jan. 11, 1896. 

Walter Lewis, b. Berlin Dec. 11, 1897, m. Hertha K. Fraas. 

Alice Marion, b. Berlin May 26, 1900. 

Dora Josephine, b. Berlin June 21, 1902. 

Ralph Otis, b. Berlin Mar. 26, 1905. 

George Webster Sargent, s. Charles W. and Hulda H. (Wohl¬ 
rabe) Sargent; m. Clara L. Bent, dau. Joseph and Anna (Ellis) 
Bent of Boston, May 22, 1911. She b. Yarmouth, N. S. June 26, 
1895. Came to Berlin in 1920, foreman on the Grace E. Mott 
estate of Highland St. In 1939 he purchased and settled on the 
Fred Turnbull place on Randall Rd., at the junction with Coburn 
Rd. Had: 

Grace Lanina, b. Apr. 21, 1912, m. Robert Stone, res. Fitchburg. 

May Irene, b. Oct. 31, 1913, d. Apr. 4, 1913. 


GENEALOGY 297 

Florence Elizabeth, b. Mar. 21, 1915, m. Edward W. J. La- 
Fountain of Clinton April 1, 1933. 

Henry Webster, b. May 5, 1925, m. Blanche A. French Jan. 6, 
1945. 

Charles George, b. July 20, 1929, m. Beatrice Jane Roberts. 

Walter Lewis Sargent, s. Charles W. and Hulda H. Wohl- 
rabe) Sargent; m. Hertha K. Fraas, dau. John and Lena (Leopol) 
Fraas, June 6, 1922. She b. Lawrence June 20, 1904. Res. Coburn 
Rd. Had: 

Edward Walter Lewis, b. Mar. 1, 1923. 

Albert Roger Milton, b. Nov. 17, 1924, m. Delores F. Dandron. 

Walter Lewis , Jr., b. June 2, 1926, m. Harriet Nancy Phillips 
July 31, 1948. 

Albert Roger Milton Sargent, s. Walter L. and Hertha K. 
(Fraas), m. Delores Dandron. Had: 

Albert Roger Milton, b. May 7, 1947. 

Carol June, b. Dec. 24, 1948. 

SAWTELLE 

Ebenezer S. Sawtelle, s. Ebenezer S. (d. Feb. 15, 1901) and 
Roxana (Bruce) Sawtelle (d. Mar. 27, 1890), b. Nov. 6, 1846, 
d. Nov. 11, 1935; m. Harriet A. Wheeler, dau. Elisha T. and 
Elizabeth (Fry) Wheeler, June 20, 1869. She b. May 14, 1848, 
d. Sept. 22, 1890. They resided on the Esq. Asa Sawyer place of 
Central Street. Had: 

William Henry, b. Apr. 13, 1870, d. Dec. 16, 1922. 

2m. Minnie H. Lewis. Had: 

Walter Stetson, b. Sept. 14, 1896, m. Marie M. Fischer Aug. 20, 
1919. 

Mabel Esther, b. Nov. 5, 1898. Res. Washington, D. C. 

Stanley Reed, b. Oct. 29, 1901, d. July 21, 1926. 

Frances M., b. Dec. 27, 1905, d. Apr. 25, 1906. 

Arthur H., b. 1907. 

Harold Atherton, b. Mar. 11, 1910, d. Feb. 26, 1943. 

Irving Lewis, b. May 4, 1913. 

Roger Linwood, b. Sept. 12, 1921. 

Mrs. Minnie H. Sawtelle, 2m. to W. H. Daniels of New London, 
Conn. She d. Apr. 6, 1941, bur. in Pleasant Street Cemetery. 


298 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


SAWYER 

I. Dea. Josiah Sawyer of Bolton, b. 1714, m. 1738; 

2m. 1764, d. 1805 (Deacon 1770-1799). 

II. Capt. Josiah Sawyer, s. Dea. Josiah, b. 1752, m. 1770; 

2m. 1781; 

3m 1786; d. 1808. 

III. Alvan Sawyer, s. Capt. Josiah, b. 1770, m. 1794, d. 1842. 

III. Ira Sawyer, s. Capt. Josiah, b. 1787, m. 1811, d. 1861. 

III. Lucinda Sawyer, dau. Capt. Josiah, b. 1789, m. Amory 
Carter 1808, d. 1875. 

III. Rufus Sawyer, s. Capt. Josiah, b. 1790, m. 1813, d. 1865. 

IV. George W. Sawyer, s. Alvan, b. 1811, m. 1839, d. 1881. 

IV. Hartwell Sawyer, s. Ira, b. 1818, m. 1842, d. 1898. 

IV. Benjamin H. Sawyer, s. Ira, b. 1826, m. 1851, d. 1889. 

IV. Alden Sawyer, s. Rufus, b. 1814, m. 1842, d. 1889. 

V. Charles M. Sawyer, s. George W. (see Genealogy). 

V. Ivers H. Sawyer, s. Hartwell (see Genealogy). 

V. Arthur Franklin Sawyer, s. Benjamin H. (see Genealogy). 

V. Joseph Henry Sawyer, s. Alden, b. 1845, m. 1869, d. 1915. 

VI. Walter A. Sawyer, s. Joseph H. (see Genealogy). 


GENEALOGY 


299 


SAWYER 

Arthur Franklin Sawyer, s. Benjamin H. and SophiaP. (Rice) 
Sawyer, b. Berlin Mar. 15, 1856, d. Berlin Nov. 10, 1935; m. Mary 
Grace Bliss, dau. Charles Henry and Martha A. (Staples) Bliss, 
May 14, 1884. She b. Berlin Jan. 4, 1863, d. Berlin Sept. 3, 1925. 
Res. homestead of her father (Charles H. Bliss) of Pleasant 
Street, built by Rev. David R. Lampson (1834). 

Charles Marshall Sawyer, s. George W. and Mary Ann 
(Sawyer) Sawyer, b. Berlin April 21, 1852, d. Berlin Aug. 27, 
1922; m. Julia Ida Bassett, dau. William and Patience (Tyler) 
Bassett, Nov. 19, 1879. She b. Worcester Oct. 26, 1854, d. Berlin 
Feb. 22, 1939. Had: 

Florence M., b. Apr. 6, 1884, m. Perley B. Sawyer Oct. 30, 
1906. 

Hazel Isabelle, b. June 30, 1886, m. Waldo L. Wheeler, Oct. 
15, 1913. 

Marjorie Louise, b. Oct. 21, 1888, m. Percy R. Coldwell Aug. 
27, 1913. 

Hermon Loren, b. Dec. 30, 1890, m. Hazel L. Wheeler Oct. 6, 
1923. 

Beatrice Gale, b. Aug. 30, 1892, d. Dec. 11, 1906. 

William George, b. Feb. 19, 1895. 

Hermon Loren Sawyer, s. Charles M. and Julia Ida (Bassett) 
Sawyer; m. Hazel Lucy Wheeler, dau. Walter A. and Ella L. 
(Howe) Wheeler Oct. 6, 1923. Had: 

Donald Howe, b. Feb. 7, 1925, d. June 23, 1927. 

Richard Bassett, b. Apr. 6, 1928. 

Lawrence Bigelow, b Jan. 4, 1934, m. Rose Marie Spinney 
Dec. 29, 1956. Had: 

Lawrence Bigelow, Jr., b. Aug. 7, 1958. 

Hermon L. Sawyer res. Linden St. in the homestead of his grand¬ 
father, George W. Sawyer, which was formerly known as the 
James Goddard place (1785). 

Ivers Hartwell Sawyer, s. Hartwell and Zilpah Marie (Bart¬ 
lett) Sawyer, b. July 13, 1847, d. Feb. 10, 1907; m. Abbie Maria 
Farwell, dau. George and Mary Maria (Worster) Farwell, June 
14, 1871. She b. Jan. 22, 1853, d. Dec. 6, 1934. Homestead on 



300 HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 

West Street, now (1957) the Lionel Manseau Poultry Farm. Had: 
Ivers Ellsworth, b. Apr. 22, 1874, d. July 30, 1947, m. Jennie E. 
Cameron of Hudson, dau. Ira C. and Cordelia (Leonard) 
Cameron, Sept. 21, 1899. 

George Hartwell, b. May 8, 1876, d. Nov. 19, 1946, m. Edith R. 
Sanderson, dau. George Albert and Martha Ann (Rodman) 
Sanderson, June 16, 1908. She b. Mar. 19, 1875, d. Apr. 1, 
1945. Her mother d. Feb. 16, 1910; her father d. July 25, 
1923. 

Perley Bartlett, b. Oct. 1, 1878, m. Florence M. Sawyer Oct. 30, 
1906. Res. Bolton. 

Ethel Maria Gertrude, b. May 15, 1881, d. Sept. 8, 1951. 
Harriet Worster, b. Mar. 21, 1886, m. Hermon C. Maddocks 
Aug. 9, 1909, d. Jan. 23, 1924. Res. Brimfield. 

Elcia Guy, b. Aug. 21, 1892, m. Maude A. Barter Oct. 24, 1913. 

E. Guy Sawyer, s. Ivers H. and Abbie M. (Farwell) Sawyer, b. 
Aug. 21, 1892; m. Maude A. Barter, dau. James W. and Carrie 
(Gleason) Barter of Beverly, Mass., Oct. 24, 1913. Had: 
Ellsworth Guy, b. June 9, 1915, m. Loraine Russell. 

Ivers Sidney, b. Oct. 14, 1922, m. Shirley Marie Matson of 
Worcester June 25, 1949. 

Ellsworth Guy Sawyer, s. E. Guy and Maude A. (Barter) 
Sawyer, m. Loraine E. Russell, dau. Harry M. and Ida H. (Rob¬ 
inson) Russell, June 25, 1942. She b. Oxford, N. H. Jan. 9, 1914; 
her mother d. Berlin June 22, 1957. Had: 

Jane Loraine, b. May 11, 1946. 

Ivers Sidney Sawyer, s. E. Guy and Maude A. (Barter) 
Sawyer; m. Shirley Marie Matson of Worcester June 25, 1949. 
Had: 

Wendy Marie, b. Dec. 24, 1953. 

Arthur Gary, b. Jan. 24, 1955, d. Jan. 23, 1958. 

Brian Guy, b. Jan. 24, 1955. 

Walter Alden Sawyer, s. Joseph Henry (d. Berlin May 20, 
1915) and Abbie Louisa (Green) (d. Worcester Feb. 20, 1937) 
Sawyer, b. (Stone House) Berlin June 28, 1880. His mother was 
dau. of Edward F. Green. He m. Mary E. Mahan, dau. Philip and 
Mary E. (Leary) Mahan, Dec. 26, 1904. She b. Stonington, Conn, 
Feb. 24, 1878, d. Berlin Mar. 20, 1944. Had: 


GENEALOGY 


301 


Walter Henry, b. Aug. 23, 1905, m. Ellen Linstedt Aug. 2, 1927. 
Res. Woonsocket, R. I. 

Harold Francis, b. Nov. 12, 1908, m. Marie Ganthier. Res. 
Putnam, Conn. 

William Earl, b. June 19, 1911, d. Jan. 9, 1958, m. Irene Rita 
Izzo. 

Kenneth Everett, b. Jan 19, 1913, m. Josephine Marie Murphy. 
Eleanor Mae, b. Nov. 9, 1915, m. John W. Bosselman, Jr. 

Kenneth Everett Sawyer, s. Walter A. and Mary E. (Mahan) 
Sawyer; m. Josephine Marie Murphy, dau. Patrick J. and Cather¬ 
ine (Halloran) Murphy, April 23, 1938. She b. Clinton Aug. 17, 
1918. Had: 

Kenneth Joseph, b. Mar. 11, 1939. 

Judith Eleanor, b. Apr. 10, 1941. 

Thomas Francis, b. Feb. 26, 1943. 

Paul Peter, b. Dec. 21, 1944. 

Richard William, b. June 15, 1946. 

Gerald James, b. Mar. 25, 1951. 

Kathleen Ann, b. Dec. 3, 1957. 

SCHARTNER 

Joseph Schartner, s. John August and Etta (Smith) Schartner, 
b. Lithuania Mar. 15, 1872. Came to Berlin in 1900, bought the 
Dustin S. Lucier place on Crosby Road, South Berlin; m. Lena 
(Schultz) Ulrich, wid. Julius Ulrich, Jan. 27, 1900; she d. Berlin 
Feb. 14, 1947. Children of Julius and Lena (Schultz) Ulrich: 
Frederick William Ulrich, b. July 4, 1895, m. Fannie E. Tritt, 
dau. Henry F. and Ellen G. (McRary) Tritt of Hudson, N. C. 
Both he and she d. Clinton Aug. 24, 1954. Their dau. Lena 
Ellen Ulrich res. Joe Schartner home of West St. 

William Gottfried Ulrich, b. Jan. 24, 1897, m. Idella Trewhella. 
Henry Albert Ulrich, b. May 30, 1899, m. Irene R. Evans June 
26, 1926. Res. Lancaster, business in Clinton. 2m. May Rich¬ 
ardson. 

Children of Joseph and Lena (Schultz) Schartner: 

Emma, b. Apr. 9, 1901. 

Elizabeth, b. Apr. 11, 1903, m. William James Wright Sept. 17, 
1927. 


302 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Edward Joseph, b. Mar. 15, 1905, m. Lillian Rose Wirth June 
12, 1937. 

Minnie Bertha , b. May 17, 1907, m. Edward Albert Wirth 
June 18, 1934. 

Albert Carl, b. April 8, 1909, d. Sept. 9, 1939, m. Ella May 
Cooke Sept. 1, 1930. She d. Apr. 1, 1933. Their son, Albert L. 
Schartner, became the foster son of Elizabeth and William J. 
Wright. He m. Kathleen McBride of Avalon, Pa. in 1954; was 
ordained as minister of Presbyterian Church July 1, 1956. 
John August , b. Dec. 24, 1911, m. Mary Elena Broadbridge 
Oct. 27, 1934. Res. Wickford, R. I. 

Joseph Julius, b. Mar. 22, 1914, m. Dorothy Young Peterson 
July 3, 1937. Res. Bolton. 

SEARS 

Perley B. Sears, s. George and Julia (Monro) Sears, b. Maine 
Mar. 6, 1880; m. Minnie E. Stone (dau. John R. Ford) Nov. 1899. 
She b. May 16, 1880. Had: 

William W., b. Oct. 24, 1900, m. Margaret O’Brien. 

Albert Monro, b. Dec. 29, 1902, m. Julia F. Flynn; they had: 
Richard Harding, b. Oct. 11, 1922, m. Rose Der Stepanian. 
Dorothy I., b. Aug, 1, 1924. 

Albert M. Jr., b. Nov. 14, 1926. 

Hazel I., b. June 27, 1904, m. Herman Levine. 

Perley B. Jr., b. 1907, m. Ann G., 

Richard Henry, b. 1915. 

Richard Harding Sears, adopted son of Perley B. and Minnie 
E. (Stone) Sears, b. Cambridge Oct. 11, 1922, m. Rose Der 
Stepanian, dau. Henry and Mary (Khorsigian) Der Stepanian, 
June 14, 1947. She b. Worcester July 13, 1923. Had: 

Robert Brian, b. Jan. 9, 1950. 

Stephen Jeffrey, b. Apr. 14, 1951. 

SEYMOUR 

Henry Seymour, s. Henry Seymour of Canada, b. July 4, 1861. 
Came to Berlin with family in 1906 and located on South Street 
in the section known as New Worcester. His father (Henry Sey¬ 
mour) d. Berlin Nov. 16, 1906. He m. Malvina Scott, dau. Remi 


GENEALOGY 


303 


and Sarah Scott of St. Hyacinth, Canada, Jan. of 1880. She b. 
Canada Oct. 3, 1862 and d. Berlin Oct. 3, 1936. Had: 

Flora , b. Mar. 9, 1881, m. Fred Leroy; she d. Feb. 14, 1928. 
Henry Joseph, b. Oct. 9, 1883, d. Jan. 1, 1908. 

Leo Wilfred, b. June 2, 1885, d. May 30, 1927. 

Donalda S., b. 1889, m. Edward E. Robinson Nov. 15, 1910; 
she d. Sept. 18, 1914. 

Arthur b. Dec. 28, 1891. Res. Northboro. 

Lydia A., b. Feb. 25, 1893, m. Arthur D. Chapdelaine Oct. 25, 
1915. 

Edward /., b. 1895, m. Mary L. Huston, Sept. 25, 1920. 
Roseallia Marie , b. Jan. 15, 1896, m. Francis Benway Oct. 28, 
1918. 

Frederick Joseph, b. 1902, m. Alice Marie Pariceau Dec. 25, 

1926. 

Raymond b. June 2, 1904, m. Yvonne B. Pariceau Aug. 16, 

1927. 


SHATTUCK 

Elijah Carter Shattuck, s. Stephen Jr. and Hannah (Carter) 
Shattuck, b. Marlboro Aug. 27, 1820, d. Berlin June 8, 1899; m. 
Olive C. Wheeler, dau. Levi Wheeler, Sept. 25, 1848. She b. Apr. 
4, 1829, d. Sept. 24, 1909. Had: 

George Marshall , b. Jan. 19, 1850, m. Sarah Abbie Babcock 
May 18, 1870, d. May 20, 1876. 

Miranda Grace, b. July 29, 1858, she d. Jan. 6, 1862. 

Clara Louisa, b. July 9, 1863, m. William S. Eager; she d. Dec. 
4, 1935. 

Mary Isabelle Colburn, b. Apr. 19, 1868, she d. Aug. 18, 1957. 

SHERMAN 

William Harrington Sherman, s. Nelson Turner and Susan 
(Harrington) Sherman, b. July 18, 1893, d. June 8, 1925; m. Suz¬ 
anne M. (Maxfield), dau. Edward and Mary (Engblom) Max- 
field, Aug. 22, 1919. She b. Oct. 4, 1893, d. Sept. 4, 1954. Had: 
Nelson Turner, b. Oct. 10, 1920, m. Grace A. Spaulding. 
William Maxfield, b. Mar. 24, 1922, m. Catherine A. McDon¬ 
ough of New York. Had: 

William Michael, b. Sept. 19, 1945. 


304 HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 

Thomas, b. Aug. 8, 1947. 

Jane Elizabeth, b. Aug. 25, 1949. 

Kathleen Anne, b. July 11, 1951. 

SMALL 

Charles Everett Small, s. Charles and Ann A. Small, b. West 
Gardiner, Maine Feb. 3, 1863, d. Berlin Apr. 2, 1938; m. Lucy 
Jane Randall, dau. Paul A. and Abbie W. (Kimmins) Randall of 
Bolton, Nov. 11, 1886. She b. Bolton Oct. 13, 1868, d. Berlin Aug. 
26, 1930. Had: 

Ralph Barton, b. Jan. 11, 1889, d. Nov. 18, 1937, m. Ruea Etta 
Carter, dau. Sidney B. and Julie E. (Fosgate) Carter, Jan. 9, 
1915. 

Myron Randall, b. July 21, 1890, m. Elizabeth Esther Barker of 
Clinton Aug. 19, 1916. 

Flora Edith, b. Nov. 11, 1898, m. Oliver E. Smith July 31, 
1919. 

Annie Estella, b. Jan. 21, 1901, m. Orison B. Sloat July 1, 1920. 
Res. Leonia, N. J. Had: 

George Everett Sloat, b. Sept. 29, 1921. 

The Charles E. Small residence is one of the older houses re¬ 
modeled. It is said to have been first occupied by Francis Mc- 
Fadin. David Southwick married Elizabeth Sweet Apr. 16, 1779, 
and they with her father (Stephen Sweet) settled here in 1780. 
They were followed by Oliver and Nancy Young, and then Paul 
A. Randall in 1860. 


SMITH 

Oliver Evans Smith, s. Henry Clay and Sarah Frances (Amos) 
Smith, b. Aberdeen, Md. Mar. 14, 1891; m. Flora Edith Small, 
dau. Charles E. and Lucy Jane (Randall) Small, July 31, 1919. 
Had: 

Charles Oliver, b. Berlin May 28, 1920, m. Mary J. Boyle. 

Charles Oliver Smith, s. Oliver E. and Flora E. (Small) 
Smith; m. Mary Josephine Boyle, dau. Mr. and Mrs. Jacob 
Boyle of Hudson, Feb. 5, 1946. Had: 

Mary Jo, b. Nov. 5, 1946, Marlboro. 

Charles Michael, b. Sept. 30, 1949, Marlboro. 


GENEALOGY 


305 


John Patrick, b. Dec. 7, 1950, Marlboro. 

Susan Marie, b. Jan. 1, 1954, New Kensington, Pa. 

Peter Gregory , b. Mar. 12, 1957, Oak Ridge, Tenn. 

SPAULDING 

Benjamin Howard Spaulding, s. Gardner Edward and Bessie 
Spaulding, b. Billerica Feb. 7, 1892, d. Dec. 13, 1950; m. Grace 
L. Brown, dau. Arthur and Laura (Kittredge) Brown, Dec. 12, 
1915. She b. Apr. 27, 1894. Had: 

Phyllis May b. May, 3, 1917, m. Richard Winfield Warbin. 

Laura Frances, b. Feb. 23, 1919, d. Nov. 18, 1940. 

Benjamin H., Jr., b. Apr. 17, 1924, m. Edith Emily Wheeler. 

Grace A., b. Aug. 17, 1926, m. Nelson T. Sherman. 

Evelyn Barbara, b. Mar. 21, 1928, m. Gordon Charles Knorr. 

Doris Marion, b. June 30, 1932, m. Elmer James Hodges. 

Betty Jane, b. Oct. 1, 1934, m. Lowell Robert Fox Feb. 14, 
1953. 

Benjamin Howard Spaulding, Jr., s. Benjamin H. and Grace 
L. (Brown) Spaulding; m. Edith Emily Wheeler, dau. Clifford 
H. and Addie E. (Mahan) Wheeler, July 20, 1946. Had: 

Howard Herbert, b. Mar. 9, 1947. 

Clifford Edward, b. Sept. 11, 1949. 

SPEAKER 

William Emmet Speaker, b. Nov. 7, 1880, m. Ruth Emma 
Brewer, dau. Leonard W. and Harriet J. (Walker) Brewer, Dec. 
25, 1909. Res. Steubenville, Ohio. Had: 

Chaucey Emmet, b. July 2, 1911, m. Olivetta Blake Mar. 2, 
1940. Had: 

Connie Beth, b. May 30, 1941. 

Daniel Kent, b. Nov. 5, 1947. 

SPOFFORD 

James Richardson Spofford, s. Capt. Samuel, Jr., and Betsey 
(Sawyer) Spofford, b. Sept. 21, 1821, d. Mar. 19, 1880; m. Olive 
B. Woodbury, dau. Israel Woodbury of Bolton, Oct. 16, 1850. She 
d. Feb. 26, 1883. Had: 

Herbert E., b. Sept. 5, 1851, m. Mabel Rawson of Hudson April 
27, 1876. She d. Apr. 24, 1896; he d. Mar. 29, 1936. 


306 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Walter Richardson, b. Apr. 13, 1853, d. Aug. 5, 1888 Pine 
Bluff, Ark. 

Elmer Francis , b. Jan. 6, 1855, m. Flora M. Holden; he d. July 
28, 1921. 

Clarence Ellsworth , b. Sept. 12, 1858, m. Lizzie J. Derby. 
Flora Belle , b. Mar. 31, 1862, d. Mar. 23, 1938. 

Philander Woodbury , b. Aug. 4, 1864, d. Nov. 4, 1892. 

Orrin Lincoln, b. Dec. 23, 1866, m. Lenora McKenzie Sept. 
10, 1902. She b. Jan. 12, 1878, d. Dec. 9, 1933. 

Mary Sawyer Spofford, dau. Capt. Samuel Spofford, Jr. and 
Betsey (Sawyer) Spofford. See record of Amory C. Morse. 

Clarence Ellsworth Spofford, s. James Richardson and 
Olive B. (Woodbury) Spofford, b. Sept. 12, 1858, d. Mar. 31, 
1933; m. Lizzie Jane Derby, dau. Alfred C. (d. Aug. 24, 1914) 
and Charlotte A. (Fisher) Derby (d. May 10, 1917), May 18, 
1891. She b. June 8, 1858, d. Sept. 23, 1934. Had: 

Harold Ellsworth , b. June 1, 1898, d. Aug. 14, 1899. 

Olive Woodbury, b. Aug. 30, 1896, m. Harold Henry Booth, s. 
Leon Billings and Daisy L. (Ryder) Booth, Oct. 16, 1929. 
He b. Union, Conn. Mar. 30, 1903. 

George Rawson Spofford, s. Herbert E. and A. Mabel (Raw- 
son) Spofford, b. Hudson Aug. 3, 1879; m. Mildred A. Peck, dau. 
Lyman and Amanda (Foster) Peck, June 27, 1905. She b. 
Wyoming, Iowa Nov. 6, 1873. Had: 

Foster Rawson, b. Nov. 26, 1906, m. Dorothy Louise Stone 
July 19, 1930. 

Walter Richardson, b. Nov. 25, 1908, m. Mary McClintock. 
George Rawson, Jr., b. July 7, 1910, m. Marie Montgomery. 

STAMMERS 

Samuel W. Stammers, s. Samuel Guyford and Jennie Archam- 
beault, b. Hudson Oct. 5, 1897; m. Grace Adams Lyman, dau. 
William Elden and Blanche (Reynolds) Lyman, Oct. 6, 1924. 
She b. Watertown July 22, 1899. Had: 

Richard Gardner b. Oct. 28,1926, m. Phyllis D. Stansfield. Had: 

Richard Davenport, b. July 11, 1950. 

Mr. Stammers came to Berlin from Watertown in 1926, having 
purchased the Roswell Bliss place on Highland Street of Anna 


GENEALOGY 


307 


Canfield. This property lies within the John Moore estate of 
“Wheeler Hill” where Roswell Bliss built his house, around 1815. 
He had married Matilda Chase, and following his death the 
property was listed to her brother Anthony Chase of Worcester 
until 1863. Since then it has been owned by James, Susan, and 
Francis Dewey (1895); Jane and Jean Breaux (1921); and John 
and Anna Canfield (1926). 


STONE 

Henry Adams Stone, s. Isaac S. and Martha A. (Farmer) 
Stone, b. May 24, 1850, d. Nov. 24, 1926; m. Ruth E. Paine, dau. 
Tyler Paine. She b. Sept. 6, 1854, d. Mar. 4, 1883. Had: 

Olive Annelid , b. Jan. 13, 1877, m. George Winthrope Twiss. 
2m. Hattie F. Coolidge, dau. Lyman and Lucy Coolidge, Oct. 13, 
1883. She d. Nov. 20, 1945. Had: 

Homer Lyman, b. Sept. 23, 1884, m. Clara Eleanor Boyd. 

Homer Lyman Stone, s. Henry A. and Hattie Frances (Cool¬ 
idge) Stone; m. Clara Eleanor Boyd, dau. Frederick Amos (d. 
Nov. 15, 1938) and Flora Belle (Gilpatrick) Boyd, (d. Oct. 4, 
1927) Mar. 28, 1906. She b. Princeton Aug. 6, 1887. Had: 

Freda Belle , b. Feb. 18, 1907, m. Roland E. Wheeler. 

Dorothy Frances, b. Oct. 16, 1908, m. Waino Herman Tervo. 
Homer Everett, b. May 21, 1911, m. Annetta Johnson. 

Carlton Henry, b. Dec. 1, 1913, m. Marjorie Webb. 

Clara Helen, b. Dec. 1, 1913, m. William Henry Tervo. 

Carlton Henry Stone, s. Homer L. and Clara E. (Boyd) 
Stone; m. Marjorie Webb, dau. George H. and Mae E. (Searles) 
Webb, Sept. 4, 1936. She b. Worcester May 15, 1917. Had: 

Carlton Henry, Jr., b. Jan. 22, 1941. 

Marsha Jean, b. Sept. 29, 1944. 

Jenness E. Stone, s. Henry and Rhoda D. (Parker) Stone, b. 
South Starkly, Canada, Mar. 4, 1884; m. Ethelena J. Westover, 
dau. Asa M. and P. Jane (Bullard) Westover, May 2, 1905. She 
b. Milton, Canada May 17, 1886. Had: 

Flossie E., b. Jay, Vt. Mar. 10, 1907, m. Harold L. Jillson, s. 
Alvin J. and Bessie C. (Maynard), Jan. 27, 1926. Had: 
Jenness Alvin Jillson, b. Apr. 20, 1928, m. Elizabeth Fran¬ 
ces Brown of Bolton July 14, 1946. Had: 


308 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Kenneth Alvin Jillson, b. Sept. 14, 1953. 

Harold Kenneth , b. May 24, 1931. 

Charles Elwin, b. Coventry, Vt., Aug. 4, 1909, d. May 9, 1911. 
Vera E., b. Coventry, Vt. Mar. 30, 1911, d. June 15, 1957, m. 
Douglas Norman Crossman Oct. 18, 1930. Had: 

Douglas Myron Crossman, b. Mar. 16, 1932, m. Anna E. 
Baird. 

Donald Vernon Crossman, b. Clinton Sept. 1934, d. Mar. 2, 
1935. 

Francis B. Crossman, b. 1936. 

Lawrence Walter Crossman, b. July 18, 1937, d. May 14, 
1944. 

2m. Robert Lewis Spiller. Had. 

Jane Ann Spiller , b. June 1, 1946. 

Wayne Albert Spiller, b. Nov. 21, 1947. 

Vernon E., b. Sept. 30, 1912, d. Jan. 10, 1935. 

Vaughn Edwin , b. Sept. 23, 1917, m. May Emilia Bridges Apr. 
18, 1941. 

Violet Eunice , b. Feb. 13, 1920, m. David Andrew Harrower 
Jun. 7, 1944. Had: 

Billlie Jeanne , b. July 20, 1948. 

Rhoda Mae , b. Sept. 26, 1922, m. Leon Eugene Bedard Jan. 
23, 1943. 

Milford Jenness , b. Nov. 21, 1925, d. Feb. 14, 1926. 

John E. Stone, s. Henry and Rhoda D. (Parker) Stone, b. 
Sept. 16, 1886; m. Marion M. Simpson June 20, 1914. She d. Dec. 
31, 1923. Had: 

Rhoda Loirise, b. Berlin Oct. 7, 1915. 

Alfreda Margaret , b. Berlin Oct. 25, 1917. 

Edith Jennette , b. Berlin Mar. 7, 1919. 

Thelma Marion , b. Berlin, Feb. 19, 1923. 

2m. Marion E. (Corey) Wheeler, wid. Otis C. Wheeler, Sept. 
1925. 

Max H. Stone, s. Frank H. (d. Mar. 29, 1940) and Dora (Rice) 
Stone, b. Jay, Vt. Aug. 22, 1897, d. Aug. 24, 1958; m. Violet A. 
Hansen, dau. Ole L. and Adie (Thayer) Hansen of Denmark, 
Oct. 24, 1917. She b. Mansonville, Canada May 6, 1900. Family 
came to Berlin in 1931. Had: 


GENEALOGY 


309 


Hayward M., b. Lisbon, N. H. Jan. 23, 1920, m. Mary Galiano. 
Maurice C., b. Lisbon, N. H. Dec. 24, 1921, d. Berlin Nov. 13, 
1939. 

Milton B., b. Lisbon, N. H. Apr. 1, 1924, m. Claire Nugent. 
Claudia J., b. Woodville, N. H., May 25, 1926, m. James J. R. 
Parslow, Jr., Dec. 6, 1947. 

Raymond Francis Stone, s. Alfred Leroy and Lillian Maude 
(Sisson) Stone, b. Oxford June 18, 1901, d. Berlin May 31, 1956; 
m. Sylveia Emma Crowell, dau. Ralph Chipman and Gladys 
(Hilts) Crowell, Apr. 4, 1928. She b. Nova Scotia July 1, 1906. 
Had: 

June Sylveia, b. May 12, 1932, m. Eric Woodbury Coolidge. 


STRATTON 

Walter Daniel Stratton, s. Daniel Wilbur and Anna Scott 
(Webster) Stratton, b. Hudson Sept. 4, 1884; m. Ruth E. Fosgate, 
dau. Fred A. and Ella (Swan) Fosgate. She b. Berlin Jan. 6, 
1883, d. Sept. 22, 1947. Had: 

Dana Daniel, b. Jan. 20, 1917, m. Ann Jane Murphy of Hudson 
May 18, 1941. 2m. Rae Cohan, Philadelphia, Nov. 6, 1948. 
Had: 

G/erm D. j^ eg Springfield, Pa. 

Wayne E. r 6 


TANSEY 

Warren W. Tansey, s. Roscoe W. and Mattie (Meed) Tansey, 
b. New Providence, Iowa, Feb. 3, 1906. Father d. July 6, 1954; 
mother d. Oct. 5, 1948, He m. Helen Louise Wheeler, dau. Walter 
A. and Ella L. (Howe) Wheeler, June 4, 1926. Had: 

Barbara Jean, b. Hudson Jan. 11, 1928, m. Clarence James 
Russell. 

Betty Jane, b. Hudson Jan. 11, 1928, m. James Royce Holmes. 

Anne Carey, b. Hudson July 14, 1930, d. Jan. 2, 1932. 

Mary Ellen, b. Berlin July 31, 1937, m. Andrew B. Matthew, Jr. 

TARBELL 

Charles Stuart Tarbell, s. Charles James and Ethel May 
(Babcock), b. Feb. 12, 1904; m. Mildred Sophronia Symonds of 
Somerville May 19, 1927. Had: 



310 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Eleanor Louise Tarbell, b. Sept. 28, 1928, m. Arne Clausen 
June 9, 1950. Had: 

Alan Stuart Clausen, b. Feb. 29, 1952. 

Eric Clausen, b. June 9, 1954. 

Robert Stuart Tarbell, b. June 30, 1947. 

TAYLOR 

Archie G. Taylor, s. George O. and Mary (Sutherland) Tay¬ 
lor, b. Stow July 6, 1907, d. Apr. 30, 1942; m. Nettie Dora Allen, 
dau. Elmer E. and Mary (Barnes) Allen, May 10, 1930. She b. 
Berlin Dec. 30, 1901. Had: 

Stewart Allen, b. Nov. 25, 1930. 

Raymond Elmer , b. March 15, 1932. 

Jane Ellen , b. Apr. 21, 1940. 

Arad Taylor, s. Luke and Nancy J. Taylor, b. Shefford, Can¬ 
ada Oct. 16, 1842, d. Berlin Apr. 20, 1919; m. Laura Ella Merrill, 
dau. John D. and Mellisa Merrill, Oct. 22, 1870. She b. Oct. 22, 
1851, d. Sept. 11, 1895. Had: 

John Ernest, b. July 13, 1871, m. Laura A. Wheeler. 

Mellisa /., b. May 19, 1878, m. N. Harriman Fay, she d. Dec. 
12, 1946. 

May Winnifred, b. Dec. 11, 1884, m. Carl L. Harris. 

John Ernest Taylor, s. Arad and Laura Ella (Merrill) Taylor, 
b. Berlin July 13, 1871, d. Nov. 15, 1920; m. Laura A. Wheeler, 
dau. Robert B. and Nancy M. (Wheeler) Wheeler, Mar. 24, 1893. 
She b. Sept. 29, 1874, d. June 28, 1938. Had: 

Harold Ernest, b. Apr. 3, 1894, d. Jan. 14, 1927. 

Robert Earle, b. Oct. 28, 1896, m. Sept. 12, 1922, d. Nov. 9, 
1954. 

Nelson Everett, b. Jan. 26, 1898, d. Feb. 11, 1920. 

Elthea Wheeler, b. Sept. 3, 1900, m. Howard Bailey, res. 
Northboro. 

Agnes Lillian, b. Mar. 1, 1903, m. Elmer C. Lewis Nov. 28, 
1935. 

Kenneth Stanley, b. Jan. 29, 1907, d. Feb. 19, 1926. 

Muriel Taylor, b. June 27,1922, m. George Wendall Dickerson, 
Northboro, Sept. 18, 1949. 


GENEALOGY 


311 


Robert Earle Taylor, s. John E. and Laura A. (Wheeler) 
Taylor, b. Berlin Oct. 28, 1896, d. Berlin Nov. 9, 1954; m. Mary 
Martha Antell, dau. John and Mary (Cate) Anted, Sept. 12, 1922. 
She b. Amesbury Jan. 4, 1894. Had: 

Marilyn Harriette, b. Dec. 5, 1923, m. Roger Smith Thompson 
July 26, 1952. They had: 

Cathy Jane , b. March 2, 1953. 

Steven Roger, b. March 28, 1956. 

Robert Harriman, b. Aug. 2, 1931, ] 

Clinton. 

Robert Waite, b. June 5, 1938, m. Sept. 30, 1955, Carol Camara. 

Robert Harriman Taylor; m. Madeline Brodrick of Clinton 
Apr. 24, 1954. Had: 

David Earle, b. Jan. 18, 1955. 

Cindy Sue, b. Feb. 23, 1958. 

James Donald, b. May 19, 1959. 

Robert Waite Taylor; m. Carol A. Camara, dau. Arthur and 
Rose (Greska) Camara, Sept. 30, 1956. Had: 

Frank Michael , b. Nov. 12, 1957. 

Kenneth Wayne, b. Jan. 21, 1959. 

TENNEY 

Archie Tenney, s. William and Mehitable; m. Susanna Jones 
of Berlin, Mass., dau. Samuel and Martha Jones, Apr. 10, 1809; 
he d. Nov. 7, 1870. She b. May 7, 1789, d. Sept. 19, 1860. Res. 
Marlboro, N. H., later removed to Keene, N. H. They had twelve 
children, of whom Lyman A. Tenney, b. Aug. 21, 1833, connects 
with the Berlin line. 

Lyman A. Tenney, s. Archie and Susanna (Jones) Tenney; m. 
Persis P. Foster of Nelson, N. H., dau. Jeremiah and Sarah (Car¬ 
penter) Foster, Nov. 1, 1853. He d. 1931; she d. July 20, 1860. 
Had: 

Viola A., b. May 5, 1855. 

Clifford H., b. Nov. 22, 1859. 

2m. Lizzie M. Tolman of Nelson, N. H. May 1, 1861. Had: 

Alice L., b. July 21, 1864. 


res. West Haven, Conn. 
. Madeline Brodrick of 


312 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Clifford H. Tenney, s. Lyman A. and Persis (Foster) Tenney; 
m. Clara E. Lowell of Marlow, N. H. He d. June 29, 1897. Had: 
Harry C., b. Jan. 1, 1884. 

Wilmer G., b. Oct. 23, 1887. 

Alice V., b. June 17, 1890. 

Jessie E., b. 1894. 

Wilmer G. Tenney, s. Clifford H. and Clara E. (Lowell) Ten¬ 
ney; m. Carrie L. von Loesecke, Allston, Mass. Aug. 16, 1913. 
Had: 

June E., b. June 12, 1914. 

Karl S., b. Dec. 25, 1915. 

Wilmer G. Tenney purchased the John L. Day place on High¬ 
land Street in 1928. House built by George Fox Wheeler, car¬ 
penter, about 1843. 


TERVO 


Res. Miami, Fla. 


Waino Herman Tervo, s. Henry and Sanna (Harju) Tervo, 
b. Maynard Oct. 17, 1898, d. July 6, 1959; m. Dorothy Frances 
Stone, dau. Homer L. and Clara E. (Boyd) Stone, Oct. 14, 1926. 
Had: 

Waino Herman, Jr., b. Dec. 16, 1927, m. Barbara Butler, dau. 
Norman and Birdie Butler of Marlboro. Had: 

Diane Marie, b. Dec. 17, 1952. 

Debra, b. Jan. 12, 1958. 

Clara Eleanor Tervo, b. Feb. 15, 1930, m. Ira Hudson Munroe 
of Marlboro, June 24, 1949. Had: 

Karen Marie, b. May 3, 1950. 

Katherine Lee , b. July 3, 1952. 

Carleen Claire, b. July 4, 1953. 

Ira Hudson Munroe, III, b. Feb. 5, 1955. 

Susan Frances Munroe, b. Sept. 27, 1957. 

Sylvia Ann, b. May 22, 1935, m. Donald B. Wheeler. 

Robert Lawrence Tervo, b. Aug. 15, 1941. 

Richard Lyman Tervo, b. Aug. 15, 1941, m. Karen Frances 
Oakes of Hudson 1958. Had: 

Richard Lyman, Jr., b. Jan. 19, 1959. 



GENEALOGY 


313 


William Henry Tervo, s. Henry and Sanna (Harju) Tervo, b. 
Maynard Feb. 11, 1905; m. Clara Helen Stone, dau. Homer L. 
and Clara (Boyd) Stone, Feb. 28, 1934. Had: 

William Henry, Jr., b. Sept. 26, 1935. 

Beverly Sue, b. May 3, 1942. 

Eleanor Frances, b. Nov. 8, 1945. 

Lynda S., b. June 3, 1950. 

TRASK 

Charles Albert Trask, s. Charles Augustus and Julia (Eaton) 
Trask, b. Montague, Mass. Sept. 12, 1866, d. Mar. 20, 1938; m. 
Ella Jane Waite, dau. Curtis M. and Jerusha Rosette Waite (d. 
July 11, 1934), March 1882. She b. Windham, Vt. Oct. 13, 1862, 
d. March 21, 1955. Had: 

Lilith, b. Aug. 18, 1883, d. July 14, 1936, m. Edward Mossman; 
2m. Harry Brown. 

Lula Mabel, b. Oct. 9, 1885, m. Elwin S. Jacobs. 

Florence E., b. Aug. 22, 1893, m. Winfield E. Warbin. 

Russell Charles Trask, b. Sept. 2, 1904; m. Marie Arleen 
Rockwood of Framingham July 4, 1937. 

2m. Bernice Edna Young of Wayland Sept. 22, 1946. 

TURNBULL 

Fred H. Turnbull, s. John B. and Margaret W. (Alley) Turn- 
bull, b. Newburgh, N. Y., Aug. 27, 1869, d. Clinton Jan. 2, 1947; 
m. Florence Benton Dean Oct. 14, 1891. She b. New Bedford, 
Mass. Nov. 21, 1868. Had: 

Ralph C., b. Lynn Apr. 23, 1893, d. Burlington, Vt. Nov. 13, 
1954, m. Ruth Chapman. 

Robert W., b. Lynn Feb. 12, 1895, m. Christina White. 

Arthur Alley, b. Lynn, July 17, 1897, m. Violet Ada Wheeler. 
Chester L., b. Berlin Oct. 11, 1905, m. Mabel Jones. Res. Jef- 
ferson, Me. 

Arthur Alley Turnbull, s. Fred H. and Florence B. (Dean) 
Turnbull; m. Violet Ada Wheeler, dau. Herbert L. and Adelia L. 
(Berry) Wheeler, Oct. 14, 1922. She d. Nov. 13, 1958. Had: 
Walter Arthur, b. Berlin Aug. 14, 1925, m. Dorothy Linstedt 
March 15, 1947. 


314 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Elliott Dean, b. Clinton Feb. 15, 1932, m. Doris Mae Abraham- 
son Aug. 3, 1955. Had: 

Robert Edward , b. Feb. 13, 1959. 

TWISS 

George Winthrop Twiss, s. John Gardner and Emily S. 
(Clark) Twiss, b. July 17, 1862, d. June 21, 1943; m. Olive Annela 
Stone, dau. Henry A. and Ruth E. (Paine) Stone, June 1, 1902. 
She b. Jan. 13, 1877, d. Sept. 18, 1958. Had: 

Ruth Mae, b. Feb. 25, 1903. 

Mildred Florence, b. July 4, 1910, m. Lawrence Elliot Briggs of 
Amherst. 

Muriel Kent, b. June 14, 1921 in Byfield, Mass. 

Ruby Kent, b. Mar. 11, 1923 in Byfield, Mass. 

TYLER 

George W. Tyler, s. David Tyler of Warwick; came to Berlin 
in 1883, settled on Parks farm of South Street; m. Mrs. Lilia 
(Sibley) Wilton of Lawrence. He b. Apr. 10, 1857, d. Feb. 2, 

1916. She d. Feb. 20, 1922. Had: 

David S., b. Sept. 29, 1889, m. Althea E. Keizer. 

Marion S., b. May 20, 1891. 

Charlotte S., b. Mar. 10, 1893, d. young. 

David Sibley Tyler, s. George W. and Lilia (Sibley) Tyler; 
m. Althea Ellen Keizer, dau. George E. and Nellie F. (Brewer) 
Keizer, Dec. 25, 1915. Had: 

Donald Wendall, b. Aug. 6, 1917, m. Virginia Lapoint. 

Corinne Mavis, b. Dec. 10, 1920, d. Mar. 2, 1924. 

Donald Wendall Tyler, s. David S. and Althea E. (Keizer) 
Tyler; m. Virginia Lapoint, dau. William C. and Mary E. 
(O’Rouche) Lapoint, Feb. 16, 1942. She b. Worcester, Mar. 20, 

1917. Had: 

Jeffrey W., b. July 1, 1945. 

Robert W., b. Mar. 12, 1947. 

Keven D., b. Nov. 11, 1952. 

James Danford Tyler, s. Danford and Emily (Reed) Tyler of 
Warwick, Mass., b. Richmond, N. H. June 15, 1848, d. Berlin 


GENEALOGY 


315 


Sept. 11, 1915; m. Anna S. Bassett, dau. Elisha and Maria L. 
(Whitcomb) (Howland) Bassett, Jan. 11, 1888. She b. Berlin 
June 28, 1856, d. Berlin Jan. 14, 1941. They settled on the Job 
Spofford farm (thus named in the incorporation of District of 
Berlin) on River Road, now occupied by his son, Danford B. 
Tyler. Had: 

Emily Grace, b. Dec. 23, 1889, d. Aug. 21, 1946. 

Danford Bassett , b. Aug. 23, 1893, m. Laura Elizabeth Sparrow 
of Northboro, May 5, 1956. 

Moses Reed Tyler, s. Danford and Emily (Reed) Tyler, b. 
Richmond, N. H. June 19, 1850, d. Berlin Jan. 28, 1941; m. Mary 
Catherine Mayo of Warwick, dau. Edward F. and Lois Mayo, 
Oct. 6, 1886. She b. Warwick 1860, d. Berlin May 12, 1909. Jointly 
with his brother, James D., they bought the estate of the late 
Madam Rudersdorff of Sawyer Hill Rd., opposite Brewer Rd., on 
Feb. 5, 1883. In 1885 they erected a mansion (later known as 
the Harper Place) to replace the Rudersdorff house destroyed by 
fire in 1880. So prominent was this location that it is listed as 
“Tyler’s Cupola” Station No. 51, one of the points of the triangula¬ 
tion survey of 1894. The property was sold to Levi Cooley in 1899 
and Mr. Tyler retired to the James W. Barter place of Pleasant 
Street, (now occupied by John Coolidge). 

ULRICH 

William Gottfried Ulrich, s. Julius and Lena (Schultz) Ul¬ 
rich, b. Seymour, Conn. Jan. 24, 1898; came to Berlin in 1938, 
bought the Lucy (Barnes) Howe property of Barnes Hill Rd.; 
m. Idella M. Trewhella, dau. Theodore N. and Ida C. (Crom¬ 
well) (d. Berlin May 1, 1955) Trewhella, June 1, 1920. She b. 
Shelton, Conn. Oct. 9, 1895. Had: 

Henry Nelson, b. Seymour, Conn. Dec. 28, 1922, m. Loretta 
Kister, dau. George F. Kister of Brooklyn, N. Y., Dec. 28, 
1947. She b. Nov. 28, 1921. Res. Hopkins (sub. Minneapolis) 
Minn.; with John Hancock Insurance Co. Had: 

Laurae Kister , b. Apr. 18, 1949. 

Lynne, b. Feb. 12, 1951. 

William Geoffrey, b. Feb. 11, 1954. 

Janice, b. Mar. 22, 1956. 


316 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Kenneth Warren, b. Seymour, Conn. May 6, 1925, d. Oct. 5, 
1952, m. Virginia Ann Marks, Oct. 19, 1946. She b. Sept. 17, 
1923. Had: 

Bret William , b. Aug. 2, 1947. 

Karen Louise , b. Oct. 31, 1949, d. Oct. 5, 1952. 

Lois Beverly, b. Seymour, Conn. Mar. 25, 1932, m. Harold 
Chester Densmore Nov. 26, 1949. He b. June 20, 1925. Res. 
Laconia, N. H. Had: 

David Clayton, b. June 18, 1952. 

Deborah Karen, b. Oct. 19, 1954. 

Linda Jeanne, b. Jan. 28, 1956. 

UNDERWOOD, FRANCIS E.—See “Rogers” 

WALKER 

Andrew Walker, s. William and Jane (Roach) Walker, b. 
Canada Feb. 22, 1865, d. Berlin Sept. 2, 1941; m. Mary MacGrath, 
dau. John and Julia (Kennedy) MacGrath. She b. Fall River Nov. 
1, 1870. Had: 

Willis Elden, b. Harvard Jan. 18, 1891, m. Elsie Sowerby, Marl¬ 
boro. 

Milton Andrews, b. Harvard, Jan. 21, 1893, m. Hazel Carter 
Middlesex, Vt. 

Ervin Emory, b. Harvard May 28, 1894, d. Nov. 27, 1927, m. 
Alice Sowerby. 

Raymond H., b. Harvard Jan. 20, 1896, d. May 24, 1954. 
Marjorie, b. Harvard Apr. 6, 1898, m. George Fletcher. 
Bernice, b. Harvard Dec. 16, 1899, m. Nelson Everett Hutch¬ 
inson. 

Horace, b. Harvard Aug. 17, 1901. 

Alvin, b. Harvard July 14, 1904, m. Martha H. Wright. 

Allen, b. Harvard July 14, 1904, m. Viola Merrin, Hudson. 
Eunice, b. Harvard Nov. 11, 1905, d. Apr. 6, 1906. 

Austin, b. Harvard June 3, 1907. 

Alvin Walker, s. Andrew and Mary (MacGrath) Walker; m. 
Martha H. Wright, dau. William H. and Harriet L. (Lowe) 
Wright, Dec. 21, 1935. She b. Hyde Park, Mass. Nov. 2, 1904. Her 
mother, Harriet (Lowe) Wright, d. Jan. 12, 1957. Had: 


GENEALOGY 


317 


Alma Rose , b. Oct. 28, 1936, m. Roland Charles Ackley July 
28, 1957. 

Kenneth Alvin , b. Aug. 12, 1938. 

Andrew William , b. Mar. 3, 1943. 

Penelope Marianna , b. Apr. 29, 1947. 

David George , b. July 24, 1948. 

WARBIN 

Winfield Ernest Warbin, s. Alfred and Jane (Marshallsea) 
Warbin, b. Revere Nov. 15, 1891, d. Sept. 30, 1925; m. Florence 
E. Trask, dau. Charles A. and Ella J. (Waite) Trask, Mar. 18, 
1912. Had: 

Harold Marshallsea , b. Oct. 31, 1912, m. Rizpah Merle Jack- 
son. 

Richard Winfield , b. Mar. 28, 1914, m. Phyllis May Spaulding. 
Elinor Jeanette , b. June 26, 1921, m. Carl A. Brodeur of Marl¬ 
boro Apr. 8, 1945. He b. Sept. 28, 1920. Had: 

Barbara Ann , b. July 13, 1947. 

Betty Lou , b. Mar. 31, 1950. 

Harold Marshallsea Warbin, s. Winfield E. and Florence E. 
(Trask) Warbin; m. Rizpah Merle Jackson, dau. Brittan A. and 
Florence E. (Felton) Jackson. Had: 

Robert Winfield , b. Feb. 8, 1944. 

Carol Florence , b. June 5, 1946. 

Richard Winfield Warbin, s. Winfield E. and Florence E. 
(Trask) Warbin; m. Phyllis May Spaulding, dau. Benjamin H. 
and Grace L. (Brown) Spaulding, Sept. 1, 1937. Had: 

Richard Ernest , b. Sept. 14, 1941. 

Thomas Howard , b. Feb. 1, 1945. 

Douglas John , b. Jan. 5, 1949. 

WARE 

Edward C. Ware, Jr., s. Edward C. and Ida (Walcott) Ware 
of Bolton, b. Jan. 14, 1920; m. Margaret Ethel Wheeler, dau. 
Amos C. and Ethel (Jones) Wheeler, June 22, 1946. Had: 


318 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Claudia Nancy , b. Dec. 12, 1947. 

Paula Jeanne, b. Nov. 18, 1949. 

WARREN 

Jerome B. Warren, s. Charles and Lucy R. Warren, b. New¬ 
ton, Mass., d. Oct. 12, 1905; m. Louisa M. Rice, dau. Oliver C. 
and M. Augusta Rice, July 29, 1890. She b. Berlin Apr. 14, 1874, 
d. Apr. 26, 1937. Had: 

Earle R., b. Berlin Oct. 1, 1896, m. Gladys Ward. Had: 
Thornton R., b. June 1, 1920. 

Ward , b. July 16, 1922. 

Violet , b. Nov. 28, 1901; m. Francis Zipfel, res. Garrettsville, O. 
2m. of Louisa M. (Rice) Warren to Dr. Lewis of Detroit, Mich. 

WATSON 

Joseph S. Watson, s. James and Agnes (Spence) Watson; m. 
Gertrude M. Felton, dau. George H. and Sarah (Norrish) Felton, 
Oct. 14, 1908. Had: 

Ethelyn Claire , b. Oct. 6, 1910, m. Frederick Hosmer Johnson 
Oct. 23, 1937. 

Alice Felton , b. Jan. 31, 1912, m. Henry Francis Gately June 
17, 1936. 

Virginia Ruth, b. April 6, 1913, m. Arthur Martin Pike Nov. 9, 
1940. 


GENEALOGY 


319 


WHEELER 

I. Jonathan Wheeler of Lancaster, b. 1720, d. 1791; settled 
Sawyer Hill Rd. 

II. Jonathan-Buffum, b. 1752, m. 1775, d. 1787; settled 
“Wheeler Hill” Highland St. 

II. Levi Wheeler, s. Jonathan, Sr., b. 1768, m. 1792; 

2m. 1814, d. 1835; settled Sawyer Hill Rd. 

III. Daniel Wheeler, s. Jonathan, Jr., b. 1776, m. 1800, d. 1853. 

III. Amos Wheeler, s. Levi, b. 1792, m. 1816; 

2m. 1852, d. 1867; res. Sawyer Hill Rd. 

III. Peregrine Wheeler, s. Levi, b. 1796, m. 1822, d. 1860, res. 
South Berlin. 

III. Levi Wheeler, Jr., s. Levi, b. 1803, m. 1823, d. 1840. 

III. Samuel H. Wheeler, s. Levi, b. 1815, m. 1839, d. 1894. (See 
Samuel and Henry A. Wheeler.) 

III. Elisha T. Wheeler, s. Levi, b. 1817, m. 1842, d. 1875. 

IV. Sabra Wheeler, dau. Daniel, b. 1811, m. William W. 
Wheeler, she d. 1895. (See Thomas Berry.) 

IV. Melissa Wheeler, dau. Daniel, b. 1819, m. John D. Merrill, 
she d. 1893. 

IV. Rufus R. Wheeler, s. Amos, b. 1827, m. 1854, d. 1900. (See 
Walter A. Wheeler.) 

IV. Robert B. Wheeler, s. Amos, b. 1835, m. 1860, d. 1903. (See 
Walter Cole, John Taylor, Amos C. Wheeler.) 

IV. Richard M. Wheeler, s. Amos, b. 1835, m. 1862, d. 1895. 
(See Arthur Burton Wheeler/Eldon C. Wheeler.) 

IV. Willard M. Wheeler, s. Peregrine, b. 1825, m. 1849, d. 1913. 
(See Sidney W. Wheeler.) 

IV. Erastus S. Wheeler, s. Levi, b. 1832, d. 1895 (the Botanist). 
IV. Elias L. Wheeler, s. Levi, b. 1835, m. 1880, d. 1907. (See 
Myron S. Wheeler.) 

IV. Lewis B. Wheeler, s. Levi, b. 1837, m. 1872, d. 1900. (See 
Waldo L. Wheeler.) 

V. Harriet A. Wheeler, dau. Elisha T., b. 1848, m. Ebenezer 
S. Sawtelle, d. 1890. 


320 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


WHEELER 

Alfred Sherman Wheeler, s. John A. and Mary J. (Norrish) 
Wheeler; m. Annie Natalie Bemardson, dau. John and Jessie A. 
(Smith) Bernardson, Aug. 14, 1926. Had: 

Alfred John, b. Feb. 8, 1928, m. Patricia Rodier Dec. 12, 1952. 
She b. Nov. 5, 1930. Had: 

Alfred John, Jr ., b. Alexandria, Va., June 1, 1955. 

Patricia Anne, b. Carteret, N. J. Jan. 18, 1958. 

Ronald David , b. Feb. 22, 1939. 

Amos Chester Wheeler, s. Robert B. and Nancy Miriam 
Wheeler; m. Ethel M. Jones, dau. Russell and Abby Frances 
(Robbins) Jones, Sept. 19, 1909. She b. Nov. 16, 1882, Water- 
ville, Me. Had: 

Margaret Ethel , b. Mar. 16, 1920, m. Edward C. Ware, Jr. 
Ruea Nancy , b. Nov. 26, 1921, m. Raymond C. Baum. 

Arthur Buffum Wheeler, s. David B. and Martha (Wheeler) 
Wheeler, b. Berlin May 10, 1860, d. Nov. 24, 1925. He m. Carrie 
A. Cross of Cambridgeport who d. 1895. 

2m. Jane Mabel Watterson, dau. William and Abbie M. (Smith) 
Watterson, Mar. 1, 1896. She b. Dec. 12, 1871, d. Clinton Dec. 28, 
1941. Had: 

David Watterson , b. May 10, 1900, d. July 5, 1951, m. Dycia 
A. Hadlock, dau. John A. (d. July 1, 1947) and Elizabeth 
M. (Stone) (d. May 30, 1955) Hadlock, Dec. 6, 1924. 
Howard Arthur, b. Mar. 27, 1902, d. Feb. 5, 1952, m. Dorothy 
F. Bailey, dau. Howard Bailey of Northboro, Oct. 7, 1924. 
She b. Oct. 17, 1907. Had: 

Emeline Marie, b. Sept. 9, 1930, m. William Linde; res. 
Marlboro. 

Lawrence Howard, b. Sept. 8, 1939, m. Patricia H. La- 
Flash Oct. 25, 1958. 

2m. Dorothy Frances (Bailey) Wheeler to Richard William Risi 
Apr. 26, 1953. 

Alfred William, b. Apr. 12, 1913, m. Rena Elmira Guerard, 
dau. John J. and Diana (Laremie) Guerard, Nov. 29, 1936. 
Had: 


GENEALOGY 


321 


David Arthur , b. May 21, 1939. 

Arthur Burton Wheeler, s. Richard M. and Frances Ann 
(Sawtelle) Wheeler, b. Oct. 14, 1872, d. July 14, 1933; m. Esther 
G. Bruce, dau. Hiram W. and Melvina M. (Jellison) Bruce, Mar. 
31,1896. She b. Stow Sept. 23, 1878, d. Berlin Mar. 23, 1952. Had: 
Cecil Burton , b. Nov. 5, 1896, m. Lucy Glover Manter. 

Lloyd Linwood, b. Nov. 29, 1898, m. Marion A. Winslow. 
Ernest Leroy, b. Nov. 27, 1902, m. Mary Louise Colburn Apr. 
15, 1949. 

Herman Bruce, b. Oct. 7, 1906, m. Florence Louise Kreuzer. 
Burton Kendall, b. Sept. 4, 1911, m. Dorothea Mae Webb. 
Carroll Richard, b. June 9, 1915, m. Elizabeth Ordway. 

Bernard Oliver Wheeler, s. Solon and Mary (Sullivan) 
Wheeler, b. Bolton Nov. 17, 1889; m. Hazel Marion Barnes, dau. 
John H. and Luella (Ayers) Barnes, July 6, 1922. Had: 

Russell Bernard, b. Jan. 2, 1923, m. Marjorie M. McGorty. 
Shirley Barnes, b. Sept. 27, 1931, m. Richard N. Wright Oct. 
29, 1955. Had: 

Pamela Diane, b. Sept. 4, 1956. 

Sandra Jean, b. Feb. 8, 1958. 

Burton Kendall Wheeler, s. Arthur Burton and Esther G. 
(Bruce) Wheeler; m. Dorothy Mae Webb, dau. George H. and 
Mae E. (Searles) Webb, Sept. 8, 1935. She b. Worcester Nov. 20, 
1916. 

2m. Myrtle V. (Broadbent) Holder, Sept. 25, 1947. Children: 
Sandra Jean Holder, b. Feb. 6,1938, m. Craig P. Stuart Sterling. 
Shelia J. Holder, b. Apr. 7, 1942. 

Cynthia Elaine Wheeler, b. July 15, 1949. 

Family removed to California 1957. 

Carroll Richard Wheeler, s. Arthur Burton and Esther G. 
(Bruce) Wheeler; m. Elizabeth Ordway, dau. Alfred Frost and 
Eva Louise (Carter) Ordway, Dec. 24, 1932. Had: 

Bruce Carter, b. July 31, 1933, m. Joan E. Morel Sept. 14, 1957. 
Joan Carol, b. Jan. 30, 1939, m. Francis A. Touchette Jan. 12, 
1957. 

Alan Richard, b. Dec. 14, 1946. 


"322 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Cecil Burton Wheeler, s. Arthur Burton and Esther G. 
(Bruce) Wheeler; m. Lucy Glover Manter, dau. Alfred Elmer 
and Frances Maude (Hipson) Manter, Nov. 4, 1922. She b. 
Montello, Mass. Oct. 7, 1903. Had: 

Cecil Burton, Jr., b. June 13, 1923, m. Jean Charlotte Rayner, 
dau. Hall C. and Marion L. (Hoyt) Rayner, June 26, 1954. 
Had: 

Wendy Marion, b. June 17, 1959. 

Beverly Ann, b. June 27, 1929. 

Christopher Wheeler, s. Oliver P. and Harriet Ann (Faulk¬ 
ner) (d. Berlin Mar. 6, 1878) Wheeler, b. Bolton May 28, 1853, d. 
Berlin Aug. 1, 1913; m. Mary J. Bliss of Gilson, N. H. Mar. 14, 
1860. Had: 

Mary Lilian, b. Berlin Dec. 28, 1884, m. Austin E. Stearns, 
Westboro. 

2m. Laura Angie Jones, dau. Oscar M. and Lucy E. (Kimmins) 
Jones, Dec. 2, 1903. She b. Apr. 9, 1882, d. Oct. 1, 1918. Had: 
Myrtis Ella, b. Jan. 5, 1908, m. Edward E. Eck Oct. 9, 1937, 
Worcester. 

Maurice Oscar, b. Mar. 24, 1909, m. Evelyn Holder May 1, 
1932. 

Clifford Herbert Wheeler, florist, s. Herbert L. and Adelia 
(Berry) Wheeler, m. Addie E. Mahan, dau. Clinton Adelbert (d. 
Dec. 17, 1901) and Doha (Hastings) (d. May 20, 1939) Mahan, 
of Clinton, April 8, 1920. She b. Boylston May 26, 1892. Had: 
Alice Effie, b. Jan. 21, 1922, m. Francis C. Burke. 

Edith Emily , b. Jan. 14, 1926, m. Benjamin H. Spaulding, Jr. 
Clifford Herbert, Jr., b. Oct. 3, 1927, m. Virginia Ann Mun- 
geam. 

Henry Adelbert, b. July 5, 1929, m. Ruth A. Nugent. 

Clifford H. Wheeler and family reside on Sawyer Hill Road in 
the homestead of the first Jonathan Wheeler of 1757. The original 
estate included some 320 acres along Sawyer Hill and Summer 
Roads and extended south to the Assabet (Elizabeth) River. 

Clifford Herbert Wheeler, Jr., s. Clifford H. and Addie E. 
(Mahan) Wheeler; m. Virginia A. Mungeam, dau. Leonard R. 
and Ruth M. (Brewer) Mungeam, Apr. 22, 1949. Had: 


GENEALOGY 


323 


Donna May, b. May 13, 1950. 

Dennis Herbert, b. Apr. 30, 1952. 

Debra Ann, b. Jan. 31, 1957. 

Donald Brewer Wheeler, s. Earle A. and Hazel H. (Brewer) 
Wheeler; m. Sylvia Ann Tervo, dau. Waino H. and Dorothy F. 
(Stone) Tervo, May 14, 1955. Had: 

Claire Marie, b. Nov. 20, 1957. 

Robert Lawrence, b. Mar. 27, 1959. 

Earle Aldrich Wheeler, s. Jesse A. (d. Jan. 27, 1959) and 
Lilia G. (Southwick) Wheeler, b. Bolton May 4, 1900; m Hazel 
H. Brewer, dau. Alfred D. and Julia C. (Walcott) Brewer, Oct. 
15, 1925. His father b. Bolton, Apr. 13, 1875. Had: 

Earle Aldrich, Jr., b. Jan. 9, 1927, d. Jan. 10, 1927. 

Norman Jesse, b. Dec. 4, 1928, m. Jane Edith Wallace. 

Dora Marie, b. Feb. 4, 1932, m. Alton V. Cummings. 

Donald Brewer, b. Dec. 10, 1934, m. Sylvia Ann Tervo. 

Edward Lawson Wheeler, s. William W. and Sabra Wheeler, 
b. Aug. 22, 1844, d. Mar. 17, 1918; m. Sarah E. Dakin of Conn. 
May 5, 1869. She d. Dec. 12, 1937. Had: 

Walter E. b. Oct. 17, 1872. 

William E., b. Feb. 3, 1879, m. Ethel E. Randall. 

Genella E. b. Apr. 19, 1881, d. Oct. 26, 1881. 

Warren E., b. Nov. 17, 1890, d. Aug. 11, 1911. 

Eldon Charles Wheeler, s. Charles Carlton and Rose (Hal¬ 
stead) Wheeler, b. Bolton May 7, 1898; m. Eleanor Parsons Hoyt, 
dau. Edward C. and Emma (Parsons) Hoyt, May 6, 1923. She b. 
Gloucester May 27, 1898, d. May 18, 1958. Came to Berlin 1935, 
res. Pleasant Street, truck gardener. Had: 

Donald Hoyt, b. Greenfield, Mass. Aug. 19, 1924. 

2m. Evangeline G. (Emrick) Coke Feb. 7, 1959. 

Eldon C. Wheeler is a descendant of the Jonathan and Mary 
(Buffum) Wheeler line through his grandfather, Richard Mott 
Wheeler (twin brother of Robert B. Wheeler). 

Emerson Wellington Wheeler, s. Leslie E. and Jennie F. 
(Bowman) Wheeler; m. Ethel Rose Ross, dau. Joseph G. and 


324 HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 

Nora (Greek) Ross, Oct. 5, 1921. She b. Northboro Oct. 4, 1902. 
Had: 

Virginia Rose, b. Sept. 21, 1924, m. Ralph L. Harriman, Jr., 
Dec. 2, 1956. 

Frances Nora, b. June 20, 1927. 

Emerson Wellington, Jr., b. June 20, 1929, m. Gloria Barbara 
Gilchrest, July 18, 1951. 2m. Loretta McQuoid May 4, 1956. 
Mabel Geneva, b. Jan. 7, 1931, m. Robert Douglas Winship 
May 24, 1952. 

Betty Marie, b. Sept. 14, 1932, m. Charles Luman Bent June 6, 
1953. 

Joseph Leslie, b. Oct. 15, 1933. 

Shirley May, b. Nov. 13, 1935, m. Roger D. Hines Dec. 23, 1956. 

Ernest Ossian Wheeler, s. Ossian Dexter and Emily B. 
Wheeler (dau. Nathaniel Wheeler), b. Marlboro Oct. 17, 1878; 
m. Florence Bancroft Allen, dau. Charles H. and Harriet B. 
(Pratt) Allen, Feb. 12, 1904. She b. Nov. 12, 1880, d. Jan. 4, 1959. 
Had: 

Louise Bancroft, b. Nov. 17, 1908, m. A. Donald West, res. 
New York. Had: 

Ann Marian West, b. Quincy, Mass. Oct. 19, 1939. 

The homestead of Nathaniel Wheeler (maternal grandfather of 
E. O.) located on River Road is the present farmhouse of the 
1790 Farm. Ernest O. Wheeler relocated in Berlin in 1936 on the 
Amanda Morse place of Highland Street. 

Eva Lunetta Wheeler, dau. Jonathan F. and Jemima D. 
(Higgins) Wheeler, b. Charleston, Me. Dec. 1, 1861; m. Charles 
Warren Parker. Their dau. 

Ethel Winifred Parker, b. Westboro, Mass. Nov. 19, 1897, m. 
William Albert Oliver June 11, 1919. They had: 

June Sherwood Oliver, b. Provo, Utah Feb. 7, 1920, m. 

Joseph Amberboy July 2, 1943. 

Glen Parker Oliver, b. So. Braintree, Mass. May 21, 1922, 
m. Oliver Harmer Mar. 24, 1944. 

Sheldon Wheeler Oliver, b. No. Raynham, Mass., Sept. 

4, 1923, m. LaRue Wright July 2, 1944. 

Wilma Mae Oliver, b. Provo, Utah, May 1, 1927, m. Harold 
Mark Hanson Feb. 20, 1948. 


GENEALOGY 325 

Pearl Ethelle Oliver, b. Provo, Utah, Feb. 23, 1929, m. 
Calvin E. Payne, Mar. 6, 1952. 

(Record data presented by Miss Florence Wheeler, 37 Orchard 
St., Leominster, Mass, and Mrs. Ethel Winnifred Oliver, 843 
Wilshire PL, Salt Lake City 2, Utah.) 

Everett Randall Wheeler, s. William E. and Ethel E. 
(Randall) Wheeler; m. Mildred A. Ogilvie, dau. Arthur and 
Bertha Anabell (White) Ogilvie, Oct. 25, 1936. She b. Nashua, 
N. H. Aug. 26, 1909; her mother, Bertha Anabell Ogilvie, d. 
Berlin July 31, 1940, bur. South Cemetery. Had: 

Clifton Everett, b. Mar. 28, 1944. 

Leslie Warren, b. Sept. 26, 1948. 

Res. Highland Street, homestead of his great grandfather (Wil¬ 
liam W. Wheeler) who settled here about 1835. The original 
house was built by Isaac Moore about 1740. 

Francis Abel Wheeler, s. Abel and Nancy Wheeler of Bolton, 
b. Bolton Oct. 5, 1835, d. Berlin June 4, 1909; m. Sarah, dau. Na¬ 
thaniel King, Nov. 25, 1858. She b. Lynn, d. Berlin Dec. 24, 1859, 
age 27, bur. Friends Cem. Bolton. 

2m. Jennie H. Manchester, dau. Timothy and Maria Manchester, 
of Clinton, May 4, 1864. She d. Sept. 6, 1874, age 34, bur. Bolton. 
Had: 

Sarah Lizzie, b. Feb. 19, 1865, m. John E. Phinney, Clinton, 
Jan. 30, 1884. 

Francis Sherman, b. Dec. 22, 1866, d. Worcester Aug. 17, 1951, 
m. Eva L. Johnson, dau. Andrew J. and Hattie A. (Wood¬ 
bury) Johnson, Mar. 29, 1889. She b. Sept. 11, 1861, d. 
Worcester Oct. 5, 1949. 

Lilia Geneva, b. Charleston, Vt. Sept. 27, 1868, d. July 29, 1938. 
Clarence Edgar, b. Apr. 22, 1871 in Charleston, Vt. 

John Abel, b. Charleston, Vt. Oct. 18, 1873, m. Mary J. Norrish. 

Frederick Roland Wheeler, s. Roland E. and Freda (Stone) 
Wheeler; m. Ruth Alta Bridges, July 25, 1948. Had: 

Philip Roland, b. Aug. 15, 1949. 

Faye Alta, b. Oct. 31, 1950. 

Susan Ruth, b. Apr. 5, 1954. 

Frederick Roland, Jr., b. July 19, 1957. 


326 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Residence Wheeler-Berry homestead of Highland St. House built 
by John Wheeler, s. Daniel and grandson of Jonathan, Jr., about 
1829. Property has been in Wheeler family for over 100 years. 

Freeman W. Wheeler, s. Walter A. and Ella (Howe) Wheel¬ 
er; m. Marion Eager, dau. Charles D. and Lilia M. (Southwick) 
Eager, Apr. 10, 1913; she d. June 13, 1921. Had: 

Doris Elizabeth, b. Jan. 8, 1914, m. Charles Miller, res. Webster. 

John Lambert, b. Dec. 18, 1916, m. Rita Cournoyer, res. Oxford. 

Irene, b. Jan. 13, 1919, m. Thomas King, res. Worcester. 

Roger Marion, b. May 1, 1921, m. Lulu T. Parmenter, May 2, 
1942. 

Henry Arthur Wheeler, s. Samuel H. and Sarah (Holder) 
Wheeler, b. Mar. 31, 1857 at the homestead on Sawyer Hill Road. 
He d. here Apr. 15, 1935. He m. Nellie R. Read Mar. 31, 1877. 
She b. Swanzey, N. H. July 30, 1855; d. Nov. 30, 1927. Had: 

Carlon Eugene, b. Mar. 12, 1880, d. Apr. 24, 1936, m. Ora S. 
Morse of Hudson Aug. 9, 1904. He b. Hudson Aug. 28, 1878. 

Annella Mattie, b. Aug. 18, 1882, m. Frank Freeman Dunfield 
Aug. 28, 1906. 

Raymond Holder, b. Mar. 9, 1892, m. Ruth Jane Dunlap Aug. 
14, 1915. 

Roland Read, b. Mar. 9, 1892, d. May 17, 1892. 

Henry Adelbert Wheeler, s. Clifford H. and Addie E. (Ma¬ 
han) Wheeler; m. Ruth Alice Nugent of Clinton, Jan. 31, 1948. 
Had: 

Mary Catherine, b. May 10, 1949. 

Karen Ann, b. Feb. 6, 1951. 

Adeline, b. Sept. 19, 1953. 

Henry Adelbert, Jr., b. Dec. 2, 1954. 

Herbert Levi Wheeler, s. Samuel and Emily G. (Bruce) 
Wheeler, b. Oct. 18, 1875, d. May 23, 1941; m. Adelia L. Berry, 
dau. Thomas C. and Alvina (Wheeler) Berry, Apr. 7, 1896. She 
b. Dec. 1, 1870, d. Mar. 20, 1941. Had: 

Mildred Luella, b. June 19, 1897, m. Lester G. Ross. 

Clifford Herbert , b. Apr. 30, 1900, m. Addie E. Mahan. 


GENEALOGY 


327 


Violet Ada, b. Jan. 15, 1902, d. Nov. 13, 1958, m. Arthur A. 
Turnbull. 

Roland E., b. June 29, 1903, m. Freda B. Stone. 

Herman Bruce Wheeler, s. Arthur Burton and Esther G. 
(Bruce) Wheeler, b. Oct. 7, 1906, d. Sept. 1, 1958; m. Florence 
Louise Kreuzer, dau. Frederick A. and Louise E. (Poydar) 
Kreuzer, Mar. 31, 1927. She b. Brookline, Mass. Dec. 2, 1911. Had: 
Herman Bruce, Jr., b. Oct. 21, 1927, d. Dec. 24, 1927. 

Doris Thelma, b. Jan. 21, 1929. 

Lawrence Bruce, b. Oct. 13, 1932. 

2m. Mary K. (O’Loughlin) Cuddy of Hudson Nov. 24, 1943. 

John Abel Wheeler, s. Francis Abel and Jennie H. (Man¬ 
chester) Wheeler, b. Oct. 19, 1873; m. Mary J. Norrish, dau. 
James and Mariah (Foley) Norrish, Feb. 27, 1897. She b. Feb. 
27, 1880 in Montreal, d. Sept. 27, 1949. Had: 

Alfred Sherman, b. June 15, 1897, m. Annie Natalie Bernardson. 
Hattie Mildred, b. Sept. 12, 1898, m. William R. Roche Dec. 30, 
1917. She d. May 4, 1922. 

Harold Arthur Wheeler, b. Sept. 13, 1919. 

Leslie Emerson Wheeler, s. Oliver P. and Harriet A. (Faulk¬ 
ner) Wheeler, b. Feb. 9, 1867, d. Feb. 23, 1955; m. Jennie F. 
(Bowman), dau. John W. and Sarah (Rowson) of Westboro, 
Nov. 27, 1889. She b. Westboro Oct. 31, 1872, d. Worcester Mar. 
25, 1957. Had: 

Grace Blanche, b. Dec. 15, 1890, d. Feb. 20, 1891. 

Clara Belle, b. Feb. 1, 1892, m. Albert A. Jacobs Feb. 8, 1911. 

2m. Gleason C. Wilder of Worcester, Dec. 25, 1918. 
Emerson Wellington, b. May, 6, 1901, m. Ethel Rose Ross Oct. 
5, 1921. 

Lloyd Linwood Wheeler, s. Arthur Burton and Esther G. 
(Bruce) Wheeler; m. Marion A. Winslow, dau. Frank A. and 
Bertha (Brown) Winslow, Sept. 2, 1924. She b. Hallowell, Me., 
Apr. 13, 1905, d. Berlin Apr. 17, 1932. Had: 

Phyllis, b. June 16, 1925, m. Roland Albert Haase, Marlboro 
July 15, 1944. 

Christine, b. Mar. 30, 1932. 


328 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Lucy M. Wheeler, dau. Elias L. and Sarah A. (Sawyer) 
Wheeler, b. Aug. 13, 1882, d. Dec. 10, 1957. 

Maurice Oscar Wheeler, s. Christopher and Laura A. (Jones) 
Wheeler; m. Evelyn Holder, dau. Herman S. and Jennie I. (Fos- 
gate) Holder, May 1, 1932. Had: 

Raymond Irving, b. July 27, 1935, m. Alice Laura Cole. 

Myron S. Wheeler, s. Elias L. and Sarah A. (Sawyer) Wheel¬ 
er, b. Feb. 7, 1881, d. Sept. 29, 1948. His father d. Apr. 11, 1907; 
mother d. Nov. 19, 1943. Married Mary M. Babcock, dau. William 
Thomas and Harriet M. (Sawyer) Babcock, Oct. 6, 1901. She d. 
Mar. 12, 1925. 

2m. Ethel E. Tracey of Clinton Apr. 24, 1922; she d. Jan. 14, 1959. 
Had: 

Elizabeth Bliss, b. Dec. 28, 1922, m. Albert G. Rouleau. 

Norman Jesse Wheeler, s. Earle A. and Hazel IT. (Brewer) 
Wheeler; m. Jane Edith Wallace of Marlboro June 12, 1955. Had: 
Malcolm Earle, b. Sept. 4, 1957. 

Otis C. Wheeler, s. Walter A. and Ella (Howe) Wheeler, b. 
Aug. 31, 1888, d. Mar. 22, 1925; m. Marion E. Corey, June 20, 
1914. Had: 

Otis C. Jr., b. Nov. 6, 1915. 

Francis C., b. Apr. 17, 1918, m. Alice Moss. (Conn.) 
Lawrence Eugene, b. Oct. 23, 1919. (Fla.) 

Raymond Holder Wheeler, s. Henry A. and Nellie F. (Read) 
Wheeler; m. Ruth Jane Dunlop of Worcester, Mass. Aug. 14, 1915. 
Had: 

Lois Dunlop, b. Eugene, Ore. July 31, 1924, m. Carl C. Per¬ 
kins, Jr., May 20, 1942. Had: 

Carl C. Perkins III, b. Oct. 20, 1944, Lawrence, Kan. 
Brian W. Perkins, b. Feb. 2, 1946, Lawrence, Kan. 
lanet Lee Perkins, b. Sept. 20, 1953, Kansas City, Mo. 
Bruce MacDonald Perkins, b. Jan. 18, 1955, Kansas City, 
Mo. 

Raymond Irving Wheeler, s. Maurice Oscar and Evelyn 
(Holder) Wheeler, b. July 27, 1935; m. Alice Laura Cole, dau. 


GENEALOGY 


329 


Chester E. and Laura E. (Bickford) Cole, July 25,1958. Had: 
Naomi, b. June 4, 1959. 

Richard M. Wheeler, s. Amos (d. Oct. 6, 1867) and Lydia 
(Randall) (d. Mar. 3, 1843) of Richmond, N. H., b. Mar. 19, 
1835, d. Mar. 11, 1895; m. Frances Ann Sawtelle, dau. Ebenezer 
S. and Roxana (Bruce) Sawtelle, July 3, 1862. She b. Oct. 5, 
1844, d. Feb. 24, 1901. Had: 

Richard M., b. June 20, 1863, d. Feb. 27, 1867. 

Hattie L., b. Jan. 4, 1866, d. Mar. 1, 1867. 

Orrin M., b. Feb. 15, 1868, m. Agnes Bailey. 

Charles C., b. Mar. 30, 1871, m. Rose Halstead. 

Arthur B ., b. Oct. 14, 1872, m. Esther G. Bruce. 

Willis E., b. Dec. 3, 1874. 

Amy F., b. Nov. 27, 1877. 

Ralph E., b. Nov. 25, 1880, d. Dec. 7, 1927, m. Mabel Garriner 
May 10, 1911. 

Chester L., b. July 10, 1883. 

He settled on the Amos Meriam farm, later owned by William 
Babcock—the present Edward R. Martineit Place on Carr Road. 

Robert Barclay Wheeler, s. Amos and Lydia (Randall) 
Wheeler, b. Mar. 19, 1835, d. Nov. 28, 1903; m. Nancy M. Wheel¬ 
er, dau. Thomas W. and Mirriam S. Wheeler of Bolton, Mar. 29, 
1860. She b. Mar. 2, 1842, d. July 16, 1890. Had: 

Miranda Lois, b. Dec. 2, 1861, d. Jan. 27, 1864. 

Alice Lillian, b. Nov. 8, 1863, m. George E. Dow June 8, 1887. 
Gilbert Hanson, b. Sept. 13, 1866, m. Ida G. Burnham Oct. 31, 
1889. 

Bertha Meriam, b. Oct. 28, 1869, m. Walter Cole Sept. 24, 1890. 
Laura Agnes, b. Sept. 29,1873, m. John E. Taylor Mar. 24,1893. 
Amos Chester, b. Jan. 25, 1886, m. Ethel M. Jones Sept. 19, 
1909. 

2m. Marion Jeffrey, dau. Hugh and Agnes Mclntire, Oct. 13, 
1893. 

He resided on the Jonathan-Buffum homestead of Highland 
Street. The house was built in 1817 by Warren Moore. It was 
purchased about 1835 by Amos Wheeler, son of Levi, and has 
remained in the Wheeler family ever since. It is the present 


330 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


residence of Chester E. Cole; and also Raymond I. Wheeler of 
the sixth generation. 

Roger Earl Wheeler, s. Roland E. and Freda B. (Stone) 
Wheeler; m. Helen Barbara Bradley, dau. Harry F. and Gertrude 
(Gardiner) Bradley, June 16, 1950. Had: 

Nancy Jean, b. Aug. 23, 1956. 

Roger Marion Wheeler, s. Freeman W. and Marion (Eager) 
Wheeler; m. Lulu Thora Parmenter, dau. Edward T. and Lulu 
Marie (Cook) Parmenter, May 2, 1942. Had: 

Thomas Walter, b. Sept. 1, 1947. 

Betty Lou, b. Nov. 9, 1950. 

Roland Earl Wheeler, s. Herbert L. and Adelia L. (Berry) 
Wheeler; m. Freda Belle Stone, dau. Homer L. and Clara (Boyd) 
Stone, Mar. 14, 1925. Had: 

Roger Earl, b. Aug. 25, 1925, m. Helen Barbara Bradley. 

Frederick Roland, b. Jan. 19, 1928, m. Ruth Alta Bridges. 

Norma Irene, b. Feb. 4, 1931, m. Leon Newton Andrews. 

Philip, b. Sept. 16, 1933, d. Sept. 16, 1933. 

Russell Bernard Wheeler, s. Bernard O. and Hazel H. 
(Barnes) Wheeler; m. Marjorie M. McGorty, dau. George C. 
and Dora Frances (McCarthy) McGorty, Sept. 23, 1942. She b. 
Hudson Mar. 25, 1923. Had: 

Russell Bernard, Jr., b. Feb. 7, 1943. 

Kenneth George, b. Aug. 27, 1948. 

Brian Robert, b. Feb. 14, 1955. 

Samuel Wheeler, s. Samuel H. and Sarah (Holder) Wheeler, 
b. Nov. 3, 1851, d. June 4, 1914; m. Emily G. Bruce of Hudson 
Aug. 15, 1871. She d. Dec. 1, 1932. Had: 

Cora E., b. Mar. 14, 1872, d. Apr. 22, 1929, m. Arthur L. 

Brewer. 

Herbert L., b. Oct. 18, 1875, d. May 23, 1941, m. Adelia L. 

Berry. 

Edwin E., b. Sept. 13, 1877, d. Mar. 6, 1940, m. Emma L. 

Coyne. 

Marion G ., b. Dec. 21, 1885, d. Feb. 11,1955. 

Bernice A., b. Oct. 2, 1894, d. Feb. 6, 1939. 


GENEALOGY 


331 


Sidney Walter Wheeler, s. Edmond W. (d. Apr. 25, 1937) 
and Olivia A. (Howe) (d. July 24, 1935) Wheeler, b. Berlin, Apr. 
11, 1887, d. June 30, 1951; m. Florence Ellen Hastings, dau. 
Arthur (d. July 11, 1941) and Emma F. (Boyce) (d. Sept. 11, 
1934) Hastings, Sept. 14, 1912. She b. Berlin, Feb. 9, 1886. Had: 

Willard Hastings, b. Dec. 10, 1923, m. Joanne F. Kavanaugh. 
Res. Pleasant Street, homestead of Arthur Hastings, Christopher 
Sawyer Hastings, Ephraim Hastings (1834), Nathan Johnson 
(1781), Edward Johnson, who married Mary Ball of Northboro 
and settled here 1745. This property being his portion of the 
grant of his father, Edward Johnson of Woburn, who surveyed 
in this territory in 1650-60. The forty acres of the “mill site” was 
sold to William Goddard in 1744, who built the dam and mill 
about 1752. The same was taken over by Willard M. Wheeler 
about 1856 and continued in the family by Edmond W. and 
Sidney W. until 1951. 

Waldo Lewis Wheeler, s. Lewis B. (d. June 13, 1900) and 
Annie L. (Howe) (d. Jan. 31, 1908), b. June 3, 1873, d. Sept. 
23, 1947; m. Hazel Isabelle Sawyer, dau. Charles M. and Julia 
Ida (Bassett) Sawyer, Oct. 15, 1913. She d. Nov. 17, 1941. Had: 

Florence Ann, b. Mar. 8, 1916, m. Edward Lester Ross Sept. 
26, 1942; 2m. Harold E. Martin, Nov. 16, 1957. Had: 

Everett Harold, b. Oct. 14, 1958. 

Walter Amos Wheeler, s. Rufus R. and Lucy (Walcott) 
Wheeler, b. Feb. 22, 1862, d. July 23, 1947; m. Ella Louisa Howe, 
dau. Alanson S. Howe of Marlboro, May 3, 1886. She b. Apr. 1, 
1867, d. Sept. 2, 1944. Had: 

Emily C., b. June 3, 1887. 

Otis C., b. Aug. 31, 1888, m. Marion E. Corey June 20, 1914. 

Freeman W., b. Oct. 28, 1891, m. Marion Eager; she d. June 
13, 1921. 

Hazel L., b. July 20, 1900, m. Hermon L. Sawyer Oct. 6, 1923. 

Helen L., b. Oct. 24, 1905, m. Warren W. Tansey June 4, 1926. 

Willard Hastings Wheeler, s. Sidney W. and Florence E. 
(Hastings); m. Joanne F. Kavanaugh, dau. John F. Kavanaugh of 
Wallingford, Conn., Feb. 20, 1947. Had: 


332 


HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 


Timothy Hastings, b. Mar. 26, 1950. 

Richard Seth, b. July 16, 1952. 

William E. Wheeler, s. Edward L. and Sarah E. (Dakin) 
Wheeler, b. Berlin Feb. 3, 1879, m. Ethel E. Randall, dau. Joseph 
John and Anna A. (Grant) Randall, June 14, 1904. She b. Berlin 
Apr. 16, 1884, Had: 

Blanche Jennette, b. Mar. 4, 1906, m. Verne F. Falby. He d. 
Oct. 16, 1940. 2m. John L. Nutting Nov. 28, 1943. 

Ruth Louise, b. Aug. 5, 1907, m. Ernest Eldon Wry Aug. 11, 
1934. 

Harold Chester, b. May 3, 1909, d. Jan. 23, 1948. 

Albert William, b. Nov. 25, 1910, m. Marjorie Marie Hender¬ 
son. 

Everett Randall, b. Sept. 27, 1915, m. Mildred A. Ogilvie. 

Eleanor Florence, b. June 9, 1918, m. Earle Crandell Gabriel- 
sen Dec. 1, 1940. 

William W. Wheeler, s. Abel and Nancy Wheeler of Bolton, 
b. Dec. 27, 1812, d. Jan. 1, 1888; m. Sabra Wheeler, dau. Daniel 
and Abigail (Fry) Wheeler, 1836. She b. Nov. 6, 1811, d. Apr. 
27, 1895. Had: 

Frederick William, b. Aug. 9, 1837, m. Adaline Kent Oct. 30, 
1864. 

Alvina Sabra, b. Oct. 29, 1839, m. Thomas C. Berry May 16, 
1860. 

Edward Lawson, b. Aug. 22, 1844, m. Sarah E. Dakin May 
5, 1869. 

Louisa Elizabeth, b. July 22, 1847. 

WILDER 

Frank Kendall Wilder, s. Andrew J. and Sarah W. (Jewett) 
Wilder, b. Sterling Jan. 5, 1861, d. Berlin Oct. 28, 1929; m. Lizzie 
M. Seger, dau. G. Edwin and Pamelia Ann (Long) Seger, Aug. 
13, 1890. She b. Nov. 10, 1869, d. Squantum Feb. 9, 1958. Mr. 
Wilder came to Berlin in 1893, was a teamster for S. R. Carter & 
Son in their fuel and grain business. Mrs. Wilder moved from Ber¬ 
lin in 1930 to live with her daughter, Florence. Had: 

Stella Florence, b. May 31, 1891, m. Seaward Brightman of 


GENEALOGY 


333 


Brighton, Sept. 26, 1931. Res. Squantum, Mass. He d. Aug. 
2, 1959. 

Andrew Eugene, b. July 19, 1893, d. Worcester June 25, 1946, 
m. Lillian Anderson of Worcester June 25, 1924. Had: 
Andrew Eugene, Jr. b. Sept. 21, 1925, d. Oct. 23, 1925. 
Howard Fredolf, b. Apr. 15, 1928. 

Roger Eugene , b. Mar. 27, 1932. 


WILSON 

Milton S. Wilson, s. James and Maud (Miller) Wilson, b. 
Richford, Vt. Dec. 25, 1903; m. Eva Durant. Had: 

Earl Stewart , b. Hudson May 30, 1925, m. Althea E. Rand. 
Irene A., b. Hudson Sept. 26, 1926, m. Edwin Allan Helenius 
July 1, 1947. 

2m. Pearl Laura Blenkhorn, dau. Charles B. and Lydia May 
Blenkhorn, Feb. 22, 1933. Had: 

Helen Elaine , b. Feb. 13, 1934, m. Sergio Francis Papagni Feb. 
15, 1952. 

Burton Harold, b. Mar. 28, 1936, m. Barbara A. Walker, May 
2, 1959. 

Milton Charles , b. Nov. 16, 1938. 

Elinor May, b. Aug. 11, 1939, m. Ronald P. Potvin, May 28, 
1955. 

Carol Ann, b. Oct. 28, 1940. 

Robert Edward, b. Feb. 6, 1943. 

Earl Stewart Wilson, s. Milton S. and Eva (Durant) Wil¬ 
son; m. Althea E. Rand, dau. James E. and Ella (Galbraith) 
Rand, June 29, 1946. Had: 

Jerry James, b. Aug. 4, 1953. 

Suzanne Elaine, b. Apr. 4, 1955. 

Pamela Jayne, b. July 31, 1957. 

WOODBURY 

Zoheth H. Woodbury, s. Zoheth B. (d. Sept. 30, 1914) and 
Sarah Ann (Hale) Woodbury (d. Sept. 17, 1907), b. Jan. 2, 1875. 
d. Mar. 19, 1950; m. Lillian B. MacKinze, dau. Daniel D. and 
Minnie (Logan) MacKinze, Jan. 20, 1897. She b. Aug. 4, 1876 
in Halifax, N. S., d. May 3, 1942. Had: 


334 HISTORY OF THE TOWN OF BERLIN 

Arline Beatrice, b. Berlin Oct. 22, 1897, m. John Coolidge Apr. 
8, 1921. Res. Hudson. 

Elizabeth, b. Berlin Oct. 13, 1906, m. Albert E. Lamson Sept. 
13, 1940. 


WOODWARD 

Charles N. Woodward, s. Charles N. and Juliette (Cum¬ 
mings) Woodward, b. Dunstable Apr. 9, 1861, d. Berlin Oct. 22, 
1940; m. Carrie Lizzie Patch, dau. William R. and Mary C. 
(Bullard) Patch, Mar. 29, 1893. She b. Townsend Dec. 1, 1859, 
d. Berlin June 26, 1936. Had: 

H. Wallace, b. Pepperell Mar. 29, 1894, d. Oct. 23, 1918. 

Charles Sumner, b. Pepperell Oct. 19, 1895, d. Sept. 23, 1918. 
The family came to Berlin in 1896, settled in ancestral “Bullard 
House” at No. 1 Woodward Avenue. This house is considered the 
oldest house in Berlin Center, built about 1747 by Abraham Rice. 

H. Wallace Woodward enlisted Apr. 7, 1917 in Hudson in 
Company M, 5th Regiment, which was later merged into the 
101st Infantry. He participated in the following engagements: 
Champagne-Marne, Aisne-Marne, St. Michel, Meuse-Argonne. 
He was wounded May 3, 1918 and again July 22, and was killed 
in action Oct. 23, 1918. His rank was first class private. His body 
was brought to this country and he was buried with military honors 
on Oct. 23, 1921. The funeral services were held in the Town 
Hall at 2:30 p.m. and interment was at the Pleasant St. Cemetery. 

Charles Sumner Woodward enlisted May 27, 1918, in Co. C., 
73rd Infantry. He died at Camp Devens Sept. 23, 1918 of 
pneumonia following an attack of influenza, which was epidemic 
at that time. 

William Lyle Woodward, s. William A. and Ella J. (Need¬ 
ham) Woodward, b. Amherst, N. H. Mar. 2, 1892, d. Berlin Oct. 
21, 1955; m. Hattie Belle Jones, dau. Oscar M. and L. Ella 
(Kimmens) Jones, Mar. 25, 1915. She b. Nov. 22, 1888. 

WRIGHT 

Maurice O. Wright, s. Ira Walter and Anna (Wright) 
Wright, b. Coventry, Vt. Jan. 9, 1905; m. Bessie L. Arthur. Had: 

Violet, b. Lowell, Mass., April 28, 1919. 


GENEALOGY 


335 


Leland Maurice, b. Berlin Apr. 11, 1928. 

Lillian Margaret, b. Berlin July 28, 1930. 

Mildred May, b. Berlin Dec. 12, 1931. 

2m. Lillian L. (LaBounty) Armstrong, dau. Felix and Catherine 
(Gridward) LaBounty, Oct. 11, 1939. She b. Troy, Vt., Oct. 16, 
1911. Had: 

Arden Ira M., b. July 4, 1940. 

Maureen Priscilla, b. Dec. 25, 1942, d. Jan. 17, 1951. 

Sheila Mae, b. Sept. 10, 1948. 

ZIEGLER 

George Conrad Ziegler, s. Conrad and Eva (Dippold) 
Ziegler, b. Clinton Feb. 28, 1888; m. Jenny E. Lindburg, dau. 
John Eric and Amanda Sophia (Lumdblad), July 8, 1922. She b. 
Monson, Me. July 29, 1893. Came to Berlin in 1924. Had: 
Barbara Louise, b. Clinton Apr. 27, 1923, m. A. Frederick 
Neuhaus of Marlboro, Apr. 21, 1956. Had: 

Sandra Jane, b. Mar. 14, 1957. Res. Marlboro. 

Constance May, b. Berlin Aug. 29, 1925, m. Bruce M. Barter. 
Carl George, b. Berlin Aug. 11, 1927, m. Jacquelyn Flore 
Rougeau of Hudson Sept. 23, 1950. Res. Hudson. Had: 
Susan, b. Hudson Jan. 4, 1954. 

Kyle George, b. Hudson Mar. 3, 1956. 

Karen Joy, b. Hudson Sept. 16, 1958. 


HISTORICAL INDEX 


Abstinence Society . 


174 

Church, First Methodist. 

22 

Academy, Berlin . 


53 

Church, First Parish. 

28 

American Revolution . . . . 


64 

Church, First Unitarian So- 


Aqueduct, Wachusett . . . . 


140 

ciety . 

20 

Art & Historical Society . . 


198 

Church, Little Union . 

29 

Artist of Berlin . 


157 

Church, St. Joseph’s Mission . 

30 

Asparagus Period . 


147 

Civic Affairs . 

84 

Automobiles. 


135 

Civil Defense . 79, 83 




Civil War. 

70 

Basket Making . 


156 

Civil War Graves. 

72 

Bell, Church . 


19 

Civil War Veterans. 

70 

Berlin Academy. 


53 

Clamshell Pond . 

9 

Berlin, District of. 

... 6, 86 

Clinton Fish & Game Pro tec- 


Berlin, Early Settlements . 


3 

tive Assn. 

209 

Berlin, Governmental Depart- 


Club, Golden Age. 

197 

ments of . 


93 

Club, Shakespeare . 

56 

Berlin House. 


157 

Coldwell’s Inc. 

166 

Berlin Indians . 


10 

Committee, School . 

42 

Berlin Lyceums. 

• 54 , 

173 

Community Fair & Old Home 


Berlin Militia . 


69 

Day . 

196 

Berlin, Naming of. 


1 



“Berlin News”. 


127 

Dairy Farming . 

148 

Berlin Population . 


xi 

Dancing . 

202 

Berlin Public Library . . . . 


58 

Departments of Government . 

93 

Berlin Roads . 


114 

District of Berlin. 

6, 86 

Berlin Stores. 

159 , 

170 

Drama, Berlin Players. 

200 

Berlin, Territory of. 


2 

Drama, Passion Plays. 

202 

Berlin Topography . 


7 

Drama, Pops Concerts. 

201 

Berlin, Town of. 

... 7 

, 86 



Board of Trade . 

155 , 

186 

E. H. Hartshorn Camp. 

73 

Bolton, Town of. 


5 

Electric Light & Power. 

139 

Boy Scouts. 


188 

Elm Tree of Linden Street . . 

124 

Buildings, School houses . 

• • • 

37 

Epitaphs in Old Cemetery .. . 

33 

Burying Fields . 


32 

Evangelical Society . 

17 

Bus Lines . 


134 

Express Company, Bean .... 

126 

Camp Fire Girls. 


191 

Federated Church . 

28 

Card Parties . 


204 

Fire Department. 

99 

Cement Blocks . 


168 

First Congregational Church . 

19 

Cemeteries, Burying Field 

• • • 

32 

First Parish Church . 

28 

Cemeteries, Epitaphs . . . . 


33 

First Unitarian Society. 

20 

Cemeteries, New. 


35 

Fish & Game Protective Assn. 

209 

Cemeteries, Old . 


32 

Flower Culture. 

152 

Centennial of 1912 . 


184 

Foldwell Table Company .... 

166 

Chedco Farms, Inc. 

148 , 

149 

Forestry . 

155 

Church Bell. 


19 

Forty Caves. 

9 

Church, Children’s . 


28 

Four-H Club. 

192 

Church, First Congregational . 

19 

Fox Club, Wataquadock .... 

210 


336 












































































HISTORICAL INDEX 


Franchise . 91 

French & Indian War . 63 

Friends, Society of. 25 

Funds, School. 46 

Garages & Service Stations . . 168 

Gates Pond . 9 

Girl Scouts. 191 

Golden Age Club. 197 

Golf Club, Pinecrest C. C. ... 210 

Government, Departments of . 93 

Grand Army of Republic .... 72 

Grange. 182 

Graves, Am. Revolutionary Sol¬ 
diers . 66 

Graves, Civil War Veterans . . 72 

Hartshorn’s Patent Medicines 163 

Highways & Streets . 114 

Highways, Maintenance. 122 

Historical Society . 198 

Hog Industry . 151 

Honor Roll, W.W.I Veterans . 77 

Honor Roll, W.W.II Veterans 80 
Hop Culture . 147 

Ice Business . 163 

Ice Cream Industry . 163 

Incorporation, District .6, 86 

Incorporation, Town.7, 86 

Indian Names . 13 

Indian Raids . 62 

Indians of Berlin. 10 

Indians, Josiah Sawyer’s Leap 13 

Inns & Taverns. 157 

Ironing Board Industry. 166 

Korean Incident . 82 

Korean Incident, List of Men 83 

Label Weaving, Potas . 171 

Lancaster, Original Territory . 3 

Larkin Estate. 6 

Librarians, List of . 60 

Library, Berlin Public . 58 

Little Union Church. 29 

Liquor Agents . 178 

Lyceums .54, 173 

Lyman School for Boys. 57 

Mail, Postmasters . 128 

Mail, Post Offices. 126 

Mail, R.F.D. 129 

Market-man. 124 

Medicines, Hartshorn’s Patent 163 

Meeting-house. 16 

Memorial Hall . 73 

Memorial Window. 24 


337 


Methodist Church. 22 

Militia, Berlin . 69 

Ministers of Berlin Churches 

. 18, 21, 23, 27, 29 

Ministers, Native of Berlin ... 31 

Mt. Pisgah. ix, 8 

Mushrooms . 153 

Music, Band . 53 

Music, Pops Concerts. 201 

Names of Roads . 114 

Names of Streets . 114 

Native Ministers of Berlin ... 31 

New Cemetery . 35 

Officers of Town, List of .... 102 

Old Cemetery . 32 

Old Home Day . 196 

Orchards . 148 

Organizations: 

Art & Historical Society . . . 198 

Board of Trade . 155, 186 

Boy Scouts . 188 

Camp Fire Girls . 191 

E. H. Hartshorn Camp .... 73 

Farmers’ & Mechanics’ Club 181 

Four-H Club . 192 

Girl Scouts . 191 

Golden Age Club . 197 

Grand Army of Republic . . 72 

Grange . 182 

Tuesday Club . 182 

Village Improvement Soci¬ 
ety . 183 

Youth Council . 193 

Pisgah, Mt. 8 

Pleasant Street Cemetery .... 35 

Poem, Beautiful Berlin . xiv 

Poem, The Indians’ Homeland 13 
Poem, The Solitary Way .... 36 

Police Dept . 95 

Population (Chart), School . . 40 

Population, Town . xi 

Postmasters . 128 

Post Offices . 126 

Poultry . 150 

Powder-House . 68 

Public Library. 58 

Public Schools (see Schools) . 

Quabbin Reservoir . 142 

Quakers . 25 

Raids, Indian. 62 

Railroads . 130 

Rawleigh Products . 164 

Reservoir, Quabbin. 142 















































































HISTORICAL INDEX 


338 


Reservoir, Wachusett . 140 

Revolution, American . 64 

Risi’s Cement Blocks . 168 

Roads of Berlin . 114 

Rural Free Delivery . 129 

St. Joseph’s Mission . 30 

School Buildings . 37 

School Committee . 42 

School Committee, List of 

Members . 112 

School Curriculum . 44 

School Enrollment . 45 

School Faculty . 43 

School Funds . 46 

School Population Chart .... 40 

School Reunions . 194 

School Superintendent. 42 

School Supervisors . 42 

School Teachers 1895-1959 . . 48 

School Transportation . 41 

Schools, Support of . 46 

Service Stations & Garages . . . 168 

Set-tubs . 164 

Shakespeare Club. 56 

Shays’ Rebellion . 66 

Sheep . 151 

Shoe Making Industry. 165 

Shoe Polish Industry. 165 

Singing School . 52 

Snake Hill . 4, 9 

Society, First Unitarian . 20 

Society of Friends. 25 

South Parish of Bolton ... 5, 16, 84 

Spanish-American War. 75 

Sports. 205 

Stage Coach . 125 

Stone-Craft Co. 164 

Stores . 159, 170 

Streets & Highways . 114 

Streets, Maintenance of. 122 

Streets, Names of. 114 

Taverns & Inns. 157 

Teachers, School.43, 48 

Telephone Service . 137 

Temperance, John B. Gough . 176 

Temperance, Liquor Agents . 178 

Temperance, Total Abstinence 

Society . 174 

Temperance, W.C.T.U. 177 

Town of Berlin. 86 

Town Meeting . 88 


Town Officers, List of. 102 

Transportation: 

Automobiles . 135 

Bus Lines. 134 

Railroads . 130 

School . 41 

Trolley Lines. 133 

Tuesday Club . 182 

Union Church. 29 

Unitarian Society . 20 

United Nations . 82 

Utilities, Elec. Lt. & Power . . 139 

Utilities, Telephone . 137 

Veterans: 

Civil War . 70 

Korean . . . .. 83 

World War I. 77 

World War II. 80 

Village Improvement Society . 183 

Voting (see Franchise) . 91 

Voting, Women.47, 92 

Wachusett Reservoir & Aque¬ 
duct . 140 

War, American Revolution . . 64 

War, American Revolution, 

List of Graves. 66 

War, Civil . 70 

War, Civil, List of Veterans’ 

Graves . 72 

War of 1812 . 67 

War, French & Indian . 63 

War, Korean Incident . 82 

War, Korean Incident, List of 

Men . 83 

War, Shays’ Rebellion . 66 

War, Spanish American . 75 

War, World I . 76 

War, World I, Honor Roll ... 77 

War, World II . 78 

War, World II, Honor Roll . . 80 

Water Supply System. 140 

Welfare Dept. 97 

Women Vote. 47, 92 

Women’s Christian Temper¬ 
ance Union . 177 

Woodward Memorial Window 

. 24 

Youth Council. 193 
















































































BOYLSTO^ 


Bolt on 



northboi 









*'00L e 


Hl/£) 




GO/v 


° u N7y 



BERLIN^ 

UORCESTER COUNTY 


f 


t-VH